Apparently he and brayshaw are good mates. Went to school together. He's devastated
All these stories coming out about Maynard's attempted apologies has just highlighted to me that Melb are a bunch of flogs. And it started with Goody's presser.
Sure, stick up for your team mate, but come on...they're acting like he lined Brayshaw up, or coward punched him, or slept with his Mrs. Get a ******* grip. Yes it's unfortunate re: the concussion fallout etc etc, but seriously. I feel sorry for Maynard the way he's been treated by some in the Melbourne camp. I think its admirable that Maynard is attempting to show care and remorse towards Brayshaw (as cringe as it might be to rock up wuth flowers). What more can he do?
I mean he's spot on here:
Angus’ younger brother Hamish Brayshaw, who played one game for West Coast, has meanwhile suggested the AFL is biased towards Collingwood in its handling of the Maynard charge.
“It will set a precedent for what is going to happen for a long time in football I think, whether he gets off or whether he doesn’t,” Hamish Brayshaw began on the Shelter FootyCast. “I think if this happened in Round 3, (the AFL would say): ‘Sweet no worries mate you’ve got weeks’.
The scrutiny comes under the fact that I think the AFL are desperate for Collingwood to win a premiership. “They want the supporters to go nuts, they’ve got 106,000 members, they want to do everything they can, in my opinion, for that to happen. “The world wants to see that happen — or the Collingwood fans do anyway — and they have a very loud voice, so a lot of that is driven by the Collingwood fans and I think a few people at the AFL who want to see Collingwood win.
“But duty of care for a player, whether that comes into account, I don’t know.” He also credited Kane for overruling the the Match Review Officer given the seriousness of his brother’s injury. “The MRO wanted to knock it straight away and not even look at it,” Hamish Brayshaw added. “For Laura Kane to step in and say: ‘Well actually, this is a pretty serious incident let’s have a look’. Good on her, well done, stepped straight into her role and has gone bang.
I think Christian is correct though.Here we are - Michael Christian - the guy that wanted Mackay rubbed out, wanted McAdam to cop a worse ban that anyone else - the same piece of S**t that targets OUR club - wanted Maynard to get off scott free. Now there are arguments for and against..just like there were for McAdam and Mackay..yet Christian wanted the book thrown at our guys but the guy that plays for the team he used to play for he wants to get away with it. Christian should be sacked on the spot for his duplicitous rulings when his old side gets to benefit and conflict of interest
‘It was a dramatic day’: AFL heavyweight threatened to quit over internal conflict as ‘bluff called’
Wild quit threat over internal AFL conflict revealed as ‘bluff called’ in ‘dramatic’ sceneswww.foxsports.com.au
Having compromised to not put his name to the charge, Christian believed Maynard had no case to answer for and was willing to stake his job on the line — a viewpoint opposed by AFL bosses.
“It was a dramatic day at AFL headquarters on Friday, in fact the drama probably began on Thursday night,” Wilson said on Channel 9’s Footy Classified.
“I was at the AFL (finals) function, there was a lot of conversations going on.
“By Friday morning, the view of the Match Review Officer Michael Christian was there was going to be no case to answer for Brayden Maynard.PLAYERCARDSTART4Brayden Maynard
- Ht
- 189cm
- Wt
- 93kg
- Pos.
- Def
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 5star
- MG
- 4star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- MG
- 4star
PLAYERCARDEND
“Laura Kane disagreed, (incoming AFL CEO) Andrew Dillon disagreed and (outgoing AFL CEO) Gillon McLachlan disagreed. Those bosses insisted on sending this one straight to the tribunal.
“The AFL know that had nothing happened here, it would’ve been a disaster PR-wise for them.
“More disputes occurred when the AFL insisted on grading the charge.”
I’ve seen it once from front on and imo it makes it look better for MaynardNot sure if I missed something, but why aren't we seeing other angles of the collision? There must be one looking at Maynard front on. Can you see his eyes? I'd like to see if he's avoiding or not and the face will tell a lot.
I dont understand why it's not being shown. Usually they can't wait to show multiple angles.I’ve seen it once from front on and imo it makes it look better for Maynard
Here we are - Michael Christian - the guy that wanted Mackay rubbed out, wanted McAdam to cop a worse ban that anyone else - the same piece of S**t that targets OUR club - wanted Maynard to get off scott free. Now there are arguments for and against..just like there were for McAdam and Mackay..yet Christian wanted the book thrown at our guys but the guy that plays for the team he used to play for he wants to get away with it. Christian should be sacked on the spot for his duplicitous rulings when his old side gets to benefit and conflict of interest
‘It was a dramatic day’: AFL heavyweight threatened to quit over internal conflict as ‘bluff called’
Wild quit threat over internal AFL conflict revealed as ‘bluff called’ in ‘dramatic’ sceneswww.foxsports.com.au
Having compromised to not put his name to the charge, Christian believed Maynard had no case to answer for and was willing to stake his job on the line — a viewpoint opposed by AFL bosses.
“It was a dramatic day at AFL headquarters on Friday, in fact the drama probably began on Thursday night,” Wilson said on Channel 9’s Footy Classified.
“By Friday morning, the view of the Match Review Officer Michael Christian was there was going to be no case to answer for Brayden Maynard.
“Laura Kane disagreed, (incoming AFL CEO) Andrew Dillon disagreed and (outgoing AFL CEO) Gillon McLachlan disagreed. Those bosses insisted on sending this one straight to the tribunal.
“The AFL know that had nothing happened here, it would’ve been a disaster PR-wise for them.
Christian is a terrible MRO, and everyone would probably be better off if he left.
Wha??? - When was it reported he is pushing Wines out?I reckon its going to get interesting down the road
The club resigned Kenny in a major part because of the relationships he had with players.
Now that Kenny has his new 2-year deal, he's pushing 2 of his biggest backers in Boak and Wines out the door.
If I was Boak, I'd feel a bit blindsided. Should have focused on his own contract rather than worrying about Kenny's. Ken's all about Ken at the end of the day.
Shepherding is a football action. You knock someone out, it's still time.That being said, I still view the incident as football action accident and with new footage that shows Brayshaw already had a heavy head clash earlier in the game in a collision with Taylor Adams Knee I'm wondering why more questions aren't being asked of Melbourne's medical team as he should have already been off the ground. That could have been a contributing factor, if it was Petracca who got hit and he got straight back up this wouldn't even be an incident.
So now not only do you have to have a duty of care you need to know all the players with concussion issues and be even more gentle with them because they get concussion easier than others?? That's crap, you know the risks when you enter a footy field.
Didn't he choose to leave his feet? How else was he midair?Maynard should get off, as he was in mid air during the act of attempting to smother.
However, deep down I genuinely believe Maynard knew he would make contact.
Shepherding is not going for the ball, it’s going for the man.Shepherding is a football action. You knock someone out, it's still time.
He chose to do this. Sprinted at him, leapt in the air, collected him on the way down. It's undeniably reckless.
Hang on..Here we are - Michael Christian - the guy that wanted Mackay rubbed out, wanted McAdam to cop a worse ban that anyone else - the same piece of S**t that targets OUR club - wanted Maynard to get off scott free. Now there are arguments for and against..just like there were for McAdam and Mackay..yet Christian wanted the book thrown at our guys but the guy that plays for the team he used to play for he wants to get away with it. Christian should be sacked on the spot for his duplicitous rulings when his old side gets to benefit and conflict of interest
“By Friday morning, the view of the Match Review Officer Michael Christian was there was going to be no case to answer for Brayden Maynard.
I am reading the tea leaves here..the new lady that took over as head of footy has made one of her first acts to override Christian..I'd speculate that he will be out of a job at seasons end ad she is going to put her stamp on the place. She did not like the look of that not going to the tribunal and as head of footy overrode her subordinate on itHang on..
So the bloke that is employed as the expert to make a call on these incidents just simply gets overriden if he doesnt make a call the CEO, the incoming CEO amd Laura Kane are all happy with?..
WHAT.THE.ACTUAL. F*CK??..
This would have to be the least professionally run organisations in the country.. especially given its a multi-billion dollar one!.
Looking from the outside in.. Its as if its being run by school fxxkn children.. decisions made on the run by popularity contest and thought bubble and not a drop of accountability.
Gillion has completely fxxked this league..
And someone please tell me when the fxxk he is finally going to step down?..
what sort of self important moron anounces he is stepping down, then renegs to sort out an issue that has arisen, but then doesnt actually sort that issue out, then announces his successor who is in the office next to his, and then just hangs around for the rest of the year???...
Exactly, also Brayshaw wasn't in line with Maynard when Maynard left the ground how is Maynard supposed to know Brayshaw is going to fall off his kick and into his path? If he kicked with the other leg, Maynard would have landed no where near him.Shepherding is not going for the ball, it’s going for the man.
Smothering is going for the ball, it’s not a complex issue this one.
Same as going for a mark and kneeing someone in the back of the head is ok, because your objective is the ball.