Opinion Sack Hinkley 10 - UnTENable

Either Koch is stupid and has been railroaded by Ken and his team from Melbourne or it is a circle jerk and everyone is looking out for everyone and you only get in by a secret handshake and those who come in are made sure to not be as good as the last guy in so you can keep your job.
It's the latter. We haven't had one external review during the Koch regime despite a lack of on-field success. They are completely drunk on their own bathwater and are in danger of breaking the world record for the number of chromosomes in a human being.

He's more or less admitted that has no time for the fans, as if we're second class citizens.
He has to.

Kenny Average has to have a high level of arrogance to offset how poor of a coach he has been.

It is not speculation anymore. He's a record breaking poor coach even if the AFL MSM doesn't want a piece of it.

And when the fans remind him and Koch how bad they are and how far they are from the original foundations of a once great club, he can't point at the trophy cabinet. It's empty.

He has to deflect, ignore and start labelling the fans with a nice bit of misinformation and get his stupidest foot solider to take a crack so he gets another year struggling in the forward line.

Either Koch is stupid and has been railroaded by Ken and his team from Melbourne or it is a circle jerk and everyone is looking out for everyone. ..
I'd say it's a bit of both as Koch would have to be stupid to allow the second scenario to exist. Anyone who believes that the circle jerk of mediocrity going on at Alberton is the way to be a successful professional sporting organisation must be stupid.

it's operation vanillarisation for both of them, they both get a promotion for what they've done to us. remember being a thorn in the side of the league? now we are Fremantle But Teal

I'd say it's a bit of both as Koch would have to be stupid to allow the second scenario to exist. Anyone who believes that the circle jerk of mediocrity going on at Alberton is the way to be a successful professional sporting organisation must be stupid.
I would have loved to see Fos Williams meet David Koch - Kochie would have walked away with a broken nose I reckon!!!

He's more or less admitted that has no time for the fans, as if we're second class citizens.
When's the time last time he even mentioned us?

We screamed ourselves hoarse and lifted to get the team over the line against both Freo and Hawthorn, sitting in the rain for most of the latter.

Zero acknowledgement.

It's the latter. We haven't had one external review during the Koch regime despite a lack of on-field success. They are completely drunk on their own bathwater and are in danger of breaking the world record for the number of chromosomes in a human being.
That's what I thought.

When you have poor results with accountability, it pushes out the losers and no hopers just like the club use to be even if you are the club's best player ever.

So to maintain the poor results means we have zero accountability and as you've said, the external reviews must be one of the biggest snow jobs going round. I guess it helps with the downhill skiing.

I would love Tredders to take a look at those reviews and really start some kind of ball rolling. They could be very damning to all involved.

No one really believes the club anymore when they say they want to win a premiership.

Its not that they don't want to; it is just the history of poor judgement, lowering of standards, having other elements beside winning seem more important and lack of accountability have eroded all of the saccharin propaganda even to the happy clappers. Everything they say has a superficiality and hollowness that belies the persistence of reality. And reality is very persistent.

Yep.

The prevailing external groupthink that Port wasn’t worthy of its AFL [sub]license and had a playing list on par with ‘96-Fitzroy — which Norwood Thomas and Sydney Koch arrived from, and subsequently viewed Hinkley’s 2013 as the miracles of an infallible football god as a result — remains the benchmark.

8-10 wins (par for a mid-rebuild team), 35,000 members (solid figure for that era) and average home crowds of 28,000 (breakeven at Footy Park).

That’s it. That’s the red line.

• Can’t win a Showdown? Who cares.
• Humiliated in finals? So what.
• A coach breaking all-time records for failure and futility in its purest form?

GuEsS yOu DoN’t ReMeMeMeMeMbEr WhEn He ArRiVeD

It’s why even the diabolically poor 2019 season was viewed in-house as success, let alone the trainwreck it was, replete with a coordinated media campaign (Whateley, Rucci, Russell, Kornes) to re-educate and chide the vocal fans who felt otherwise.

• Crowds were up 4,000 on the premiership year! (down 5,000 on 2018)

• Again broke the 50,000 membership barrier! (down 4.5% on 2018)

• Ken sacrificed his career by trading Wingard, Polec and Pittard and the team was sooooo young and inconsistent as a result!:

• Port’s R23 2019 team average age: 26y 41d;

• Port’s R23 2018 team average age: 25y 243d;

🏆Richmond’s R23 2019 team average age: 25y 319d.

95% of the movers and shakers down there inhabit a completely different universe, bending and moulding any outcome and statistical metric to suit themselves and paint everything in the most favourable light (“I look at the data, Ken Hinkley is Port’s most successful AFL coach”).

What a shock that all the internal reviews return with 100 thumbs up for the status quo.

When's the time last time he even mentioned us?

We screamed ourselves hoarse and lifted to get the team over the line against both Freo and Hawthorn, sitting in the rain for most of the latter.

Zero acknowledgement.
I was so envious recently when McRae said, "I'm so proud of our fans - they helped to get us over the line today." (or words to that effect) I guess it'd be hard for Ken to say that, given the fact that we don't actually exist in his eyes.

Collingwood's team feeds off McCrae's energy on the bench, which in turn energises the crowd. It's a circular thing, an actual connection.

Must be nice.

What Koch hates more than anything is accountability. He doesn't want to be held accountable, and he doesn't want to have to hold anyone else accountable. I'm sure it's crossed Koch's mind that Hinkley doesn't have it, but his overriding instinct is to avoid hard conversations.

Every bit of media out of the club and the club's media mouthpieces like Kornes and Rucci serves to provide excuses and attempt to shift the narrative. Don't get better, just control the narrative to make the poor performances okay.

We mostly hire internally so the power balance can't shift. We roll out the likes of Kornes and even players to disparage any dissenting voices, even the fans.

Koch tried to act tough on accountability once, in 2017, and when the players (who had already been conditioned by this time to accept mediocrity) had a sook about it, instead of representing the members and holding coaches and players to account, he folded completely and he's taken the path of least resistance ever since.

This only stops when we get control of our board back.

What Koch hates more than anything is accountability. He doesn't want to be held accountable, and he doesn't want to have to hold anyone else accountable. I'm sure it's crossed Koch's mind that Hinkley doesn't have it, but his overriding instinct is to avoid hard conversations.

Every bit of media out of the club and the club's media mouthpieces like Kornes and Rucci serves to provide excuses and attempt to shift the narrative. Don't get better, just control the narrative to make the poor performances okay.

We mostly hire internally so the power balance can't shift. We roll out the likes of Kornes and even players to disparage any dissenting voices, even the fans.

Koch tried to act tough on accountability once, in 2017, and when the players (who had already been conditioned by this time to accept mediocrity) had a sook about it, instead of representing the members and holding coaches and players to account, he folded completely and he's taken the path of least resistance ever since.

This only stops when we get control of our board back.
Koch is also Port's answer to Arthur Fonzerelli, in the sense that the words "I was wrong" would never pass his mouth.

"I was wrong" invites critique. "Wouldn't change a thing" followed by 6 months of radio silence followed by "we're not worried about last year we're focusing on this year" shuts down critique.

That is, provided you have some of the most pathetic weak media imaginable.

"I was wrong" invites critique. "Wouldn't change a thing" followed by 6 months of radio silence followed by "we're not worried about last year we're focusing on this year" shuts down critique.

That is, provided you have some of the most pathetic weak media imaginable.
He's also got most of the media spooked - anyone who publicly criticises Ken will more than likely receive an angry phone call.

Absolutely, and in the US or Europe, this simply wouldn't work because the media would just go harder if criticised. But here where the media is so incestuous and access is only giving to people writing positive stories, it works a treat.

It jumped the shark a bit towards the end of the Chocco years, but could you imagine Hinkley bringing the team over to the outer during the 3Q time huddle?

Not now - some of the fans would probably throw stuff at him :).

Lol the players wouldnt hear the address over the sack hinkleys.