Toast Round 4 = Collingwood 63-46 Carlton

He's got the easiest job in footy. Play on the #2 tall forward and don't really provide much rebound or much intercepting
Whilst he was often opposed to Young, I think it’s unfair to say Moore didn’t intercept or rebound.

In fact, I’d guess he had more intercept possessions than he has in a game for a while? If not, they were at least more impactful.

I almost feel sorry for Haynes when I watch him play.

Maybe that's only because I still don't identify him as a Blues player just yet. But is he fitting in nicely 🥴
Nah. He chose to go there. No sympathy. Looks like another incoming flop for Carlton which is nothing but delicious imo. As for McGovern, what a liability. If they have a whipping boy thread over there, he must figure highly

We can't play him on the number 1 forward because he struggles.

His intercepts are from opponents in their defensive 50 bombing it to the center square and he marks it uncontested. You look at stats not the actual games, no one who watches the footy would say Moore has had a good year or has been intercepting a lot.
I was filthy at him in the first half last night (what was said in the match thread was half of what I was saying in person during the match and a lot nicer) after a season and a half of fairly garbage footy from him and can't believe nothings really been said. David King after the game nervously told him that was his best game for a while, and you could tell by Moore's face that it felt like a back handed one.

I have never really laid into any player in nearly 2 decades here but he has been absolutely shitting me. When I say him jogging in the first quarter and watching Elliot come from the forward 50, sprint past him and lay a tackle in our backline I nearly threw a can at the TV

he sooked up last night giving away silly frees.

you can only cut the pie so many ways and with Degoey back, Schulz playing well and Elliot he has to work harder.
Saw him run past the ball and in the wet and just knew he could not possibly turn back so ran on in case we gained possession....

Never got a hint of a "sooking" vibe.

If anything Bobby is too happy to see others score.

Thought the game was boring as.
Just a real dour slow affair.
Both teams looked slow.
I know was a few showers but really not much of a game.
Not much in way of skills on display either.
But ill take the win and the 4 points and onto the swans.
Pies did what they needed to to win.
Conditions were shit from all accounts and the umpiring was ****ing atrocious.

Look forward to giving Carton a good old fashion rogering later in the year in better conditions and during actual footy season.

Thought the game was boring as.
Just a real dour slow affair.
Both teams looked slow.
I know was a few showers but really not much of a game.
Not much in way of skills on display either.
But ill take the win and the 4 points and onto the swans.
Yeah, it wasn't quite the big blockbuster clash one would've hoped for.

I thought it was a pretty good contest in the first qtr, but then became a real slog for the rest of the game. Only 3 goals a piece to half time.

We piled on 4 straight in the first half of the 3rd qtr and then pretty much cruised to an easy win while the Blues didn't bother to put up much of a fight at all in the 2nd half. I'd be so disppointed if I was a Blues supporter. If the team doesn't care then why should the fans?

We can't play him on the number 1 forward because he struggles.

His intercepts are from opponents in their defensive 50 bombing it to the center square and he marks it uncontested. You look at stats not the actual games, no one who watches the footy would say Moore has had a good year or has been intercepting a lot.
You're Kane Cornes's dream.

A negative Nelly who doesn't really know what he's watching.

Darcy Moore having the easiest role in the game is purely and simply moronic.

He plays central and deep in the most dangerous position on the ground and if the opposition put their best forward there that's who he plays on. However he zones off. Zoning off star forwards to defensively cover a heap more space and then getting back them is the easiest role on the ground apparently.

It results in heaps of intercepts and him killing a heap of contests, but if you give enough leg rope to some of the stars he plays on, sometimes you'll get burnt. We saw the same with Rance before him. He'll lead the league for spoils and be right up there for intercepts, but apparently they won't count ...

Becaise it's bloody easy for Kaneo to highlight some times that he's burnt and suckers will just buy it.

He's got the easiest job in footy. Play on the #2 tall forward and don't really provide much rebound or much intercepting
He’s top 10 in intercept possessions per game, and 11th for key backs in metres gained. Are you just pulling things from your arse?

Yeah, it wasn't quite the big blockbuster clash one would've hoped for.

I thought it was a pretty good contest in the first qtr, but then became a real slog for the rest of the game. Only 3 goals a piece to half time.

We piled on 4 straight in the first half of the 3rd qtr and then pretty much cruised to an easy win while the Blues didn't bother to put up much of a fight at all in the 2nd half. I'd be so disppointed if I was a Blues supporter. If the team doesn't care then why should the fans?
Umpires fisted the first quarter.
Not sure Carton had a single forward entry which was not off the back of a free or ignored free.

Just watching the replay of the third quarter, and when BT asked Hodge which team the rain would suit, Hodge (of course) said the scum.
Our boys made him look stupid.

I understand the line of thinking at least

Carlton are (normally) a strong stoppage team that doesn’t rely on quick precise ball movement

Which you’d think is a game style that would be less affected by the rain

I understand the line of thinking at least

Carlton are (normally) a strong stoppage team that doesn’t rely on quick precise ball movement

Which you’d think is a game style that would be less affected by the rain
The problem with Hodge's comment was we had a clear ascendancy around stoppage at the time and were moving it more directly in a style more suited to wet weather footy whilst they were trying to chip the ball through our zones.

The problem was we had a clear ascendancy around stoppage at the time and were moving it more directly in a style more suited to wet weather footy whilst they were trying to chip the ball through our zones.
Shame they have no one close to a small forward to take advantage of chaos balls even if they did choose to play wet weather footy.

The problem with Hodge's comment was we had a clear ascendancy around stoppage at the time and were moving it more directly in a style more suited to wet weather footy whilst they were trying to chip the ball through our zones.

Oh I didn’t watch it. I was at the game

I just made an assumption that Hodge’s comments based their foundation on “normal” Carlton vs “normal” Collingwood as opposed to what was actually taking place on the night

Shame they have no one close to a small forward to take advantage of chaos balls even if they did choose to play wet weather footy.
They've ****ed up their list. Don't know whether it's the list manager and coaches not working together or the coaches or list manager struggling. They have to play chaos ball because they haven't got the kickers, but they haven't got the runners or small forwards for chaos ball either. They just haven't added the players around their guns to play an effective style, despite having had a fantastic base for the last 5 years.

What is the issue with Bobby?
Ordinary so far this year and last night he was borderline lazy.
There was one play where he overran the ball going with one hand and rather than turn and go back to the contest he ran off to the side while Carlton gained possession.
And straight after gave away a free for their first goal of the half. Agree he was poor. Threw his arms up a few times when not taken as an option forward as well.

He's a small forward and big fluctuations in output are expected, so not really concerned. We know what he can do.

Bobby has runs on the board and we're not gonna crucify him for a couple of bad games. He's less dependable than a Schultz type but more mercurial. I don't have any problem with him being part of the mix as long as he keeps working hard defensively.

We all know that Hodge hates Collingwood, and it shows in the things he says.
There are many other commentators that are the same.
That's why the ones that at least try to be impartial are to be commended.

They've ****ed up their list. Don't know whether it's the list manager and coaches not working together or the coaches or list manager struggling. They have to play chaos ball because they haven't got the kickers, but they haven't got the runners or small forwards for chaos ball either. They just haven't added the players around their guns to play an effective style, despite having had a fantastic base for the last 5 years.
Carlton’s issue isn’t dissimilar to Melbourne’s, they’ve built a game around contest and defence, while the game has moved in the direction of turnover and transition. They’re just outdated.

At least Melbourne have a bit of pace and blokes than can half kick the thing. Carlton have got nothing and the depth as appalling. It’s lovely. 😍

Plus both clubs have hamstrung their salary caps by paying big bucks to a handful of star players.
Where would the scum be without Curnow, McKay, Cripps, Weitering and Walsh?
Their next tier of players are average at best.
They ditched Owies and Kennedy, as examples, because they had to shed some salaries.
They could have used both this season so far.

What is the issue with Bobby?
Ordinary so far this year and last night he was borderline lazy.
There was one play where he overran the ball going with one hand and rather than turn and go back to the contest he ran off to the side while Carlton gained possession.

I'm a few pages behind so maybe others have addressed your post but there's a reason why players like Perryman and Schultz excel in conditions like last night. They hit the ball hard and don't fear contact. They embrace it.

Hill loves a run down tackle, don't get me wrong, but embracing contact and breaking tackles is not and will never be his go.

Few times last night he tried paddling the ball out in front and scooping it away without contact which very rarely works when the ball is wet.

He will be fine.

His effort and commitment regardless of our dominance in a game is the standout feature for me. He is reliable, focused and disciplined for 100 minutes.
Finally his cost and comparison to Ginnivan can be buried
Agree. Have been happy with Schultz from the beginning. Small forwards, more than any other position will be up and down in output, so they need to be strong in secondary attributes, tackling, pressure, competing etc. Schultz is consistently excellent at all, which makes him a very good small forward before we even get to his offensive output, which can also be good, putting him above the mainly defensive small forwards like a Beau.

Schultz is a fairly unique player who perfectly fits our play style, he's an elite pressure player, can win the ball in close, can compete in the air and can also score goals. The best comparison is Elliott (Lachie less offensively gifted, but even better pressure and probably contested ball), which is why I always thought he was a great option for us - Elliott close to retirement and Adams on the way out, he's a great replacement for both.

We set up with Frampton so that this would be the way Moore would get his intercepts. It’s not a flaw, it’s by design. He had a great game yesterday, playing way up the ground as evidenced by the 5 x i50s. And I’d go as far as to say he had a good game versus the Dogs because despite Sam Darcy’s shots on goal Moore had to manage aerial defence with only Howe as support. I feel like he’s our barometer this year. We’ll win most of the games where he plays like yesterday.
According to Darcy it wasn't even necessarily our choice. The Blues sent, I think Young, to Moore. They seemingly wanted someone to be accountable on Moore and maybe to expose Frampton.

And straight after gave away a free for their first goal of the half. Agree he was poor. Threw his arms up a few times when not taken as an option forward as well.

He's a small forward and big fluctuations in output are expected, so not really concerned. We know what he can do.

Bobby has runs on the board and we're not gonna crucify him for a couple of bad games. He's less dependable than a Schultz type but more mercurial. I don't have any problem with him being part of the mix as long as he keeps working hard defensively.

Given how selfless Bobby is, I don't blame him for wanting something coming back his way.

De Goey had a moment where he wanted to take on the world. I am not sure he actually saw Hill though but if he did then the ball needed to get to Hill.

Toast Round 4 = Collingwood 63-46 Carlton

Write your reply...