Review Round 4 vs Adelaide @ People First Stadium - Sat. 5 April @ 12:20pm

https://eyesonthesuns.wordpress.com...rows-review-a-beautiful-belated-welcome-home/

What a way to welcome Gold Coast back to Carrara for the year. Nothing like a one-point win to get everyone going. There was a lot of talk pre-game about how this would be the game of the round and I really wasn’t sure it would live up that, I don’t trust us like that just yet. But they lived up to that and played a part in an excellent game of football between what look like two quality sides.....

Tbh Rankine shouldn't have even had the opportunity to mark the ball because Witts was pushed out of the ruck contest at the throw in that lead to the ball being bombed forward to him
Yeah but that doesn't fit the Crows/outside QLD narrative

Notice how as soon as we start winning games the "they've been gifted everything" narrative starts up again?

Yeah but that doesn't fit the Crows/outside QLD narrative

Notice how as soon as we start winning games the "they've been gifted everything" narrative starts up again?
I’ll take a gifted premiership and rub it in everyone’s faces. I don’t care what other supporters think

Think its general consensus that Adelaide were given the rough end of the stick for most of the game( whether this is or is not correct) the majority of people feel this way.

Rankine decision was icing on the cake. As a crows supporter...were we robbed overall...yes!!!
but we hardly played convincing enough to 100% deserve that win. carry on , shit happens, more so to some than others...theres another 20 odds games to play in the season to prove yourself ( applies to both teams)

I have no issue admitting we had favourable umpiring (for the first year ever). It was the over the top remarks about our players, our club and our supporters from the same head-up-their-ass drongos who flooded this board telling us to be grateful that we were letting Rankine go home to play in Adelaide that I had issue with. It’s what made the ending so, so sweet.

I put this on the main board game day thread.

Reckon these were the votes given.

Hardwick
5 thilthorpe
4 uwland
3 Rioli
2 miller
1 rankine

Nicks
5 thilthorpe
4 rioli
3 rankine
2 miller
1 uwland

If you want to add to the drama of the Rankine situation, some have probably forgotten that the other man involved in that scenario (Sam Collins) took Izak Rankine in when he moved to the Gold Coast and was extremely disappointed when he decided to leave. Collo probably thinks Rankine is getting served a bit of karma for what he did and here are some quotes Collins made on Rankine's departure last year:
Collins became firm friends with the former No.3 draft pick during his four seasons at Carrara, sharing a house with the South Australian as he adjusted to life in a different state.

"When he left, I was really disappointed and I felt like he owed the club a lot," Collins told AFL.com.au.

"When he plays the Gold Coast Suns, I want him to know he's coming for a really hard battle and a really hard game.

"His form, his talent, it demands that anyway, but I certainly hope … when he plays the Gold Coast Suns he knows he's in for a tough day."

Collins said deep down it still hurt him that Rankine opted to leave.

If you want to add to the drama of the Rankine situation, some have probably forgotten that the other man involved in that scenario (Sam Collins) took Izak Rankine in when he moved to the Gold Coast and was extremely disappointed when he decided to leave. Collo probably thinks Rankine is getting served a bit of karma for what he did and here are some quotes Collins made on Rankine's departure last year:

Imagine hurting a bloke like Sammy Collins like that.

I get the vibe that Sarge grills a mean steak.

I wondered why rankine’s ex was still good friends with Collin’s wife and some other wags makes sense.

He’ll learn, but definately need to invest in a Key Defender. Plenty on the market lock it down for our window

That tight 1 on 1 obviously not playing to his strengths. The flow on effect of ballards injury evident. His decision making about when to press up vs. stay tight hasn’t been great so far this year - I thought he would be better at that - see Bodhi.

I was worried about Collins’ performance on the weekend, and he’s not getting younger either.

So I agree. Another key defender should be one of our targets.

I watched the replay last night..

- Cann see the shorter passing into the fwd line has been a focus in off season but we didnt execute that well at all so many passes landed at the feet of our leading fwds. Some because of Adelaide's pressure but some just miss kicks.

- Flanders bit rusty but no doubt he will improve, he needs to be careful that his 12m kicks are 15 now

- We had the rub of the green from umps for sure but overall we had one of those days where the ball never really bounced our way. it felt like that watching live as well for most of the game. Jeffrey's mis kick grubber into fwd line that directly led to Adelaide goal. that kick off the ground Adelaide player did in between 3 suns players that laced out a team mate... it reminded me of the suns of old a bit.

- Goal Kicking accuracy. Few easy set shots and then all our posters. Super frustrating as we should have been ahead by more at certain stages of the game.

Overall we battled away and won. Good to win a a really tough game like that with our mids down on form a bit.

If we put it all together we will blow some teams of the park if the list stays fit. super exciting time to be a suns fan.

I watched the replay last night..

- Cann see the shorter passing into the fwd line has been a focus in off season but we didnt execute that well at all so many passes landed at the feet of our leading fwds. Some because of Adelaide's pressure but some just miss kicks.

- Flanders bit rusty but no doubt he will improve, he needs to be careful that his 12m kicks are 15 now

- We had the rub of the green from umps for sure but overall we had one of those days where the ball never really bounced our way. it felt like that watching live as well for most of the game. Jeffrey's mis kick grubber into fwd line that directly led to Adelaide goal. that kick off the ground Adelaide player did in between 3 suns players that laced out a team mate... it reminded me of the suns of old a bit.

- Goal Kicking accuracy. Few easy set shots and then all our posters. Super frustrating as we should have been ahead by more at certain stages of the game.

Overall we battled away and won. Good to win a a really tough game like that with our mids down on form a bit.

If we put it all together we will blow some teams of the park if the list stays fit. super exciting time to be a suns fan.
Obviously limited sample and given oppositions have something do it with it but we improved significantly inside 50 efficiency. Some other favourable stats in the article, like ranking first for points from turnover differential.

Meanwhile on offence, Gold Coast has become a more efficient scoring force once it’s been able to get the ball inside 50. It’s improved from 17th to fifth for scores-per-inside-50 rate, with off-season additions Daniel Rioli and John Noble helping provide more quality entries.

Tbh Rankine shouldn't have even had the opportunity to mark the ball because Witts was pushed out of the ruck contest at the throw in that lead to the ball being bombed forward to him
I just watched the highlights again, what about Collins kick to Touk out of the goal square and the Adelaide player ran right into the back of him when Touk had it in his hands, absolute dead set free kick and identical type of contact and interference only this one was earlier when the ball hit his hands - resulted in a goal for them

Chris Scott's comments on the bizarre response from the Southern Media Mafia regarding picking on one free in 120 minutes of footy was spot on.

Mac is such a hot head and so competitive i love it! but its going to cost us / him at some point …hes going to do something silly and get rubbed out for sure.

BUT THAT ONE FREE!!!THAT ONE FREE!!OUT OF ALL THE FREES NOT GIVEN AND GIVEN AND THAT NEVER WERE!!!
THAT ONE FREE!!!!!!!!WE WERE ROBBED .THE AFL INSTRUCTED THE UMPIRES.AND THE MOON IS A GIANT SPACESHIP.
View attachment 2274952
I finally watched the replay and the commentary team wasn’t convinced it was a mark, storm in a ☕

And the Crow throw in our goal square

Review Round 4 vs Adelaide @ People First Stadium - Sat. 5 April @ 12:20pm

Write your reply...