Training Training Reports and Updates

I reckon going forward preseason I should limit the footage and do write up’s. but during the season footage won’t matter too much. It’ll help my phone battery

. There’s a few on here telling you what you should do. It’s nobody’s decisions but yours.

I don't wanna put a dampener on the mood (or maybe I do? I dunno) but McStay is yet to play a game for us. Those talking about him being so good and strong and such a presence...maybe wait until after he has played one good game for us first?

Who knows, maybe he will turn into a true number 1 key forward. I guess stranger things have happened....or maybe no, maybe this would be the strangest.
Agreed. I understand everyone gets excited at this time of the year. Someone on SEN said the other day there is more excitement around AFL teams this year about potential improvement then any he can remember.

Intraclub form means nothing for McStay and Mitchell, they should look 5 cuts above that level. Its the real games that will tell us about them. I do t think Brissie played McStay out of position but he was mainly the 3rd wheel cause they had 2 others ahead of him. For us he becomes more central so probably gets more footy directed to him. Hopefully that tranlates to more production but it is a tougher role so hopefully he eats that up.

Mitchell i think will star and be great

Frampton with Dean gone becomes essential because Kelly i dont hold out any great hopes for. Good he is doing well in intraclub. He has to if he is any chance to step up. Practice matches will be important for him more so than the other 2 bigger names. If he can step up to AFL level will be huge for us.

Hill is the one who could be the biggest pick up ultimately. I just like his development to dat and reckon he has the potential to be a very dangerous AFL forward. If thats realised we are off to the races

I don't wanna put a dampener on the mood (or maybe I do? I dunno) but McStay is yet to play a game for us. Those talking about him being so good and strong and such a presence...maybe wait until after he has played one good game for us first?

Who knows, maybe he will turn into a true number 1 key forward. I guess stranger things have happened....or maybe no, maybe this would be the strangest.
I’m a lot more bullish, and I think you can see from my posts that they aren’t all rosey. McStay is in his prime now, after often playing 3rd banana up north behind Daniher and Hipwood, and still sometimes outshining them.

He’s not Nick Riewoldt type dominant, but he is similar to Trav in his skills - minus the raking kick - and is a competitive beast.

We’ve got an extra string to our forward setup now, if not two with Hill, so at this stage I am v much liking the acquisition.

I also think we have the potential to be a v high scoring side this year. With about 12-13 goals kicked in two quarters yesterday, the attack on goals was quick and quite intense.

We’ll no doubt come up against some improved sides, and tall defenders plus v high quality midfields will cause us some headaches again, but if we can execute the plan and stay fit, we’ll be a v dangerous football side.

. There’s a few on her telling you what you should do. It’s nobody’s decisions but yours.
Jen in my humble opinion this thread has been THE single most informative during the off season, both on these boards and footy info-wise in general, and in the entire football media.
What ever it is, you are doing a fantastic job and I like the current format, which is to say whatever you decide to post and how you do it is up to you.

Jen in my humble opinion this thread has been THE single most informative during the off season, both on these boards and footy info-wise in general, and in the entire football media.
What ever it is, you are doing a fantastic job and I like the current format, which is to say whatever you decide to post and how you do it is up to you.
Second that

He just has to take the number 1 defender and provide a contest. Checkers will then get the 2nd defender and should thrive. McStay can clunk a few and has kicked a few 3-4 goal bags. Hes a structure player that we've been craving big time
Yep. He'll give us a contest and thus we'll score more often when we bomb it to the hotspot with a set defence.

. There’s a few on here telling you what you should do. It’s nobody’s decisions but yours.
I think it’s just people giving their opinion, (something Jen has canvassed on Twitter btw) without necessarily telling her what to do.
Jen2310 given Fly has reached out to you, maybe you could DM him and seek his feedback?
His opinion carries more weight for mine.

I think it’s just people giving their opinion, (something Jen has canvassed on Twitter btw) without necessarily telling her what to do.
Jen2310 given Fly has reached out to you, maybe you could DM him and seek his feedback?
His opinion carries more weight for mine.
I've met him before, he wanted to introduce himself haha. He was very nice about it, and doesn't mind me at training. I've been doing this for years (used to just watch and not put it on social media) and never thought that it was too much footage, but I'm being mindful of the balancing act lately.
Trying to find the balance of providing the fans with info/content and being respectful. So its a work in progress.

He just has to take the number 1 defender and provide a contest. Checkers will then get the 2nd defender and should thrive. McStay can clunk a few and has kicked a few 3-4 goal bags. Hes a structure player that we've been craving big time
Let's see how harmoniously accepted this is if we start losing games. Though I agree he would have been handy last year.

If we lose games it wont be through lack of trying to fix our deficiencies. McStay has been best 22 in a top 4 side for the past 3 years. Im confident he improves us

It's so good to have Jen's training reports so we know how our boys are going.
It's also great to have input from others such as Annabelle & cityslick1 for different viewpoints.
Thanks to all!
We must be the best informed supporter base thanks to our esteemed contributors & we are all hungry for information.
The CFC website is just about the last place I look for info.

Love that from Fly.
Yes that was succinct but also respectful of Jen who as we all know just does her best. Jen I think your reports were very good and informative, so it will not any difference to me with less footage I will still be following your reports.

I've met him before, he wanted to introduce himself haha. He was very nice about it, and doesn't mind me at training. I've been doing this for years (used to just watch and not put it on social media) and never thought that it was too much footage, but I'm being mindful of the balancing act lately.
Trying to find the balance of providing the fans with info/content and being respectful. So its a work in progress.
The fact that he is aware of you and actively took the time to speak to you, along with that twitter reply yesterday is really a subtle message in itself. The club hierarchy is obviously aware of the social media posts and footage and is probably not overly thrilled about it. To move a training session away from club’s facilities in order to trial/practice changes to avoid it being uploaded to twitter/instagram in what amounts to real time is a pretty significant thing.

Ultimately, it comes down to what is in the best interests of the club and what is ”responsible” content that should be posted to social media. An example would be the footage of Ginni and Madge at training with the interpretation that he was practicing the technique of ducking/dropping the knees and showing Madge how it is done - this was broadcast on the Ch9 6pm news bulletin, jumped on by other twitter numpties and just added to the pile on.

Personally, I’m with Anzacday and I know this is not the popular opinion but that’s my feedback. Write up and summary/discussion of training, sure, by all means. Footage, no.

If we lose games it wont be through lack of trying to fix our deficiencies. McStay has been best 22 in a top 4 side for the past 3 years. Im confident he improves us

I hope so. I must admit to being nonplussed by his signing and i don't think we should expect him to win the Coleman or boot regular bags of five. However, he should be great for our structure and is among the most competitive aerial players in the comp. He might not clunk them all but he will generally bring it to ground. Which is huge I guess as it's deflating to have the ball coming in forward and have players like McGovern, May, Lever, Andrews, Vlaustin, etc, take mark after mark.

He's our player now and I am hoping he exceeds expectations.

As an aside it will be interesting to see how the Lions function without him. Up here they are all so confident in the belief that Gunston is a much better player as a straight swap for McStay. That may well be the case but I don't see either Daniher or Hipwood as a normal KPF. They are big enough, but are they really regularly physical, crashing packs etc? The Lions' Achille's heel may end up being the lack of a player such as McStay to ties up the likes of May etc and stop them dominating in the air in the big games.

That's my 2c worth anyway.

Those are some pretty exciting take aways. McStay potentially played out of position with the wealth of talls they have in Brisbane.
With Lions McStay was a 3rd banana in forward line behind Hipwood and Daniher. A lot of linking up on the wing, pinching in ruck, can play in defence (spent some time there in the past), good tank, ultimate utility player, always struggled with set shots but improved his kicking in recent years significantly (looks more confident), in his prime now.

Personally, I am very curious how he goes as a number 1 forward against best defenders. He never played that role.

The fact that he is aware of you and actively took the time to speak to you, along with that twitter reply yesterday is really a subtle message in itself. The club hierarchy is obviously aware of the social media posts and footage and is probably not overly thrilled about it. To move a training session away from club’s facilities in order to trial/practice changes to avoid it being uploaded to twitter/instagram in what amounts to real time is a pretty significant thing.

Ultimately, it comes down to what is in the best interests of the club and what is ”responsible” content that should be posted to social media. An example would be the footage of Ginni and Madge at training with the interpretation that he was practicing the technique of ducking/dropping the knees and showing Madge how it is done - this was broadcast on the Ch9 6pm news bulletin, jumped on by other twitter numpties and just added to the pile on.

Personally, I’m with Anzacday and I know this is not the popular opinion but that’s my feedback. Write up and summary/discussion of training, sure, by all means. Footage, no.
Maybe just photo's. That can't do any harm.

Just re mcstay always bringing the ball to ground if he doesn’t clunk marks. We have also addressed our ground level list to improve forward line crumbing, so hopefully we can take aDvantage there too.

Not only have we brought in Bobby Hill, but Jamie Ellliot has as good as confirmed he will be a full time forward for pretty much the rest of his career. Ginnivan, one of the cleverest opportunist players in our side, is also expected to improve in only his third season, whilst McCreery should be able to stop the creative opposition small defenders getting their hands on the ball first… or crunch them if they do!

Mcstay only has to average 2 marks inside 50 and roughly 1.75 goals a game (35 to 40 for the season)

And he’ll be value for money playing deep forward.

Might not seem like much… but the pies have several dangerous forwards and given that imo the Collingwood doesn’t have to rely on one super star forward to kick 60 plus each year

The pies have been experimenting with Cox and then Cameron deep forward over the last 5 years

Both have had their moments but McStay is an upgrade on those two in that role

What’s more he can competently chop out in the ruck where/when needed to

Or even slot in at full back as began his career there… not that I want to see that happen

I feel like a caged animal tbh, sometimes sucking my enjoyment out of it.

Jen your reports are very much appreciated by everyone here, it’s an enormous amount of largely unrewarded work you put in… but no-one’s going to think less of you if you want or need a break from it. Do what makes you happy; life is too short!

I feel like a caged animal tbh, sometimes sucking my enjoyment out of it.

Don’t feel any pressure Jen. Anything you share is a bonus. It’s clear you are doing it because you love the club, so don’t worry about whether anyone doubts your motives.

Maybe ask Craig next time you see him whether he minds what you post.

Don’t feel any pressure Jen. Anything you share is a bonus. It’s clear you are doing it because you love the club, so don’t worry about whether anyone doubts your motives.

I certainly don't need the hassle and added pressure that's for sure. I would prefer to go back to just enjoying it without the pressure.

Better still, the club could deservedly put Jen on the payroll as the clubs members and supporters info guru and everyones happy. Could even set up some fake drills to release to really comfuse the oppo clubs. 😂👍

I certainly don't need the hassle and added pressure that's for sure. I would prefer to go back to just enjoying it without the pressure.
I think now you have an extra important job.

You must start sending out Tweets "Oh no - looks like training has been moved to Olinda, going to have to take a long train trip to watch the boys train..." and similarly crafty announcements to keep the scouts on tenter hooks.

For team and country, we salute you.

Training Training Reports and Updates