EDFL Premier Div 2020

Mail is cricket will play and pending position as at October well earlier for training purposes and if not able to commence they will once they can meaning it could be Jan start meaning football will be pushed to start season later than March / April in 2021
No saliva on the ball, sanitizers allowed.

There is a stickied post at the top of this forum covering personal abuse and name dropping. Make your point and do it respectably. If you see an offensive post, then report it so a mod or admin can follow it up.

Any parent who doesnt get the cash returned for no services rendered and accepts the practice and doesnt leave the club is insane

I dont know about that, I am paying considerable school fees yet the service being delivered whilst homeschooling is clearly inferior. We received a 20% reduction fro term 2 fees and nothing has been announced as yet for term 3, but as someone who is still employed and have had no impact on my earning so far I am comfortable with continuing to pay the fees understanding that the long term benefits to my kids being at the school will pay off. This would be no different to junior footy clubs, if you can afford it you should be paying to ensure the viability of the club. It is short term thinking for parents demanding refunds.

This of course is separate to the debate as to if junior fees should be used to fund the senior team, which I am firmly of the view that this is not okay.. Junior fees should be used to make the junior club and facilities the best they can be, not subsidise some ex afl players match payment.

I dont know about that, I am paying considerable school fees yet the service being delivered whilst homeschooling is clearly inferior. We received a 20% reduction fro term 2 fees and nothing has been announced as yet for term 3, but as someone who is still employed and have had no impact on my earning so far I am comfortable with continuing to pay the fees understanding that the long term benefits to my kids being at the school will pay off. This would be no different to junior footy clubs, if you can afford it you should be paying to ensure the viability of the club. It is short term thinking for parents demanding refunds.

This of course is separate to the debate as to if junior fees should be used to fund the senior team, which I am firmly of the view that this is not okay.. Junior fees should be used to make the junior club and facilities the best they can be, not subsidise some ex afl players match payment.
Significant difference in schooling / education to local football.

One is a life skill and the other is a fitness / hobby / friendship opportunity.

One would expect schools to continue to charge - the cost base remains the same for the school.

The football club cost base at this current moment for junior footballers is zero.

Significant difference in schooling / education to local football.

One is a life skill and the other is a fitness / hobby / friendship opportunity.

One would expect schools to continue to charge - the cost base remains the same for the school.

The football club cost base at this current moment for junior footballers is zero.

I would argue that being part of a good junior footy club provides integral life skills.

Why are people so worried about what other clubs are doing. It has no effect on you. If the members of the club (the only people effected by this) are not happy, they'll bring it up with their club and if still not happy, they'll leave. One thing I know for sure, they won't put their hand up for a position of responsibility at the club.

The same as other clubs. How much money have VRC members received as a refund. If those members are not happy, they won't renew. Will you go and fight the good fight for them.

The season is over. Find something else to have a sook about. As Bomber Thompson said - All of you, all of you

Why are people so worried about what other clubs are doing. It has no effect on you. If the members of the club (the only people effected by this) are not happy, they'll bring it up with their club and if still not happy, they'll leave. One thing I know for sure, they won't put their hand up for a position of responsibility at the club.

The same as other clubs. How much money have VRC members received as a refund. If those members are not happy, they won't renew. Will you go and fight the good fight for them.

The season is over. Find something else to have a sook about. As Bomber Thompson said - All of you, all of you
Because in a time of crisis its important we all look out for one another and support one another in ensuring the right thing is being done.

That is all, you dont have to agree

Because in a time of crisis its important we all look out for one another and support one another in ensuring the right thing is being done.

Couldn't agree more, that is why I was down at the Towers for a week donating my time to help. And why I volunteer at the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre.

You know, things that really matter.

How Junior football is playing out in NSW:

Screen Shot 2020-07-24 at 9.46.46 am.png

Screen Shot 2020-07-24 at 9.47.51 am.png

Screen Shot 2020-07-24 at 9.29.16 am.png

Screen Shot 2020-07-24 at 9.30.37 am.png

The point being these clubs who probably had low cash reserves to start with will have gotten themselves into a worse scenario now via paying fees to their respective leagues and expending on a range of things to execute a shortened 2020 season.

Obviously the revenue's will be much lower if not non-existent due to the Covid socialising rules so they will now find themselves with a bigger financial hole to dig themselves out of.

They will call it all off soon, parents will want at least part fees back but clubs will be left with the bills.

And the above is playing out in a state that recorded 7 new cases today.

AFL assistants sidelined by COVID-19 and reduced “soft-cap’’ spending are chasing positions in local football, giving clubs highly credentialed candidates for their coaching jobs.

VFL premiership mentors Bradley Gotch (Collingwood) and Damian Carroll (Hawthorn) are among them.

The Hawks also had to lose Max Bailey, Brett Deledio, Marco Bellow and Torin Baker.

Speaking after his reappointment at Cheltenham this week, former Richmond defender Des Ryan said there would be “some very good coaches looking for jobs’’ in the next few months.

He said suburban clubs should be “spoiled for choice’’.

AFL Coaches Associations chief executive officer Mark Brayshaw said there was “no question’’ AFL assistant coaches would be filtering down to local level.

He said some of the coaches who had been stood down had been “shocked and disappointed’’ in the first few weeks.

“But most of them are pragmatic people and have said, ‘Right, let’s get on to Plan B’, and they all love coaching,’’ Brayshaw said.

“That’s why I reckon a tier or two beneath the AFL … a lot of these guys will be wanting to get part-time jobs and coaching at the local level would be an idea fit.’’

Lucky the AFL don't get involved with how clubs spend their money Horse :rolleyes:

THE slashing of AFL clubs' soft cap expenditure is expected to be far greater than first feared.

Clubs had been bracing for cuts around 30 per cent ($9.7 million down to $6.7 million), but it is now likely the total allowed to be spent on off-field football department staff for the 2021 season and beyond will be reduced by 40 per cent, to $6 million per club.

Also good to see the AFL didn't get involved with what clubs were doing regards refund to memberships as well.

AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan has gone into damage control, assuring club members they are entitled to refunds of membership fees.

ACCC to 'monitor' sporting teams as AFL clubs begin to offer refunds to fans

"The ACCC … encourages all clubs to treat members fairly in these exceptional circumstances."

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) said it had been "engaging with clubs" and confirmed it will "monitor issues relating to sport club membership refunds, credit and ongoing charges".

Another great example Horse of the AFL having no power on how clubs spend their money:

The AFL is considering whether to make it compulsory for clubs to allocate money towards player mental health.

AFL’s need to take unprecedented control over clubs.

The AFL has told clubs it will need extraordinary access to their books.

The league made clear to clubs in a Thursday night telephone hook-up the league would have unprecedented control over club finances

AFL clubs are prepared to accept an unprecedented level of AFL intervention in their books.

You've really uncovered something here Horse 🤣

A reminder on Horses statements:

The league has no right to tell a club how it should be run. That’s the job for the members. The league has enough problems with themselves without worrying about the 40+ clubs.

Yeah. They set a limit. But not how it’s spent. Isn’t that like the salary cap.

You have a limit and the club can spend it anyway they want. They don’t say u must have this and that. That’s up to the clubs to decide how they spend their money.

This is where your misinformed.

Gee whiz I wish I was this misinformed more often :thumbsu:

You really shot the lights out Horse

Why are people so worried about what other clubs are doing. It has no effect on you.

As a society we treat how businesses and associations of all sorts including sporting clubs treat peoples money. We care so much that western democracies around the world including Australia have institutions specifically set up to protect consumers interests in situations just like this one.

Our version is the ACCC and it’s no accident that Local Sporting Clubs and Associations is listed on this webpage.

You might not care but if people don’t have each other’s backs as Torp explained and turn a blindeye and only care or take notice when something effects them directly then the weakest and people who can least afford to be taken advantage of get hurt most.

These institutions need to exist mainly because most people are like you MYOB who turn a blindeye or just don’t care unless it effects you as you put it so we have to fund institutions like the ACCC to protect the weak instead.

You’ll note the ACCC is encouraging leagues and associations that sit above the clubs to weigh in to establish a fair outcome for consumers.
  • The ACCC encourages state and national bodies, and clubs and associations, to treat consumers fairly in these circumstances and to consider appropriate mechanisms to provide refunds or other remedies such as credit notes or vouchers to consumers.

Why are people so worried about what other clubs are doing. It has no effect on you.

You might not care but if people don’t have each other’s backs as Torp explained and turn a blindeye and only care or take notice when something effects them directly then the weakest and people who can least afford to be taken advantage of get hurt most.

These institutions need to exist mainly because most people are like you MYOB who turn a blindeye or just don’t care unless it effects you as you put it so we have to fund institutions like the ACCC to protect the weak.

I'll reply to you the same way I replied to Torp.
Some things are worth fighting for, that is why I was down at the Towers for a week donating my time to help. And why I volunteer at the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre.

You know, things that really matter. People that need your help.
If you're really worried about social justice, go and volunteer at a charity and do something meaningful for people who can't do it on their own, rather than wasting your and our time on this crap.

There is certainly an alarming pattern forming on this forum.

last 2 pages, Cheapseat 12 posts, 1 like

keep up the good work.
The Grover you could have used this post to state an opinion or advance a discussion to change that balance?

You decided to go with the herd mentality of trying to gaslight someone who is actually posting on topics that affect local footy.

In case you hadn’t noticed this is a once in a 100-year pandemic and no footy is being played.

So the pertinent topics that are playing out are related to:
  • Clubs financial survival a survey has 1 in 4 clubs around Australia possibly not coming through this if they don’t get government funding.
  • The junior refund debate as that is a leading indicator that some clubs who are withholding could be in real financial strife.
  • The flow-on effects of AFL imposed soft caps that could see an influx of off-field staff filtering into local footy but no money to pay them. (Greenvale has already interviewed one of those AFL assistants and offered an amount of $ won't disclose out of respect, up against a local offering)
  • The growing gap between the VFL and elite local comp salary caps has just doubled which could have once in a generation impact on the quality of footy we all watch on a weekend.
  • The growing divide in quality junior numbers at 2-3 premier clubs colliding with a flat points system cap of 47 for all making equalisation unachievable.
  • Sharing learning from what's happening to local footy/sport in other states in this Covid environment where they have low numbers of cases, is it working?, are competitions able to function?, how is the quarantining affecting the ability to execute fixtures?, how is revenue being effected? etc.. because we are likely to be playing 2021 in an environment in which these states are playing now so those learnings are critical as is the debate around them.
  • It is nearly odds on that we will be playing with Covid in 2021 even if they find a vaccine by the end of 2020 the time it will take to vaccinate the whole population will likely take at least 6 months to a year, starting with Ages Care, Seniors, Health Staff, teachers then finally the rest of us, so what will that mean to fixture structuring, quarantine guidelines ahead of time so everyone knows what is going to happen when a player gets tested positive in different scenarios and all things Covid footy.
  • Will the EDFL follow the AFL's lead and start to request oversight of clubs financials if not intervention if one or two clubs look like tipping over?
  • Will the AFL Salary Cap Audit on local clubs becomes mandatory for all local clubs with the pressure to pay under the table being huge with clubs like East Keilor & Abers with elite lists trying to fit under caps of $85K ($214 a game ave) and $100K ($252 a game ave)
  • The EDFL executive and board's handling of Covid and the influence of a small group of clubs and people had over what decisions were being made shone a light on the inequalities of how our competition is run and the majority of clubs are looking to seek better representation and clarity around how the laws are imposed on clubs.
  • As clubs start to cut players salaries in half what rumours are flying around? I know of 3 specific rumours and mini-player revolts with some elite players looking for other clubs after their club played it straight down the line and told everyone they were going to be on $250 a game, these players were on the hunt already for clubs willing to find a different way. You blokes got anything?
The Grover when is the last time you or Turnover or other personal pot shotters made the running on any of these topics? Rather than trying to pot another poster?

There is so much substantive stuff to post about and generate debate on and you blokes just focus on me. You have a choice The Grover:
  • Don't read my posts or engage
  • Respond with an opinion about what I posted (please make an effort or build a case, not off the cuff thoughtless one-liners, think about whether the next person reading your post learnt anymore by your post)
  • Form an opinion of your own on the list above or anything of substance
  • Or as is your choice just keep focussing on me personally, but if you do that don't complain about the lack of variety or posting in the forum The Grover that's on you or anyone who uses their time to focus on me when there is so much to talk about that will affect the future of local footy
If you just can't muster up any original thought or debate just come back in 2021 or 2022 when footy is 'normal' and post the usual stuff about the two-horse race that will likely play out for the next 10 years where nearly every game played is going through the motions until Keilor and Abers playoff.

I'll reply to you the same way I replied to Torp.
Some things are worth fighting for, that is why I was down at the Towers for a week donating my time to help. And why I volunteer at the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre.

You know, things that really matter. People that need your help.
If you're really worried about social justice, go and volunteer at a charity and do something meaningful for people who can't do it on their own, rather than wasting your and our time on this crap.
MYOB I am sure lots of BF posters do a variety of things to volunteer or donate to society some just aren't trying to tell everyone about it in a public setting as a way to shut down a discussion about something they don't care about, usually, those things are personal not public badges of honour to crow about.

The fact that you volunteer about a cause you care about doesn't give you a right to decide whether people advocating or campaigning about something they think matters is less worthy?

Just move on MYOB don't engage when others do discuss things you don't care about, your views are well known you don't think clubs withholding a junior parents rego fees for a season that didn't go ahead or service wasn't provided isn't worthy relative to other serious things going on in the world, then that's your right just don't pot others who do.

Your line of thinking is seriously flawed as you blokes like to point out to me often this is a footy forum and using relativity arguments to demean a topic is silly all things when compared to the serious stuff, like climate change, genocide e.g Uyghur's and many others, asylum issues, people trafficking on it goes, of course, any other topic debated is going to seem insignificant but it doesn't mean people are banned to talk or care about them that's non-sensical. If that was the case why do we play footy at all and chase a pigskin with air in it around? Your presence on a footy forum and argument don't follow.

What individual clubs are doing around Junior rego fees and whether they have been caught out funding previous years senior footy programs is very current and substantive to a footy forum. It goes to how senior footy programs are financed, it goes to certain clubs financial sustainability, it goes to the very heart of what type of footy and level of player we are going to get watch going around in future years.

Here is one of the best debates I have heard about all things Asylum issues and as Turnover well knows and has pointed out to me there are lots of other forums for you to engage if that's your thing MYOB.

Also here is a good listen that describes the herd behaviour, that you, The Grover and Turnover are doing via your focus on me in a setting like a forum it's a very common human psychology and group behaviour.

MYOB I am sure lots of BF posters do a variety of things to volunteer or donate to society some just aren't trying to tell everyone about it in a public setting as a way to shut down a discussion about something they don't care about, usually, those things are personal not public badges of honour to crow about.

The fact that you volunteer about a cause you care about doesn't give you a right to decide whether people advocating or campaigning about something they think matters is less worthy?

Just move on MYOB don't engage when others do discuss things you don't care about, your views are well known you don't think clubs withholding a junior parents rego fees for a season that didn't go ahead or service wasn't provided isn't worthy relative to other serious things going on in the world, then that's your right just don't pot others who do.

Your line of thinking is seriously flawed as you blokes like to point out to me often this is a footy forum and using relativity arguments to demean a topic is silly all things when compared to the serious stuff, like climate change, genocide e.g Uyghur's and many others, asylum issues, people trafficking on it goes, of course, any other topic debated is going to seem insignificant but it doesn't mean people are banned to talk or care about them that's non-sensical. If that was the case why do we play footy at all and chase a pigskin with air in it around? Your presence on a footy forum and argument don't follow.

What individual clubs are doing around Junior rego fees and whether they have been caught out funding previous years senior footy programs is very current and substantive to a footy forum. It goes to how senior footy programs are financed, it goes to certain clubs financial sustainability, it goes to the very heart of what type of footy and level of player we are going to get watch going around in future years.

Here is one of the best debates I have heard about all things Asylum issues and as Turnover well knows and has pointed out to me there are lots of other forums for you to engage if that's your thing MYOB.

So you think I am raising those examples as a badge if honour. That just shows how delusional you are.

I'm not trying to shut down a discussion because I don't care about it. I'm saying that there are so many more important causes that could do with your passion.

The members of football clubs can look after themselves with out your call to arms.

So as I said, do something that may help others in real need.

You decide what's more important, the type of footy and level of player we will get at local football or the quality of life that a fellow human may strive for, whatever that cause may be

So you think I am raising those examples as a badge if honour. That just shows how delusional you are.

I'm not trying to shut down a discussion because I don't care about it. I'm saying that there are so many more important causes that could do with your passion.

The members of football clubs can look after themselves with out your call to arms.

So as I said, do something that may help others in real need.

You decide what's more important, the type of footy and level of player we will get at local football or the quality of life that a fellow human may strive for, whatever that cause may be
MYOB only you can decide what your motivations for raising your volunteering in your personal life on a public forum were, that's for you to answer. I would suggest you are engaging in 'virtue signalling'.

MYOB I don't need to decide what's more important to talk about in a local footy forum between local footy issues and the quality of life that a fellow human will strive for that's a totally invalid comparison MYOB.

It's a footy forum the measure of whether something is worthy of posting on a footy forum should not have to be stood up against whether it matters more than the quality of life a fellow human fights for.

If that was the case MYOB non of us could post anything about footy or even play footy and people like Noam Chomsky have written books about why playing sport is immoral in a world full of horrific things but as Turnover said this is a footy forum for good or for bad.

I'm open to your argument that sport doesn't matter and maybe we care about it too much in society but this isn't the place for that? I don't know about you I do it for an outlet from all the serious stuff. In my private life which I won't raise here, I have a variety of areas I direct my passion those are choices for me to make not you MYOB I am here to engage with you and others on all things local footy.

Virtue signalling - on an anonymous forum.

You can go and play with someone else now.
If you listen to that video carefully MYOB the reason people do it is because it makes people feel better about themselves, anonymity doesn't get in that way of feeding your personal self-esteem. That's why you really do it.

Bullshit. fu** off w***er. I’ll enjoy my ban.
Feel better?

What do you care about why are you reading Big Footy? Anything on your mind, got any thoughts about how things are playing out? If you don't why are you reading BF posts? It must be very frustrating to be so wound up that you have to get abusive it can't be good for you Turnover, it's not worth it, I'm not worth it...Maybe head over to the Science and Religion thread you hangout in and see if you can calm yourself down, Namaste :praying:

There is so much substantive stuff to post about and generate debate on and you blokes just focus on me. You have a choice Turnover:
  • Or as is your choice just keep focussing on me personally, but if you do that don't complain about the lack of variety or posting in the forum Turnover that's on you or anyone who uses their time to focus on me when there is so much to talk about that will affect the future of local footy

Good read I reckon there could be lots of movement, with coaching contracts getting adjusted down and a heap of AFL assistants coming into the mix 6 of the 10 up for grabs:

Local footy: Who will be coaching your EDFL club in 2021
With the season cancelled amid the coronavirus crisis, we take a look at the state of play in the Essendon District Football League’s senior coaching ranks.

PREMIER DIVISION
Keilor: Almost 12 months ago to the day, master coach Mick McGuane put pen to paper on a two-year contract extension, taking him through until the end of the 2021 season. The EDFL’s longest-serving coach has led the Blues to three flags since taking charge in 2008.

Aberfeldie: The perennial contender has opened discussions with three-time premiership coach Adam Potter, but a decision has not been reached. Potter has taken over as a principal at Williamstown High School and president Brett Williamson said he was “weighing up his options there, but it’s all relatively positive at this stage that he will continue on”. Assistant coach Reynolds medallist Luke Blackwell looms as a potential replacement if Potter departs after five seasons at the helm.

Strathmore: The Mores have locked away the energetic Matthew Horne, who led the club to the preliminary final in his first year in charge in 2019. Strathmore has suffered one-point defeats on the penultimate weekend of the past two campaigns and boast a quality batch of young players and seasoned stars.

Pascoe Vale: Digby Morrell has signed on for next season after leading the Panthers to a finals berth in 2019. The former AFL player is a proven performer in the coach’s box, steering Strathmore and West Coburg to flags.

Greenvale: The Jets are on the hunt for a new coach after AFL champion Paul Chapman quit the top job last month, owing to personal commitments. Greenvale has a history of appointing high-profile coaches, with ex-AFL players Steve MacPherson, Anthony Rock, Adam McPhee and Shannon Grant steering the club this century.

Maribyrnong Park: It remains uncertain who will be calling the shots at the Lions next year, with Dean Laidley’s future up in the air after he was charged with stalking and other offences after his arrest in May. Laidley has completed one season at the helm.

Essendon Doutta Stars: Kyle Hardingham said the Stars’ next coach would have a “dream job” after stepping down earlier this month. The former AFL high-flyer is moving on because of family reasons and set to return to Western Australia at the end of this year.

Glenroy: Ross Terranova has re-signed for 2021, declaring the Roys offered a “total package” to potential new players as clubs prepare for salary cap cuts. Terranova took over in 2016 and led Glenroy to the 2017 Division 1 flag.

Avondale Heights: The club remains in discussions with Patrick Byrne, who was an assistant coach in 2019 before replacing Donald McDonald.

Craigieburn: It is understood the club has started discussions with former Carlton captain Lance Whitnall, who steered the Eagles to the 2019 Division 1 premiership. Craigieburn is yet to announce an agreement for next season.