Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)

At the very least its obstructing a player from the contest illegally. Should be a free kick. Same as when a player gets blocked on the 1 2 handball

It's not a matter if it dangerous it is a free kick.
Be very tiggy touchwood free for mine. That match was umpired the way finals should be for mine. Would not pay a free for that

I agree, except for the holding the ball rule, which I thought became too lax. There were about 4 really blatant ones.

Lol you are joking surely?

You can't grab someone from behind in a headlock, who never had the ball, reef him around by the neck and then hold him there as your team clears the ball.

It's one thing to let the play roll but that was a blatant free kick even in finals.

I agree, except for the holding the ball rule, which I thought became too lax. There were about 4 really blatant ones.

Well I hope the mandate goes out that a headlock on players and holding them down who don't have the ball is OK now.

Duly noted you read that Bruzzy and McCreery go for broke.❤️

I reckon Robbos call against Ginny is atrocious and BS. The Tuohy one is a nothing but a bit of minor contact between players which both players are involved in. For mine its not dangerous at all, play on every day of the week
Any twisting motion with an elbow tightened like that around the neck is a dangerous action, especially when you look at the builds of the two Individual. That headlock does not need to be there, there is also potential for a third person to impact at some point and create further risk.

Can definitely be if done too vigorously but that example wasn't quite there.

Despite that it IS a clear and blatant free kick, what makes me laugh is there is no way the umps let that slide if the teams were reversed.

extenuate
Learn to pronounce
verb
cause (an offence) to seem less serious.

It can also be applied here the offence is a push in the back, Ginnivan by flopping can cause the umpires to think it is less serious.

I'm not sure that pronunciation is the issue.

In any case, no need to make fun of my listhp.

It was a joke and a copy paste but do go on...

I knew what he meant and also made the error in reply who really gives a fc*k mate.

I was enjoying a joke as well, in any case not taking it too seriously.

No f**** given, I promise.

The frustrating thing for me is, if it was round 1 they’re paid all day long. Needs consistency throughout the year.

I think it's OK to let the game flow and let minor stuff go but not the real blatant stuff.

Incorrect dispsoal and throws, HTB and holding the man all went out the window when Geelong did it.

We got decisions over turned, deliberate oob whilst being tackled paid, throws called when it was a clear handball etc.

It was a shocking night for the umps imo.

And when a game is decided by a goal 1 poor decision can lose it (cough 2018 GF cough) let alone a myriad of calls.

I was enjoying a joke as well, in any case not taking it too seriously.

No f**** given, I promise.
Language is a serious issue around these parts

puppets grammar GIF

If you want to make that dangerous then we better go to non contact. Its a nothing incident.

rI think it's OK to let the game flow and let minor stuff go but not the real blatant stuff.

Incorrect dispsoal and throws, HTB and holding the man all went out the window when Geelong did it.

We got decisions over turned, deliberate oob whilst being tackled paid, throws called when it was a clear handball etc.

It was a shocking night for the umps imo.

And when a game is decided by a goal 1 poor decision can lose it (cough 2018 GF cough) let alone a myriad of calls.
The one that worried me the most was the throw call against AJ.
I've replayed it a dozen times now and I'm none the wiser.
If it was called a throw the ump guessed, pure and simple. if it was deemed HTB, then a precedent for the rest of the day was set - a precedent that was blatantly ignored for the rest of the day.
I can almost live with the frees not paid to Ginni and when I've cooled down, I can appreciate how difficult it can be to spot a "quick hands" throw in real time but that call sucked on Saturday evening, it sucks now and it will suck ten years from this day. I tend to cringe when people accuse umpires of bias but poor decisions like that enable such accusations. ineptitude seems to be allowed to flourish n the umpires department. if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. Make them professional. Make them accountable and make that accountability transparent because otherwise, that ineptitude will cost someone a grand final..oh wait...

Well I hope the mandate goes out that a headlock on players and holding them down who don't have the ball is OK now.

Duly noted you read that Bruzzy and McCreery go for broke.❤️
Watch what happens when someone bent over goes head first at the tackler. The Ump calls play on and then when he eventually blows his whistle for a stoppage, the tackler still has him high. The tackler isn't expected to readjust the tackle.

I didn't see that one like the Redman one. I just thought he held on after Ginni forced the tackle high. I didn't see it as a malicious secondary headlock.

If it was called a throw the ump guessed, pure and simple. if it was deemed HTB, then a precedent for the rest of the day was set - a precedent that was blatantly ignored for the rest of the day.
I can almost live with the frees not paid to Ginni and when I've cooled down, I can appreciate how difficult it can be to spot a "quick hands" throw in real time but that call sucked on Saturday evening, it sucks now and it will suck ten years from this day. I tend to cringe when people accuse umpires of bias but poor decisions like that enable such accusations. ineptitude seems to be allowed to flourish n the umpires department. if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys. Make them professional. Make them accountable and make that accountability transparent because otherwise, that ineptitude will cost someone a grand final..oh wait...
This is the problem with the AFL and it's becoming more prevalent in society in general. Deny wrongdoing, silence critics, prevent robust argument, and defend the offenders, ad infinitum. Preventing any third-party from holding them to account means that there is likely to be no honest review and if there does happen to be some semblance of checks and balances that is likely to occur in an echo chamber in AFL house. Bring back the old 'What's you decision?' and have a senior umpire explain the call or acknowledge that there was an error.

This decision and the gary rohan non called out of bounds in the pocket that led to the Hawkins goal. It looked obviously out watching on TV, but bizzarely wasn't replayed nor even mentioned by the commentators after the incident, despite the insistent crowd boos after the goal.

Yet the camera angle on TV doesnt give good vision at all and the person who can best tell is the boundary umpire who is standing over the line and ball 2m away with a perfect view. The crowd wanting it out doesnt make it out.

We produced a massive effort against a great side in full flight and just felt short.
The inability to convert and constant nervous finals jitters through thought the game was what cost us.
Stop the flipping sooking about umpiring, it's pathetic.

I am interested in the idea of professional full time umpires. Dwayne champions it on SEN. I think it would do the opposite he does. The umpires currently devote 15-25 hours per week and make $75-175K. They study and know the rules at a level far beyond what I do and I suspect what people on BF do. They have other careers, just doing a bit of a search finds teachers, accountants, investment advisors, barristers etc. Strikes a balance that say a David Parkin would see as beneficial. Provides a career after umpiring. Umpiring doesnt last that long for most.

So if we change that, make it full time, increase the spend without any increase in games umpired (unless you have less umpires doing more games, probably burn them out) I reckon a lot of the people doing it now would opt out to pursue their primary career that may have longevity and maybe more interest, satisfaction and renumeration. Maybe you end up with less skilled, less able umpires. I reckon the group doing it now are probably better than the group you would get if it was full time. Its not that attractive that you would pursue it as a career that maybe is over when you are in your 30's at the expense of what may be better career paths.

Below is an article that gives a good behind the scenes look. I dont reckon the current group are monkeys or inept

P.S except sideswipe, he had an umpiring career where he was more protagonist than adjudicator and deserved to be chased out of carparks while hurling abuse at his pursuers.

That's fine if the 23 home and away rounds are umpired the same way, there should never be different rules or interpretations depending on the stage of the season. 2018 grand final is a fine example.

Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)