Daniel Rioli

Problem is that by the time you are at a point where these young gun kids are ready to explode you also need to pay to keep them and that will also limit any decent free agents because you need to pay them a premium as well
Especially if the club is not performing very well on the ladder

It’s what is happening to North and Hawthron now

North are absolutely stacked with talent with guns on every line but they have already started to lose some like McKay last year and other clubs sniffing around the likes of Larkey
Agree with all that. It has the potential to flop. I still think though, if you’ve got the right people calling the shots ie list manager, recruitment team, then you can build dynasty’s on the back of generational talent like Martin. Players have to buy into it, as you mentioned opposition clubs are offering big $ to entice them to move. But we managed that ok, had a number of players that stayed for unders.

It’s difficult to say all the same because it’s still very much dependent on who you have access to and actually pick in any particular draft and it still takes time

How long did we have our core playing together before we managed to have some success?

We got Jack in n 2006 and Dusty 2008 with the rest of our core group getting drafted between that period

If it’s about building around an elite core for when they are playing prime football you could argue that Bolton, Balta, Baker, Rioli, Taranto, Gibcus, Brown and Hopper are at a similar point we were in 2016 so if we make smart moves around recruiting around these players as a core we could be competitive in 2 - 3 years

While still having the benefit of some elite talent entering the club from this year and next years draft that will also develop in that time

Sounds a lot better than banking on a he draft for a core we may not even get by going all in on the draft

No matter what we cannot lose Rioli, Bolton, Baker and Balta. These should be the only untouchables on our list.

Every young player drafted after this group has been average at best. This is the core of the footy club and age bracket who should also still be around after the rebuild. We start selling these guys and we'll be down in the gallows with the likes of North Melbourne for years.
Disagree very strongly. Hawks and North started their rebuild without these types of names, they literally sat in no-mans land with mediocre talent until they crashed. Same with West Coast, dived down and all three are stuck eating s**t.

We on the other hand have some younger guys already exposed and drafted and some currency in those four names to front load a genuine rebuild while still keeping our existing talent which is far greater than Hawks/North/WC have to insulate the young picks while they develop. I would be happy to lose 2-3 of them given we could incubate some top end picks for two years with our current older players.

It’s difficult to say all the same because it’s still very much dependent on who you have access to and actually pick in any particular draft and it still takes time

How long did we have our core playing together before we managed to have some success?

We got Jack in n 2006 and Dusty 2008 with the rest of our core group getting drafted between that period

If it’s about building around an elite core for when they are playing prime football you could argue that Bolton, Balta, Baker, Rioli, Taranto, Gibcus, Brown and Hopper are at a similar point we were in 2016 so if we make smart moves around recruiting around these players as a core we could be competitive in 2 - 3 years

While still having the benefit of some elite talent entering the club from this year and next years draft that will also develop in that time

Sounds a lot better than banking on a he draft for a core we may not even get by going all in on the draft
Sorry mate but Bolton, Balta, Baker, Rioli, Taranto, Gibcus, Brown and Hopper are no where freaking near a strong enough core to win premierships like we were in 2016. Unfortunately for Baker, Bolton, Balta, they will not win a flag with us until they are past their peak years.

One of the important players we want to lose is Rioli. How would you feel if you were a senior player and players like Rioli, one of our best players left. Baker I can live with because he is a WA boy and not as good as Rioli. Team moral is vital right now, shouldn't even be under discussion, after all, it's rd.6 not 16.

Sorry mate but Bolton, Balta, Baker, Rioli, Taranto, Gibcus, Brown and Hopper are no where freaking near a strong enough core to win premierships like we were in 2016. Unfortunately for Baker, Bolton, Balta, they will not win a flag with us until they are past their peak years.
Already in the bag.

Why not?
Especially with one or two targeted recruits around them with a few decent draft picks

Kids need experienced players with ability around them to grow into premiership players, throw a team full of kids only out on the field and you get what happened to us last week, if that happens enough you wash rinse and repeat for the next 30 years.
how else we going to get top end talent without throwing something into the mix?
I didnt say all our seniour players. If baker and rioli leave i can promise you we are going to rinsing for a fair few years if we dont get some guns in.

Just have a look a GWS list and tell me with a straight face.
Means nothing at the end of the day
Pies list is pretty average and they won the flag last year

Likewise for Geelongs when they won the flag and this year you could argue they don’t have a super impressive list

Would be awesome but dimma would’ve had to of swapped his hash pipe for the glass barbie to do that deal
Lucosious us surplus compared the amount of high quality full forwards they have coming through. Reckon if Martin goes as well as Rioli there will be a sweetheart deal back of house with the afl, even if Dusty alone gets us SFA in terms of a compo pick.

Lucosious and 10 is possible.