• Independent

Votes: 13 11.3%
  • I haven't decided yet

Votes: 9 7.8%
  • DONKEY

Votes: 3 2.6%

Yes Culling employees should not be wholesale.
It should be that those who are not worth it or are costing to much, with little give back productivity. Management and middle management who look after their own arse, they maybe should go too

I could go on with how and why, but also there would be people who are definitely needed.
And its true you don't need 4 people to screw a light bulb in. But you definitely need good people .
So basically I believe in merit, for needed positions and over loading staff can be detrimental.
But when your economy is going down the toilet sometimes you have to move some people out.

Unless you want to make the figures of employment look good? Then you can overload your staff, to look good at creating jobs , and maybe get some votes.
Thats all I know, we need industry and no loading public service just for a good look

Bit like over immigration and supporting the wrong side? So we agree.

But we know from last time, they aren’t culling employees as such.

They will be firing public sector workers and hiring private contractors, at often 2x the cost. So it’s more government spending, less efficient.

No. Never too late for nuclear! But you are just opposite to what I think and visa versa, idealism is you too.

We will have nuclear, and we won't reach 2050 zero, it is not needed, and the rest of the world probably doesn't need saving by us.

And China may be the one that mangles Russia.

And we may all be gone before renewables actually work to cost, if ever.

ITS JUST HOW IT WILL BE. Wait?

We won't be selling out anything. Be patient don't assume.
I just think differently , and I think we are worse off than we were three years ago.

There is never a too late, only those who give up, are too late.
No one said it would be easy. But sometimes circumstances make thing come about, they have to.

There are so many reasons why this fellow noe needs to go. But who can tell.

I’m going to assume you are posting in good faith / not trolling.

Renewables are already cost effective.
In fact, we knew that years ago.
Eg.
1. International report from 2022
Notes most new renewable energy cheaper than most coal fired options

2. Aus report from 2021-22
Noted wind and solar are the cheapest form of energy for Aus.

If you are working on the assumption that renewables aren’t cost effective (and may not be in our lifetimes!), and that net zero isn’t necessary, then I can understand the idea that nuclear should be pursued.
But as I said, we don’t have the luxury of time anymore. So if it was to happen here, it needed to be 15-20 years ago.

I’m not giving up on anything.
It’s just not economically viable. No one is going to fund it.

No one is going to wait around for nuclear to be able to provide baseload power.
Solar and wind are going to grow and grow, and we don’t need govt wasting huge money and time on propping up an unnecessary energy industry.

A more plausible problem for Dutton if he stays Opposition Leader is if it doesn't look like the Liberals have the next election in the bag by late 2027/early 2028 they will get rid of him for a new leader smell (especially if Labor does the same thing)
Dutton needs to start concentrating on winning his own seat…

I think it will be Angus Taylor. He's the shadow treasurer and has been doing heaps of media to frame himself as Dutton's successor.

Agreed
Which would be a shocking decision.

Ley is the Deputy and isn’t totally useless.

But would think they should go with fresh blood - Sukkar? Tehan?
Or whoever manages to beat one of the Teals?

From elected leader unopposed to terfed in 3 years seems unlikely for Dutton and if he loses this election blaming Trump won't be hard.

If he loses (not a sure thing yet) the blame will be, as it is with every Liberal loss:

“We just weren’t conservative enough!”

“We should have gone full Pauline, ban on non white migration, ban on renewables and max coal production, cut all social welfare, conscription, religion in schools, destroy trans rights. We lost because we were too centrist and woke and didn’t give Australian the people the hard right government they’re craving”

That’s what Peta and co will opine on Sky in the night of March 3. As they do every election loss.

If he loses (not a sure thing yet) the blame will be, as it is with every Liberal loss:

“We just weren’t conservative enough!”

“We should have gone full Pauline, ban on non white migration, ban on renewables and max coal production, cut all social welfare, conscription, religion in schools, destroy trans rights. We lost because we were too centrist and woke and didn’t give Australian the people the hard right government they’re craving”

That’s what Peta and co will opine on Sky in the night of May 3. As they do every election loss.
I reckon we’ll also get some bold new policy recommendations for the next campaign, like:
• Ban TikTok, Instagram, and any app that gives young people progressive thoughts.
• Raise the voting age to 45.
• Make voting optional—unless you own a ute or run a small business.
• Move election day to a weekday between 2:00–3:00am on Christmas morning, ideally during a thunderstorm.
• Ban solar panels from school zones—they’re a gateway to socialism.
• Replace school chaplains with retired Sky News presenters.
• Declare climate change illegal under Section 18C.
• Privatise the ABC and replace it with reruns of Paul Murray Live.
• Appoint Gina Rinehart as Governor-General and Minister for Everything.
• Mandatory ivermectin in drinking water.

Copied from the Poll Bludger comment thread

Here are the trait measures from Newspoll –

Understands the major issues – Albanese 58, Dutton 57
Cares for people -62,45
Arrogant – 45,63
Experienced – 71,68
Decisive and strong – 48,62
Has a vision for Australia – 60,61
Likable – 57,36
In touch with voters – 49,45
Trustworthy – 52,40

They're some horror numbers for dutton

I reckon we’ll also get some bold new policy recommendations for the next campaign, like:
• Ban TikTok, Instagram, and any app that gives young people progressive thoughts.
• Raise the voting age to 45.
• Make voting optional—unless you own a ute or run a small business.
• Move election day to a weekday between 2:00–3:00am on Christmas morning, ideally during a thunderstorm.
• Ban solar panels from school zones—they’re a gateway to socialism.
• Replace school chaplains with retired Sky News presenters.
• Declare climate change illegal under Section 18C.
• Privatise the ABC and replace it with reruns of Paul Murray Live.
• Appoint Gina Rinehart as Governor-General and Minister for Everything.
• Mandatory ivermectin in drinking water.
Gold!

Yeah the liberals or coalition under Dutton has blown out to $3 now last I say my local tab
Dutton's behaving like a PM six months into a second term thinking it's going to win him an election from opposition.

The problems I see there are:

1. Dutton isn't Abbott. He's not as aggressive, nor does he give you the notion that there's any chance that he'd be good company in a social setting. He's not relentless with the pressure like Abbott would have been. There's just something dispassionate and cold about him.

2. Labor has given the outward impression of being a united team for over a decade now. They haven't given away anything like the number of free hits they did back then when Rudd and Gillard openly despised each other. I'd say that's been a strength of both the current leaders in fairness.
Agreed on both points.

1. Dutton isn't Abbott. Dutton isn't as ruthless. But he isn't as friendly either. Scott Morrison was actually semi decent as a liberal or coalition leader.

Morrison some how managed to get liberals over the line in that 2019 election, but that was due to incompetence by Labour. Once Scomo went aggressive towards the WA government to open their borders, I knew Scomo was finished.

Looking back at it now... Dutton was a downgrade on Scomo on many fronts.

2. Agreed on the fact that labour is United. Labor was united when Kevin Rudd was the Labor leader in that 2007 election and knocked off Johnny Howard.

2010 , Labor just got over the line, despite Gillard and Rudd feuding.

Under this Labor group under Anthony Albanese, there isn't one person or a group of people trying to stab Albanese in the back to take the Labor leadership.

Albanese is 62 years old. No Doubt he will be Labor leader come 2025 election night

Dutton's behaving like a PM six months into a second term thinking it's going to win him an election from opposition.
Yep. He is already counting the eggs about to hatch.

He will head to election night confident. But in reality I think he will fall short.

My prediction is of the 150 seats on the line....

Labor: 76 seats. Just enough seats for a majority government.

Liberals: 60 seats.

Greens: 4 seats.

Teal independent: 8 seats

Bob Katter party: 1 seat

Trumpet of patriots: 1 seat.

Essentially similar to the 2022 election but 2 of those teal independent seats will be switched to coalition.

When the history books are written they will focus a great deal on Rudd’s insisting on big changes to leadership challenge rules as a condition of his return as PM. Those new rules are the main cause of the leadership stability we now “enjoy”. (The Coalition adopted similar rules soon after, which is why all that utterly tedious leadership soapie BS of a decade ago is behind us now.)

If for nothing else, we should be thankful to Kevin Rudd for that.

When the history books are written they will focus a great deal on Rudd’s insisting on big changes to leadership challenge rules as a condition of his return as PM. Those new rules are the main cause of the leadership stability we now “enjoy”. (The Coalition adopted similar rules soon after, which is why all that utterly tedious leadership soapie BS of a decade ago is behind us now.)

If for nothing else, we should be thankful to Kevin Rudd for that.
The PM Knifing Era was entertaining but terrible for Australia. From June 2010 to August 2018 (a period of 8 years and 2 months), we had 5 changes of prime minister, and only 1 of them was through a general election.

Since August 2018, we have had 1 change of prime minister, and it was through a general election. Albo becomes the second PM to serve a full term since Howard. All things being equal, it looks like he will continue in office after May.

2025 Federal Election: A Pox o' Both Your Houses

Write your reply...