List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Looks like Dewar is in line for a multi year deal so can take him off the possible delisting list.

If anyone ever doubts how bad our injury list was, just remember that Harry Barnett has played more than one AFL game.

If anyone ever doubts how bad our list management was, just remember that Harry Barnett is still contracted.

Jamieson too!

Happy there's clarity with the Chad Warner stuff. One less thing for this board to melt over when speculation goes a bit too far down the rabbit hole.

Not too sure about Barnett as a example. Most people besides our recruiters could see he was absolutely nothing.
"with the benefit of hindsight its obvious that even me, an absolute nuffie of the highest order, could see that Barnett was absolutely nothing and as such our recruiters were stupid"

The consensus among draft watchers was that his range was 20-40.

Do you read the shit you post sometimes? Uppercut yourself.

Can’t see him leaving WA so Freo probably his only realistic destination. Late second will be pretty much useless for us unless we package it up to a team with a high NGA/FS. If Freo are interested in him I’d ask for Erasmus, otherwise put him on a rolling 1 year deal on minimal salary.
If it came between a choice of a few extra years on an average AFL wage or retiring I think he’d leave WA.

So what could we realistically get?

Run Away Shiba Inu GIF by Justin
I'm not scared......
1745560022092.png

If it came between a choice of a few extra years on an average AFL wage or retiring I think he’d leave WA.

He’s got a genuinely complex family situation, has made good coin but if he left in this year’s draft a mid-late 2R would be fine provided we used it as part of a pick package to get up the order. A player would be better.

So I asked ChatGPT it's opinion and got this response.

"AI is dumb as shit," says bzparkes, moments before getting out-logic’d by his own toaster.

Mate, you calling AI dumb is like a pigeon calling Google Maps lost. You use it every day for work but still reckon it’s just a "search engine you argue with"? That’s like saying your car’s useless because you keep crashing it into trees.

You started off thinking AI was amazing, and now you’re mad it didn’t write your quarterly report and tuck you in at night? Bro, it’s not Skynet—it’s just tired of explaining basic Excel formulas to you for the 47th time.

AI: "Here’s a detailed breakdown of what you asked for, with citations."
bzparkes: "This is dumb as shit."
That’s not a critique, king—that’s you losing an argument with a glorified calculator and rage-quitting like a 12-year-old in Fortnite.

You’re out here treating ChatGPT like your ex: keep using it every day, still calling it dumb, but somehow can’t quit it. You’re basically in a toxic relationship with Microsoft Copilot.

And let’s be real—if AI was really dumb, you wouldn’t feel so personally threatened every time it clapped back with facts and didn’t laugh at your "I asked AI to write a joke and it sucked" punchline.

So next time you’re arguing with a chatbot at 2am and losing, just remember: the dumbest one in the conversation isn’t the one with the off switch.
Seems like AI took that personally there but did nothing to refute my argument.

Point proven :cool:

I doubt he would leave WA again , he probably would be content with a lesser salary to stay on the list ..

A WINNING percentage ladder will determine the AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft order due to the postponement of Gold Coast and Essendon's Opening Round game.

Not keen on CDT with a top 10 pick. A few years ago Jackson Broadbent was considered an elite junior ruckman and went undrafted and doesn’t appear to be playing even WAFL now. Barnett looked a great prospect a few years ago, look at him now. It’s just too hard to predict the development trajectory of young rucks.
Jackson Broadbent couldnt even get a kick with the Collie Eagles when I saw him play 2 seasons ago.

Feels like a "CBF doing hard work" decision

We might not know it, but this was a major bullet dodged.

The ink is barely dry on his contract and he reckons that getting the deal made him lose motivation......

.....Imagine if he signed with us and took this attitude to his footy?

We might not know it, but this was a major bullet dodged.

The ink is barely dry on his contract and he reckons that getting the deal made him lose motivation......

.....Imagine if he signed with us and took this attitude to his footy?

It seems like he had a few sleepless nights trying to weigh up the should I stay or should I go decision ..
Sydney played it well actually by signing his brother Cory in March ironically till 2027 which is what Chad has signed up for another 2 years as well ..