Restricted Free Agent Tom De Koning

I actually think when his not in the ruck he plays well floating through the backline seems to read the play well good overhead

Agree and that’s in a Carlton backline that has one good player. Saints defence far more respectable.

I think Marshall and TDK complement each other well. In tight games, I can see TDK dropping behind the ball with our defence and Marshall forward.

I think this move helps Max King a lot, having Marshall up there with him.

When Marshall retires, we will possibly have Keeler or Dodson to partner up with TDK.

1.7 for a ruck? not ideal price but i rather front loaded contract and not cough up possibly 2 first rounders for TDK.

I’m not a fan of the equal two rucks, arguably we got a flag with the setup but we have moved away from it this year with the way the game heavily favours fast ball movement in transition these days.

Is Marshall a ruckman? His strength is that he is an elite Follower, who is also good at winning clearances. He does his best work after the tap out, and around the ground, playing back, as well as pushing forward. That leads to the selectors playing him as a Ruck, even though in terms of actual tapwork he is not so good at least in terms of competing against elite rucks. Which is not to say that like SDK, he will beat some rucks in the actual ruck contest. Have you notice that he does not jump at the ruck contests as his leap is poor. The recent change in our ruck rules sees him seeking to push and out body his opponent.

Footy today is all about fasting linking play, and Marshall is part of that. Asa big man his running ability keeps hom up with the play.

TDK is also running wise a bit of a best. But unlike Marshall he has a leap. So he and Marshall play the actual ruck role differently. Both can be followers around the ground. I think the coaches have in mind that TDK would take the majority of centre bounces where his leap is an asset. For ruck contests around the ground you could use either.

Both are not the slow lumbering rucks that you would not want two of in the one team. Both can most likely co-exist on the same playing field. Clearly RTB and the List Management Team believe so (and yes they may be wrong.

But we are cashed up and can acquire FA's next year. YES a true GUN mid would be better for us. BUT is sucha mid that we are likely to secure as an FA. We may perhaps gain say LDU, but he is not an out and out gun mid.

TDK is gettable to St Kilda. He may not come of course, but we have a better chance of gaining him that most other FA's in this years FA period. Especially as we may well be his only suitor apart from the Blues with a much lower offer.

Are we paying too much? You could say yes, but there is also banked salary cap to burn which will otherwise be wasted.
So if Marshall has forward craft

Yes he is a pretty handy key forward. Moreso if King will take the best defender.

So you do not necessarily want him to be your No 1 Forward Marking Target, but he is more than useful up forward.

TDK can be an asset to us. He is gettable by St Kilda, more gettable than any other good RFA/FA in the coming trade period and St Kilda are having a crack at getting him. They may not do so of course.

Agree and that’s in a Carlton backline that has one good player. Saints defence far more respectable.
Sos been going alright down there this year too Elixuh. Newman is the big loss down there though, everyone else would be lucky to hit a target with a rocket launcher they're that shite.

The amount of McGovern and Ollie Hollands clangers in the D50 I've seen this season is almost enough to get on board with a Tassie Membership.

Sos been going alright down there this year too Elixuh. Newman is the big loss down there though, everyone else would be lucky to hit a target with a rocket launcher they're that shite.

The amount of McGovern and Ollie Hollands clangers in the D50 I've seen this season is almost enough to get on board with a Tassie Membership.

I’m a big fan of SOS

I'm a big fan of Zac Bailey. Lets get something done!

Just think, you'd never have to watch Motlop flop again and neither would I!

I’m not that big a fan of SOS

So TDK has played 82 games for Carlton (incl. the 4 games this year) .... with 19 games left in the season he needs to play at least 18 to get to 100 games.

So if he misses 2 of those 19 and leaves the Blues as a free agent at the end of the year .... then the Blues miss him being F&S eligible

Double whammy if he leaves and Carlton miss out on qualifying him for F&S considering football ability seems to run in the family.

So TDK has played 82 games for Carlton (incl. the 4 games this year) .... with 19 games left in the season he needs to play at least 18 to get to 100 games.

So if he misses 2 of those 19 and leaves the Blues as a free agent at the end of the year .... then the Blues miss him being F&S eligible

Double whammy if he leaves and Carlton miss out on qualifying him for F&S considering football ability seems to run in the family.
And if he stays at the Blues then what?

Matt Maguire ended up 1 short of 100 games for the Saints ... played 99 .... and another 71 with Brisbane

He ended up marrying Sophie Ball .... Luke Ball's sister (very good football family) ..... pretty sure they have kids now .... either way they won't be eligible as FS or FD to the Saints.

Maybe TDK gets to 100 games for Carlton .... then again maybe not .... would be nice to have it up your sleeve at least

Matt Maguire ended up 1 short of 100 games for the Saints ... played 99 .... and another 71 with Brisbane

He ended up marrying Sophie Ball .... Luke Ball's sister (very good football family) ..... pretty sure they have kids now .... either way they won't be eligible as FS or FD to the Saints.

Maybe TDK gets to 100 games for Carlton .... then again maybe not .... would be nice to have it up your sleeve at least
Is this what Saints fans are getting their rocks off to now? Pinching a F/S prospect that doesn't actually exist? For all we know TDK will be a single bachelor forever and never settle down

Think it's more you losing one ... than us pinching one

19 games to go .... good luck against West Coast :thumbsu:

Then he plays 100 games and Blues likely blow out their cap space

Why would we blow up our cap space? The offer is there for him Salary Cap has gone from $15.8m to $17.7m this year.

You can have 8-10 $750k-$1.2m players on your list - almost half our list will always be under 23s. 2nd and 3rd picks get $130k per year. We have 12 of them under 23 and below 10 games.

I'd be happy giving up about 1.3 mil a year for him, 1.7 is a bit crazy as it has been reported. If they change ruck rules it could completely shift his value (eg. Reeves and Meek at Hawthorn).

There's some risk to it. But overall would be very keen to get him in.
He'd be a great player to land. He's an 'enthuser' like Marshall. And even when he's getting beaten, like against Nank, he keeps fighting to the end to have an impact.
Could be anything in a decent team.

Why would we blow up our cap space? The offer is there for him Salary Cap has gone from $15.8m to $17.7m this year.

You can have 8-10 $750k-$1.2m players on your list - almost half our list will always be under 23s. 2nd and 3rd picks get $130k per year. We have 12 of them under 23 and below 10 games.
Mate, it's common knowledge the Blues cap is tighter than a ducks arse.

Carlton fans are discussing trading away top line players to keep TDK.

I think Marshall and TDK complement each other well. In tight games, I can see TDK dropping behind the ball with our defence and Marshall forward.

I think this move helps Max King a lot, having Marshall up there with him.

When Marshall retires, we will possibly have Keeler or Dodson to partner up with TDK.

1.7 for a ruck? not ideal price but i rather front loaded contract and not cough up possibly 2 first rounders for TDK.

Honestly, I think it would be the best combo in the modern era.
Gawn & Jackson would have been tantalising but Marshall + De Koning would take it to another level.

Restricted Free Agent Tom De Koning

Write your reply...