Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 7 - North v Crows Sat April 27th 1:45pm AEST (Blundstone)

Who will win and by how much?

• North by a goal or less

Votes: 3 8.1%
  • Crows by a goal or less

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • North by 7 - 20

Votes: 9 24.3%
  • Crows by 7 - 20

Votes: 5 13.5%
  • North by a lot

Votes: 2 5.4%
  • Crows by a lot

Votes: 18 48.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

The worst part is the small forwards constantly drag their opponents into the leading channels of Larkey and Zurhaar. Why on earth is this not being fixed? It causes huge congestion for every single forward entry, instead of giving the key forwards space and potentially short options wide. Nothing to do with youth, just sh*t coaching and lack of awareness.
I saw someone kick for goal, miss and there were three options with their arms out as if to ask “why didn’t you kick it here”

Well Lazzaro had taken the leading lane away from Zurhaar, meaning all three kicks lacked necessary space and would’ve been to the top of their heads and to a stationary target within a zone

Very bizarre look indeed - positive is there is a LOT of young talent at North - coach needs to lift

Colby McKercher with one of the most ineffective 32 disposal games we've ever seen since Matt Priddis. 0 tackles, 1 clearance, 1 i50, 4 score involvements and 5 contested (and 16 uncontested meaning he took about 10+ kick-ins).

Sadly it looks like he'll steal the RS nod this week over Darcy Jones.

Colby McKercher with one of the most ineffective 32 disposal games we've ever seen since Matt Priddis. 0 tackles, 1 clearance, 1 i50, 4 score involvements and 5 contested (and 16 uncontested meaning he took about 10+ kick-ins).

Sadly it looks like he'll steal the RS nod this week over Darcy Jones.

Time will tell whether this is good for him and Sheezel’s development, but you have to wonder what Clarkson is doing parking these guys at half back and letting them get away with very little defensive actions.

Reckon the AFL need to step in and control the club like they did with Melbourne. And they should have received a first round priority pick by now so I wouldn't object to one.

Agree AFL control is needed.

The McKay rort was effectively a pp equivalent. Not sure chucking another promising kid on the fire will help. I do think nmfc should get rewarded for doing the right thing on the Thomas issue. If he ends up at a Geelong they should be forced to part with a first rounder rather than getting a free kick.

Nmfc is the new GoCo at risk of having its little talent pillaged. Assistance with retention, however that is done? There looks to be a steady stream of decent players leaving the Club in despair. AFL to allow retention bonuses?

Assistance in paying ridiculous sums to pick up three of Bont, C Curnow, Gawn, Jordan Dawson, Gulden, Butters, Read, Walter, DMoore, Merrett, Jackson, Pearce, either King, Daicos etc. $2.0m+ pa AFL could not force these players but it could make the deal attractive

It is clear their supporter base have had the Club up to pussy’s bow. Their crowds are usually ordinary and are at risk so why not discount memberships, put on pre and post game shows for kids so they get some joy.

The McKay rort was effectively a pp equivalent.
Unpopular opinion, but the PP system works really well.

Rightly or wrongly Essendon valued McKay highly and thus North were given a first round pick.

IMO North really stuffed it up going for a meaningless win at the expense of Harley Reid tho.

Rightly or wrongly Essendon valued McKay highly and thus North were given a first round pick.

IMO North really stuffed it up though going for a meaningless win at the expense of Harley Reid tho.
Compo should also be based on what the club was willing to pay to keep player as well

No supporter base deserve this
What you talking about?

The North fans near me were quite chuffed with their peerformance today.

They were celebrating like they were 2-4 goals up despite being 5 goals down.

Compo should also be based on what the club was willing to pay to keep player as well
Not a bad idea, hard to police though.
Once it was clear Essendon were making McKay one of the highest paid players in the AFL they would have packed his bags.

Not a bad idea, hard to police though.
Once it was clear Essendon were making McKay one of the highest paid players in the AFL they would have packed his bags.
Prospective contracts need lodging via a formal process. Player can choose but having the offers transparently lodged (by same team knowing salary cap) would help reduce shenanigans

No supporter base deserve this
My enjoyment of the game has waned because of our performances. Gotten worse each year.

The priority picks we got were essentially start of 2nd round picks, which with father-son and academy picks, are about pick 20-25. The AFL also gave us some 2nd round picks that we had to trade, so other clubs knew they did not have to offer much.

The only players silly enough to want to come are C graders like Coleman Jones from Richmond or Stephens from Sydney, Tucker from Freo, and Zac Fisher. The one decent player we got in Logue does an ACL.

Then we get JHF but he doesn't want to stay, and then lose a chance to draft Harley Reid, and then Taryn Thomas gets sacked.

More punches to the gut.

Recruiting has been awful - some of the new recruits got 4 year contracts. We tried to land big fishes in Gaff and Dusty with money, to no avail too. So money isn't going to attract good players.

The only senior players left in the team in are:

150+ games
Luke McDonald - wouldn't get a game for any other team, should be dropped but he's captain

100-149 games
Aiden Corr - should be dropped
Jy Simpkin - hasn't regained his form since multiple concussions in the last 12 months
Darcy Tucker - the only type who'd come
Zac Fisher - another experienced recruit
Cam Zurhaar - has put contract talks on hold
Nick Larkey - probably should be captain, and our only AA player

The type of players we can recruit are Fisher, Tucker, Stephens etc, that no other club really wanted. Dangerfield, Tom Lynch, Jeremy Cameron types won't pick North.

Of the 7 players who've played 100 games, I think only Larkey and perhaps Zurharr would be in another teams best 22.

It's really hard to see a short term fix. More priority picks aren't the answer. We've recruited midfielders, yet can't win a centre clearance. And there are unlikely to be KPD or KPF in the top ten of the draft this year.

Having opposition fans kick their boots into us when we're down doesn't hurt as much as it should, as we know it's going to be years to turn this around. The young talented players need to get to 50+ games, and that's 2-3 seasons away.

What we need is the AFL to allow us to spend more in player development, recruiting resources etc. Maybe increase the soft cap, or give the club the money to spend. It's terrible for the competition, as any club that plays us twice has an advantage over teams that don't.

To those who want us kicked out of the competition or to fold - we have a unique game that's played in one country only. It's the best game in the world. If you truly love footy, you embrace the history, spectacle and uniqueness of our sport. Losing any club tears at the fabric of our game, and makes it poorer. I bought Richmond memberships when they were almost broke and donated to them. Same with Fitzroy and Footscray. Losing any club erases some of the history of our game.

IMO North really stuffed it up though going for a meaningless win at the expense of Harley Reid tho.
So you think Harley would be happy playing in front of friends and relations or at Optus with 40-50 thousand fans in a better side atm?

Didn’t he say he wanted to play for Collingwood in front of big crowds each week?