EDFL Premier Div 2020

Does anyone believe that the same sponsorship funds will be available for clubs regardless of the label of footy. Personally I think it would be great to see some of their clubs invest in their supporting infrastructure to make their club more modern.

This is why some clubs like Abers, Strathmore, Keilor & Greenvale are reluctant to give the junior rego fees for 2020 back as discussed.

In the Fin Review Today:
Screen Shot 2020-07-22 at 8.41.37 am.png
Extracts:

“Our survey shows that without financial support thousands of community clubs risk insolvency in the months ahead, which presents a real risk to the physical and mental health of our communities. This is not just a sporting crisis but a national crisis," said ASF CEO Patrick Walker.

The survey also revealed that main sources of revenues had ceased or declined. Up to 80 per cent of clubs reported declines in one or more of memberships, sponsorships, fundraising and events and hospitality.

Forecast losses are being funded by clubs drawing down on savings or going into debt.

The Avondale Football Club in the heart of Melbourne's outbreak in the north has 350 players and 1600 members, including expanding to nine female teams, but is now worried about its survival.

“Financially, the club is down 70 per cent on its annual revenue, which is compounded as we have commenced capital works at one of our venues," club secretary Anthony Nuzzaco said.

Even under that pressure Avondale FC did the right thing regards Junior Rego Fees.
Screen Shot 2020-07-22 at 8.49.04 am.png

Any football administrator at local or competition level only needed to do some basic back of envelope calculations to realise trying to play in 2020 was always going to expose local clubs to more financial loss risks rather than by batoning down the hatches and ceasing all possible costs. The EDFL and a small minority of desperate clubs (due to their specific management choices dipping into 2020 Junior Subs to cover the preceding year's costs)were pushing the play 2020 barrow and they would have been selling local clubs down the river into financial peril. The national experience of local clubs via this survey has proven this even without positive cases and isolation in clubs, trading numbers were always going to be down significantly across sponsorship, events, canteen etc.. and the cost reductions wouldn't have been and haven't been enough for local clubs in states that played on in 2020 to stop the bleeding. In practice Victorian local clubs were saved from themselves by the timing of our outbreak and the government removing the return to play rights, this has meant that to a large degree it hasn't allowed the bleeding to begin by turning on the expenses tap in the first place.

Yes Colonel,

SA/ TAS /QLD/WA are all now playing football which is what a lot of us had hoped for in 2020.

Had we not had significant outbreaks which made it impossible we still had every right to work hard to get the season up
Yes Torp and Colonel we could have been playing footy but that isn't working out so well and compounding the financial problem because they kicked off the expenses train and the inevitable team isolations in active competitions are causing havoc. It was always safer not to play in Melbourne & Sydney, suspend nearly all your costs and baton down the hatches not compound the problem in a foolhardy way and allow your expenses even if reduced to start to roll knowing the below was always going to play out.

Extract from the Fin Review article today:
General manager of Padstow Hornets Football Club in south Sydney, Greg Peddie said as a small community club "they run lean and money is scarce" but with Sydney's outbreak, including four junior rugby league teams self-isolating after a trainer tested positive on Sunday, concerns were growing.

"We have lost a whole team and we are losing volunteers," he said. "No one is coming to the ground, so the canteen, our major revenue raiser, is not making any money even though costs continue."

As I was always advocating it wasn't just the health risk it would be the implications of what the government would make you do regards isolation protocols and the loss of income and affect of large numbers of people caught up in the isolation.

"What we know so far is a parent (not in attendance at the game) of one of the Sutherland Loftus players has tested positive today and as a result we are putting in place the following urgent next steps."

It said "all players, officials and spectators (including family members) in the 14Gold team are required to self-isolate until further notice" while "all other players, officials and spectators (including family members) that were in close contact with any 14Gold players at any point [Sunday] must also self-isolate until further notice".

"We are asking you all to take these precautions to ensure the safety of you, your family and all members of the local community," the email said.

Competitions in south-western Sydney already had to be postponed for another two weeks until August 1 because of an outbreak in that area.

A football club in Sydney’s Hills district has been placed on high alert after a young player tested positive for COVID-19 following a training session.

Castle Hill Rockets Football Club confirmed the case to 7NEWS.com.au, saying the eight-year-old had last attended a training session at Eric Mobbs Reserve Field 4 in Castle Hill on July 17 at 5.30pm with two U8 teams.

Hills Football General Manager Kurt Johnson said NSW Health would contact all players and coaches involved in the training session who would be required to self-isolate for two weeks.

“Only persons who were in direct contact with this team during this training session are required to self isolate, all others are only required to isolate should any symptoms appear,”

Overnight, a new case has been confirmed at a football club in Sydney's Hills District, putting the area on high alert.
In an email seen by 9News.com.au, the Hills Football club says one of its players has tested positive.
"On Friday the 17th July at 17:30 a player took part in a training session at Eric Mobbs Reserve (in Castle Hill)," general manager Kurt Johnson said.
"This player has confirmed a positive case of COVID-19. This player did NOT play any matches over the weekend. This player trained with two u8 teams.

A relative of a player in the Under 13s Inverleigh football team has tested positive for coronavirus, but the case is not expected to jeopardise junior footy’s return to play in the region this weekend.

The Inverleigh Football and Netball Club confirmed that on Thursday night it was made aware that a family member of one of its under 13s players had tested positive for COVID-19.

“All appropriate steps in line with the COVID protocols have been followed and are currently taking place to ensure the safety of all our members and extended families,” the club said on its Facebook page late Saturday.

This is why some clubs like Abers, Strathmore, Keilor & Greenvale are reluctant to give the junior rego fees for 2020 back as discussed.

In the Fin Review Today:
View attachment 916901
Extracts:

“Our survey shows that without financial support thousands of community clubs risk insolvency in the months ahead, which presents a real risk to the physical and mental health of our communities. This is not just a sporting crisis but a national crisis," said ASF CEO Patrick Walker.

The survey also revealed that main sources of revenues had ceased or declined. Up to 80 per cent of clubs reported declines in one or more of memberships, sponsorships, fundraising and events and hospitality.

Forecast losses are being funded by clubs drawing down on savings or going into debt.

The Avondale Football Club in the heart of Melbourne's outbreak in the north has 350 players and 1600 members, including expanding to nine female teams, but is now worried about its survival.

“Financially, the club is down 70 per cent on its annual revenue, which is compounded as we have commenced capital works at one of our venues," club secretary Anthony Nuzzaco said.

Even under that pressure Avondale FC did the right thing regards Junior Rego Fees.
View attachment 916906
Surely the EDFL need to step in and investigate any Club not offering full refund to anyone who has paid membership and hold them accountable

The league has no right to tell a club how it should be run. That’s the job for the members. The league has enough problems with themselves without worrying about the 40+ clubs.

So wrong.

"The league has no right to tell a club how it should be run." That's the whole reason they exist and clubs pay them affiliation fees for :tearsofjoy: Are you taking the piss or stirring the pot or you actually think that?

You blokes are so trigger happy and spout off with lazy one-liners without doing any background?

One of the core tenants of league administrations is to construct and uphold codes of conduct this is a fundamental platform for how associations and legal structures surrounding them are supposed to work.

Codes of Conduct are an integral component of sporting activities and the following codes compliment the good work of many football bodies over several years and the Australian Sports Commission requirement. All Members of the Essendon District Football League (EDFL) shall adopt Member specific codes and the EDFL encourages Members to be vigilant in enforcing such codes whether via support for those who constantly abide by the codes and / or harsh penalties for those who fail to act in accordance with the codes. Mandatory and Enforceable Codes of Conduct The Essendon District Football League (EDFL) pledges to uphold the requirement to enforce a Code of Conduct as introduced by the AFL and AFL Victoria. All affiliated EDFL clubs are to enforce the following Code of Conduct within their club for all Coaches, Players, Parents, Supporters, Officials and Members. A member by default extends to family members of players of all age groups.

They take what clubs do and say very seriously to protect the integrity of the league's brand as all leagues do Horse your lack of understanding is mind-boggling this is the ABC's of how footy works?

2. Policy Scope This policy applies to all forms of verbal and written correspondence to the mainstream and local media and also includes club publication on league and club-run websites and social media platforms. It also includes off the record comments, anonymous comments, public speaking engagements and media releases. Social media platforms includes but is not limited to: - Discussion forums such as Bigfooty.com - Any form of blogging or microblogging such as Twitter - Social networking websites such as Facebook - Video and photo sharing websites such as Instagram and YouTube - Shared online spaces such as computer and video gaming - Shared digital interactive spaces such as Snapchat - Any newly developed digital technology that the EssendonDistrict Football League believes should fit under the definition of a media or publishing platform This policy is applicable to all Essendon District Football League employees and volunteers, and Affiliated Club Officials, Members, Players, Staff, and Volunteers who participate in any form of Social Media. It is also applicable to any persons who publish or represent in any manner content representative or recognisable as relating to the Essendon District Football League, its employees or playing and non-playing participants.

The EDFL policy they would/could/but won't use if they wanted to investigate and compel clubs to refund junior rego fees would be:

5. Essential supporting documents Any comments or statements made to the media, either written or verbal, should be done in the context of the Essendon District Football League’s Rules, By-Laws and Schedules. These include: EDFL Laws No.34 – Bringing the game into disrepute (below) 34 CONDUCT UNBECOMING, PREJUDICIAL OR LIKELY TO BRING GAME INTO DISREPUTE 34.1 Where the Board of Management is of the opinion that an affiliated Club or any Official, player or Member thereof, or Member or any other person has contravened the Statement of Purposes, Rules or By-Laws of the League or has been involved in conduct which is unbecoming or likely to prejudice the reputation, or interests of the League, or to bring the game of Australian Football into disrepute, the Board of Management may deal with any such manner as the Board of Management in their absolute discretion thinks fit and without limiting their power, they may; 34.1.1 appoint any person to enquire into any matter; 34.1.2 conduct their own enquiry into any matter; 34.1.3 refer any matter to the Tribunal; 34.1.4 impose any penalty that it deems fit including but not limited to, imposing a monetary penalty or bond, a suspension, a disqualification or providing for the loss of or forfeiture of or Premiership points or other privileges, benefits or entitlements

So wrong.

"The league has no right to tell a club how it should be run." That's the whole reason they exist and clubs pay them affiliation fees for :tearsofjoy: Are you taking the piss or stirring the pot or you actually think that?

You blokes are so trigger happy and spout off with lazy one-liners without doing any background?

One of the core tenants of league administrations is to construct and uphold codes of conduct this is a fundamental platform for how associations and legal structures surrounding them are supposed to work.

Codes of Conduct are an integral component of sporting activities and the following codes compliment the good work of many football bodies over several years and the Australian Sports Commission requirement. All Members of the Essendon District Football League (EDFL) shall adopt Member specific codes and the EDFL encourages Members to be vigilant in enforcing such codes whether via support for those who constantly abide by the codes and / or harsh penalties for those who fail to act in accordance with the codes. Mandatory and Enforceable Codes of Conduct The Essendon District Football League (EDFL) pledges to uphold the requirement to enforce a Code of Conduct as introduced by the AFL and AFL Victoria. All affiliated EDFL clubs are to enforce the following Code of Conduct within their club for all Coaches, Players, Parents, Supporters, Officials and Members. A member by default extends to family members of players of all age groups.

They take what clubs do and say very seriously to protect the integrity of the league's brand as all leagues do Horse your lack of understanding is mind-boggling this is the ABC's of how footy works?

2. Policy Scope This policy applies to all forms of verbal and written correspondence to the mainstream and local media and also includes club publication on league and club-run websites and social media platforms. It also includes off the record comments, anonymous comments, public speaking engagements and media releases. Social media platforms includes but is not limited to: - Discussion forums such as Bigfooty.com - Any form of blogging or microblogging such as Twitter - Social networking websites such as Facebook - Video and photo sharing websites such as Instagram and YouTube - Shared online spaces such as computer and video gaming - Shared digital interactive spaces such as Snapchat - Any newly developed digital technology that the EssendonDistrict Football League believes should fit under the definition of a media or publishing platform This policy is applicable to all Essendon District Football League employees and volunteers, and Affiliated Club Officials, Members, Players, Staff, and Volunteers who participate in any form of Social Media. It is also applicable to any persons who publish or represent in any manner content representative or recognisable as relating to the Essendon District Football League, its employees or playing and non-playing participants.

The EDFL policy they would/could/but won't use if they wanted to investigate and compel clubs to refund junior rego fees would be:

5. Essential supporting documents Any comments or statements made to the media, either written or verbal, should be done in the context of the Essendon District Football League’s Rules, By-Laws and Schedules. These include: EDFL Laws No.34 – Bringing the game into disrepute (below) 34 CONDUCT UNBECOMING, PREJUDICIAL OR LIKELY TO BRING GAME INTO DISREPUTE 34.1 Where the Board of Management is of the opinion that an affiliated Club or any Official, player or Member thereof, or Member or any other person has contravened the Statement of Purposes, Rules or By-Laws of the League or has been involved in conduct which is unbecoming or likely to prejudice the reputation, or interests of the League, or to bring the game of Australian Football into disrepute, the Board of Management may deal with any such manner as the Board of Management in their absolute discretion thinks fit and without limiting their power, they may; 34.1.1 appoint any person to enquire into any matter; 34.1.2 conduct their own enquiry into any matter; 34.1.3 refer any matter to the Tribunal; 34.1.4 impose any penalty that it deems fit including but not limited to, imposing a monetary penalty or bond, a suspension, a disqualification or providing for the loss of or forfeiture of or Premiership points or other privileges, benefits or entitlements
I think you are wrong. Last time I checked the AFL doesn’t tell clubs how they should be run. What makes you think the EDFL have special powers to tell a club what they should do with their money. The EDFL has policies and they police the policies if clubs break them. That’s completely different to telling a club how they run.
So unless you have proof where The EDFL has intervene in club finances then maybe you should quick while your behind.

I think you are wrong. Last time I checked the AFL doesn’t tell clubs how they should be run. What makes you think the EDFL have special powers to tell a club what they should do with their money. The EDFL has policies and they police the policies if clubs break them. That’s completely different to telling a club how they run.
So unless you have proof where The EDFL has intervene in club finances then maybe you should quick while your behind.

You can lead a Horse to water.... :oops:

Shallow one liner.
Got an opinion?

Do you or Horse want to explain how your point of view lines up with the facts?

It's very frightening how ill-informed you blokes are and unable to form arguments or debate the facts. 🤣

This is how BigFooty ends up in stupid slinging matches because some people go to effort to inform the forum with information of substance and fact and work to make their case others think its cool to drop shallow one-liners in that try and pot the person making the effort.

Reward the playmaking, not the spud scragger I say ;)

How has your post help advance the conversation? or is it likely to create a silly back and forth? That Aucklander was referring to?

How about you tell me whether this statement from Horse is a good reflection of reality?

"Last time I checked the AFL doesn’t tell clubs how they should be run"

Write down your thoughts with some supporting evidence to show why the AFL doesn't tell clubs how they should run.

Read it out loud and see if you genuinely think what you say isn't absurd and counterfactual.

If you can't do that your just taking the piss and a time-waster trying to stir a reaction. 😘

Last edited by a moderator:
Just imagine putting up with Cheap 🤡 until footy starts again in 2025.🤮🤮

Master big footy debater😂😂
AFL sets new 'soft cap' on club spending
AFL clubs have been set a spending limit of $511,000 per month on their football operations, minus player payments, until the end of the 2020 season.

What do you reckon The Grover is this statement by Horse based on reality?

Want to state an opinion :think:

Last edited by a moderator:

Probably take till 2025 to read that stuff, scroll on by.
Yeap thought so 🤣 You aren't scrolling on by 🎣 ....

Got an opinion yet?

AFL clubs have been set a spending limit of $511,000 per month on their football operations, minus player payments, until the end of the 2020 season.

www.theage.com.au

The AFL will restrict clubs to a monthly budget that is nearly 37 per cent less than what they were allowed to spend on football, pre-pandemic.
www.theage.com.au

What do you reckon Turnover is this statement by Horse based on reality?

Want to state an opinion?

Come on Turnover you can do it.... you such a lightweight follower

This statement by Horse is so blatantly absurd and you fence-sitting followers are just mealy-mouthed followers.

Call it as it is and grow some.

What do you reckon The Grover is this statement by Horse based on reality?

Want to state an opinion :think:

Didn't think so.... Just another sheep, stick with the crowd yeah yeah me too, me too ha ha I told Cheap he was a clown. Huh Huh, Huh Huh

There is new information come out nationally about 1 in 4 clubs could be insolvent today and new information about how local footy is going in states playing on in 2020 and the best you blokes can do is drop in posts potting me. So hopeless.

Yeah. They set a limit. But not how it’s spent. Isn’t that like the salary cap. You have a limit and the club can spend it anyway they want. They don’t say u must have this and that. That’s up to the clubs to decide how they spend their money.
This is where your misinformed.
AFL vic have a salary cap that’s their policy. it’s up to clubs to follow the policy however they want. If they breach the policy then they will be punished.
The league can’t tell a club to refund money because they don’t have any rights to. Clubs are their own organisation and can do what they like as long as the don’t breach the leagues policies. The league shouldn’t be telling clubs how they should be run because it has nothing to do with them. What the league needs to be worried about is making sure that the league is fair for all clubs. But according to some people on here they aren’t doing that either.

Yeah. They set a limit. But not how it’s spent. Isn’t that like the salary cap. You have a limit and the club can spend it anyway they want. They don’t say u must have this and that. That’s up to the clubs to decide how they spend their money.
This is where your misinformed.
AFL vic have a salary cap that’s their policy. it’s up to clubs to follow the policy however they want. If they breach the policy then they will be punished.
The league can’t tell a club to refund money because they don’t have any rights to. Clubs are their own organisation and can do what they like as long as the don’t breach the leagues policies. The league shouldn’t be telling clubs how they should be run because it has nothing to do with them. What the league needs to be worried about is making sure that the league is fair for all clubs. But according to some people on here they aren’t doing that either.
Ok Horse.... :thumbsu:

"The league shouldn’t be telling clubs how they should be run because it has nothing to do with them. What the league needs to be worried about is making sure that the league is fair for all clubs."

Your very confused Horse, you just stated you believed leagues need to focus on making sure the league is fair for all (equalisation) correct?

Then if that is what you believe you now need to understand that one of the primary tools leagues have to deploy to help create equalisation is make rules on how clubs can spend money to help create equalisation.

See here: (notice it is called The AFL's equalisation measures)

The whole thing is about how much and what money the AFL is allowing clubs to spend money on.

The most contemporary attempt at equalisation and measures the AFL use to control how much and what clubs spend money on:

Surely the members will just vote with their feet
I don't reckon Torp as much as it's frustrating I do agree with others that most parents at the top end clubs will cop it because the desire to give your kids the best will mean they do.

Does anyone believe that the same sponsorship funds will be available for clubs regardless of the label of footy. Personally I think it would be great to see some of their clubs invest in their supporting infrastructure to make their club more modern.

There is no chance of this being the case, many of the clubs rely on pubs, bars, cafes, gyms who have had there income slashed for the best part of 12 months. There is no way they will be then handing over $ to the local footy club when they are struggling to pay their suppliers.

With the ongoing daily cases tally reaching 484 today and not looking likely to reduce over the next couple of months.......22nd July 2021.

Who here thinks cricket season will start on time?

And if not will cricket be given the same latitude as footy was afforded and most definitely encroach on the footy preseason or more importantly push the start of the 2021 footy season out past mid 2021.

Just asking for a friend.

With the ongoing daily cases tally reaching 484 today and not looking likely to reduce over the next couple of months.......22nd July 2021.

Who here thinks cricket season will start on time?

And if not will cricket be given the same latitude as footy was afforded and most definitely encroach on the footy preseason or more importantly push the start of the 2021 footy season out past mid 2021.

Just asking for a friend.

Mail is cricket will play and pending position as at October well earlier for training purposes and if not able to commence they will once they can meaning it could be Jan start meaning football will be pushed to start season later than March / April in 2021

VTCA Cricket AGM is on tonight, so they may advise clubs of their contingency plans and potential structure. I have just noticed they have just employed a communications manager which was long overdue - lets just hope she doesn't become the ground inspector as they always seem to be under resourced. A scenario to not impede on the football season (2021) may be to revert the two comp to a one day comp. But, that may be too logical...

View attachment 917067

Maybe your right Torp:

A football club in Melbourne’s western suburbs has come under fire from parents set to be left out of pocket despite a cancelled season.
Caroline Springs, which competes in the Western Region Football League, has offered the parents of its junior players a refund of just $205 of a $395 registration fee, meaning they have forked out $190 for a year of no games.

The club has given the option of a $205 credit for the 2021 season, meaning a $190 bill will remain for returning players.

Lakers president Terry Azzopardi said fixed costs covering equipment, apparel, merchandise, training fees, insurance and council rates were incurred in preparation for the 2020 campaign.

The refundable portion is made up of match-day fees ($140) and a discounted ticket for Caroline Springs’ annual auction and car raffle ($65), which has been postponed.

A parent of a junior player described the move as “disgraceful” given the coronavirus pandemic and said “there are so many angry parents about this”.

The parent, who wanted to remain anonymous, said they were comfortable paying for a playing jumper – amounting to about $50 – but believed it was unreasonable to cover other costs.

“Numerous clubs in the WRFL and BFL and EDFL are giving full refunds or rolling over, some are charging minimal. But not this club,” the parent said.

At least this club is coming clean as to why they can't pay it back in full it's the same reason as Abers they just aren't fessing up.

“We planned for a 2020 season and we had to pay expenses and costs to be ready in case it started,” Azzopardi said.

“Obviously you use your registration funds to do that and you recoup that money through sponsorship, canteen and fundraising. We get none of that now. Sponsorship has stopped completely.

“We’d love to offer full refunds, but at the moment we can’t.

“It’s more about the timing for us more than anything.

“This is what we can afford now and we’ve got to make sure the club stays afloat.
Any parent who doesnt get the cash returned for no services rendered and accepts the practice and doesnt leave the club is insane