Prediction Round 7, 2025: Changes vs Hawthorn

Judging by Gavin Bell’s comments on SEN this morning it will be Archer Reid out for Oscar.

Something like “might be an opportunity for our younger guys to go back and learn more about our system” or something that can be read as go back to play for the Beagles and get belted.
It was Duff that asked Bell if Archer Reid could be omitted. Bell said something like they would look at all of the young players and didn't mention Archer.

There is a match committee.

Judging by Gavin Bell’s comments on SEN this morning it will be Archer Reid out for Oscar.

Something like “might be an opportunity for our younger guys to go back and learn more about our system” or something that can be read as go back to play for the Beagles and get belted.

Sounds and looks more like Dewar needs to go back and learn IMO.

Team balance is the key.

And who plays 2nd ruck.

Archer taking a week off and not flying isn't a silly plan.

Out: A.Reid (only if needs rest), Hunt, Edwards, Owies

In: Allen, Johnston , Cole, Allan

I'd actually give Cole a crack at Owies role as the pressure/defensive small forward.

I suspect we'd get more out of him in that role.

HJ in as a Hunt replacement who can kick

Young Bo to get his first game and OA for A Reid only if he needs a rest.

One less tall against the Hawks...Added speed, defensive grit and some mongrel

1745300808817.png

1745300842054.png

Bit of an indictment that our top 3 for pressure acts are new players and 4 of the top 5 for pressure acts are the same 3 plus a mid season draft pick up that has played 10 games.

Anyhoo, I don't think Owies is as bad as people make out. He's not as talented as others but we're not exactly blessed with high pressure inside 50 players.

It was Duff that asked Bell if Archer Reid could be omitted. Bell said something like they would look at all of the young players and didn't mention Archer.

There is a match committee.
Yeah though Bell’s response that I’m paraphrasing was in respect to a specific question as to whether Allen could come into the side as a defender, due to the form of the tall forwards in his absence.

To which Bell volunteered his thoughts that a young player could go out.

I doubt that Jack Williams coming off 3.1 and some handy back up ruck stints would be dropped so logic says a young tall that would make way would likely be A Reid.

It was reported in the media that Allen didn’t attend the game on Friday. I am not sure this is a great look for the captain? If true, he is done imo.

Nah mate its just the modern game, its not 1987 anymore, youse are all dinosaurs! if skippy wants to stay home and play xbox than its all good!

Out: A.Reid (only if needs rest), Hunt, Edwards, Owies

In: Allen, Johnston , Cole, Allan

I'd actually give Cole a crack at Owies role as the pressure/defensive small forward.

I suspect we'd get more out of him in that role.

HJ in as a Hunt replacement who can kick

Young Bo to get his first game and OA for A Reid only if he needs a rest.

One less tall against the Hawks...Added speed, defensive grit and some mongrel

If you want those qualities Grego has done more to be selected so far than Allan

I thought about that but went with a little bit more size. I also think Bo is a little more explosive and I suspect he'll be one of those guys that won't take long to adapt to the top level. Also ceiling

In saying that, I think Lucca will play well from day dot but the ceiling isn't the same and I want to see the more expensive toy get played with first.

I thought about that but went with a little bit more size. I also think Bo is a little more explosive and I suspect he'll be one of those guys that won't take long to adapt to the top level. Also ceiling

In saying that, I think Lucca will play well from day dot but the ceiling isn't the same and I want to see the more expensive toy get played with first.
I genuinely think Bo’s size is over hyped on these parts. Yeah he’s got a decent frame and likely to build into a powerful kid but physically he’s day and night to what either Harley/Ginbey was at 19.

Allen having a break is a fair and reasonable thing inmo. Given all the media flak and public social media outcry, let alone the hate from Eagles fan base. Sure, he brought it upon himself with a public meeting with Mitchell, but otherwise as a free agent is fully entitled to meet whoever he wants to discuss his future and engineer the best financial outcome for him and his family. This has all been discussed ad nauseam.

But he copped a LOT of flak and within club walls is known to be a passionate and loyal Eagles player first and foremost, so he has probably been shaken by the outcry, if not affecting his mental health and confidence to some degree.
Not surprising they keep some things guarded at the club, especially when it's personal.
Whatever is said will spur the rabid dogs to attack.

Oscar at his best was arguably one of the best FF in the business.
Let him find touch, and himself again. An in form Oscar is worth the wait, and a valuable weapon for us going forward to gain wins. Everything else is just white noise, a storm in a teacup. Hope he returns and bags a couple of snags.
If he loves the club so much, then he can re sign on the clubs terms. He can stop demanding a ridiculously over the top contract for what he's delivered - which to date has been nothing.

Allen hasnt played at home since his coffee has he? Managed at the home game last week... is fine this week.... something smells like chicken.
More to line up the 100th game I reckon.

Which makes it even more interesting first home game

I genuinely think Bo’s size is over hyped on these parts. Yeah he’s got a decent frame and likely to build into a powerful kid but physically he’s day and night to what either Harley/Ginbey was at 19.
I was referring to his size in comparison to Grego. 7cm more (185 vs 191), we all wish we had that :tearsofjoy:
Weight wise, you're right though. 4/5 kgs or so.

Allan very similar to a young Yeo