List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Reeks of Tim Kelly trade situation again so glad it’s taken out of our hands

However to think we’d be fighting for a finals spot again with this current list in 2 years is laughable to me. Nothing suggests we are anywhere near it.

Hell we celebrated getting close to Essendon last week - that’s where we are as a footy club.

When Harley piss bolt( I never bought into him as a more than one contract player) and we get more draft capital, while it'll be exciting, it’s gonna be a little while before we climb up again.
Wrong Biggie!!

A fit Flynn is a decent option, BW isn't!
Wouldn't say Flynn is the answer after 1 decent game.
He is a solid 2nd ruck and if he turns out to be better than that after a full season, great.

Are people being serious when they suggest Warner was the make or break of Harley staying or going?

Is there any overlap with the group that says Warner wouldn't be able to dig us out of the mire?

Has anyone suggested folding the club?
There’s some jellyfish woe is me types on here for sure

Unless there is a better ruck ready to replace BW I wouldn't do it, don't want another developing young ruck.
Decent trade but can't go through next year and beyond without someone other than Flynn.
If Cameron can be convinced to come for the right trade value, I would jump at that trade.
Unless there is an outstanding mid-field option in the MSD I would target a ruckman like Keogh or even Brayden Crossley who are 2 of the top ones in the VFL. Crossley is 25 and a bit of a wrecking ball like Xerri and Nankervis and has dominated the VFL across a couple of seasons... trialled with WB as a train on but missed out. Keogh is also 25 and is very mobile with a few tricks and could be a more versatile option if he doesn't make it as a ruckman. Ajang looks interesting 22, 202cm and a basketball background.
Here's an assessment of 7 prospects in the MSD

The club would have paid way to much for warner thank goodness its over. He would have made a difference but lets remember how badly it has gone for us in the past.
Tim Kelly was a decent pick if the team of 2018 stayed together instead of continuously getting injured.
We need as many top draft picks as we can get. The top 10 picks will have about 4 gems, the rest will be average so lets up our chances of getting a couple of great players. lets ask for assistance from the vAFL.
We have done a few good things lately Darling got 5 kicks no goals in a game recently. Barrass seems to play exactly the same, mark stop look look again and dispose not what we are after in our new game plan.
Its time for the VAFL to change the rules on NGA/father son as we have a number of good prospects.

AI presents as intelligent - it's capable of constructing coherent sentences that most posters here would be envious of. Somehow it stills pumps out utter slop.
AI is dumb as shit.

I remember a couple of years ago when I first got into it. thought it was amazing, etc.

I use it every day for work and I now know it's just a search engine that you argue with. It's dumb as shit.

Some players are going to get some very nice front ended contracts.

If OA goes, we don’t resign Kelly (even if we do it wont be on great money)

Don’t think the Sheldricks, Erasmus of the world would cost much.

Over pay the Ed Allen’s, Cameron’s and Hills of the world to get them to come? Which will cost draft capital.
How about a guy like Ed Richards who is a RFA this year... good consistent player but we'd be giving up the Oscar comp pick unless we traded for him, maybe a later first/early 2nd rounder :shrug:

It might be a couple years of pain getting games into the youth and learning the new game plan but getting another good draft haul will be key to building a solid foundation for the next premiership push.

Should get Dev as a delisted FA this year so there's another freebie for some extra midfield depth
As long as that doesn't jeopardise the Oscar comp pick. If he's delisted though, we can rookie him.

He would cost us our Oscar compo. If of course, that were to eventuate.
yes I realise that but we could always just trade for him, any pick earlier than what Carlton would get as compensation would make them happy I would expect. As far as I understand trading for him would negate losing the OA comp pick. If Hawks finish below Carlton that would make it easier.

Not terribly upset about Warner. Would of been heavily targeted in our midfield and given the costs involved to bring him across and what we would of given up good chance the deal bites us long term.

Wouldn't say Flynn is the answer after 1 decent game.
He is a solid 2nd ruck and if he turns out to be better than that after a full season, great.
I understand but that is why I said a fit Flynn. Our perception can often be quite different to reality as the attached comparison shows. While one game does not make a season, the fact is across 39 games, Flynn's career numbers for HO won, and HO to advantage are better or equal to Xerri, Cameron and Marshall (all of whom we'd be happy to have).
We still need another decent ruckman because we don't want to have to go back to BW. Unless there is a clear No. 1 pick in the MSD, I'd be seriously looking at Cooper Keogh, a ruckman. He's 25, mobile and a pretty smart looking player. Ruckmen.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I did preface the trade with “Why not get another ruck”.

Cameron’s trade value is difficult to estimate but I do think he’s undervalued in here. We need to get some clarity on:
a) whether he actually wants to be in WA next year b) what would satisfy Collingwood in a trade
Is he undervalued here or discounted purely because he will be 30+ and on completely the wrong time frame for our team?

I would argue he is overvalued here.

Would be valuable to a contender, not a winless rebuilding team hitting the draft.

A 3rd round pick is all we could afford

As a contracted player, his trade value is what Collingwood would be prepared to release him for, not what we dictate.

He’s a 29yo ruck in the prime of his career, has played almost every game since moving to the Pies and certainly over the last 5 years and he’s on one of the lowest paid contracts in the competition considering his output and durability.

He made the AA squad last year, looking like he will again this year and Mason Cox looks cooked.

Appreciate that he’ll be 30 and I’m not suggesting we swap him for Harley Reid but Collingwood aren’t going to release him for a F3 and magic beans. He would be a tremendous acquisition for the right price.

All the talk about Ruckman and one could be staring us in the face.

I think most would agree the wooden spoon race is firmly between Kangaroos and us and whilst i hate the cutlery i'll take another one if it secures us Pick 1 with Band 1 on the table for Allen.

Don't get me wrong, i love Oscar but sentimentality is not a luxury we can afford when we are this bad and bar Harley there is no one on our list that would ever net us pick 2 in a trade.

With this is mind i would be looking at Cooper Duff-Tytler and Fred Rodriguez with our first two picks.

Cooper is going to be the number 1 prospect by the end of the year in my eyes. I know how most feel about overpaying for rucks but this kid could be generational and still has so much development in him. If he continues to blossom this year we'd be foolish to overlook him.

Fred Rodriguez fits the midfielder bill for me nicely. Yes, being a WA boy is a factor but its his all around game and silky kicking off both feet that catches my eye. Would do very nicely as an outside mid for us.

Trade Hawks first and our second in a package deal with the Suns for their first if it makes sense and climb up the board before the first round becomes a real shit show.

Use later picks and future picks if need be to secure Banfield, Walley and Kobe.

How about a guy like Ed Richards who is a RFA this year... good consistent player but we'd be giving up the Oscar comp pick unless we traded for him, maybe a later first/early 2nd rounder :shrug:
Richards family is Collingwood royalty. If he was to leave the Bulldogs, he’d only go to one club.

However, for a hypothetical discussion, if he were to nominate WC as his preferred destination, the Bulldogs would match the contract offer and force a trade, as the picks WC could potentially offer in trade would be far better than the compensation pick they would receive.

The best option WC would have, to not have the Bulldogs match the offer, would be to handout a St Kilda type offer of $1.7m to $1.8m per year contract.

I am not keen on throwing picks 1 or 2 at CDT, personally I find the big boys tend to slide. I prefer going all in on Freddy, Sharp, Duursma, Greeves, etc.

OA will go if the contract is not what he expects. The same for Kelly, cents on the dollar, shake hands and wish them both the best.

I am not sure how much that leaves us to play with and the exact rules, but it does make sense to fill out some role (B-grade) players with some extra $$$, or start paying out contracts. Otherwise, you can start throwing some weight around next year (Butters, Walsh, maybe Rhylee West) or if it's possible, carry it into 2027 with Chad.

Bont makes sense if we can get him in for nothing, it cant impact OA compensation. I see value in Bont playing for us with such a young group and making sure he stays on in some capacity for life after footy, I would love him and Pendles around the club. Again I am not sure of the rules but I would employ them through the NGA / Beagles if they would like to coach.

Also the club really needs an answer by Harley in June, being held to ransom for another twelve months with no improvement on the current deals offered is bullshit because the addition of that trade will be likely have us with 4 / 5 picks in the top 10. Its now or never.

Clarke will earn his money in the next 24 months.

Pick 1 on a ruckman?

Crypto Bull GIF

AI is dumb as shit.

I remember a couple of years ago when I first got into it. thought it was amazing, etc.

I use it every day for work and I now know it's just a search engine that you argue with. It's dumb as shit.
So I asked ChatGPT it's opinion and got this response.

"AI is dumb as shit," says bzparkes, moments before getting out-logic’d by his own toaster.

Mate, you calling AI dumb is like a pigeon calling Google Maps lost. You use it every day for work but still reckon it’s just a "search engine you argue with"? That’s like saying your car’s useless because you keep crashing it into trees.

You started off thinking AI was amazing, and now you’re mad it didn’t write your quarterly report and tuck you in at night? Bro, it’s not Skynet—it’s just tired of explaining basic Excel formulas to you for the 47th time.

AI: "Here’s a detailed breakdown of what you asked for, with citations."
bzparkes: "This is dumb as shit."
That’s not a critique, king—that’s you losing an argument with a glorified calculator and rage-quitting like a 12-year-old in Fortnite.

You’re out here treating ChatGPT like your ex: keep using it every day, still calling it dumb, but somehow can’t quit it. You’re basically in a toxic relationship with Microsoft Copilot.

And let’s be real—if AI was really dumb, you wouldn’t feel so personally threatened every time it clapped back with facts and didn’t laugh at your "I asked AI to write a joke and it sucked" punchline.

So next time you’re arguing with a chatbot at 2am and losing, just remember: the dumbest one in the conversation isn’t the one with the off switch.