Mega Thread Nick Daicos - Can he be the GOAT? Part 2

Weekly reminder that Nick Daicos is still yet to take a contested mark in 74 games. Unfortunately we won't get to see him ton up without taking one in 2025, but that'll be fun for next year. Raise the bat!
Carlton must have thrashed us last night as they led the all important contested mark stat 10 to 5 ...

Weekly reminder that Nick Daicos is still yet to take a contested mark in 74 games. Unfortunately we won't get to see him ton up without taking one in 2025, but that'll be fun for next year. Raise the bat!
its so stupid this gets bandied about but if you ever actually watch the games or try to be good faith you would know that every time Nick is about to take a contested mark his opponent gives away a free kick. Nick was a contested beast last night and trucked so many blues players that were genuinely shirking the contests because they didn't want contact with him.

looking at you sam walsh.

its so stupid this gets bandied about but if you ever actually watch the games or try to be good faith you would know that every time Nick is about to take a contested mark his opponent gives away a free kick. Nick was a contested beast last night and trucked so many blues players that were genuinely shirking the contests because they didn't want contact with him.

Walsh had 10 tackles to Daicos's 4 so that is not a particularly fair criticism.

easy to have 10 tackles when the pies are playing lock it in and sit on the footy for the whole last Q which blues players were more than happy to have happen to them. When the game mattered in the third Walsh, and all the blues mids, just gave up and let Daicos and Pendles flog them.

Cripps and co walking the ball out of bounds over and over in the last quarter instead of trying to win, crazy.

I like Nick, he seems like a great young man. Very well-rounded, good head on his shoulders, articulate and intelligent. Between he and Darcy Moore, they are the complete antithesis of your stereotypical Collingwood supporter.

Can Nick be the greatest? I don't know. I think he can win the most Brownlow medals. He almost won two in his first three years. He's a possession accumulator and is very hard to miss when he's in handball-receive mode and dashing off to do something brilliant.

Personally, I don't think he will be GOAT in my opinion. Not unless he can win more contested possessions and truly turn a game around. However, in saying that, he has so many years of footy ahead of him, so anything is possible.

GAJ, who is the best player of the 21st century in my opinion, didn't start doing anything until 2007. His first five seasons were thereabouts, but by no means noteworthy. Nick is so far ahead of GAJ at the same age, it's not funny.

I can confirm that absolutely none of the bolded is remotely true.

Blues players may have been shirking contests, but that's also something Shircos has done plenty of times too. There was a "highlights" package posted by someone else a few pages back with some of his best work.

His handballing was really sloppy last night - by anyone's standards, but the rest of his inside game is just looking better and better as he develops more strength - he's started to be able to shift blokes off their line. Look out now - but in a couple of years, he'll be incredible.
Do you think in a couple of years he'll finally be able to win an aerial contest?

Collingwood are better when they play as a team
They aren't reliant on Nick this season. That's why I think they can go all the way
Agreed. They're back to playing a team game, with less passengers. You'd take that any day of the week over Daicos getting 100 coaches votes with insane stats every week, while their midfield actually gets beaten (2024).

His handballing was really sloppy last night - by anyone's standards, but the rest of his inside game is just looking better and better as he develops more strength - he's started to be able to shift blokes off their line. Look out now - but in a couple of years, he'll be incredible.
His disposal - decision making occasionally, but more often execution - isn't brilliant yet as a midfielder in congestion. It's often scrappy stuff where his team mate ends up with the ball, but it bounces or dribbles around a bit first. So not shocking turnovers, but not as clean and destructive as we saw with Ablett in those situations. His kicking inside 50 hasn't hit that Ablett level of consistent excellence either. Hopefully that arrives as he hits his mid 20s.

With the handballing - a fair bit of it is the modern get the hands high technique - I don't like it as a technique unless really necessary. I think it's sloppy.

Agreed. They're back to playing a team game, with less passengers. You'd take that any day of the week over Daicos getting 100 coaches votes with insane stats every week, while their midfield actually gets beaten (2024).
Seen it in 2 games already where the losing team had the best player with my impact stats. Collingwood are more rounded. I'm interested to see how good the spread is for each team in each quartile

Obviously not cleanly if his contested marks are still 0. Checking other stats, he hasn't had a single spoil or contested defensive one on one win this year either. So not sure what aerial contests you're talking about.
Hes very rarely marking contests but was in a couple last night. He got a free kick in one and in another he didn't go for the mark and knocked it forwards into the corridor. Both good play from Nick.

I can confirm that absolutely none of the bolded is remotely true.

Blues players may have been shirking contests, but that's also something Shircos has done plenty of times too. There was a "highlights" package posted by someone else a few pages back with some of his best work.

But but but "contested beast" 🤣

Dont understand why people are obsessed with young players instantly becoming contested ball beasts?

Naicos and the like are close to their prime in terms of speed/breaking lines so why would you waste that ability for the sake of them being at the bottom of every pack?

That contested ball transition can happen later down their careers when that burst of speed/penetration totally goes away.

Lol now Daicos is so hard players are scared to go near him!

I could be wrong but from what another person on this thread said Hewett was on Daicos most of the night? If so that is not good from Daicos as his numbers were okay, but nothing more, and Hewett seemed to have an easy time getting the ball, so Daicos was not defending at all.

I like Nick, he seems like a great young man. Very well-rounded, good head on his shoulders, articulate and intelligent. Between he and Darcy Moore, they are the complete antithesis of your stereotypical Collingwood supporter.

Can Nick be the greatest? I don't know. I think he can win the most Brownlow medals. He almost won two in his first three years. He's a possession accumulator and is very hard to miss when he's in handball-receive mode and dashing off to do something brilliant.

Personally, I don't think he will be GOAT in my opinion. Not unless he can win more contested possessions and truly turn a game around. However, in saying that, he has so many years of footy ahead of him, so anything is possible.

GAJ, who is the best player of the 21st century in my opinion, didn't start doing anything until 2007. His first five seasons were thereabouts, but by no means noteworthy. Nick is so far ahead of GAJ at the same age, it's not funny.

How many more contested possessions does Nick need to be considered GOAT?

Mega Thread Nick Daicos - Can he be the GOAT? Part 2

Write your reply...