List Mgmt. Welcome Harley Reid (Pick 1, 2023 National Draft)

Is there a touch of irony with Scotty Cummings - the player who played the majority of his career with a 3 piece feed in his footy shorts back pocket - calling out Reid for his conditioning?

You may actually get your wish. Richmond is very interested just not making it public knowledge.
After last year, you could probably get him for a second rounder

I think the bombers are leading the race, hopefully they and Melbourne have a terrible year so you get decent value for him. I know he is frustrating right now but think he will show better form as the season goes on.

Sorry for posting on your board but if Allan does also leave, I could see you guys having a Richmond like draft period and easily 4 top 10 picks.

I think the bombers are leading the race, hopefully they and Melbourne have a terrible year so you get decent value for him. I know he is frustrating right now but think he will show better form as the season goes on.

Sorry for posting on your board but if Allan does also leave, I could see you guys having a Richmond like draft period and easily 4 top 10 picks.
If Reid leaves then we basically have to push Allan out the door, IMO.

unfortunately modern media is all about clicks. They will continue to flog the story as long as they get clicks and attention for it even though a lot of it is garbage.

Would love him to sign an extra year just to make it die down and see how things go, then he can always ask for a trade still if he's genuinely unhappy.

If Harley does leave which looks likely when do the AFL get to the point that the draft doesn't work and that it's time to let clubs be responsible and have first pick yearly from their own state before the draft?

Horne Francis went after one year, Harley could go after 2 so what become the incentive to draft players from outside your state going forward.

19yo who has been accustomed to winning and with a world of expectation on his shoulders. Media spotlight in the Perth fishbowl constantly examines everything he does.

First year he had spark and tried hard, with the benefit of a fit Yeo taking him under his wing. Was still a tough year of thrashings and being constantly targeted by opposition.
Second year, had an affected preseason therefore underdone, already no Yeo to help, and nobody else able to protect him from the opposition niggles and trash talk. No light at the end of the tunnel.
Getting Chad Warner (he's likely to sign a 2yr extension imo) would help a little but he is not turning this side around.
I hope it isn't the case but am doubtful Reid wants to stay in such a negative environment.

From the makers of “how come the club hasn’t done anything to make him feel at home?” comes “how come we moved his best mate over with him so they could live together, what about the host family process?”

Lots of “I actually want him to go actually so I actually think it’ll be a good thing and it won’t devastate me, actually actually” preemptive self protection going on in here.

He’s staying, if he leaves we’re getting a haul, you all want him to stay, the equation has not changed at all.

From the makers of “how come the club hasn’t done anything to make him feel at home?” comes “how come we moved his best mate over with him so they could live together, what about the host family process?”

Lots of “I actually want him to go actually so I actually think it’ll be a good thing and it won’t devastate me, actually actually” preemptive self protection going on in here.

He’s staying, if he leaves we’re getting a haul, you all want him to stay, the equation has not changed at all.

Would you say there's a lot of hopium vs copium in this thread?

19yo who has been accustomed to winning and with a world of expectation on his shoulders. Media spotlight in the Perth fishbowl constantly examines everything he does.
This argument has never moved me.

No, the West equivalent isn’t putting him on the back page 400 days in a row to the point of farce, that’s clearly true. But that’s the only thing that changes.

There’s more actual stories written about him from Vic desperate to get him back than there are from any local sources. Tom Morris saying that media attention is a huge factor, and that’s why he’s speculating that he’ll leave at the end of 2026…do you not see the irony, Tom?

Do you think Nick Daicos has a quiet day down the shops because Melbourne is just so chill like that? Do we think Nic Nat would have gone more under the radar playing for Essendon or Richmond?

The media attention when you’re your club’s fifth best player is way more here than there. When you’re one of the competition’s elite though? And let’s humour Essendon and say he arrives at a club with a big fan base, huge media presence, **** all modern history and desperate for a saviour? Yeah that’ll be real quiet on the media front, for sure.

Would you say there's a lot of hopium vs copium in this thread?
Lots of preemptively getting hooked on copium to own the Vics.

Super model girlfriend has shown no inclination of dumping me, but people can’t believe we’re together and one day she might so I’d better break it off now just to be safe. Loser energy.

I think you should speak for yourself and not others.

Despite the fact that Harley has a massive potential, he’s been far from the best version of himself since he got suspended.

Do i want the version of Harley Reid who turns up to pre season overweight and out of shape, and the Harley that would rather fight a couple of blokes on the wing instead of helping his team mates win?

No, I don’t.

Do I want the version of Harley from round 1-11 last year who had some focus on the task at hand, helped his team mates as much as he could (while still having some biffos). Absolutely, sign me up.

Despite the fact that Harley has a massive potential, he’s been far from the best version of himself since he got suspended.

Do i want the version of Harley Reid who turns up to pre season overweight and out of shape, and the Harley that would rather fight a couple of blokes on the wing instead of helping his team mates win?

No, I don’t.

Do I want the version of Harley from round 1-11 last year who had some focus on the task at hand, helped his team mates as much as he could (while still having some biffos). Absolutely, sign me up.

We can give him more than 1/2 a season + 1 game to figure this out. He is still contracted for another 45 games or so.

Imagine turfing Gov off that one preseason he rocked up out of nick

No, I don’t.

And is the solution to that simply cutting ties, or perhaps better protecting him from the relentless targeting?

The best version of Harley Reid is the best player on ours and many other lists. People pulling the ripcord after the first bump in the road, because a bloke didn’t handle his first ever offseason as well as he needs to are insane.

First year he had spark and tried hard, with the benefit of a fit Yeo taking him under his wing. Was still a tough year of thrashings and being constantly targeted by opposition.
Second year, had an affected preseason therefore underdone, already no Yeo to help, and nobody else able to protect him from the opposition niggles and trash talk. No light at the end of the tunnel.
Getting Chad Warner (he's likely to sign a 2yr extension imo) would help a little but he is not turning this side around.
I hope it isn't the case but am doubtful Reid wants to stay in such a negative environment.

Oh please, most of noise has come from east. First my McClure, then Mitchell chiming in about it, then Cornes. Vfl footy show folk.

West media just regurgitates what these people say.

List Mgmt. Welcome Harley Reid (Pick 1, 2023 National Draft)

Write your reply...