List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread

Having said that (previous post), at least with seller, we can implement the system of 2 key fwd and let it run for a while.

It's much harder to go from no system to having a poor than a poor one to a good one.

Having 2 key fwd would straighten us up significantly and get the fwd structure and midfield delivery much better.

It would also affect how we are setup behind the ball as well.

We need to get past the brad scott era mentality of we get players x, y, z because they are very good. We need to be looking at having an effective system. 2024 pass mark is about getting this system going so that anyone could come into the system and perform their role.

We need to see B.George in the seniors to judge what the hype was about him.

We don't need C. Jiath, we need to see Hardeman show his wears.

The way l think Clarkson is playing it, he'll give the 1st rounders a go this year and for a few games.

Powell for Rachelle - err no, Powell is just starting to emerge giving the game time in his natural position..and Rachelle isn't going anywhere unless he is unsettled at the crows which he isn't. North's better off targeting Ned McHenry if it wants a true small forward or Jacob Konstanty for a defensive/pressure small forward

Lobb, only if we pay 50% of his salary, he is a cat but when on form he's better than Peter Wright and he can offer protection to Larkey and give time for Chom if he moves forward again...he's definitely an upgrade to CCJ.

Unfortunately, the reality is we won't be able to attract the likes of a Lukosious specially because we haven't convinced anyone (let alone yourselves) that we are genuine threat to the top 8. The recruits need to sniff out veteran leaders from other clubs who want to get into coaching and entice them on a play and coach style contract like Shiels but spell it out loud and clear that they are not guaranteed senior games.

And whilst we need to pickup experienced players to help protect the youngsters, we don't need mercenaries...our recruiters (hello Micky Barlow) need to look at the VFL and other leagues and get another K.Dawson or T.Stewart, dunno why we don't give Sam Lowson a contract because that bloke is so clever and the VFL lads respect him and he could improve the leadership of the place, because these blokes maybe can show these talented 1st rounders what hard work looks like just to get a senior game and the other side to this is Clarko and the match committee needs to also back them.

Souup post is pretty much on the money, leadership and experience cannot be fast tracked, l've always been a big advocate that time is needed for fwd/mid/def to gel and form partnership in any sport...and when we do click, it will be like the Freo game but for 4 quarters and unfortunately, when we don't click it will be like Brissie and the Cats results but once we close this gap...we'll be right.

Just to be put it out there...Tassie is coming in in 2028, they'll start head hunting around 2026 onwards so NMFC, the clock is well and truly clicking!!

AFL’s big move to unlock trade period stalemates​

Jay Clark

AFL clubs will be forced to pay a higher price for star academy and father-son players as part of an overhaul of the draft points system.

And the league is open to pick purchasing where clubs can effectively buy draft picks with salary cap space and trading more than one year in advance.

The league told all 18 clubs in a meeting of football general managers on Tuesday a revamp of the draft points system was in the works as part of a discussion about the trade and draft system.

It means clubs such as Gold Coast would not get as much of a discount on brilliant first-round academy prospects taken in the first round of the draft after securing four homegrown guns last year including Jed Walter.

But the northern-states clubs will strongly defend their ability to continue to develop and recruit local talents who could otherwise play other sports.

AFL football boss Laura Kane and operations assistant Josh Mahoney led the meeting and asked clubs to break off in small groups to have further talks on key topics.

Clubs want more flexibility to trade picks two years in advance, helping clubs have more capacity to make moves at trade period.

Clubs have been frustrated deals have stalled because of their inability to unlock picks more than one year ahead.

Free agency compensation and the controversial bands system was also discussed as clubs look for more clarity on the wages which trigger first-round compensation picks.

The AFL also provided an update on the ball-tracking technology which could help the AFL develop an enhanced goal review system.

A further update on the state league trial will be delivered in June

We should be targeting someone like Bailey Dale from the dogs, imho.

Slightly older than I would prefer, but a genuine talent and good teammate who can slot into our back 6 real nicely.

Should we look at getting Rory Lobb? He's in his 2nd year of a 3 year contract of 1.5 million naturally not on that deal.l am not a fan of him however if he can help improve our forward line plus help out Xerri in the ruck surely he would be a better option than CCJ.
Any idea why he choose to go to the bulldogs?
This was always on the cards with the young talls they had coming through.

Jay Clark

AFL clubs will be forced to pay a higher price for star academy and father-son players as part of an overhaul of the draft points system.

And the league is open to pick purchasing where clubs can effectively buy draft picks with salary cap space and trading more than one year in advance.

The league told all 18 clubs in a meeting of football general managers on Tuesday a revamp of the draft points system was in the works as part of a discussion about the trade and draft system.

It means clubs such as Gold Coast would not get as much of a discount on brilliant first-round academy prospects taken in the first round of the draft after securing four homegrown guns last year including Jed Walter.

But the northern-states clubs will strongly defend their ability to continue to develop and recruit local talents who could otherwise play other sports.

AFL football boss Laura Kane and operations assistant Josh Mahoney led the meeting and asked clubs to break off in small groups to have further talks on key topics.

Clubs want more flexibility to trade picks two years in advance, helping clubs have more capacity to make moves at trade period.

Clubs have been frustrated deals have stalled because of their inability to unlock picks more than one year ahead.

Free agency compensation and the controversial bands system was also discussed as clubs look for more clarity on the wages which trigger first-round compensation picks.

The AFL also provided an update on the ball-tracking technology which could help the AFL develop an enhanced goal review system.

A step in the right direction.

Pick purchasing will have the single biggest impact on small market sides like us. It will be a game changer imo.

We might not be able to attract big name FA's, but that also generally means we almost always have large amounts of cap space.

Pick purchasing will 100% fast track rebuilds.

It's also going to give the big market sides even more power at the FA table.

Can you imagine how pissed off some clubs at the top will get also.

Little old 18th North sells $800k in cap space P.A over a 3 year period to Sydney. It has a massive impact on the Premiership race.

Enables Sydney to go and recruit two of the biggest FA's on the market like English to push them over the top.

North receives Sydneys 2023, 2024 R1 picks as well as a F2.

Another gray area is how pick purchasing will be exploited with FA compo.

Example 1:

North sells $700k in cap to Sydney. Sydney already has cap space, but only wanted to allocate base average wage to Cam Zurhaar.

Sydney purchase the $700k in cap space for a future second round pick (unders for that value)

Sydney pay Zurhaar $900k (Net $200k with a $100k surpless into their TPP) per year and trigger band 1.

North walk out with Pick 2 and a Future 2nd for Zurhaar and the cap space.

Sides could very easily sell the extra cap space required to trigger certain compo levels. You might see sides approaching other clubs effectively selling their players for compo with the cap space included (i.e completely free, no cap implacations and no trade value as it's covered by the FA compo).

Im sure it's a loophole which will be closed at some point, but it has plenty of potential straight out of the gate.

Lobb n buslinger for our second rounder.
Lobb ain’t crash hot buts he’s better than ccj and at least he provides a secondary target
Thast a steal for us if it happened..l think Doggies might want a bit more though..

Young key forward at Poort not getting a run. Oliver Lord has looked likie quality in the small amount of games he has played but is stuck behind the established stars. Any chance he is available or are Poort saving him to replace Dixon?

We need to see B.George in the seniors to judge what the hype was about him.

We need B.George to have played more than four games of footy in two years before throwing him to the wolves.

I don't rate Lobb much at all, but we're currently playing Hugh Greenwood in that role and are one injury to Xerri away from playing Hamish Free.

If he comes cheap, I wouldn't say no.

Young key forward at Poort not getting a run. Oliver Lord has looked likie quality in the small amount of games he has played but is stuck behind the established stars. Any chance he is available or are Poort saving him to replace Dixon?

He hurt his knee in the pre-season and is out for at least another 5 weeks. They like him but as with most young KPF's we should have one eye on him.

Jay Clark

And now cue us getting a good academy and good FS picks…

I don't rate Lobb much at all, but we're currently playing Hugh Greenwood in that role and are one injury to Xerri away from playing Hamish Free.

If he comes cheap, I wouldn't say no.
You’d think bulldogs would be happy to let him go to free up cap space; people complain about our list management, but starting from a position of some strength, the Footscray collection of KP players seems downright odd

We need B.George to have played more than four games of footy in two years before throwing him to the wolves.
Why is that? I thought if he's good enough and fit enough, he should play? All l'm stated was we need to see him play and the hype that he carried as a junior?
I'm sure Sausage would get out there this week if you asked him!!

Why is that? I thought if he's good enough and fit enough, he should play? All l'm stated was we need to see him play and the hype that he carried as a junior?
Sausage would be cooked if he played AFL seniors this week. We will see him play in due course, give him half a season in the VFL to build up match fitness and have him debut after the bye.

The draft watchers got every one overexcited talking him up then Ratten threw fuel on the fire pumping him up even more in a q&a.

What we did already know was that he was a power athlete who missed most of his top age U18 year and all of his 1st AFL year in rehab.

I can't fathom how people are already salivating about pushing Zurhaar out the door for some magic beans without realising his supposed replacement in George would be putting up shocking numbers if thrown into the seniors with our current structure around him.

Just look at the knives out for Sellers because he couldn't channel Jason Dunstall last week.

Do you honestly think a kid coming off a reco who has played like 4 games of VFL footy is fit enough for senior AFL level?

Remember what Clarko said about training ages.

We need Brayden to play 250 games, not just next week.