List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

So I asked ChatGPT it's opinion and got this response.

"AI is dumb as shit," says bzparkes, moments before getting out-logic’d by his own toaster.

Mate, you calling AI dumb is like a pigeon calling Google Maps lost. You use it every day for work but still reckon it’s just a "search engine you argue with"? That’s like saying your car’s useless because you keep crashing it into trees.

You started off thinking AI was amazing, and now you’re mad it didn’t write your quarterly report and tuck you in at night? Bro, it’s not Skynet—it’s just tired of explaining basic Excel formulas to you for the 47th time.

AI: "Here’s a detailed breakdown of what you asked for, with citations."
bzparkes: "This is dumb as shit."
That’s not a critique, king—that’s you losing an argument with a glorified calculator and rage-quitting like a 12-year-old in Fortnite.

You’re out here treating ChatGPT like your ex: keep using it every day, still calling it dumb, but somehow can’t quit it. You’re basically in a toxic relationship with Microsoft Copilot.

And let’s be real—if AI was really dumb, you wouldn’t feel so personally threatened every time it clapped back with facts and didn’t laugh at your "I asked AI to write a joke and it sucked" punchline.

So next time you’re arguing with a chatbot at 2am and losing, just remember: the dumbest one in the conversation isn’t the one with the off switch.
Run Away Shiba Inu GIF by Justin

I am not keen on throwing picks 1 or 2 at CDT, personally I find the big boys tend to slide. I prefer going all in on Freddy, Sharp, Duursma, Greeves, etc.

OA will go if the contract is not what he expects. The same for Kelly, cents on the dollar, shake hands and wish them both the best.

I am not sure how much that leaves us to play with and the exact rules, but it does make sense to fill out some role (B-grade) players with some extra $$$, or start paying out contracts. Otherwise, you can start throwing some weight around next year (Butters, Walsh, maybe Rhylee West) or if it's possible, carry it into 2027 with Chad.

Bont makes sense if we can get him in for nothing, it cant impact OA compensation. I see value in Bont playing for us with such a young group and making sure he stays on in some capacity for life after footy, I would love him and Pendles around the club. Again I am not sure of the rules but I would employ them through the NGA / Beagles if they would like to coach.

Also the club really needs an answer by Harley in June, being held to ransom for another twelve months with no improvement on the current deals offered is bullshit because the addition of that trade will be likely have us with 4 / 5 picks in the top 10. Its now or never.

Clarke will earn his money in the next 24 months.

I completely get the concern but when looking at CDT you need to do it through different lenses.

Don't think of him as a ruck if it helps, think of him as a 4th midfielder at the centre bounce who loves to get involved in scoring chains.

That's his point of difference and if he keeps improving the way he has already this year he will be the clear number 1 by a very big margin.

I am not keen on throwing picks 1 or 2 at CDT, personally I find the big boys tend to slide. I prefer going all in on Freddy, Sharp, Duursma, Greeves, etc.

OA will go if the contract is not what he expects. The same for Kelly, cents on the dollar, shake hands and wish them both the best.

I am not sure how much that leaves us to play with and the exact rules, but it does make sense to fill out some role (B-grade) players with some extra $$$, or start paying out contracts. Otherwise, you can start throwing some weight around next year (Butters, Walsh, maybe Rhylee West) or if it's possible, carry it into 2027 with Chad.

Bont makes sense if we can get him in for nothing, it cant impact OA compensation. I see value in Bont playing for us with such a young group and making sure he stays on in some capacity for life after footy, I would love him and Pendles around the club. Again I am not sure of the rules but I would employ them through the NGA / Beagles if they would like to coach.

Also the club really needs an answer by Harley in June, being held to ransom for another twelve months with no improvement on the current deals offered is bullshit because the addition of that trade will be likely have us with 4 / 5 picks in the top 10. Its now or never.

Clarke will earn his money in the next 24 months.
Agree.
No way do you throw a top 5 pick on a ruck/fwd and secondly we also have plenty ruck/fwds on our list already.

I think we already have a prospect that is blowing the walls off what would be expected in A Reid, he also projects to be at least a competitive ruck longer term and maybe a ruck/fwd when his goal kicking improves. Don't draft another!

I would rather persist with Livingstone for a couple more years to see what he can offer, even if he turns out to be depth.

Midfield, midfield and KDEF are the list needs.

Rodriguez, Sharp, Greeves, Cumming, Grilj are the type of players WC need for our midfield this years draft.
If OA stays we will get probably get 1 top end of our choice and 1 later with Hawks 1st, if he goes we get 2 top end of our choice and use the other Hawks 1st on Curtin if we feel he is the best KDEF option.

Kelly will either except a short term deal on lower $, 1 year or 2 or he will retire.
Our ability to attract someone like Bont will be determined by where we see Kelly longer term and his ability to play the new game style and coaches instructions.
Kelly is a good servant and will need to be replaced if he retires, we don't have much else in our midfield apart from Yeo and Graham, Yeo is nearing his end and Graham is a defensive mid.
I would ideally sign Kelly on short term contracts 1 year $6-700k, whatever we are paying Graham is about fair.

Then as you mention a player of Bonts quality makes so much sense for our young group and his leadership is as valuable as his onfield performance, 3 years with a games trigger and a coaching role after retirement, $1.4-1.5m a season, use the Warner cash to get the best player and leader in the business!!

Harley decision like you mention needs to be made by June for all of the reasons mentioned.

I completely get the concern but when looking at CDT you need to do it through different lenses.

Don't think of him as a ruck if it helps, think of him as a 4th midfielder at the centre bounce who loves to get involved in scoring chains.

That's his point of difference and if he keeps improving the way he has already this year he will be the clear number 1 by a very big margin.
CDT has the benefit of using his frame against smaller bodies he wont get that in the AFL.
You don't use top picks on Rucks.
Nic Nat was destroying teams on his own CDT does not.

Kelly not a FA so what could we realistically get for him in a trade?
Late second?
Can’t see him leaving WA so Freo probably his only realistic destination. Late second will be pretty much useless for us unless we package it up to a team with a high NGA/FS. If Freo are interested in him I’d ask for Erasmus, otherwise put him on a rolling 1 year deal on minimal salary.

Just a hypothetical... assuming we finish last and have Pick 1, and Oscar goes as a Band 1 free agent giving us pick 2. On current standings wed have 1, 2, 12 (Hawks), 19, 30. Lets assume the impossible happened and The Bont decided to come to WC as a free agent, I'm assuming that most here would be happy to forego the Allen Comp pick for Bont who I think has another 4 seasons in him?
Here's the real hypothetical...
To avoid losing the comp pick 2, can we agree to trade for Bont instead of taking him as an UFA?
To make it worthwhile for the WB, all we'd have to do is trade him for a pick that is better than than what they'd get as a comp pick. If Hawks finish below WB it becomes easier, but if Hawks finish higher we would have to split pick 2 for 2 First rounders.
If we were to turn our Comp pick 2 into a couple of first rounders I'd chase Essendon's. Our Picks 2 and 12 are exactly the same points value as Essendon's 3 and 8. Essendon might like an earlier pick to use before their NGA players are bid on.
If we could wangle that deal, give WB Pick 8, they'd be happy, and we'd end up with 1,3,12 and Bont.
It's OK, you can tell me I'm dreamin' 🤣
Pick 2 for bont. What a nonsense...

Go away for a few days and not only are some posters assuming it's pick 1 and 2 this year, some are assuming it's pick 1 next year. When did we become like Freo fans?
Ever since we have some dumb people in the executive team. Were you oaying attention to last years trade period? Trading away pick 3 for a solid b grader in baker.... these decisions are setting the club back and mean more years at the bottom.

Not keen on CDT with a top 10 pick. A few years ago Jackson Broadbent was considered an elite junior ruckman and went undrafted and doesn’t appear to be playing even WAFL now. Barnett looked a great prospect a few years ago, look at him now. It’s just too hard to predict the development trajectory of young rucks.

Not too sure about Barnett as a example. Most people besides our recruiters could see he was absolutely nothing.

So we would have been offering more years, but I doubt substantially more $’s. Fair call by him

Im surprised no one is asking "How can Sydney afford that salary" as a question to be fair. They have kept quite a few head hunted stars recently from Papley to also Hayward, McDonald and Florent. The dam wall gotta break eventually surely

I think the timing is wrong on this one, but people far better than me would be able to say what rate they would expect KPP to develop.

Generally speaking, I say midfielders take three to four years to get going. KPP on the other hand I say a minimum of six years.

Hypothetically; Harley Reid, Reuben Gibney, Elijah Hewett, Bo Allan, Tom Gross, Jack Hutchinson, Clay Hall, Tyrell Dewar, Hamish Davis, Lucca Greggo, Harvey Johnston, Campbel Chesser (e.g 2025 Haul - Fred Rodriguez, Dyson Sharp, + NGA's Wes Walley, Koby Evans, Tylah Williams, Charlie Banfield) (e.g 2026 haul - Lucas Robinson/Douglas Cochrane, + NGA's Jimmy Aylmore, Garrison Kenh, Jake Caton, Lachlan McGlade, Harper Banfield)

Conservatively, assuming 40% of the kids make it - those names will make the core midfield group and should be averaging close to 60 - 100 games by 2030. That core group should impact the competition in 2030 if they fulfil their potential.

Again generally speaking CDT wont be ready until 2032. Why use a pick now on him, when we can absolutely target a ready made KPP from 2028.

But, I am not expert just a numpty who loves the West Coast Eagles and watches the game. I just hope the guys ITK make the right call so we can see another premiership within 10 years.

Id be very much in the camp of bidding for Uwland at pick 1 unless Gold Coast give us a nice trade that can net us a good pick for a future one

Im all for say our Future 2nd rounder + pick 19 or 30 (depends on finishing positions) for Ports 1st rounder.

Technically pick 19 + future 2nd would map towards pick 9 ad relatively equal points value so AFL cant really veto it

Carlton have no salary cap space. Everything they have will go into keeping TDK.
In your opinion is there a chance the AFL will allow salary dump for picks in the near future?

The AFL really does shit me with they're ****ing rules and having different rules for different teams and regions. Absolutely ****ing useless.

Not too sure about Barnett as a example. Most people besides our recruiters could see he was absolutely nothing.

He hasn’t worked out the way we all hoped but let’s not pretend it was a poor decision at the time. We needed a young ruck and Barnett was regarded as the best ruck in the draft

The Eagles then went for needs at the start of the second round and got Barnett, who was clearly the best ruckman of the draft class

The Eagles managed to secure the best ruck prospect in this draft in Barnett with their third choice. He is an athletic, strong contested marking and ball winning ruckman.

With two picks inside the second round, they looked towards ruck depth and speed. With pick 23, they nabbed the best ruck prospect in the draft in Harry Barnett, a guy who can cover ground as well as he can compete in the ruck contests. With Nic Naitanui getting on in his career, and no standout ruck below him, this is a great get for the Eagles

Barnett is arguably the most talented ruckman of the draft will join a small list of inexperienced talls as Adam Simpson attempts to reveal Nic Naitanui's successor.

He hasn’t worked out the way we all hoped but let’s not pretend it was a poor decision at the time. We needed a young ruck and Barnett was regarded as the

Absolutely nothing wrong with the pick. Needed a developing ruck, pick range was fine. Only thing thst could be criticised is perhaps our development of him.

Barnett looks like an AFL player. He's pretty decent size now but just doesn't have "it"

I'm sure Adelaide or Port will snap him up and turn him into Max Gawn

The problem with Barnett is pretty simple really.

1. He just happened to have far and away his best year of his life in his draft year. Was expected to go on with it.
2. He lacks the competitive nature between the ears, which you couldn't tell in his draft year.

Burgiel is a similar story. He lost some of his best attributes by being constantly injured after being drafted and lacked that real drive to succeed.

It turned out to be a very weak draft.

The salary for draft picks is definitely in the works. I think it's been pushed back till either the year Tasmania come in or will come in the year after.

Barnett just doesn't have anything that resembles even a modicum of AFL quality talent.

You know how you occasionally tune in to watch the Beagles and there's just these really shit amateur players with slow speed, slow reaction time, bad skills and just don't appear to belong on the field? That is Barnett.

This is the WAFL we're taking about as well, a fair step down from AFL. It's generally baffling how he can be this bad after this many years in an AFL system.

He seems like one of those classic lazy types. They never change no matter how big the consequences are. Pay him out at the end of the year.