Play Nice 2024 AFL and State League Attendance

What an amazing crowd at the MCG today. What helped but shocked me at the same time was how full the level 1 seating was. Bring on Carlton v Collingwood Friday night!

Fantastic crowd at the MCG. Much higher than I expected.
  • Geelong's highest 'home' crowd in history surpassing the previous record of 87,653 against Essendon in 1989.
  • 2nd biggest Geelong H&A crowd in history.
  • 7th biggest Carlton H&A crowd in history.

What a fabulous crowd at the G tonite. I went to the old record crowd of Geel v Ess back in 89. It was on the Queens Birthday weekend, so it makes this crowd even more special.

But this does annoy me about the AFL and all their set in stone blockbusters these days - hardly any flexibility for these random fixtures when both teams are flying to have decent crowds. Every public holiday has a set fixture - Good Friday, Easter Monday, ANZAC, Kings birthday… then the AFL has added ‘eve’ games to take even more advantage of the fixture.

Well the ACT isn't really a solid footy area, where Tassie is, or supposed to be. Not a well thought out comment by Matthews.

No he was strictly referring to the disparity in sizes of games around the afl.

Yeah North need to get out of Tassie. There will be the usual retorts but Tassie just doesn't seem convincing that it's a footy loving state at times.
I decided when the fixture came out that I wanted to go to this game.

Want to know something?

A month back when I finally found tickets. Every game was available to buy tickets on the afls website.............Except the 2 Hobart games.

Every game had a working link on either ticketek or ticketmaster websites................Except the 2 Hobart games.

Where was the only way to find Hobart tickets only 1 month ago? Through North Melbourne's website.

It's bound to fail when your 2 best sources to sell tickets aren't advertising the games and one had to go through a 3rd party. When the club is more focused on their own fans rather than the general populace. It's bound to fail

So going by my calculations, yesterdays crowd of 87,775 between Geelong and Carlton ranks as the 9th highest Home and Away crowd (29th overall) on a non-public holiday. The top 9 are -

1. 91,571 Carl v Ess R19 2000
2. 88,468 Ess v Rich R21 2007
3. 88,287 Carl v Coll R23 2022
4. 88,181 Coll v Carl R3 2011
5. 88,180 Rich v Coll R19 2018
6. 88,115 Coll v Geel R9 2010
7. 88,066 Coll v Ess R19 1992
8. 87,984 Carl v Ess R22 1995
9. 87,775 Geel v Carl R7 2024

Well done to both teams supporters!

So going by my calculations, yesterdays crowd of 87,775 between Geelong and Carlton ranks as the 9th highest Home and Away crowd (29th overall) on a non-public holiday. The top 9 are -

You left out RD 1 2018, Rich V Carl 90,151
and 2023 RD 1, Rich V Carl 88,084

Just made a small edit to your numbers. Just outside the top 10

2. 90,151 Rich V Carl RD 1 2018
3. 88,468 Ess v Rich R21 2007
4. 88,287 Carl v Coll R23 2022
5. 88,181 Coll v Carl R3 2011
6. 88,180 Rich v Coll R19 2018
7. 88,115 Coll v Geel R9 2010
8. 88,084 Rich V Carl RD 1 2023
9. 88,066 Coll v Ess R19 1992
10. 87,984 Carl v Ess R22 1995
-------------------------------------
11. 87,775 Geel v Carl R7 2024

That rd 19, 2000 crowd might be broken this Friday night.

You left out RD 1 2018, Rich V Carl 90,151
and 2023 RD 1, Rich V Carl 88,084

Just made a small edit to your numbers. Just outside the top 10

2. 90,151 Rich V Carl RD 1 2018
3. 88,468 Ess v Rich R21 2007
4. 88,287 Carl v Coll R23 2022
5. 88,181 Coll v Carl R3 2011
6. 88,180 Rich v Coll R19 2018
7. 88,115 Coll v Geel R9 2010
8. 88,084 Rich V Carl RD 1 2023
9. 88,066 Coll v Ess R19 1992
10. 87,984 Carl v Ess R22 1995
-------------------------------------
11. 87,775 Geel v Carl R7 2024
My apologies. Had season openers marked as a public holiday on my end.

Looking at that, I can’t help but think Vic is split between the Big 4, the Middle 3 (who are each in the table) and the bottom 3 (who are not in the table).
But is Melbourne only in the middle 3 because they have a good team right now? Hawthorn are at least there even with a poor team. I look at it as a middle two and a bottom four, albeit Melbourne probably have the biggest financial muscle of that bottom four.

St kilda have a bigger base than what they are given credit for. Just dont see it very much.

Looking at that, I can’t help but think Vic is split between the Big 4, the Middle 3 (who are each in the table) and the bottom 3 (who are not in the table).
Pretty ordinary crowd at the GC match so no spike because Hardwick is the coach they need to start winning matches to get their crowds up.
I'm still not a fan of major sports being played at the GC as almost ALL have failed down the years!

A second QLD would have been better in one of the large cities the north like Townsville where I reckon the tens of millions spent on the Suns would be more appropriate in growing the game in a greenfield site.

Pretty ordinary crowd at the GC match so no spike because Hardwick is the coach they need to start winning matches to get their crowds up.
Give it time and it will improve. Winning people in a new area takes time and 13 initial years of being awful is tough to overcome. Part of the problem is how hard their stadium is to access. The AFL made a mistake picking Carrara. They made a mistake with the Sydney Showground too, but at least that's getting a shiny new rail line connecting jt to both Sydney CBD and Parramatta CBD. Carrara has no transport solution on the horizon.

I'm still not a fan of major sports being played at the GC as almost ALL have failed down the years!
Because they've all sucked on the field and their stadia have usually been in awful locations. It doesn't help that the Gold Coast has been a very decentralised place, that is only starting to change now because they have light rail to concentrate development. But both the Suns and Titans play a long way from anywhere serviced by the light rail.

A second QLD would have been better in one of the large cities the north like Townsville where I reckon the tens of millions spent on the Suns would be more appropriate in growing the game in a greenfield site.
I strongly disagree, this is just a case of the grass looking greener on the other side of the fence. The Gold Coast has almost four times as many people, many more footy fans and many more businesses to draw on for sponsorship. And it's growing much faster than Townsville.

Townsville has no real footy culture anyway, Cairns is the real centre of the game in North Queensland. I guarantee you, Townsville would be a financial basket case for a full time team.

I would say that's pretty accurate.

Big 4, middle 4, bottom 2 I'm more thinking. Melbourne and saints can slip into the middle or bottom group depending on form.