Preview R4: Changes vs. Gold Coast Suns (Match of the Round!!!)

Will Murphy replace Rachele in the 23?

The issue Captain is when you come out here having a go at posters for having a “whipping” boy when there are legitimate queries over a players selection, then you admit that you would have played Nank over Milera then out yourself has having your own whipping boy, it’s fair to say not only do you come off as a self righteous flog, but a hypocrite as well.

You also clearly have comprehension issues. Last year isn’t the same as last game.
Thank you for your detailed character assessment internet stranger. I'll be sure to take it into account as I glide through my lovely life.

Stay awesome champ.

Has anyone from the club actually indicated that Tex is anything but available this week?

If not I still think he plays both of the next 2 games. Its round 4 and after this flight the team has Gather round and then a 9 day break to GWS, and 20 days in SA before the Freo flight.

Knowing the AFC I would think they would want him to get through until that Freo game. If he is managed for that game, then he essentially doesn't fly again until Collingwood on the 17th of May, which is 6 weeks from now.

It's out of left-field, but I like your suggestion re: Tex.
5-day break and the humid heat will hurt Tex; a rest would give him nearly a 2-weeks break, refreshed and ready to kick a bag vs. Geelong :hearteyes: .
Pedlar is probably in for Rachele, anyway.
How about Shoenberg IN, who played well vs. Westies?

Nankervis in for Milera, PLEASE.
His "seniority" is really a mixed bag of injured years and missing games, poor bastard.
Let him find his feet and confidence back in the SANFL and bring him back to the Seniors if he tears it up.

Problem with Schoenberg is I don't think he can play forward, he's more or less a pure mid. We need a small forward to replace Rachele, and then another small forward to replace Tex, and ideally they both need to be able to rotate through the midfield, too. So for me it's probably Pedlar and one of Berry / Taylor (with the caveat that I haven't seen the 2's play so maybe those guys stank it up, I don't know). But in reality it'll probably be Murphy for Rachele and maybe one of these 3 if they do rest Tex. And I wouldn't put it past them to take him to Queensland since he just kicked 4 this week and they may want to let the good times roll.

Problem is Milera wasn't too bad the first couple of weeks - the whole team looks good when the opposition is about as stiff as a waterlogged tissue. So it'll probably take him getting found out against Gold Coast and Geelong (at least) before they think about dropping him.

Thank you for your detailed character assessment internet stranger. I'll be sure to take it into account as I glide through my lovely life.

Stay awesome champ.
As opposed to labelling posters who are questioning Mileras selection as having a need for a whipping boy.

When you glide through your lovely life, do you often criticise people unfairly and then slink away when your hypocrisy is exposed?

Problem with Schoenberg is I don't think he can play forward, he's more or less a pure mid. We need a small forward to replace Rachele, and then another small forward to replace Tex, and ideally they both need to be able to rotate through the midfield, too. So for me it's probably Pedlar and one of Berry / Taylor (with the caveat that I haven't seen the 2's play so maybe those guys stank it up, I don't know). But in reality it'll probably be Murphy for Rachele and maybe one of these 3 if they do rest Tex. And I wouldn't put it past them to take him to Queensland since he just kicked 4 this week and they may want to let the good times roll.

Problem is Milera wasn't too bad the first couple of weeks - the whole team looks good when the opposition is about as still as a waterlogged tissue. So it'll probably take him getting found out against Gold Coast and Geelong (at least) before they think about dropping him.
Funnily Berry just came up as the least accurate set shot on our list. Pedlar played more as a defensive forward when he did play there and we're well covered there.

Strong start? Was it his 9 touches at the weekend or host of missed tackles that you liked? At least Milera cut a dangerous opposition out of the game.

EDIT: Misread your post but also not selecting fringe players on last season's form. We have depth and competition for spots that we didn't have last year.
Top 10 in our B&F, first 2 games were solid. Better start to the season than Milera.

Yep whipping boy confirmed.

I really can’t believe there are still people on this board thinking there’s a chance Milera is going to break out and become a game winner.
Nicks is his biggest fan.
Another poster reminded us that Nicks said (paraphrasing) "If he's fit, he'll play" which troubles me because talent does not necessarily equate to output/game impact. It's short-sighted and ignores current truth.
Milera is talented but mutiple injuries have affected his game time and actual, current output (not Milera's fault, poor bastard, but it's the Crows problem).

Meanwhile, a 6-year-younger, in-form and actually producing (bog vs. Westies) also-talented Nankervis is being shelved while Milera is given AFL time, to prove Nicks right.
It's another kind of favoritism for an older player based on what Milera used to do, before injury. I don't blame Milera (or hate him); in fact, I miss what he used to be able to do too. Milera is just not the player that he was (eg Otten, years ago)
It's Nicks' hubris, his certainty that he's right and it's bullshit.

The adage goes "You don't change a winning side". Why-the-hell not?
Replace the weakest 3 or 4 with better-performing like-for-like and make that winning side even stronger is my preference.
OUT/IN:
Milera/Nankervis (and if Nankervis plays initially only as well as Milera has, then we're no worse off and will benefit longer-term from putting games into a less-injured younger player with more upside).

P.S. I'd be looking to replace Keane and Sholl as well, but they are other stories.
Also, if Nicks brings back Murphy for Rachele, it will be more Nicks-hubris, more favoritism and schiessen-Coaching.

So for me it's probably Pedlar and one of Berry / Taylor (with the caveat that I haven't seen the 2's play so maybe those guys stank it up, I don't know).
From all reports Berry played well vs Westies.
But in reality it'll probably be Murphy for Rachele
I'd prefer Berry or Taylor. Murphy is not AFL-level in our current side.
and maybe one of these 3 if they do rest Tex. And I wouldn't put it past them to take him to Queensland since he just kicked 4 this week and they may want to let the good times roll.
Yeah, "continuity" and all that (never mind common sense).
Problem is Milera wasn't too bad the first couple of weeks - the whole team looks good when the opposition is about as still as a waterlogged tissue. So it'll probably take him getting found out against Gold Coast and Geelong (at least) before they think about dropping him.
Likewise, Sholl.
They both looked good vs. weaker, overrun opposition whom the Crows dominated.
Under more pressure from NM, both struggled.

Pedlar makes the most sense as a like for like replacement for Rachele.
Geez he was very untidy with his disposal in the SANFL on the weekend. But I guess he'll be in that discussion, my preference would be Zac Taylor I think.

From all reports Berry played well vs Westies.

I'd perfer Berry or Taylor. Murphy is not AFL-level in our current side.

Yeah, "continuity" and all that (never mind common sense).

Likewise, Sholl.
They both looked good vs. weaker, overrun opposition whom the Crows dominated.
Under more pressure from NM, both struggled.
Yeah, Sholl is another one who could be dropped but also probably won't unless he has a couple more weeks like last week.

Should probably change his nickname to "foreskin" because he disappears when things get hard.

Nicks' stated "one-game-at-a-time" focus is not that simple; he has got to take into account 6- and 5-day breaks (to next game, Geelong), flight travel effects, injuries (Murray/Rachele), Gold Coast heat/humidity and multiple other factors. It's a helluva juggling act.
Bottom line: I want us to win, and I'm greedy. Every game :sneaky:.
Absolutely, he is focussed on Gold Coast and what to do with the advice of the fitness and development staff for the Geelong game next Thursday.

Having a SANFL game to base some game form off will help with the decision regarding Tex.

I think if Tex does play, he would definitely miss the Perth trip against Freo especially if Alex Pearce is playing. May as well bring an inanimate carbon rod (ditto if Noah Balta is playing for Richmond).

Were still on for 23-0 this year!

Everyone conveniently forgetting Milera was one of our best against the Bombers. Yes he had a bad day against North with ball in hand but kept Hansen Jnr - who had been in good form - quiet to the point he got subbed out.

Understand he's the new whipping boy but the need for a whipping boy among a club's supporters would be a fascinating group think psychology study.
I don't think it's a whipping boy thing - even when he's off the boil he's not as bad as previous problem players.

It's more that on current form you'd think he's something like the 26-28th best player on the list... but he's in the team and Nank is out, who has huge upside and has played well... every time. Milera has had one of the 3 games where the form is clearly good enough, if he does that I'm very happy, but if not, we should be improving.

Coach has to make a call and get it right at selection. This is the coaches earning their money right here.

Yeah, Sholl is another one who could be dropped but also probably won't unless he has a couple more weeks like last week.

Should probably change his nickname to "foreskin" because he disappears when things get hard.
This is also the problem, and why I think we get someone else in the team. He's not fixed that part of his game, and has had lots of chances to do it. The goals he cost vs North might lose the game vs GC.

Ridiculous.

Aside from Sunday, Sholl has had a very good 12 months of footy. Once a whipping boy, always a whipping boy

Ridiculous.

Aside from Sunday, Sholl has had a very good 12 months of footy. Once a whipping boy, always a whipping boy
I agree that Sholl has done enough in the last 12 months to not be dropped off the back of one of his worst games. BUT, I'd move him to Sub and let Draper have a whole game. Have Nankervis in for Milera, Draper into the guts and let Rankine stay closer to goals.

Pedlar makes the most sense as a like for like replacement for Rachele.
I secretly hope its Pedlar. I just feel like if we can eventually polish that diamond it will pay off. Not sure he's earned it. But hey, it's the AFC, we've named less talented players who have earned it less in the past.

A fair chance we get exposed this week. A great opportunity to see where we are at.
That's a 2 sided coin though. What if the Suns are total front runners given the level of oppo they've played? Has anyone challenged their ball movement yet? 1 thing we can guarantee, is the Crows will not let them have it on their own terms for 4 quarters, and vice versa. For me this will be a game of momentum swings. Whoever capitalises on the scoreboard the heaviest during their swing will win.

Full disclosure im tipping the Suns, but I'm only doing that based on home field, I'd be thrilled to burn that tip though. Either way I feel like this game could be an all timer.

Imo we have three options;

Move Rankine to Rachele's role and give Draper a full game in the midfield. Nankervis as sub.

Move Draper into Rachele's role and occasionally swap roles with Rankine. Nankervis as sub.

Keep Rankine in the midfield and Draper as the sub but bring in another player such as Pedlar (Or dare I say... M..u..r.. yeah nah) to do Rachele's role.

I think it will be #3, but personally I'd do #1.

I agree that Sholl has done enough in the last 12 months to not be dropped off the back of one of his worst games.
I don't care what Sholl did in 2024 when he polled 69 votes and finished 10th in the BnF.
I care about what he's doing in 2025 and even more specifically his last game which was representative of what we get from him when the pressure is on.
I don't think his responses under pressure are conscious/deliberate, but he withdraws, becomes tentative, doesn't stick tackles and gets rag-dolled by stronger oppo players. These are non-ridiculous facts.
Sholl is the epitome of a downhill skier.
Compare him to Peatling who lifted vs. NM and was an outside tearaway for us.
BUT, I'd move him to Sub and let Draper have a whole game.
That'd be a fair move if Nicks won't drop him.
Have Nankervis in for Milera, Draper into the guts and let Rankine stay closer to goals.
Yes, to all.

I don't care what Sholl did in 2024 when he polled 69 votes and finished 10th in the BnF.
I care about what he's doing in 2025 and even more specifically his last game which was representative of what we get from him when the pressure is on.
I don't think his responses under pressure are conscious/deliberate, but he withdraws, becomes tentative, doesn't stick tackles and gets rag-dolled by stronger oppo players. These are non-ridiculous facts.
Sholl is the epitome of a downhill skier.
Compare him to Peatling who lifted vs. NM and was an outside tearaway for us.

That'd be a fair move if Nicks won't drop him.

Yes, to all.
Sholl is almost the opposite of a downhill skiier.

Had his best ever season in a year we were awful.

I don't think it's a whipping boy thing - even when he's off the boil he's not as bad as previous problem players.

It's more that on current form you'd think he's something like the 26-28th best player on the list... but he's in the team and Nank is out, who has huge upside and has played well... every time. Milera has had one of the 3 games where the form is clearly good enough, if he does that I'm very happy, but if not, we should be improving.

Coach has to make a call and get it right at selection. This is the coaches earning their money right here.
There was a strong movement against Milera on this board during the off season - maybe lead by some Flinders Uni psychology or politics student who's now collating their results on how to influence opinion.

He's ahead of Issac Cumming for example, in almost every metric this season, as well as shutting out his half forward in each game. They share the same injury prone career, injury interrupted pre season etc. yet no one mentions Cumming being dropped, as he's the shiny new toy.

Nank should be in the side and should've been from the start but it doesn't need to be a one or other situation.

I agree that Sholl has done enough in the last 12 months to not be dropped off the back of one of his worst games. BUT, I'd move him to Sub and let Draper have a whole game. Have Nankervis in for Milera, Draper into the guts and let Rankine stay closer to goals.
Rankine has been such a success as a midfielder that it would be kind of robbing Peter to pay Paul to put him back up forward. I can certainly see him spending a greater percentage of his time forward than we saw in the first 3 weeks, but I'd still expect him to spend a lot of time in the middle.

That's a 2 sided coin though. What if the Suns are total front runners given the level of oppo they've played? Has anyone challenged their ball movement yet? 1 thing we can guarantee, is the Crows will not let them have it on their own terms for 4 quarters, and vice versa. For me this will be a game of momentum swings. Whoever capitalises on the scoreboard the heaviest during their swing will win.

Full disclosure im tipping the Suns, but I'm only doing that based on home field, I'd be thrilled to burn that tip though. Either way I feel like this game could be an all timer.
It is (2 sided coin). Coaches box will have a bit to do with it too. Looking forward to seeing how it plays out!

Preview R4: Changes vs. Gold Coast Suns (Match of the Round!!!)

Write your reply...