Preview Premiers versus the Wooden Spoon: Brisbane Lions versus Richmond Tigers (Round 4)

Perhaps that's true, but it's also hard to be playing your best every single week.
Agree with this. Premierships are certainly not won in April. Or May for that matter. Melbourne in 2022 was spectacular evidence of this.

We just have to be good enough to bank the wins while we are essentially treading water.

I'm absolutely stoked that we've won 3 games that we could have easily lost and just not possible to see us going down this week to see us 4 zip. Couldn't be happier at present.

I'd rate a game against the Dogs away from the Gabba at 50/50 and we have other tough games coming up. Plus the talking heads in the media have finally woken up that we could be flag favourites. So I think after the Richmond game is a definite danger period for us if we start to believe what others are starting to think.

Big day Saturday. Off to see the Lions 🦁 and then after the game l’m heading to Festival Hall to see the Sex Pistols. A day of sausage rolls and rock and roll.

Are the Sex Pistols still around 3KZ ? And Festival Hall still standing ?

Obviously I'm out of the loop.
Yes and yes. Sex Pistols line up are three original members Paul Cook, Seve Jones and Glenn Matlock and a new vocalist to replace Johnny Rotten. They have been getting great reviews.

Agree with this. Premierships are certainly not won in April. Or May for that matter. Melbourne in 2022 was spectacular evidence of this.

We just have to be good enough to bank the wins while we are essentially treading water.
Locking in the early wins makes things easier. You have the room to move and test players or positions or even make sure the list is fit. It's much easier to rack up the wins now and not require the miracle run at the end of the year

Big day Saturday. Off to see the Lions 🦁 and then after the game l’m heading to Festival Hall to see the Sex Pistols. A day of sausage rolls and rock and roll.
Couldn't make it down this weekend unfortunately. Enjoy the Pistols.

Those loud mouths in the media forget that we have now played 3 games in a row in some extreme conditions and still managed to run them strongly which is a big credit to our fitness.
So true. It seems that we have a real problem at Brisbane, we keep winning. If only we would fit the cliched reigning premier narrative for lazy journalists and have a PREMIERSHIP HANGOVER. I’m sure Matthew Lloyd and others had already used ChatGPT to write their commentary about how we are struggling. Group think along established narrative lines is so much easier for some of these media hacks.

I can’t wait for us to really get going. As you point out fugitive, we have had an interrupted start to the season and played in some tough conditions. Players can be a bit rusty at the start of the season and we are still getting some players back into the groove. The thing is we are still winning and have beaten teams that played in last years Grand and Preliminary finals. I’ll take that.

We are improving but still a little way off a 4-quarter effort.
Injuries to Starch, Lohmann and Charlie the only hick ups along the way.
Solid replacements in McLachlan, Reville with Fletcher moving to defense. McKenna the one that has missed out.

To the game we should get a comfortable win and can only hope for no injuries.
Returning to the MCG for our first of three games. The other two being Hawks and Pies. Two games at the MCG in 2024

They really should give Lohmann another week even if cleared to play.
McLachlan should be the only change if Lohmann misses.

If they want to give Levi a mini break (it's a long year) they could make him sub and give Reville a starting spot.

First time watching us at the MCG this Saturday. Let’s hope for a win and some good weather.
Melbourne Saturday: Some cloud, no rain. Max 17 degrees. Warmest part of the day around 4.15pm, just in time for the first bounce. Sunset about 7.13pm. Perfect Melbourne autumn football weather. Very traditional.

So true. It seems that we have a real problem at Brisbane, we keep winning. If only we would fit the cliched reigning premier narrative for lazy journalists and have a PREMIERSHIP HANGOVER. I’m sure Matthew Lloyd and others had already used ChatGPT to write their commentary about how we are struggling. Group think along established narrative lines is so much easier for some of these media hacks.

I can’t wait for us to really get going. As you point out fugitive, we have had an interrupted start to the season and played in some tough conditions. Players can be a bit rusty at the start of the season and we are still getting some players back into the groove. The thing is we are still winning and have beaten teams that played in last years Grand and Preliminary finals. I’ll take that.
All the scribes seem to have latched onto the new glittery baubles namely the Hawks who are apparently the bestest most entertaining team ever seen,I do note David King still said we are still favourites although he has probably changed his mind 5 times.We really really need to beat the Hawks this year both during the season and in the finals.

Doedee available and Kiddy with a timeline to return are both very nice.

I know he’ll probably be in the VFL but I selfishly want Doedee to come in since I’ve been excited since he signed and I’m scared he’ll do another ACL if he doesn’t come in straight away.

Can we inflict another mauling like last year. Brisbane Lions 163 Richmond Tigers 44, has a nice feel about it.

That was a great night, especially cos I was at the pub as the lone Lions supporter in our group of five (the other four being Richmond supporters). Two of them ****ed off home at half time, one of them ended up in the pokies not long into the third quarter after we kicked the first three goals, whilst the other (my best mate) stuck it out.

Last year we had a 119 point win (Richmond, at home), 70 points (Norf, Gather Round), 79 points (Port, Adelaide Oval), 85 points (STK, Marvel), and of course 60 points against Sydney in the GF - we can put teams away if we want to, and this is the week where I want us to. So Lions by 24 points.

That was a great night, especially cos I was at the pub as the lone Lions supporter in our group of five (the other four being Richmond supporters). Two of them ****ed off home at half time, one of them ended up in the pokies not long into the third quarter after we kicked the first three goals, whilst the other (my best mate) stuck it out.

Last year we had a 119 point win (Richmond, at home), 70 points (Norf, Gather Round), 79 points (Port, Adelaide Oval), 85 points (STK, Marvel), and of course 60 points against Sydney in the GF - we can put teams away if we want to, and this is the week where I want us to. So Lions by 24 points.
Is 24 a typo ?

I hear that Richmond supporters believe the real reason Dimma took the Suns job was so he could be closer to the QLD supreme court for the impending lawsuit against the lions and the AFL for that Tom Lynch “goal”

Much envy seeing the Pistols. They were my go to along with the Clash, Dead Kennedys and X (the Aussie version). Still reckon Suck Suck by X is the greatest Australian song ever released. If that song doesn't get ya moving you're dead inside.

Wouldn't say it's the best but it is berry good....

I'll see myself out.