Review Round 7, 2020 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against GWS?

here is something interesting look at who the top 8 have beat ladder position as live ladder tonight.
Not many of the top 8 played each other. only 8 matches in 6 rounds.
Lions beat the 1,11,12,14,18
Port beat 6,12,14,15,18
Pies 5,7,9,13
Tigers 10,15,16,17
Cats 2,6,13,15
Suns 12,14,15,18
Dogs 8,11,16,17
Bombers 3,14,16,17..
And bombers 8th although one game behind you think they beat Demons 15th

I add the Saints who prob beat the crows tomorrow
Saints 4,7, 17 and prob 18th

Unconscionably scheduled something with the family today.. so have to wait for the replay.

Watched a bit of the start and am super happy Zorko is back. Also the guernsey looked absolutely sublime. Highlight and all the goals vid make for exciting viewing, and am super excited to see the games of both Rich and Birchall (and McCarthy)

Skinner, mathieson, Witherden, Answerth and Ballendens next senior game will be at their next club. There is no position or faith in them from the match committee. It’s a problem we haven’t had for 15 years.

I’m guessing you’re on the match committee or at least part of the footy club to make such a definitive call. To say those 5 have no faith in them by the match committee is absolute jibberish

Skinner, mathieson, Witherden, Answerth and Ballendens next senior game will be at their next club. There is no position or faith in them from the match committee. It’s a problem we haven’t had for 15 years.

Yeah I'm a bit uneasy about this one. While settled line up is what our match committee seems to prefer, I wonder if it'll short change us if we need replacements at a later stage this season. Richmond and Pies seem to rotate more youngsters through their setup, same with Port.

If our 22 keeps delivering solid performances like yesterday, it's hard to argue for dropping any of them.

I have about the same amount of faith in this take as you claim the match committee has in these guys.

You claim this, like you know for a fact none of the players they are behind will become injured anywhere in the next 10 games...

...Can I get the lotto numbers?

That isn’t Fagan’s style. Not going to happen.
I thought it was a valid suggestion, worthy of discussion, despite being unlikely to eventuate given Fagans loyalty and Hipwoods potential.
On the contrary, they all have the faith of the coaches and group. Mathieson and Witherden may be have things that are required to regain their spot, and skinner/Ballenden haven't had much of an opportunity but it's only round 5 and both had decent preseason form. Answerth had a fantastic year and may be building his body up which would be smart. Dont see how you arrived there

Couldnt help but notice McCluggage was huge in the first quarter and then sort of...vanished for the rest of the game.

Tagged out or a bit wary of his shoulder? I could be wrong though, going to watch the replay later today.
I agree, maybe still a bit sore or still building his tank. He was really taking the game on

Hipwood and McStay played more up the ground to drag Davis and Haynes away and separate them. Remember the final when we just kept attacking from the same spot down the wing and they would just pick us off like Harris Andrews was doing to them. This was much better coaching and I cant remember Davis or especially Haynes getting too many intercept marks at all. As the Lord Fagan would say - they did the jobs. Like against the Eagles, first game last season.

I think a bit of that was helped by matching Haynes on Charlie for the first quarter. What a gift.

Why is anyone bringing up Walker in the game review thread? I'd say why is anyone bringing up Walker at all anymore but I assume that's a lost cause.
It seems that any player that leaves us becomes an out and out champion..... we need to get our recruitment and retention departments to pull their finger out.

Josh Walker > Bernie Quinlan.
Tom Cutler > Kevin Murray.

Nearly through the first quarter, absolutely owning the centre corridor. Our scoring capacity makes us a very dangerous team.

Also love how all our players are ferocious at the contest.

Looking forward to our games against Richmond and Collingwood.

Nearly through the first quarter, absolutely owning the centre corridor. Our scoring capacity makes us a very dangerous team.

Also love how all our players are ferocious at the contest.

Looking forward to our games against Richmond and Collingwood.

Not worried about Richmond (might be the first time I've ever typed that) but Pies game will be tough. Potentially game of the season when finally matched up.

Here is my Footyalmanac write up for yesterday's match

Derrinalphil’s in lockdown but I’m use to it. No one is allowed to visit, but being a Melbourne based Brissie supporter there were many years when no one would come around to my place to watch the footy. I would eagerly suggested that I would arrive at their place just before the game with gifts to quieten the non-footy supporters in the house, otherwise know as the ‘wife’, but my mates would always have an excuse: Foxtel’s on the blink, in laws are taking us out, etc. etc..

It picked up last season as the Lions started to show some form and a few of them even came to some live games but the Lions verses the Giants was watched at home by myself and the wife (she is a superior sort of woman who appreciates footy).

Back in the dark ages when Brissie were crap, losing all the time and having so few players worth watching, I would sit at home with a tipple of Rutherglen muscat and watch the Lions. I discovered a footy web site called Bigfooty that kept me sane, or more correctly gave me companionship, when all my footy mates were at Florentino’s or similar.

Some of the posters on Bigfooty disagree with most of the posts that I put up, but on a fan site, so what? Some people block certain posters but I don’t think that’s healthy. Too often the argument becomes the point and the actual point of the argument is forgotten. It’s a discussion and reaching a conclusion ain’t the point. Like a footy team, you have your favourites. I like Mitch Robbo, the bloke we picked up from Carlton. I wanted him on my membership card, but the club said that despite he being the most requested player it was not possible to have him on my card.

We all have our favourite footy memories. Meeting my great mate Mark at Crown after the 2001 Grand Final is mine. We were Fitzroy obsessives, going along week after week, watching the Roys slowly decline but now, in 2001, we were King of the heap. My favourite Bigfooty moment was at half time in a game (I seem to remember it was against the Crows) and we were 79 points down. Someone posted on the match day forum, “What would a coach say to a side that was 80 points down at half time?”

Just think about that. This is my all-time greatest post.

So back to the topic, on Saturday Brisbane played the Greenless Giants and I was surprised Brisbane were not clear favourites going into the match.

The Lions opened up with the first four goals of the match and I hadn’t opened my packet of Costco chocolate bikkies. We all have our discomfort food for when games get stressful. A mate of mine is a compulsive gobbler of the chili deep fried corn you can get from Ross’ Quality Nuts. When I watch a game with him, he is like a conveyer belt, continually feeding his face.

A bad skill error by Ah Chee then gifts the Giants a goal and they run the ball out of the centre to score another and the Lions go into quarter time only two goals up despite seeming to be in control of the match. The rest of the match followed similar lines. Brisbane would extend their lead but a few skill errors, usually by foot, would gift goals to the efficient Giants but for parts of the match Brisbane seemed to dominate the match without being able to over run the Giants.

Brisbane had 22 more inside 50’s but ran out winners by only 20 points. Brisbane do not have an efficient forward line but their array of midfielders is the envy of most other teams. Neale was well held for most of the day but players like Lyons, Zorko, Bailey popped up when required.

The Giants had domination of the centre square all day, at one stage having three times the clearances of the Lions. Geelong ran over Brisbane last week in one quarter where it seemed that Brisbane would have been better served to merely hand the ball to Dangerfield after very goal and set up to defend the seemingly inevitable Geelong forward entry from the centre bounce.

The Lions provided the highlights of the match. McCarthy taking two ripper marks and Rayner despite having little of the ball, taking a few screamers and hitting Cameron, on the lead, lace out, left foot, while being under extreme pressure.

The Lions now have umpteen games at home and the Giants need to get a few more inside 50’s. If Brisbane want a premiership this year they need a Gabba final series and their key forwards have to become as good as their defenders and midfielders. Daniel McStay ran around the ground demanding the ball and his ball usage, when not kicking for goal, is elite. His co-conspirator Hipwood had a game he would like to forget. Once finals start, Brisbane must become more efficient going forward or last years finals will simply repeat themselves.

GREATER WESTERN SYDNEY 2.3 4.4 8.5 10.8 (68)
BRISBANE 4.4 7.5 10.6 13.10 (88)

GOALS
Greater Western Sydney:
Himmelberg 3, Taranto 2, Cameron 2, Finlayson, De Boer
Brisbane: Cameron 2, Rayner 2, Bailey 2, Zorko, Neale, McCarthy, Lyons, Hipwood, Martin, McCarthy

Derrinalphils votes

3 Votes: Birchall

2 Votes; Rich

1 Vote: Andrews

PS Remember I NEVER give an onballer a vote

+22 on inside 50’s (56 -34) and we only won by 20 points. Very happy with the win, but it is clear where our improvement as a team needs to come from.

Review Round 7, 2020 - GWS vs. Brisbane Lions

Write your reply...