Tallangatta & DFL discussion 2022

After seeing Middleton on the weekend at Sandy Creek, poor return in the forward line. I would make him basically tag Meyer, start in the ruck against him & just be next to him all day. He has him for reach & athletically around the ground in my opinion. Nobody has matched Meyer all year & it would be an amazing matchup. No need to body, come in late use the reach. Thoughts?
Either that or leave him in the goal square. Chiltern didn't have the tallest back line when we played them.

Almost have Peter & Ben McEvoy locked in for 2023 at Dederang.
Interesting.

Talk around these parts (Western Victoria a long way from you lot) that he has signed on as a coach here. He has farm land this way but have also heard he isn't all that interested in playing next season at all.

As you can probably see silly season has well and truly begun.

Interesting.

Talk around these parts (Western Victoria a long way from you lot) that he has signed on as a coach here. He has farm land this way but have also heard he isn't all that interested in playing next season at all.

As you can probably see silly season has well and truly begun.
Hey mate if you follow the thread you’ll realise BigDog12 talks absolute smack, I take anything he says with a large pinch of salt. Maybe one day we will see the romantic return home but it won’t be next year.

Aren't you the guy who wants everyone to merge with the Glenrowan despite the fact you and the other committee ran it into the ground 3+ years ago?

I'll be honest I haven't and I have no idea why I thought I'd have a read of the past couple of pages as I said I'm on the opposite side of the state and would have not a clue what is what or who is who in your league.

Just saw that post and I had heard a whisper around the traps that he was looking at coaching Stawell Warriors in the Wimmera League next year (has farm land 20 minutes out of Stawell) but as I also said had heard he wasn't overly interested in playing.

I'll be honest I haven't and I have no idea why I thought I'd have a read of the past couple of pages as I said I'm on the opposite side of the state and would have not a clue what is what or who is who in your league.

Just saw that post and I had heard a whisper around the traps that he was looking at coaching Stawell Warriors in the Wimmera League next year (has farm land 20 minutes out of Stawell) but as I also said had heard he wasn't overly interested in playing.
Don't have the slightest clue what he's doing, but do know he bought a farm out that way. Wouldn't surprise me to see him sneak back and play a few games, from what i've heard he does love the home club.

Should be another Cracker this weekend.
Kiewa will need to find their Mojo again though If not the Bushies could run away with it.
I reckon they will reverse the QF final result, but need to find some more options in front of goal. Since round 14 they've kicked 11,10,1,10,18,6,9. 3 and 3 from their last 6 games (with two of the wins a goal) is not great form either.

I'd grab Telford from the 2s, proven goal kicker. Newnham spraying them all over the shop. Without Di Mizio on the weekend across half back & his efficiency with the ball they would have been screwed. Bartel been quiet too.

Newnham has been injured a lot I know but he looked like a veteran forward who is banged up on the weekend, slow just got around at his pace. Kiewa this year have had a story of 2 half’s first half of the year was extremely good, looked like they took off from where they ended last year.
Now definitely some cracks starting to show, not sure if the Mudra style is starting to wear off and Neill is starting to take over?

I’m not sure Beechworth can beat them 3 games in row but I hope I’m proven wrong. I’d love to see a Chiltern V Beechworth grand final

I'd grab Telford from the 2s, proven goal kicker. Newnham spraying them all over the shop. Without Di Mizio on the weekend across half back & his efficiency with the ball they would have been screwed. Bartel been quiet too.
If they play Telford and get Scott Bartel back they would be a lot better side.

Newnham has been injured a lot I know but he looked like a veteran forward who is banged up on the weekend, slow just got around at his pace. Kiewa this year have had a story of 2 half’s first half of the year was extremely good, looked like they took off from where they ended last year.
Now definitely some cracks starting to show, not sure if the Mudra style is starting to wear off and Neill is starting to take over?

I’m not sure Beechworth can beat them 3 games in row but I hope I’m proven wrong. I’d love to see a Chiltern V Beechworth grand final
If Beechworth get in at least we know they’re half a chance of beating chiltern and we get a good game to watch, I don’t think kiewa would get close.

Watched the game in the stream yesterday. Beechworth should very very disappointed in how they finished up, they had done a great job all year until that last quarter. Some players let their club down.

Kiewa are finals specialist don’t write them off. Exciting game next weekend.

This could be an unpopular opinion but I think Thurgoona 2019 side would beat this years Chiltern by 10 goals

I just believe the comp has declined significantly

Watched the game in the stream yesterday. Beechworth should very very disappointed in how they finished up, they had done a great job all year until that last quarter. Some players let their club down.

Kiewa are finals specialist don’t write them off. Exciting game next weekend.

This could be an unpopular opinion but I think Thurgoona 2019 side would beat this years Chiltern by 10 goals

I just believe the comp has declined significantly
Was thinking the same actually, not to disparage Chiltern at all (they did beat us by 198 points). But I guess competitions do fluctuate from time to time, improvement not always linear and all that. And add in basically 2 years of missed footy it would stand to reason the standard drops a bit. But Chiltern are the best side in it, but by no means unbeatable. Will be carrying a lot of pressure going into Saturday being favourites, and not having won, nor even played in a GF for 15 years. For comparison KSC has played in 7 grand finals and won 4 since Chilterns last appearance. It's an old adage, but the "you have to lose one to win one" saying is pretty prevalent in TDFL. Going back a bit here, but shows GF experience can come in handy, which Kiewa has in spades.

Holbrook lose 89, win 91
Tallangatta lose 93, win 94.
Kiewa lose 94, win 95.
Mitta lose 95, win 96.
Tallangatta lose 96, win 97.
Dederang, lose 98, win 99, 01, 03
Barny lose 00, 01 win 02
Mitta lose 03, win 04,05,06,07
Kiewa lose 07, win 08
Beechworth lose 09, win 10
Thurgoona lose 11, 12 win 16 ( a few years here I know)
Kiewa lose 17, win 18
Thurgoona lose 18, win 19.

Been a few outliers over the years of course, so not to say it can't be done.

Going to be a cracking game, due to the history/weather/previous results i'm backing Kiewa by 4 points.

Chiltern will win by ten goals, the standard has dropped a little bit but their side is as good as any we’ve seen in the past five years.

Looks like it will be pissing rain towards the end of the week including Saturday.
If Meyer fires Chiltern by 5 goals.

Shame about the weather, had a good run but would have been great to see the ground bathed in sunshine. Common wisdom says the wet helps the underdog, but I can't see it being an advantage to either side.
How about the 2's? Been a long time since a team had seniors and reserves win, pretty special when it happens.

Kiewa by 4 points. Won't be more than 3 goals in it all day. Chiltern to rebound, go undefeated in 2023.
Bartel best on.

Chiltern by 5 goals
Rhys Ritchie best on

Have heard a few of the Chiltern boys going to raiders next year