Review Round 7 = Essendon 85-85 Collingwood

Been floating around disinterested all season. Being dropped hasn't helped either. He's not tuned in and he's not the only one. He & Mitchell would be dropped if we had two more capable midfield players to come in but our depth is not great. And let's not pretend that Fin MaCrae is an answer either. Something need to change up with our midfield mix but it might be next season.
Mitchell has been fine ths year , Sidey ready to retire or only play in forward pocket off the bench WHE or Lippa or anyone else to wing

Yes, HH did what Fin Macrae has been unable to do - seized his opportunity, no matter how brief, to demand retention this week. He showed some genuine spark and impact.

Harrison was very good - 7 possessions at 100% and a goal in a quarter of footy

Very quick around the ground too - should be a walk up start next week I reckon

Think he & Frampton really lifted after the first. Howe getting monstered by Langford is what did us in insofar as our individual defenders, but the midfield lost it for us generally
I think Howes is one our poorest backmen now, constantly turning over the ball with simple 20-30 metres kicks to dangeorus positions must have had - 3 or 4 that cost us dearly

Fly's presser

You've been involved in some epic games in the last few years, that must be up there?

How do you sum up the game after that?

Have you worked out in your own head to what degree you go with a glass half full or glass half empty feeling?

What about the first 15 minutes of the match when Essendon kicked the first 4 goals. What do you think happened there?

Were you not switched on or were Essendon supercharged?

Jamie Elliott's mark?

Were you surprised that Elliott couldn't hold onto that mark in the end given his record in close games?

What about the overall pressure rating? That's what turned the Port Adelaide game around and do you feel it turned this game around as well?

What was the pressure rating if you could share?

How was Jamie [Elliott] after the game? Have you spoken to him?

It was a quieter game by Steele Sidebottom, but he was important in the last few minutes of the match. How did you see his game?

Another great speech by Darcy Moore post game. Does it feel like he has found some rhythm on the field with reading the ball really well?

What's your view of the 'Draw vs Extra Time' debate?

Was the draw a fair result?

Isn't today's draw a just result and one people will be satisfied with?

That last minute where both teams get a chance to win, are you playing to win?

Any injuries?

Anzac Day is always an amazing occasion. Can you give us some insight on what it's like to stand on the MCG. You were pretty emotional coming off.

Appreciate these summaries Ponsford👍

This is the attitude that is a part of what got West Coast to where they’ve been the last few years

Sorry but he literally hasn’t played a “good” game this year.

He’s either been genuinely bad, or just…there. At best, he’s played one “ok” game.

At some point we have to accept that it’s time.
Mate, you called Steele's career over in 2017 as shown by jmac70

You have lost your speculation privileges on his career.

As the coach said in the presser, "plenty of miles in those legs yet".

Just want to float that watching live at the G (from the actual last row of the top floor), both McCreery and Schultz covered a lot of ground and ran hard to put the pressure on.
Sometimes their stats don’t reflect their effect.
You can see it quite clearly from the ground.
Correct most BF baggers call their opinions from watching TV, ONLY at the ground can u see the work that goes in ( which is what the coaches see) , fortunately noone here is a coach else we would be a North Melbourne with some of the drivel posted here :p

Harrison was very good - 7 possessions at 100% and a goal in a quarter of footy

Very quick around the ground too - should be a walk up start next week I reckon
Unless there are photos of things of which there shouldn't be, and someone is able to manipulate the situation from within. He provides a bit of offensive nip. A whole game would test him.

Subbing off Mitchell was one of the dumbest coaching moves of 2024

Sidebottom had SEVEN posessions

With almost 80% time on ground

But we dropped Reef because he apparently didn’t do enough last week in five minutes of game time lol
They dropped Reef as they saw a need for a different player as sub for THIS game obviously, not because he didnt do enough last week .. simple as that

Fly's presser

You've been involved in some epic games in the last few years, that must be up there?

How do you sum up the game after that?

Have you worked out in your own head to what degree you go with a glass half full or glass half empty feeling?

What about the first 15 minutes of the match when Essendon kicked the first 4 goals. What do you think happened there?

Were you not switched on or were Essendon supercharged?

Jamie Elliott's mark?

Were you surprised that Elliott couldn't hold onto that mark in the end given his record in close games?

What about the overall pressure rating? That's what turned the Port Adelaide game around and do you feel it turned this game around as well?

What was the pressure rating if you could share?

How was Jamie [Elliott] after the game? Have you spoken to him?

It was a quieter game by Steele Sidebottom, but he was important in the last few minutes of the match. How did you see his game?

Another great speech by Darcy Moore post game. Does it feel like he has found some rhythm on the field with reading the ball really well?

What's your view of the 'Draw vs Extra Time' debate?

Was the draw a fair result?

Isn't today's draw a just result and one people will be satisfied with?

That last minute where both teams get a chance to win, are you playing to win?

Any injuries?

Anzac Day is always an amazing occasion. Can you give us some insight on what it's like to stand on the MCG. You were pretty emotional coming off.

Thanks for the effort you put in posting this. Much appreciated.

Bombers are a good team, and they didnt torch us ...
They surprised me TBH much improved on last year from what I saw. We’ve had slow starts but at the same time teams must be wondering how much of a lead is enough against us. Our gang tackling when we switch on is really good, I actually think we’ve improved our stick rate this year.

Same thing happened in the VFL. Def an issue
VFl has no ruck we are playing guy (Begg) almost same size as Cripps as primary ruck, and have maybe 2 reasonable mids in McCrae and Sullivan, rest are very ordinary, look at how many mid prospects we have delisted in past 3 years , we havent hit gold with any of our 2nd or 3rd rounders that i can recall - better to trade for some and quickly.

Our defensive zone is an absolute shambles.

It had been noticeable on watching games on TV this year, but going to watch them live yesterday for the first time it really smacks you in the face.

We are just so easy to move the ball through from one end to the next, with players have absolutely no accountability for an opponent, nor locking space down with the zone.

Shultz was robbed of a certain goal by an unusually unaware Bobby (being kind) and was the recipient of three or four hospital foot and hand passes. He often battled one out against two and sometimes three. He has not played to the standard he did at Freo but he is a workhorse and will have his time if we persist.
I agree , Schultz workrate is 110% doing everything coaches are asking, and he is tough, and a great shot a t goal perfect replacement for Elliot as he reaches end of his career ..