List Mgmt. Welcome Harley Reid (Pick 1, 2023 National Draft)

I saw the same vision and thats not a work rate issue. Reid was incorrectly attracted to the next contest. Touk gets up and keeps his width and benefits from Harley's lack of awareness. It was really good play from Touk.
Think a lot of people on this board underestimate how elite a lot of GC’s mids are.

came back unfit and fat.

Ok, I'm going to say it.

I find it humerus that this line keeps getting rolled out by dudes who probably smashed 10 beers and 3 pies at the footy yesterday, and probably couldn't run to the letter box without running out of breath (not signalling out just only you Woosha)

Sure his conditioning on return was probably not at the minimum standard required, but to sit there and call him fat and unfit is a little OTT.

Its his 1st proper post/preseason. The club aren't allowed to contact the players during their time off. The send them off with a plan and figures crossed the players stick to it. Reid made some mistakes, which I have no doubt have been addressed by the club. Once you can forgive, if it happens next year then sure there may be serious underlying issues.

Let's not forget Mr 5x AA Jeremy McGovern got sent away for basically the same thing and he has turned out ok.

People who complain that Reid should stop fighting everyone should watch the vision. Opposition players are constantly looking to give him extra. What do you want him to do? Bend over and let them hit?

We’ve been a vanilla team for years and we finally have a player with some dog in him, and the first thing people want to do is castrate him. Aggression is a part of football, and it’s not like he’s getting into scraps while the ball is in play.

Most of the time he’s just defending his teammates. Now, the flop is something he can definitely do without and should be completely out of his game.

I've said this before.

You can only select 1:

1. He looks at umpire for a free
2. He fights back

There is no in-between that's his mentality.

Most people and myself included would pick 2 over 1. You know he's looking at the umpire because he's getting targeted. Ideally we want him to be Rowell.

Right now it's a combination of both. He looks at the umpire for a free and he gets irriated and fights back.

Probably agree...

Wonder if mcqualtrr got the big balls to make a statement...

Not just with Reid... But guy's like Hall and Gross must be wondering how (many credits) do the first team get
Not sure Hall is in a position to be worried about other players credits, he hasn't exactly set the WAFL on fire at any point since he debuted (granted it's hard to gauge exactly where players are at in our woeful WAFL team).

People who complain that Reid should stop fighting everyone should watch the vision. Opposition players are constantly looking to give him extra. What do you want him to do? Bend over and let them hit?

We’ve been a vanilla team for years and we finally have a player with some dog in him, and the first thing people want to do is castrate him. Aggression is a part of football, and it’s not like he’s getting into scraps while the ball is in play.

Most of the time he’s just defending his teammates. Now, the flop is something he can definitely do without and should be completely out of his game.
Ah yeah I remember that time Tony Liberatore was biting cousins and was so glad cousins started biting him back
He even bit his ear off from memory....

And I remember Judd was constantly scragged and harassed and so glad Judd elbowed them in the face all the time to get back at them.

Yeah Reid should just keep fighting it's good for us and himself...

Not sure Hall is in a position to be worried about other players credits, he hasn't exactly set the WAFL on fire at any point since he debuted (granted it's hard to gauge exactly where players are at in our woeful WAFL team).
How do you assess any individuals performance in that WAFL team?

He's played in there as one of few true midfielders. I think he is a bit off the pace and perhaps not quite ready, but we're at a point where would we rather Hall getting smashed by 10 goals in the afl or by 10 goals in the WAFL?

Maybe the quicker we get guys in the Afl side the better?

There are no real good options here.

It depends - are you helping your team win, or are you actually making it harder? Most of the time, Harley's aggression is self-interested and to the detriment of the team.

If you listen to Jake talking about Harley's game yesterday, he seems pretty disappointed (but understanding) team mate.

"He loves to play on the edge, however he still has a lot to learn and would have learnt alot yesterday, he did alot of good things and alot of poor things"
"I did have a chat to him about spending his energy elsewhere, because we need him in other departments".
"there's a time and a place for that and I reckon he mistimed that one, Harlz".

I think that speaks for itself.

Tbf they do it because he has a reputation for reacting, and it takes his focus from the game.

It depends - are you helping your team win, or are you actually making it harder? Most of the time, Harley's aggression is self-interested and to the detriment of the team.

If you listen to Jake talking about Harley's game yesterday, he seems pretty disappointed (but understanding) team mate.

"He loves to play on the edge, however he still has a lot to learn and would have learnt alot yesterday, he did alot of good things and alot of poor things"
"I did have a chat to him about spending his energy elsewhere, because we need him in other departments".
"there's a time and a place for that and I reckon he mistimed that one, Harlz".

I think that speaks for itself.

Watch out Jake, you'll be called emotional if you say things like that

And if he continues to waste time and energy in non football efforts and acts off the ball the opposition will continue to bait him.

Its exactly the response every opponent is hoping for and the reason they are doing it.

Laughing and joking after the game. What is going on at the club?

Lloydy thinks it’s harsh. If Essendon are into him, ensure Essendon people are shown as caring people of course. Not those big band bandits elsewhere (despite Daniher needing to escape).

It's just another sign of the pathetic culture this club has allowed to develop.

Hewett knocked out? Nothing from his team mates. Harley targeted for off the ball and post-play treatment? His fault for biting back.

Our senior players are dog shit leaders. That's fine when you are humming along and dominating the game but we have a weak, yellow underbelly is consistently vulnerable to teams that are prepared to bring the physicality.

Been a weakness since the last of the '06 warriors called time.

Id expect to play ahead of the guy who says he cant feel bothered playing AFL anymore to be fair
That’s not what was said and you know that full well, but you all did this with Barrass’ post 2018 GF comments as well.

People cry about robot media trained performances then cry when someone says anything remotely real. Get over it, maybe think critically about your own headspace like these boys at least have.

I've said this before.

You can only select 1:

1. He looks at umpire for a free
2. He fights back

There is no in-between that's his mentality.

Most people and myself included would pick 2 over 1. You know he's looking at the umpire because he's getting targeted. Ideally we want him to be Rowell.

Right now it's a combination of both. He looks at the umpire for a free and he gets irriated and fights back.
The flopping sucks. But He needs others to stand up for him when he’s getting extra mayo after being tackled. It can’t just be Yeo

I saw the same vision and thats not a work rate issue. Reid was incorrectly attracted to the next contest. Touk gets up and keeps his width and benefits from Harley's lack of awareness. It was really good play from Touk.
Work rate, lack of awareness doesn't sound like 2 mill a year type player. Either way, it's still off the ball accountability he fails to address.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

Work rate, lack of awareness doesn't sound like 2 mill a year type player. Either way, it's still off the ball accountability he fails to address.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

“Our mail also is that he goes to training and trains really hard, and then that’s it. There’s no extras, there’s no extra skills, there’s no extra conditioning, there’s nothing else. Whether that mail is right or not, I believe it

From Scotty Cummings on yesterday's show. And seeing how he turned up day one of pre-season I believe it also. I know this is a pile on of a 19 year old kid, but if you're gonna be a club dedicating 2 million a year to him then I'd want him at least IN SHAPE day one of pre season.

Tbh it would be a bit shocking if there is any truth to Harley essentially daring WC to trade him after he seemingly wanted to prove the East Coast media wrong about not wanting to be drafted by us.
If it is true, did reality hit him that hard after spending a year away from home?
I really hope he comes out and says something about it on the Eagles podcast or elsewhere.
He doesn't need to pledge his allegiance on air, but would be great to at least hear him laugh it off or something.
I think if he stays silence on all the rumours all year, it's not a good sign imo.

Ok, I'm going to say it.

I find it humerus that this line keeps getting rolled out by dudes who probably smashed 10 beers and 3 pies at the footy yesterday, and probably couldn't run to the letter box without running out of breath (not signalling out just only you Woosha)

I like how you don't make any bones about it and just come out and say it as it is.

He has no support because we haven’t drafted any top tier midfielders with our top draft picks over the years.

And with Yeo out as well, it’s why he’s frustrated out there
Harley was up against 3 of the best midfielders in the comp. Anderson and Rowell have played 5 seasons and Touk Miller 10yrs, between them they have about 400 games of experience compare that to Harley who has about 20 games under his belt. Rowell is probably the best draft pick we've seen in the last 10yrs.
Harley will learn a lot coming up against these guys.
Please get of his back F.F.S. he's only a young 19 year old just starting his career.
In 5 yrs time he will be as good as Rowell and i hope he is still with West Coast.

List Mgmt. Welcome Harley Reid (Pick 1, 2023 National Draft)

Write your reply...