January 26th 2025

This is just wallaby level posting.

So a bunch of racists don't wear it around every year as a cape?

By the way, I have worn the flag on my sleeve a number of occasions with real pride. I have also carried my flag during parades.

I have pride in my country but there is no doubt that the flag raises two different ideas in my mind and one of those is not great.

Will a change of flag change that. Perhaps?probably not although I do think the racists would simply continue to wear the current flag much like they do in the American south with the confederate flag.

Good post.
I’m sure our ex serviceman would like to hear his views on the Australian Flag and Australia.

Oh the old “how dare you disrespect the diggers” line of insult, the last refuge of a scoundrel to shut down conversation.

I don’t give a rat’s ass what ex servicemen think about my opinions. We do not live in a “Starship Troopers” society where only people in the military get to vote. The vote and opinion of someone in the military is equal to that of a civilian person in Australia. They did a job like anyone else and shouldn’t get any special privilege. To think that soldiers and their opinions should be elevated above emergency services, healthcare workers, doctors, social and disability workers, teachers, heck most of society except those who just manipulate money and swindlers, is a disgusting point of view.

I couldn’t care less if they think they “died for a flag”. They never did, and this nation is more than just soldiers. It is mostly civilians who live and work here today. We are not a junta.

At the start of Australian history soldiers fought to uphold the British empire, now they uphold the American empire. That’s nothing to be proud of. We should aim to be a proud peaceful secular multicultural nation that had some of the first worldwide achievements in workers and women’s rights. Not glorify soldiers who went to invade other nations at the behest of world empires.

Good post.
I’m sure our ex serviceman would like to hear his views on the Australian Flag and Australia.
It’s a minority view these types pop up every Australia day, i mean to actually think the real folk gaf about these leftist views.
i know you’re in this echo chamber so you probably can’t see it but the left is becoming redundant around the world and in a few months time same will happen here but you keep up with this persistent rubbish of calling anyone that supports Australia day Bogans.

Can we not fall into this seppo level troop worship bullshit?

Could add all the “elite” SASR war criminals and those who perpetrate the massive levels of bullying and harassment within the military.

Should I care what they think about my views on the flag and January 26th?

I didn’t say you hate Australia.

I never said you, but in post 788 (how ironic?).

A true patriot volunteers to help the needy in their community and acts as a positive role model for future generations, not one who flies cheap plastic flags out of car windows while demanding others don’t question their myths.

I'd be keen to hear what you think of Jan 1st as a national day - is it more or less worthy than Jan 26th? I think it is infinitely more worthy but unfortunately it's already a holiday and half of us are hungover for it. Seems like trivial reasons against it but practically they do matter.

So March 3rd, the signing of the Australia act, would also be good - it's probably the closest thing we have to an 'Independence Day', and we'd be aligned with most other Commonwealth countries in that we celebrate this independence aspect of our nationhood. Bonus is that the weather is still pretty good around this time.

We have a tradition of Jan 26th that goes back a while. There's also the practicalities of the date. It comes after people have gone back to work from the Christmas period and look forward to a day off when the weather is usually good for a BBQ with friends and family. The onus is on those who want to change the date to provide a better alternative.

As you say, Jan 1 is already a holiday so scratch that.

The Queen actually signed on 2nd March and the Australia Act became effective the next day. Either way, I don't think it resonates with people enough for it to become a significant day. There's also the issue that the act retained the British monarch as Australia's head of state.

People are well and truly over Dutton, Cash and co telling everyone they have to celebrate Australia Day. That every council has to have a citizenship ceremony. That every pub has to have a Australia Day event.

Dutton keeps going on about how he is sick and tired of "the lefties" telling everyone what they can and can't do, when he seems to be the one telling us that we should be ashamed if we don't celebrate the day.

In my view, if you want to celebrate Australia Day, go for it.

If you are a pub and you don't want to have a Australia day event, go for it. If you do, go for it.

If you are a local council and you don't want to have a citizenship ceremony, go for it.
Such commonsense is in short supply I'm afraid.

I think that highlights how ****ed this country has become. Too scared to fly the Australian flag. Happier to embrace foreign cultures. It's a sad indictment.
It's a crap flag.

Remember when Justin Langer retired? There was a photo of him in the rooms after his final Test, wrapped in a flag and having a beer with the rest of the team. And the way the flag was draped over him, all you could see was the Union Jack.

It's a crap flag.

Good post.
I think the majority of ex service members in Australia would just like better support and ongoing healthcare from the government so they don't end being scraped off a pavement like my step brother and so many other former military personnel.

So just been to the local Coles and Woolies.

Absolutely zero “Australia” stuff at Woolies. Not a hint of any items.

At Coles the “Australia” themed plastic junk was one shelf, barely had been touched, it was a dark corner at the back of the store well away from where most people shop, and the display wasn’t marked in any way “Australia Day”. It looked like an afterthought, like the store manager thought “shit we’d better put some flag crap on the shelf somewhere so some bogan doesn’t come in here and harass us”.

At all the other stores at the shopping centre - ZERO promotions for Australia Day at any outlet.

However I did notice something interesting. At both Coles and Woolies the Chinese/Lunar New Year display was in a more prominent position, had half of the shelves empty (people are actually buying that stuff), and was clearly marked “celebrate Lunar/CNY 29th of January”

I would portend there’s more Australians who celebrate Chinese/Lunar new year (not just those of Chinese background, Asian Australians make up 1/5 people here now) than those who deck themselves out in flag gear on the 26th.

That’s with absolutely zero media acknowledgment of the day. I say we make CNY/Lunar NY a public holiday in recognition of how prominent Asian culture is now in Australian society. Better than a day observing British convicts hoisting a Union Jack
Based on Murdoch's hysterical coverage on the matter in their papers today, shops and pubs and indeed every citizen, should be forced to celebrate Australia Day

It’s a minority view these types pop up every Australia day, i mean to actually think the real folk gaf about these leftist views.
i know you’re in this echo chamber so you probably can’t see it but the left is becoming redundant around the world and in a few months time same will happen here but you keep up with this persistent rubbish of calling anyone that supports Australia day Bogans.
Mate I’m calling out the lefties. Yes the board is an echo chamber. look at any of the political threads. they’re losing their minds at a Dutton leading the polls and Trump.

Based on Murdoch's hysterical coverage on the matter in their papers today, shops and pubs and indeed every citizen, should be forced to celebrate Australia Day
And the more Murdoch and Dutton complain, the more I want to oppose it.

If Dutton wants to make Australia Day a partisan thing. I'll indulge him and deliberately avoid anything to do with it, other than taking the Public Holiday.

Mate I’m calling out the lefties. Yes the board is an echo chamber. look at any of the political threads. they’re losing their minds at a Dutton leading the polls and Trump.
If this board is an "echo chamber" it's because so many right wing viewpoints are shot down by facts, truth and logic. Right wingers who can support their position with facts, truth and logic are in short supply on the anonymous internet sadly.

People aren't "losing their minds" over Dutton and Trump, they are giving copious examples of why they are a really, really bad choice.

Tip: "Calling out" anyone is a waste of energy.

If this board is an "echo chamber" it's because so many right wing viewpoints are shot down by facts, truth and logic. Right wingers who can support their position with facts, truth and logic are in short supply on the anonymous internet sadly.

People aren't "losing their minds" over Dutton and Trump, they are giving copious examples of why they are a really, really bad choice.

Tip: "Calling out" anyone is a waste of energy.
It's also an alternative to the mainstream media which is pro Liberal

Gee, fancy a media organisation having the temerity to report on a planned protest of approx 30k people that will disrupt the CBD and potentially the Australian Open Men’s Tennis final.

Some of you have a strange idea on what a newspaper is supposed to do.

January 26th 2025