Opinion Im concerned by the blasé decisions made of the powers that be at Punt Rd lately.

I've worked in Tier 1 construction and Tunneling for nearly 30 years in roles starting from apprentice up to Superintendent and upper management.
I'm mates and share offices with the big kahuna Project Managers and pick their brains to translate what they do to my owner building projects too. A year to get plans during Covid ok I'll kinda cop that but not really. 6 months to get council approval sure anyone who deals with bureaucracy knows can be a hassle, but during all that time things don't come to a halt there's planning still going on so once approval has been granted all ducks are in a row ready to launch. 5 months to go out to tender is ridiculous shouldn't take very long at all. 7 months for quoting and landing at preferred builder is obscene. Realistically those 2 steps should be 3-5 months Max!!!
Also, don't forget that there was also another delay while the Royal Historical Society of Victoria (I think it was them or some other group) tried to get the stand Heritage listed. Couldn't do anything to the stand or continue with the tender process while that was happening.

According to this article (https://www.historyvictoria.org.au/...cacy-projects/richmonds-jack-dyer-stand-lost/) the first objection happened in May 2022 and took till end of November 2022 to be rejected by Heritage Victoria (https://heritagecouncil.vic.gov.au/...COMMENDATION-PUNT-ROAD-OVAL-NOT-INCLUDE-1.pdf)

When we were on fire all the rival teams were looking to improve by stealing our key personnel. Our top coaches in Caracella, McCrae, Rutten and Kingsley. A part from former Capt Newman returning we've replaced them with blokes who've been fired or recently retired players. North poached Thursfield, WCE likewise with Clarke. We replaced Clarke with an unemployed fired dude that no other team bothered to pick up in the 4 months since he was fired.

Hardwick and Kingsley have poached off field people like football analysis manager Hayden Hill and others I can't recall. Luke Meehan was given Burge's gig without an exhaustive search for a replacement.

We've had our top people plundered and we're replacing them with discards and unproven flops.

I can't access the article but John Ralph has written:
"Richmond has investigated the reasons behind the injury carnage which has derailed its start under new coach Adem Yze.......Richmond believes its horrific run of injuries in a one-win season is down to bad luck rather than poor management.......... WTF??? Surely they're taking the p1ss? I would like to think that that's what they're just telling the media whilst behind the scenes they're scouring the globe to find the top guy to sort our woes, but on recent decisions I think old perm head and his clique just don't give a sh1t anymore and are more concerned with feathering their own nests than doing their actual jobs.

Graham Richmond might’ve lost the plot in latter years but never forget he was ruthless, slippery as an eel and turned the club into a powerhouse.

This $100mil blow-out doesn't add up to me.

Nov 2020: Plans announced for $60 million dollar development. $30 million already guaranteed by government funding.

Nov 2021: Designs revealed for $65 million Punt Road Oval redevelopment (majority of funding secured)

May 2022: The City of Melbourne has approved the demolition of the historic Jack Dyer Stand at Punt Road Oval as part of a redevelopment of the ground by the Richmond Tigers AFL club.
October 2022: Builders Tender for Punt Road Oval Redevelopment
May 2023: Richmond President Confirms Preferred Builder for Punt Rd Redevelopment

I've worked in Tier 1 construction and Tunneling for nearly 30 years in roles starting from apprentice up to Superintendent and upper management.
I'm mates and share offices with the big kahuna Project Managers and pick their brains to translate what they do to my owner building projects too. A year to get plans during Covid ok I'll kinda cop that but not really. 6 months to get council approval sure anyone who deals with bureaucracy knows can be a hassle, but during all that time things don't come to a halt there's planning still going on so once approval has been granted all ducks are in a row ready to launch. 5 months to go out to tender is ridiculous shouldn't take very long at all. 7 months for quoting and landing at preferred builder is obscene. Realistically those 2 steps should be 3-5 months Max!!!

A full year passes with no progress and now after the initial estimate of $60mil was padded out to $65mil and finally blows out to a whopping $100mil that doesn't add up and something rotten in Denmark folks. Without being privy to the inner workings I can understand $60mil to $65 as there would've been no doubt variations and upgrades on the initial concepts. THERE IS NO WAY IN HELL COSTS HAVE BLOWN OUT 54% in 2 years.
Like all construction jobs its mainly wages and materials that are your main costs. EBA increases say 5% p/a only justifies 10% increase in that component (that's assuming a generous 2 year delay, most likely only 12 month delay) Steel prices actually dropped >10% in 2023, concrete went up but nothing can really justify this new $100 mil figure.

A lot of the decision making seems lazy and inept. I get zero joy working construction. My only mate who loves his job is a fire-fighter. I can't imagine having a better job than being in the decision making process of the Richmond Footy Club. But it seems like the rot has well and truly set in. HTF could our injury debacle be written off as Hopper walked under a ladder, Gibcus kicked a black cat, Lynch squished a Christmas beetle and Prestia steps on too many cracks??

Our whole year is already a complete write off and I can't wait to see the injuries really stack up once the cold really takes hold. We won't get to know if Toce is great, ok or useless for 5+ years. I would've felt a whole lot better if we had poached the top guy from another club that every other club was envious we pried him loose, and seeing the world scoured for Meehans replacement. If Meehan and his whole team hasn't been replaced I'm taking 2025 off cos the clubs jumping the shark.
Magnificent post at 03:06am....

If Tassie poaches Blair Hartley, then yes I will agree with the OP.

Whose next? Tim Livingston?
Livo is like a suped up footy manager , Hartley is a very significant figure , managing list , contractuals , trades and recruitment, would leave a massive pair of shoes to fill , wouldn’t be surprised if at his age he may be tempted , he’s on a very good wicket , we’ve shaped the role that way but we might be up against afl money the cnts , prob depends if he has any interest in relocating to tassie, not generally a huge motivator

When we were on fire all the rival teams were looking to improve by stealing our key personnel. Our top coaches in Caracella, McCrae, Rutten and Kingsley. A part from former Capt Newman returning we've replaced them with blokes who've been fired or recently retired players. North poached Thursfield, WCE likewise with Clarke. We replaced Clarke with an unemployed fired dude that no other team bothered to pick up in the 4 months since he was fired.

Hardwick and Kingsley have poached off field people like football analysis manager Hayden Hill and others I can't recall. Luke Meehan was given Burge's gig without an exhaustive search for a replacement.

We've had our top people plundered and we're replacing them with discards and unproven flops.

I can't access the article but John Ralph has written:
"Richmond has investigated the reasons behind the injury carnage which has derailed its start under new coach Adem Yze.......Richmond believes its horrific run of injuries in a one-win season is down to bad luck rather than poor management.......... WTF??? Surely they're taking the p1ss? I would like to think that that's what they're just telling the media whilst behind the scenes they're scouring the globe to find the top guy to sort our woes, but on recent decisions I think old perm head and his clique just don't give a sh1t anymore and are more concerned with feathering their own nests than doing their actual jobs.

Graham Richmond might’ve lost the plot in latter years but never forget he was ruthless, slippery as an eel and turned the club into a powerhouse.

This $100mil blow-out doesn't add up to me.

Nov 2020: Plans announced for $60 million dollar development. $30 million already guaranteed by government funding.

Nov 2021: Designs revealed for $65 million Punt Road Oval redevelopment (majority of funding secured)

May 2022: The City of Melbourne has approved the demolition of the historic Jack Dyer Stand at Punt Road Oval as part of a redevelopment of the ground by the Richmond Tigers AFL club.
October 2022: Builders Tender for Punt Road Oval Redevelopment
May 2023: Richmond President Confirms Preferred Builder for Punt Rd Redevelopment

A full year passes with no progress and now after the initial estimate of $60mil was padded out to $65mil and finally blows out to a whopping $100mil that doesn't add up and something rotten in Denmark folks. Without being privy to the inner workings I can understand $60mil to $65 as there would've been no doubt variations and upgrades on the initial concepts. THERE IS NO WAY IN HELL COSTS HAVE BLOWN OUT 54% in 2 years.
Like all construction jobs its mainly wages and materials that are your main costs. EBA increases say 5% p/a only justifies 10% increase in that component (that's assuming a generous 2 year delay, most likely only 12 month delay) Steel prices actually dropped >10% in 2023, concrete went up but nothing can really justify this new $100 mil figure.

A lot of the decision making seems lazy and inept. I get zero joy working construction. My only mate who loves his job is a fire-fighter. I can't imagine having a better job than being in the decision making process of the Richmond Footy Club. But it seems like the rot has well and truly set in. HTF could our injury debacle be written off as Hopper walked under a ladder, Gibcus kicked a black cat, Lynch squished a Christmas beetle and Prestia steps on too many cracks??

Our whole year is already a complete write off and I can't wait to see the injuries really stack up once the cold really takes hold. We won't get to know if Toce is great, ok or useless for 5+ years. I would've felt a whole lot better if we had poached the top guy from another club that every other club was envious we pried him loose, and seeing the world scoured for Meehans replacement. If Meehan and his whole team hasn't been replaced I'm taking 2025 off cos the clubs jumping the shark.
I also work in construction for a very long time but I have also worked on the client side in project’s development through to the contract stage. I have no inside knowledge but I would bet that some of the following standard pitfalls occurred. First mistake, the initial estimate was done by a designer not a contractor or ant least ann experience project management company. Two, the initial estimate was not done on the final design. Three, the design changed. Four, the competition date didn’t change in proportion to the design delays. Five, the contract puts all the risk onto the contractor and six the construction rate went up. The best result now is to not exceed the $100m budget. Also $100M doesn’t seem that excess based on the images I have seen.

When I was in project management it wasn't unusal for tendering to take 6 months and the final quote to be well over 30% different to the initial quote. A lot of the time, suppliers will honour quoted pricing for a few months, but once it gets too far down the track - especially if they themselves need to order the goods from their manufacturer - the price blows out because everyone from the manufacturer, supplier, wholesaler, builder, contractors etc need to up their price, and usually add a little cream on top for their own pockets. Unfortunately in construction it's just how the cookie crumbles.

Magnificent post at 03:06am....

Hey I work nights. Once I've done my rounds and shown my face it's all delegated. I need to be here for morning handover I couldnt sleep. Normally I'd fart around on computer or re-watch the game. The game was that putrid I couldn't watch it again so I'd rather vent about my concerns.

Toce will prove you wrong
Well considering I never criticised him and am completely ambivalent towards him I'm not sure what you mean. I have zero information on him. I'm glad Clarke's gone as I've said 1000x a Hobo with a herald sun with Cal Tuomeys formguide would've had a better strike rate with 1st rounders than Clarke. My concern is the whole footy world knew he was sacked and he was unemployed for 1/2 a year.

I'm in a specialised field but now a pale comparison of myself in my peak, before I get made redundant my phone blows up with job offers that are too hard to refuse and most know ive been kinda coasting for years. AFL is a Niche market blokes like Wells or Beatson would have had a handful of offers in their back pocket should they have even considered leaving. To me him being on the market that long without offers is a bit like walking in a nightclub and grabbing the only bird that's been standing all alone all night and nobody else wanted her. I'm tipping she ain't gonna magically turn into Cinderella. I hope he turns into the greatest recruiter of all time, but I'm sceptical of the search. Even more so when the club says our injuries are luck related. I'm convinced no one is being remotely thorough, more likely ticking boxes and not putting in the hard yards.

Ever since Peggy left it's all turned to s**t.
I don't know enough here to really know what's happened since 2021 but I'm with you mate. I once had a brief chat with Peggy O'Neill outside the G before a game late in 2019, just to thank her for being part of helping make us become a powerhouse again and I could tell in that brief chat what a genuine caring passionate person she is. Her favourite comment over the years at the Jack Dyer Medal awards nights was always. "Not on my Watch" Thay says it all really. Peggy was a Barometer of our great club !!!! Even Benny Gale and Dimma would mention it at every opportunity.

Hard to say re cost blowouts
I know in my particular industry some supply overheads have gone up as much as 300% in some cases and everything has gone up at least 20%

From what I can gather most industries copping similar particularly ones that rely heavily on international shipping but even domestic s**t has taken a massive upturn in costs
Female sexual toys have increased that much in price . Wow

Hey I work nights. Once I've done my rounds and shown my face it's all delegated. I need to be here for morning handover I couldnt sleep. Normally I'd fart around on computer or re-watch the game. The game was that putrid I couldn't watch it again so I'd rather vent about my concerns.
Poor campaigner
I worked nights for 7 years and did 3 shift rotating for 7
Been doing a set dayshift 3 x 12 hours for the last two years but my sleep patterns are still completely ****ed

Livo is like a suped up footy manager , Hartley is a very significant figure , managing list , contractuals , trades and recruitment, would leave a massive pair of shoes to fill , wouldn’t be surprised if at his age he may be tempted , he’s on a very good wicket , we’ve shaped the role that way but we might be up against afl money the cnts , prob depends if he has any interest in relocating to tassie, not generally a huge motivator
Something to take into account, the AFL will
Basically be able to pay a lot of their footy department outside a soft cap for 3 years before they actually come in.

So in essence if the AFL want Blair to head their list build, he’ll be going as the offer will be too good to refuse

I’m inclined to think Rnd 0 has had more of an impact than people had anticipated.
A week less of pre-season ,Interstate travel
25deg plus first game in Queensland, less days to recover and pre-hab with first two games in 6 (us 5).
We’ve got our issues and they’ve got 7 hamstring injuries.

We can expect Rnd 0 for the next 5 years so I hope it plays out a little differently from here on than the sh.t show that was this year.

Re: OP
All of the Coaches and Staff that have moved on or been headhunted, became successful here.
And it’s probably the way it’ll happen when we start contending again.
CFL wanted to race in the Dimma versus Richmond game and hand him a win and invented Round Zero.

Something to take into account, the AFL will
Basically be able to pay a lot of their footy department outside a soft cap for 3 years before they actually come in.

So in essence if the AFL want Blair to head their list build, he’ll be going as the offer will be too good to refuse
Still remains to be seen if he actually wants to relocate to Tassie
Dunno if he has kids and that but it would be quite the ask for someone at his age

I don't know enough here to really know what's happened since 2021 but I'm with you mate. I once had a brief chat with Peggy O'Neill outside the G before a game late in 2019, just to thank her for being part of helping make us become a powerhouse again and I could tell in that brief chat what a genuine caring passionate person she is. Her favourite comment over the years at the Jack Dyer Medal awards nights was always. "Not on my Watch" Thay says it all really. Peggy was a Barometer of our great club !!!! Even Benny Gale and Dimma would mention it at every opportunity.
Peggy had seen the ugly, bad and great years. After 2020 she could see the ugly coming back and eventually left whilst we were still hanging on by a thread. I know what she wanted to do after the events in the hub 2020, but certain people didn’t take her seriously and gave someone a massive contract. I underestimated her greatness and I’m the first to admit I was wrong in my opinion of her. She was the peacemaker and the moral fibre of where the club became a family and hence a powerhouse. She picked her perfect moment to leave bc the inevitable was coming as the cancer was allowed to comeback in.

Poor campaigner
I worked nights for 7 years and did 3 shift rotating for 7
Been doing a set dayshift 3 x 12 hours for the last two years but my sleep patterns are still completely ****ed

I hear ya. What do you do? I'm on 7x 12hr nights then 3.5 days off. 7x12hr days then 4 days off. Its brutal. I'm lucky I can sneak naps/ slèeps in on night shift so I get by on only needing another couple hours at home and the peggies stay away while I'm sleeping in 1st aid rooms. The trick is organise quality foam 1st aid beds, plus ive got a 4wd matress, blanket and pillow setup in my car. Hope you exercise, because it takes years off our life and as you know hecks up your social life and home life. Also try no caffeine after 6 hour mark of the shift. When tired dip your head in cold water. Quality blinds at home, disconnect doorbell, phone and you should be out soon as you hit the pillow.

Used to be so much easier when younger, could get by on 4 hours sleep. My Dad did rotating shifts for 25 years in petrol chem 2x 12 hr days, 2 x 12 hour nights then 5 days off. He could sleep the entire night shifts so he really only pretended to work 2 days then 7 days off lucky bast@rd