Review St Kilda vs Port Adelaide - Trial Match 2 @ Moorabbin, Sat 1 March

Watching the game on TV, I thought we overused the ball, especially handball.

But was shocked at how much we had it and how little inside 50's it resulted in;

Kicks us 250 v them 184
HBs us 232 v them 125
I50s us 43 v them 49

The delivery I50 was a lot better than normal, but these stats say we are still a hard work team not a smart work team, when it comes to kicking goals and aren't an effective and efficient team.

I know its a trial game but 482 disposals ranks in the top 20 total disposals in a game.

Yep, only watched the game yesterday and I turned off at half time. It was such incredibly scrappy, poor football. StKilda gave absolutely nothing and were absolute trash. I thought maybe we were great given the score, but we were handball happy and incredibly inefficient. Yes there was some nice movement inside 50, but the number of missed handballs or straight turnover handballs, etc, was just crazy.

Play like that against Collingwood and they'll absolutely slaughter us on turnover.

I wish we'd stop the bed wetting about Collingwood
Its not bed wetting, it's reality fear.

2023 Rd 2 a Saturday arvo MCG 60,744 people attended 9.10 v 21.9
2024 Rd 7 a Saturday arvo MCG 65,834 people attended 12.9 v 17.21 and they kicked like shit for goal in the 2nd half.

This year we play on a Saturday night, so there might be 70,000 there. Will we freeze and choke on another big stage?

Its not bed wetting, it's reality fear.

2023 Rd 2 a Saturday arvo MCG 60,744 people attended 9.10 v 21.9
2024 Rd 7 a Saturday arvo MCG 65,834 people attended 12.9 v 17.21 and they kicked like shit for goal in the 2nd half.

This year we play on a Saturday night, so there might be 70,000 there. Will we freeze and choke on another big stage?

Also, when some Collingwood fans realise that no game will be broadcast on FTA on Saturday Night's anymore, they'll decide late to get to the game.

I liked Lukosius and Richards' work against St Kilda. Richards certainly knows how to find the footy and Lukosius looks as if he will slot in well with Georgiades. I just wish someone would teach Mitch to kick, geez some of his shots on goal are woeful. If he could improve his kicking Mitch could change from a 44 goal per year player to a 60+ goal per year player.

I would have agreed with you pre ACL but since he came back in last year his goal kicking has improved heaps. He should kick more this year without Charlie getting everything bombed in to him

Review St Kilda vs Port Adelaide - Trial Match 2 @ Moorabbin, Sat 1 March

Write your reply...