Autopsy Round 3, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle

Still having the same problem as Round 1
1). mobilised too many players in contest without planning the ball movement when getting the ball. Too many time handballing to the wrong target under pressure.
2. Dockers had players defensively and offensively outside the pack(and we don't). Their longer handball enable them to move a lot better.
3. We don't help each other by blocking,/shepherding. We got tackle a few time when try to run out.
4. Brockman and Kelly are too soft to play this game style.

Too many non-competitive players to be able to effectively move the ball in possession chains:
Brockman - a strong breeze causes him to loose his feet
Long - too small and slow to beat a direct opponent
Cripps - too slow and fumbly to support possession chains
Owies - too slow and small and crap disposal
Hunt - crap user of the ball
Kelly - dumb/bad user of the football, incredibly lazy
Hedwards - too slow and loses is opponent far too often

Walk Allen to FA, go hat in hand to AFL for draft picks and additional list spots like North did and wait two years for Warner

Still having the same problem as Round 1
1). Put mobilised too many players in contest without planning the ball movement when getting the ball. Too many time handballing to the wrong target under pressure.
2. Dockers had players defensively and offensively outside the pack(and we don't). Their longer handball enable them to move a lot better.
3. We don't help each other by blocking,/shepherding. We got tackle a few time when try to run out.
4. Brockman and Kelly are too soft to play this game style.
It was so obvious on TV.

Too many non-competitive players to be able to effectively move the ball in possession chains:
Brockman - a strong breeze causes him to loose his feet
Long - too small and slow to beat a direct opponent
Cripps - too slow and fumbly to support possession chains
Owies - too slow and small and crap disposal
Hunt - crap user of the ball
Kelly - dumb/bad user of the football, incredibly lazy
Hedwards - too slow and loses is opponent far too often

Walk Allen to FA, go hat in hand to AFL for draft picks and additional list spots like North did and wait two years for Warner
Fair comment. Kelly is our only mid so fatigue is inevitable.
Harry has always been a worry but we all hope he develops to be effective within his strengths and limitations.

Sure, Harley has more attention from the media, but I mean there are so many things he could do if he wanted to get the media off his back (like stop giving away unnecessary frees and going over board with wrestling).

For example he could show up to pre-season without a fat stomach and complete lack of definition. He's unfit and playing poorly as a result.

That's totally something in his control.
Could also come out and say he is dedicated to the club and it's success and wants to sign a contract with us.

Nick Watson said it last year with Hawks, no one in the media would consider running a "Essendon best placed to secure Watson" story.

I can only imagine some of his problems arise from all the, where will he play noise, he is half way out the door which shows on and off field.

His manager needs to do more for him, rather than chase dollars.

Some good signs and progress from the young players today. It’ll be a slow burn, so not going to jump on the players and coaches backs just yet being only three games in. We’ve had probably 6 competitive qtrs out of 12 so far which is disappointing, but to be expected of a bottom four side. We’ll get a better look by round 9-10 when the players have got a stronger handle on the game plan, and plenty of evidence to see what to do, and what not to do.

I will say I found McQualter’s comment post game re team balance a little odd though. He’s mentioned a few times about “not knowing what his best team is” but I personally don’t understand the balance of the side out there today.

Based on what we know players are good at, we had:
7 mid size def - Baker, Ginbey, Hoff, Maric, Cole, Duggo, Hunt (Duggo and Hunt despite playing as mids aren’t mids, sorry)
2 KD - Gov, Ed
2 KF - Allen, Jilliams
2 Ruck/KF - Billiams, Reid
5 small forwards - Owies, Cripps, long, Ryan, Brockman
2 mid/fwd - Hewett, Graham
1 Wingman - Dewar
And only 2 pure inside/outside mids in Kelly and Harley out there. One who by your own admission isn’t capable of a full game load in the guts (completely understandable for a 19yr old, we love you Harls) and another who is currently in an up-and-down form slump.

Doesn’t feel like an even balance in the middle, which is our problem every week.

Of course, this is pretty hard on Mini as there is literally no one else he can call on, except kids unfortunately.

Mini said in the presser that some wafl performances “showed they are ready for afl level” It’ll be interesting to see what they do at match committee this week with the midfield mix after that statement. Given the feedback from those there it sounds like Gross is a lock with maybe Hall and Allan in?

Sorry for a long one.

-ve Oscar isn't a leader. Didn't look interested. Didn't see him rev them up. Trade him.

-ve friggen skill errors cost us the game. Despite losing the clearances, we were in the game for most minutes until we coughed the ball.

-ve Hewitt as sub. Never again. Needs to be in the middle from the get go.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

If you consider a rebuild as recruiting like for like for the players going out of our list then that is not what this is. We are just bumbling along at rock bottom. Even if you just isolate our ruck situation, how is it even possible to be this ill prepared?

Yeah but bakes and fridge CRACK IN mate, they really try hard.

- I'm scorched on Tim Kelly. Literally my stupid ass thinking because it was a contract year that he'd spend the year trying hard..let him walk at the end of the year.

- Also walk Harley to Essendon for three first rounders and let McQualter draft a new crop of players who'll allow him to play the game he wants to play.

- I seriously can't cop this senior group of players. No wonder there's no standards, no leadership, no balls. Bunch of betas the lot of them.

This mob will trade Harlee for pick 27 & small chips then puff out the chest on fox footy.

Maybe he's not?

He's a talented mid that can play for virtually any club, why would he commit to the team that's currently last? Just because we got the #1 pick in 2023?

The onus is on clubs to keep playe
Yeh maybe he's not, I was just responding to someone's comment on how to get the media off his back.

Jeeesuus do you not get tired of flogging this same line. Baker has done more and shown more heart than the majority of the team. He actually leads from the front. I get that you don’t agree with his recruitment mainly because you reckon it cost too much, but the net result from the deals done including the loss of Barass is pretty good if you take into account leadership, Graham and draft pucks. Owies was steak knives but worth a gamble as long as has to earn his game.

Showing heart CRACKING IN and trying hard are farken bare MINImum at the elite level mate. Nobody cares if you're trying hard. Go down to the under 15s Wednesday nights you'll see plenty trying hard.

Liam Baker aka Liam Butcher is a 2 time premiership player who did his apprenticeship in an elite enviroment, is it too much to ask to hit your targets at the very least 80% of the time? Especially given you've been recruited as a leader and standard setter. Sweet baby Shiva.

Liam Duggans over cooked kick sideways to McGovern, making him run to the boundary, then gather and drive his head into a docker hip searching for a high free kick, resulting in a blood rule and possible concussion.
Just hit the open target FFS Duggan, our skills are ****ing shit!

Oh Well...ho-hum...
Can't be bothered pot-shotting individual players, remember most played well last week. Most played awful this week, maybe the tropical game cooked them, but I realise there's a few more problems to deal with.

You really think Hall would have made a major difference, when the whole team was bad, he's not the saviour...look at Harley and Hewett...supposedly ranked higher than Hall, yet not overly impressive. Suddenly Hall is the next superstar - pleeease!
Having said that, I'd like to see Hall get a shot again, and Gross, Grego, Allan.

And I've tempered my expectations of Graham, Owies and Baker. Graham and Baker's disposal skills aren't good. But they weren't alone today.
Ginbey is turning out to be one our best picks. Maric is improving. Hough rock solid.
Gov gone, a new reality now. Hewett showed something. Hutch to come back.

The coach is on a steep learning curve. There's a lot to improve. Will be a long season.
Lucky we didn't get smashed on the scoreboard. Freo still played like sh*t in patches.
We need a midfield, needs to be addressed asap, it's concerning. There's arguably enough raw talent to restructure a new midfield, and what are Shuey and Schofield doing?

Interested as to what your expectations of the 3 amigos was prior to their arrival?

Baker has been a "trier" for his entire career
Graham dined out on 3 goals in the 17 GF for his entire career
Both were fortunate enough to call Dustin Martin a teammate and is the only reason they are associated with any success

Owies is a c grade midget from caaaarrrlton who pops up for a joe the goose every once in a while

Disappointing result. Interested to know if last week's game had much of an effect on the physical condition of the group, although they were still running well at the end, so I suspect not.

A bit of illness going around Perth at the moment. Hough ill during the week, O'Maera out for Freo. Don't think it ultimately had any effect on either group though.

Playing too many similar types in the forward line(Long, Cripps, Owies, Brockman) to the point they are getting thrown around in mid and even down back at times(Brockman spent a bit of time in the midfield for not much effect and Cripps was in the backline a fair bit).

Are we trying to copy Hawthorn with their midget forwardline?

If they're not impacting up forward and are being pushed to midfield/backline, perhaps just replace a couple of them with actual mids/backs?

If Graham's not going to have a defensive role in midfield, push him to HFF and bring in an actual mid. Hall & Gross should play next game. Doesn't really matter if we get beaten up around the ball with them in there because we are already with senior bodies. Fans will care less if it's the next generation getting a shot at it. When you have blokes who've been in the AFL for the better part of a decade easily losing their positions, people are going to question if the club actually understands where it's at.

If we're going to be at the bottom of the ladder this year, so be it. Just be down there while blooding players, not losing with the same seniors who've failed to get us out of there for the past 3 seasons.

I didn't say that but I did say I wasn't overly upset by him being dropped and I'm still not. It's highly unlikely he would have made much difference, he'll get another go soon enough. Gonna be a long season for some if they are gonna lose their shit over every contentious selection.
I think it will be a long season for everybody.

Interested as to what your expectations of the 3 amigos was prior to their arrival?

Baker has been a "trier" for his entire career
Graham dined out on 3 goals in the 17 GF for his entire career
Both were fortunate enough to call Dustin Martin a teammate and is the only reason they are associated with any success

Owies is a c grade midget from caaaarrrlton who pops up for a joe the goose every once in a while
As two dual premiership players I presumed their skill levels were better, especially playing that brand of football, but they both butcher simple kicking and handball. It's about a 50/50 success rate on both skills. So all that's left is their hardness at the ball and senior leadership as I'm not sure how much value their experience has at this stage.

Owies works hard and pops up for the odd goal. It's only 3 games in, the whole team has been pretty meh (apart from some backs).
If any of the the three get pushed out by upcoming younger players, I'm fine with that, as it should be, but not sure Mini will let them go just yet. Also you still need a few seniors on field, can't just have all youngsters.
Be interested to see how they and some other players perform when the game plan, positions and Mini finally settle in...presuming it does.

That’s two dumb posts in a row.
First post - saying we traded pick 3 for Hewett and could’ve had Sheezel. There’s three mistakes in that statement.
And the second post- including Reid as one who can’t handball. There’s a few problems with Harley at present but his disposal is not one of them
Hahahahahaha

You didn't see his last 2 games then?

Just have a watch mate. Clear hand balls missed and foot passes.
1 glaring one from yesterday a 30 metre pass directly to a dockers player which resulted in a turnover goal.

Get your rose coloured glasses off mate.

Richmond are still laughing at us with the pick they jagged of us.
Baker leading our B&F would say a lot.

You gotta give him credit though he busts his ass. Reckon he'll be valuable long term to the youngsters mainly about attitude.

Yes he is scrappy with ball in hand but he's getting it which is more than a lot of others.

What pick did we give tiggers?

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Positive: Harley's chase and tackle to get holding the ball was fantastic in the 2nd qtr.

Negative: Harry Edwards weirdo handball trying to be clever getting back to Harley went straight over his head for a Freo shot at goal.

Think they get caught between playing on too fast and common sense plays

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Where are the flogs who said that Graham deserved to be in to replace Hall?

Care to share your thoughts?
So if you have a different opinion to mine, does that make you a flog?
Cool your jets big boy. You're not necessarily correct either.
Hall is not the second coming, he's not our saviour. Yes, he played well and did his job.
As a mid he's rated behind Reid and Hewett and look what they offered, not a lot. He played a good part in a game where everyone played better.

He appears to be a good extractor (on a small sample size). As coach said he was stiff to be left out and has gained some confidence knowing he can perform at AFL level.
Depending on who we play he might also have patchy performances like everyone else so far. I look forward to seeing what he offers along with Allan, Gross and Grego. Their time will come. Footy can be a passionate pastime for fans, but exhausting if they lose their sh*t over every selection and game. It will be a long season with lots of twists and turns..

Folks are saying "trying hard" is the bare minimum and we should expect it, have any of you watched the last few years? We've had many games where players were clearly not trying. I don't reckon we got that yesterday.

Bakers been good, missed a couple targets yesterday but was far from on his own. Too many are hung up on that trade

Graham went at 71% DE and had 7 tackles. I'd rather see him play HFF with small stints in the middle, but these 2 are so far from the issue

Maybe look at our current captains and you'll be getting closer

McQualter was one of the major reasons we brought Baker and Graham over. I have this ominous feeling that Graham will persisted with in the midfield in a similar manner to Simmo and his credits crew.

Hall must return at all costs. Gross must debut. No longer should Graham be playing on ball. Kelly also needs to gtfo.

If McQualter wants to keep the supporters on side we need to see he is willing to make necessary changes.

Autopsy Round 3, 2025: Positives and Negatives vs Fremantle

Write your reply...