Opinion Is this rock bottom?

I think we still have room to go lower.

We aren't woke enough yet, a few more positional changes within our administration and we should achieve maximum wokeness.

Snake was right. The beginning of the end was when we appointed a non football person (Laura Kane) with no experience to one of the most important positions in our club. Absolute shite show ever since.

I'll always follow and support our players but our administration is the joke of the competition.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk
Womp womp

If we are winless at the bye does anyone think the club will take some sort of action?

I'm not saying Clarko
But I just feel something big will happen if this winless/uncompetitive drought continues.

Saints
Suns
Port
Bye

If we are winless at the bye does anyone think the club will take some sort of action?

I'm not saying Clarko
But I just feel something big will happen if this winless/uncompetitive drought continues.

Saints
Suns
Port
Bye
Will not come close to 5 goals on any of these sides

Well, well, well. I've been away in South America for a few months getting a few finishing touches to the old fella and this is the mess I come back to? So we are now possibly the worst team since WW II??? When I left in Feb, the optimism was palpable. When I caught up with GoKangas1869, he suggested 5-6 wins & possibly making the 8 with a "bit of luck", and Rooster was adamant that we'd be vying for Top 4 by 2026 with Phillips, Simpkin, Sheezel, Wardlaw, LDU & Powell all hitting their sweet spots by then.
Then I read LDU is putting contract talks off? Zurhaar has one foot out the door? Simpkin is cooked?

I am seething this morning, but let me tell you a story - during one of my ops in Sao Paolo, the Doc accidentally punctuated my lung. They told me I couldn't fly for 6 months but 6 days later, I'm on a Boeing 747, sipping Champagne through a straw with the feet up in Business Class joining the Mile High Club. Sure, I struggled a touch breathing at 30,000 feet, but I busted a gut & got through it. Now I feel brand new. Things can turn around pretty quickly.

LDU leaving might actually be Rock bottom if we finish on the bottom this year and next. Its interesting how other supporters keep saying we are a basket case and should merge with Tassie. All teams go through bad periods of time although ours is probably the worse that I remember since following footy back around 1976 for any team with the off field stuff as well as poor performances. For me footy lost a bit of it swagger when we lost Fitzroy and even VFL park. Growing up the grass roots experience of going to all the teams home grounds (yes even in crap weather) was a great experience and 6 days of footy on the same day was what I remember best. Great commentary and dare I say it no wokism crap. Since the interstate teams came in ( I understand why it had to happen and there is a lot of benefits like everyone having the opportunity to watch their teams on TV every week & financial side of things) but I love the memories like this great "Around the ground" clip with Jack Dyer and Co. They were great memories as were the 90s. After that it just went down hill for me. Maybe childhood memories also seem better. Anyway for you old timers listen to this. I remember the anticipation of the scores coming through on the radio and then catching the train home after the footy meeting up with all the other supporters at Flinders street from various grounds

I'm not saying Clarko

Saints
Suns
Port
Bye

I think the fans will become very restless if we lose all of those games.

What appeasement do you think the masses will accept?
I'm tipping blood will be required.
I think for me if we are at least competitive and lose it will be more palatable.

I just want to see signs that we are improving and heading in the right direction.

Eagles after the bye awaits

The night is darkest just before the dawn
Not sure why Gysberts at pick 11 in 2009 isn't on the list, that is a massive bust from 4 top 20 picks that year, 1 Scully, 2 Trengrove, 11 Gysberts and 18 Tapscott, at least they got decent compo when Scully went to GWS. Blew all those early picks then plucked a premiership captain with their 5th selection at pick 34!

Hope that doesn't mean we are waiting until 2035 for Riley Hardeman to captain us to a premiership, although going off the start to this year, maybe we'd take that!

I think "rock bottom" is more personal than team focused. The much vaunted midfield is actually one-paced with a touch of sameness about it. And not very good.
But if we had a midfield of McKercher, LDU/ Smillie, Wardlaw, Sheezel & Simpkin.
Someone said just last yesterday, what is wrong with North, I said lol, nothing, we're just playing a different sport. The joke was on them.
But with the above names I just listed, we would be playing footy at the highest level.

I added Smillie because if we roll out LDU, Philips, Powell & Lazz. We aint winning a single game this year. I think al clarko is playing with everyone currently, just you wait and see.

Well, well, well. I've been away in South America for a few months getting a few finishing touches to the old fella and this is the mess I come back to? So we are now possibly the worst team since WW II??? When I left in Feb, the optimism was palpable. When I caught up with GoKangas1869, he suggested 5-6 wins & possibly making the 8 with a "bit of luck", and Rooster was adamant that we'd be vying for Top 4 by 2026 with Phillips, Simpkin, Sheezel, Wardlaw, LDU & Powell all hitting their sweet spots by then.
Then I read LDU is putting contract talks off? Zurhaar has one foot out the door? Simpkin is cooked?

I am seething this morning, but let me tell you a story - during one of my ops in Sao Paolo, the Doc accidentally punctuated my lung. They told me I couldn't fly for 6 months but 6 days later, I'm on a Boeing 747, sipping Champagne through a straw with the feet up in Business Class joining the Mile High Club. Sure, I struggled a touch breathing at 30,000 feet, but I busted a gut & got through it. Now I feel brand new. Things can turn around pretty quickly.
Good job, quite an adventure. I hope your surgeon punctuated your lung with a full stop, or at least better syntax than our mids are managing at the minute

Not sure why Gysberts at pick 11 in 2009 isn't on the list, that is a massive bust from 4 top 20 picks that year, 1 Scully, 2 Trengrove, 11 Gysberts and 18 Tapscott, at least they got decent compo when Scully went to GWS. Blew all those early picks then plucked a premiership captain with their 5th selection at pick 34!

Hope that doesn't mean we are waiting until 2035 for Riley Hardeman to captain us to a premiership, although going off the start to this year, maybe we'd take that!
The bizarre thing is, the very day we brought Gysberts to the club, a close friend of mine said, "Why are we drafting Gysberts? He's got massive mental health issues."

Now, if a bozo mate of mine knew this, how did NMFC not know this????

But gee, we have had a serious fetish for failed high draft picks from other clubs over the last decade or so.

I think for me if we are at least competitive and lose it will be more palatable.

I just want to see signs that we are improving and heading in the right direction.

Eagles after the bye awaits

Exactly

A loss by under 20 pts would have been acceptable to Hawthorn

Not a capitulation that looked like my Grandmas chook yard

The bizarre thing is, the very day we brought Gysberts to the club, a close friend of mine said, "Why are we drafting Gysberts? He's got massive mental health issues."

Now, if a bozo mate of mine knew this, how did NMFC not know this????

But gee, we have had a serious fetish for failed high draft picks from other clubs over the last decade or so.

Similarly with Jon Hay

Every week I’d here from the same bloke, there’s big issues there about blah blah

I said narrrrrrr

He was close to the mark as it turned out

Anything before clarkson arrived was considered busts, so with that in mind, we have done well with our picks from 2022, 23. So with more of similar stuff this year and next, we should have draft a very good top tier.

While our firsts from the 2017 to 2021 have been bad, our 2nd rounders have been okay. We still have some decent players from that batch and have them as the anchor.

Uniacke zurhaar leaving would give us 2 more top 5 picks plus compo and we will probably be given more compo this year due to the tough draw, loss of thomas and the subsequent lack of wins. The compo could get us a decent free agent.

Tasmania enters the comp in 2028, leaving us 4 years to consolidate and pounce at the opportunity of chaos. Tas will peg back all of those clubs from 1 to 14 leave the bottom 4 clubs with best draft ready lists.

You got carlton's draft failtures?

Carlton rounds 1 or 2 only
# = Still with the club
$ = 100 plus games
[F] = fail: less than 50 games and left the club

[F] Pick 18 Matthew Watson 23 games
[F] Pick 34 Pat McCarthy 1 game

[F] Pick 22 Josh Bootsma 14 games

[F] Pick 11 Troy Menzel 44 games
[F] Pick 35 Tom Temay 0 games

#$ Pick 13 Patrick Cripps 189 games

[F] Pick 19 Blaine Boekhorst 25 games
[F] Pick 28 Dillon Viojo-Rainbow 0 games

#$ Pick 1 Jacob Weitering 163 games
#$ Pick 10 Harry McKay 113 games
#$ Pick 12 Charlie Curnow 116 games
# Pick 23 David Cunninham 55 games

$ Pick 6 Sam Petrevski-Seton 121 games
$ Pick 27 Zac Fisher 113 games

Pick 3 Paddy Dow 73 games
Pick 10 Lochie O'Brien 66 games
# Pick 30 Tom de Koning 66 games

#$ Pick 1 Sam Walsh 101 games
Pick 19 Liam Stocker 57 games

# Pick 17 Brodie Kemp 28 games
[F] Pick 20 Sam Philp 2 games

(no picks in first two rounds)

# Pick 33 Jesse Motlop 33 games

2022 or 2023 - too early to judge

TOTAL
23 picks overall in the first two rounds 2010 to 2021
8 [F] fails
9 # 1st or 2nd round drafted players still at the club
7 $ hundred plus gamers

=========================

North Melbourne comparison - rounds 1 & 2 picks only

$ Pick 17 Shaun Atley 234 games
[F] Pick 27 Kieran Harper 40 games

[F] Pick 18 Brad McKenzie 37 games

[F] Pick 15 Taylor Garner 49 games

$# Pick 8 Luke McDonald 186 games
$ Pick 30 Trent Dumont 121 games

[F] Pick 16 Sam Durdin 23 games
[F] Pick 25 Daniel Nielson 7 games
[F] Pick 36 Ed Vickers-Willis 21 games

Pick 21 Ben McKay 77 games
Pick 31 Ryan Clarke 97 games
[F] Pick 33 Mitch Hibberd 9 games

$# Pick 12 Jy Simpkin 139 games
[F] Pick 34 Declan Watson 0 games
[F] Pick 36 Josh Williams 2 games

# Pick 4 Luke Davies-Uniacke 91 games
[F] Pick 23 Will Walker 6 games

Pick 8 Tarryn Thomas 69 games

# Pick 31 Charlie Comben 12 games
[F] Pick 34 Jack Mahoney 44 games
[F] Pick 35 Flynn Perez 24 games

# Pick 3 Will Phillips 33 games
# Pick 13 Tom Powell 51 games
# Pick 36 Charlie Lazzaro 35 games

[F] Pick 1 Jason Horne-Francis 17 games
# Pick 22 Josh Goater 12 games
# Pick 35 Paul Curtis 42 games
# Pick 38 Miller Bergman 13 games

2022 & 2023 too early to judge

28 picks overall in the first two rounds 2010 to 2021 [5 more than Carlton]
13 [F] fails [5 more than Carlton]
10 # 1st or 2nd round drafted players still at the club [1 more than Carlton]
4 $ hundred plus gamers [3 less than Carlton]

CONCLUSION: We suck at drafting. But you knew that.

* = Still with the club
$ = 100 plus games

*$ Pick 13 Patrick Cripps 189 games

*$ Pick 1 Jacob Weitering 163 games
*$ Pick 10 Harry McKay 113 games
*$ Pick 12 Charlie Curnow 116 games
* Pick 23 David Cunninham 55 games

* Pick 30 Tom de Koning 66 games

$* Pick 1 Sam Walsh 101 games

* Pick 17 Brodie Kemp 28 games

* Pick 33 Jesse Motlop 33 games

TOTAL
8 [F] fails
9 * 1st or 2nd round drafted players still at the club
7 $ hundred plus games

$* Pick 8 Luke McDonald 186 games

$* Pick 12 Jy Simpkin 139 games

* Pick 4 Luke Davies-Uniacke 91 games

Pick 8 Tarryn Thomas :-( 69 games

* Pick 31 Charlie Comben :) 12 games

• Pick 3 Will Phillips 33 games
  • Pick 13 Tom Powell 51 games
  • Pick 36 Charlie Lazzaro 35 games

• Pick 22 Josh Goater 12 games
  • Pick 35 Paul Curtis 42 games
  • Pick 38 Miller Bergman 13 games

10 * 1st or 2nd round drafted players still at the club [1 more than Carlton]
4 $ hundred plus games [3 less than Carlton]

Umm you suck and typing

It’s “Bread Mackenzie”

* = Still with the club
$ = 100 plus games

*$ Pick 13 Patrick Cripps 189 games

*$ Pick 1 Jacob Weitering 163 games
*$ Pick 10 Harry McKay 113 games
*$ Pick 12 Charlie Curnow 116 games
* Pick 23 David Cunninham 55 games

* Pick 30 Tom de Koning 66 games

$* Pick 1 Sam Walsh 101 games

* Pick 17 Brodie Kemp 28 games

* Pick 33 Jesse Motlop 33 games

TOTAL
8 [F] fails
9 * 1st or 2nd round drafted players still at the club
7 $ hundred plus games

$* Pick 8 Luke McDonald 186 games

$* Pick 12 Jy Simpkin 139 games

* Pick 4 Luke Davies-Uniacke 91 games

Pick 8 Tarryn Thomas 69 games

* Pick 31 Charlie Comben 12 games

• Pick 3 Will Phillips 33 games
  • Pick 13 Tom Powell 51 games
  • Pick 36 Charlie Lazzaro 35 games

• Pick 22 Josh Goater 12 games
  • Pick 35 Paul Curtis 42 games
  • Pick 38 Miller Bergman 13 games

10 * 1st or 2nd round drafted players still at the club [1 more than Carlton]
4 $ hundred plus games [3 less than Carlton]

2023-2013-2014-2015

Omg

Yep

But we were tunnel vision here for LMac at the time

Go read his early thread pages
Yep, I was active here at the time.

I’ll never forget that spoil he did against Essendon round 1, 2014 cutting across the leading forward. Thought we had a player. Turns out that courageous act is about all he can do and even that seems rare for him at the moment.

Yep, I was active here at the time.

I’ll never forget that spoil he did against Essendon round 1, 2014 cutting across the leading forward. Thought we had a player. Turns out that courageous act is about all he can do and even that seems rare for him at the moment.

Wait, his first kick was to Paul Chapman who kicked a goal

Edit
And blow me down here it is in the first minute