Oppo Camp 2025 Hawks Death Ride

Sorry mate just to be clear - are you claiming that WCEPhil, the freelance talent assessor and recruitment specialist doing one last favour for the club before retirement who threw our list boss out of the room to make the call himself all while live posting the updates to BigFooty on his son’s account, wasn’t telling the truth?
Ill pay that... I have no idea what to believe anymore... Its 11pm in Sydney and Ive had a few...... im just angry

Sure it would have been nice to have Carltons pick if they end up not making finals. But isnt all that matters for us that we do better than Hawk's original offer of 14 by itself?
Yeah the Carlton vs Hawks thing is annoying and you won’t hear the end of it from Hawks fans but the reality is it was a coin flip at the time and like you say, we do only need it to be better than 14 for it to be a win from our side. Whatever the Hawks end up with is irrelevant.

Yes it was a coin flip but we should of at least hedged and grabbed the Carlton 2nd if we went the Hawthorn 1st instead of all in on Hawthorn.

Not really true, pick 14 in 2024 was valued a lot more highly than pick 14 in the 2025 draft. A good example is what North traded for Whitlock (27, 2024) for their F1 and Tiges F2.

Flipped a coin. Called heads. Came up tails.

Handful of folks on here championed for Carlton’s picks and were clearly right, not copping it from media members who had Carlton in their top four now doing the whole “geeeeee didn’t the Eagles stuff this one up” routine.

This is a special collapse from the Blues, almost love to see it.

Yeah exactly. Made a call, got it wrong, everyone at the time seemed fairly 50-50 on Carlton/Hawthorn and I doubt anyone here who at the time thought Hawthorn would do better were confident and assured enough to put their house on it.

Don't mind that we went all-in with the second rounder either, may as well back yourself in.

It's annoying but well down the list of frustrations. With the AFL so ebb and flow, reckon Hawthorn will have a bad patch and end up 3-4th, Carlton have a bit of a revival and end up 9-10th. If we're talking where to focus negative energy on, I'd be confident players picked 6 picks lower but developed in a well-setup WAFL arrangement and an AFL side with more of an identity would turn out better than the higher picks in the 2023-2024 environment.

Also for a context reminder, we traded Barrass (turns 30 this year) for (if say Hawthorn exit in the prelim this year) picks 15, probably a mid 30s after bids and a late third rounder in a draft where we'll need points second round onwards for NGAs.

We paid Pick 14 for Baker, who turned 27 this year. We all blew up on overpaying for him, and yes there was the pick 3 split which will rest on how well Bo does, but in terms of what Richmond received it was a flat pick 14.

On balance while I consider Barrass a better player in isolation, we needed a leader with mongrel, pace, ground ball ability, a bit of aggro and who was going to fire up the next generation for 3-4 more years at least. We needed to be blooding and figuring out who our next KPD pillars are (which we wouldn't have done as much with both Gov and Barrass likely being first choice this year, next and the year after for Barrass). I'd argue we needed the younger Baker (and Graham as a package) more than we needed Barrass who'd be almost past it before we even started establishing ourselves again.

If we're looking at it as a straight swap plus getting some later picks that we'll sorely need, I'm honestly ok with it even as it sits. Sad that we could have made out like bandits if Carlton continue shitting the bed but still worth reflecting that we've done ok out of it. Our development (which baker will be a part of) will mean a lot more than picking a few spots higher in the draft over the next 3 years.

Yeah exactly. Made a call, got it wrong, everyone at the time seemed fairly 50-50 on Carlton/Hawthorn and I doubt anyone here who at the time thought Hawthorn would do better were confident and assured enough to put their house on it.

Don't mind that we went all-in with the second rounder either, may as well back yourself in.

It's annoying but well down the list of frustrations. With the AFL so ebb and flow, reckon Hawthorn will have a bad patch and end up 3-4th, Carlton have a bit of a revival and end up 9-10th. If we're talking where to focus negative energy on, I'd be confident players picked 6 picks lower but developed in a well-setup WAFL arrangement and an AFL side with more of an identity would turn out better than the higher picks in the 2023-2024 environment.

Also for a context reminder, we traded Barrass (turns 30 this year) for (if say Hawthorn exit in the prelim this year) picks 15, probably a mid 30s after bids and a late third rounder in a draft where we'll need points second round onwards for NGAs.

We paid Pick 14 for Baker, who turned 27 this year. We all blew up on overpaying for him, and yes there was the pick 3 split which will rest on how well Bo does, but in terms of what Richmond received it was a flat pick 14.

On balance while I consider Barrass a better player in isolation, we needed a leader with mongrel, pace, ground ball ability, a bit of aggro and who was going to fire up the next generation for 3-4 more years at least. We needed to be blooding and figuring out who our next KPD pillars are (which we wouldn't have done as much with both Gov and Barrass likely being first choice this year, next and the year after for Barrass). I'd argue we needed the younger Baker (and Graham as a package) more than we needed Barrass who'd be almost past it before we even started establishing ourselves again.

If we're looking at it as a straight swap plus getting some later picks that we'll sorely need, I'm honestly ok with it even as it sits. Sad that we could have made out like bandits if Carlton continue shitting the bed but still worth reflecting that we've done ok out of it. Our development (which baker will be a part of) will mean a lot more than picking a few spots higher in the draft over the next 3 years.
The whole situation definitely comes across as glass half empty, but things can change quickly in footy and outside of the things in the media, I think WC is making some ground in a lot of other areas.

I like the Barrass / Baker view and I also agree we've brought in some desperate needs that will assist in the medium-long term.

In the background, I really like that we appear to have some talent coming through our academy which we will hopefully be able to draft with lower picks.

Bringing in Wes Walley and Koby Evans in 2025 draft and McGlade/Kenh in 2026 definitely addresses bringing in some skilled ball movement types and allows us to focus our R1 and R2 picks on pure balanced mids (hopefully)

The whole situation definitely comes across as glass half empty, but things can change quickly in footy and outside of the things in the media, I think WC is making some ground in a lot of other areas.

I like the Barrass / Baker view and I also agree we've brought in some desperate needs that will assist in the medium-long term.

In the background, I really like that we appear to have some talent coming through our academy which we will hopefully be able to draft with lower picks.

Bringing in Wes Walley and Koby Evans in 2025 draft and McGlade/Kenh in 2026 definitely addresses bringing in some skilled ball movement types and allows us to focus our R1 and R2 picks on pure balanced mids (hopefully)

Yeah definitely. Know this isn't the thread for it but with those NGA guys coming in (and hopefully us + maybe Freo/SA teams negotiating with the AFL for extra NGA spots/time) am fully prepared to invest all our R1/2 picks for the next 2 years on mids, ideally 2-way +balanced.

I'd love a glut of genuine mids putting pressure on from underneath - outside Gross and Hall we legit have no genuine clearance players pushing up from the WAFL. Our midfield this week is unbelievably threadbare in the 2s.

Think timing wise we could afford from 3rd round onwards to invest in a genuine KPD (a Zakostelsky/Clancy Dennis type in these drafts) - we're so good at developing talls from later picks that it's our ideal range for max value IMO) and if Allen leaves maybe another tall, but aside from that mids, mids, mids all the way.

Fix our WAFL situation and we're nowhere near as badly off as the media would think, no matter what happens with Hawthorn/Carlton. It'll be the biggest factor IMO in getting those second round onwards type players really pushing to make us a strong club/have a strong best 30.

Yeah definitely. Know this isn't the thread for it but with those NGA guys coming in (and hopefully us + maybe Freo/SA teams negotiating with the AFL for extra NGA spots/time) am fully prepared to invest all our R1/2 picks for the next 2 years on mids, ideally 2-way +balanced.

I'd love a glut of genuine mids putting pressure on from underneath - outside Gross and Hall we legit have no genuine clearance players pushing up from the WAFL. Our midfield this week is unbelievably threadbare in the 2s.

Think timing wise we could afford from 3rd round onwards to invest in a genuine KPD (a Zakostelsky/Clancy Dennis type in these drafts) - we're so good at developing talls from later picks that it's our ideal range for max value IMO) and if Allen leaves maybe another tall, but aside from that mids, mids, mids all the way.

Fix our WAFL situation and we're nowhere near as badly off as the media would think, no matter what happens with Hawthorn/Carlton. It'll be the biggest factor IMO in getting those second round onwards type players really pushing to make us a strong club/have a strong best 30.
Should be interesting who we take in the Mid Season draft as well.

We've done well with Maric and Hutch the past 2 years so fingers crossed we can get a decent balanced mid with that pick as well.

Unpopular opinion, it's still a 50/50 call. Only round 4 ffs. Hawks wins haven't been that impressive, Carltons losses not that bad. Long season.
That’s an interesting take. 🤪

Earlier in this thread one of your posters said “A Hawk supporter told me that their list was so much more superior to Carlton’s, it’s not funny”

That was me who told him that and you don’t have to be very footy smart to realise Carlton have a few A graders but otherwise their list is diabolical.

What I am struggling to work out is how anyone who knows anything about footy, did not realise it.

There is a reason why they have won 2 games out of their last 15 or so.

That’s an interesting take.

Earlier in this thread one of your posters said “A Hawk supporter told me that their list was so much more superior to Carlton’s it’s not funny”

That was me who told him that and you don’t have to be very footy smart to realise Carlton have a few A graders but otherwise their list is diabolical.

What I am struggling to work out is how anyone who knows anything about footy, did not realise it.

There is a reason why they have won 2 games out of their last 15 or so.
Whichever way you want to look at it, it was a dreadful call.
It's symptomatic of the club in recent years.
Nothing we can do about it though.

But people still trying to talk up Carlton and talk down Hawthorn are delusional.

Yes it was a coin flip but we should of at least hedged and grabbed the Carlton 2nd if we went the Hawthorn 1st instead of all in on Hawthorn.
Pardon the intrusion; I come in peace.

My indirect understanding from someone who was involved in the trade was that Hawthorn offered WCE either Hawthorn 1 & 2 or Carlton 1 & 2, and the option of hedging was never on the table (ie (Haw 1 and Carl 2) or (Carl 1 and Haw 2) were not offered as options.).

P

If anyone had predicted Carlton to be so laughably bad last year, you would’ve said they were crazy

My indirect understanding from someone who was involved in the trade was that Hawthorn offered WCE either Hawthorn 1 & 2 or Carlton 1 & 2, and the option of hedging was never on the table (ie (Haw 1 and Carl 2) or (Carl 1 and Haw 2) were not offered as options.).

P
I believe this is already widely known on this board

P

Your understanding is confirmed by someone here who actually was involved in the trade.

And thank you for being a Hawks poster who isn't here to pump up their own club.

Unpopular opinion, it's still a 50/50 call. Only round 4 ffs. Hawks wins haven't been that impressive, Carltons losses not that bad. Long season.
Exactly, I seem to remember last year we lost first 5 games and by finals time a lot of people had us as one of the favourites for the flag. Things could look very different come finals this year!

Hedging shouldn't have been an option anyway. If you think Carlton are going to be better then back that in.

My position is that we should've pushed for both firsts for our second. But I am a fan with a vested interest.

If the AFL had any idea about anything clubs would be able to trade for picks based on scenarios.

E.g.

• First round pick top 5 protected. Haw finish bottom 5 it rolls over to 2027 first.
  • Right to choice of first round pick out of Haw/Carl.
  • Right to pick swap. Not really applicable as no advantage to WC unless we finish higher.

Oppo Camp 2025 Hawks Death Ride

Write your reply...