List Mgmt. Welcome Lucca Grego (Pick 48, 2024 National Draft)

Love the determination and drive. You know the recruiters just frothed his desire to come to the club too. Will fit in well with our 4WD crew.

Probably got told by WCE media department to tone it down after asking for Malakai's 10-point plan on improving indigenous junior pathways to increase the level of talent at AFL level.

I was actually super impressed with Malakai's overall presser and even his response to this question, very well spoken young man who gave some pretty thoughtful answers overall.

He spoke very well but it was a dick move asking a question like that to an 18 year old kid on their first day at their new job

Oh absolutely the journo should uppercut herself. Despite being put massively on the spot he still managed a quality response.

Gee he speaks so well, I wasn't expecting that in his first presser, both articulate, confident and self assured.

Loved coaching kids like him, take no prisoners attitude, hit em hard when ever you can and so focused on the task that they are given.

Got the distinct feeling that this kid won't take a backward step when in the heat of battle.

I very much like the cut of his jib.
Very little fanfare about this kid predraft, certainly on this board at least and someone I’d not heard of (along with plenty of others). First saw his name on draft day or the day before in an article on who each club was looking at - he was linked to us. Thought he was a the typical name none of us have ever heard of we’d pick and it turned out that way

Surprised we called him out when we did, ahead of Davis for one, but glad we have. Shapes as a really astute pick who fans are going to love

Nothing but good vibes here and sounds like he brings the competitive characteristics that we've been crying out for. Great attitude to the cross country move as well. Hopefully pans out to be our Long/HJ pick up for this year 🤞

Has his head really screwed on tight this one. Confident, determined, not flashy, with a hard glint in the eye at times. Looks and sounds like a solid pick. Wonder if he's met Woosha yet?

I'm guessing the lady with the questions is Eliza Reily.

WA based journo flog who writes for The West.

Correct - I'm not a huge fan of her work myself but she seems to be making a career of it somehow.

Edit: Apparently incorrect

vvvv

I'm guessing the lady with the questions is Eliza Reily.

WA based journo flog who writes for The West.

Eliza Reilly writes for CODE

Samantha Rogers writes for the West

But Miss twenty questions is neither of those two

Ashleigh Nelson is the name you’re looking for - works for CH10 and is an occasional host on ABC

IMG_5874.jpeg

There’s another female asking questions who I think is Anna Hay who works for CH7 and attends most WCE training sessions

Has his head really screwed on tight this one. Confident, determined, not flashy, with a hard glint in the eye at times. Looks and sounds like a solid pick. Wonder if he's met Woosha yet?

I came on to talk about this. I can see some Woosha in him. We have found our hard nut off the half back line. I reckon he will be a favorite in no time. He is ripped for his age - I wouldn't be getting in his way.

Love this bloke's attitude. One of my favourites already.

Every premiership team needs "glue" players like Grego, Hough, Noah Long etc. Dependable blokes, team-first attitude etc

He's going to shank some kicks out of the backline, but will be loved by the fans.

The way he comes across, saying all the right stuff, and expressing his desire and excitement to play for WCE and be in WA is exactly what we wanted from HR but alas...

Whatever. Footy clubs are made up of different personalities. The jumper tugs, the way he’s played and trained so far, kissing armbands - I’ve had nil issues with Harley’s commitment to the club so far

Ashleigh Nelson is the name you’re looking for - works for CH10 and is an occasional host on ABC

View attachment 2176327

There’s another female asking questions who I think is Anna Hay who works for CH7 and attends most WCE training sessions

Got to love it when MI5, goes deep into the Intel and sets us all straight, with the facts.

I thought John Le Carre died a few years ago, would seem that might be wrong, as he seems to have managed to press the Keys on the Keysboard to deliver the correct Intel.

Good work and as reliable and dependable as ever Keys

[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="Keys" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">

Ashleigh Nelson is the name you’re looking for - works for CH[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]] and is an occasional host on ABC

There’s another female asking questions who I think is Anna Hay who works for CH[emoji[emoji6]] and attends most WCE training sessions

I assumed it would be Caitlin Bassett, going by some of her articles this year

In fairness to Ashleigh Nelson she’s usually fairly decent but in those pressers (particularly the ones yesterday) it didn’t sound like there were many journalists there. So she was probably stretching a bit to ask questions so the young guys were at least getting asked something whilst not asking each lad the same questions as the others

Very little fanfare about this kid predraft, certainly on this board at least and someone I’d not heard of (along with plenty of others). First saw his name on draft day or the day before in an article on who each club was looking at - he was linked to us. Thought he was a the typical name none of us have ever heard of we’d pick and it turned out that way

Surprised we called him out when we did, ahead of Davis for one, but glad we have. Shapes as a really astute pick who fans are going to love
This.
I think the main thread was a universal response of "...who?" and then ".. BUT DAVIS?" and yet we've got six pages on the welcome thread about this obscure little redheaded nut. I think we're all going to love this kid. He's already welcome at the Mop household if he ever wants a barbeque.

I hope he takes an obscure number that no one has done well with, too. Properly makes it his own. Number 47, perhaps? A number befitting a hitman, or enforcer as you will.

List Mgmt. Welcome Lucca Grego (Pick 48, 2024 National Draft)