Player Watch Josh Rachele - Freed From The Gulag

Could be the field you work in?

I got a new job about 18 months back, and I've had a few interactions with footballers at my work.
And so have others at my office.

Both current and ex footballers.

Could be... although in my job I interact with a lot of different people. I once even taught a class with Rachael Killian in it, although she never actually attended in person, just watched the recordings. Got a High Distinction anyway.

I think it probably says more about my social life than it does about my professional life :p

Could be... although in my job I interact with a lot of different people. I once even taught a class with Rachael Killian in it, although she never actually attended in person, just watched the recordings. Got a High Distinction anyway.

I think it probably says more about my social life than it does about my professional life :p
Im sure you have a greater social life than I do.

I used to work at Coles - Cool, I saw Sloane, I saw Hatchard, I saw Wanganeen, I saw G.Cornes. I saw countless aflw players when they'd come to Adelaide. But I never had an opportunity to talk to them.

I changed fields, I've had direct contact with 1 player of the Crows. And another 2 in my office have had direct contact with at least another 8 Adelaide/Port players.

If you work in services like Real Estate/Accounting etc. and in the area of western Suburbs. I'm sure you'd quickly develop a relationship with these players ;)

I have heard from independent sources that Rachelle was being a flog and the leadership group had enough an wanted to pull his head in.

However;
1) Leadership group was too big.
2) Crows/Nicks didn't get on the front foot and explain it.
3)Was leaked on Wednesday from the AFL media when team lists went in... so made it look like it was a massive story... which it need not have been if we avoided point 2).
4) Laird explained it very poorly in the media.

Absolute SNAFU from the Crows.

However, all reports say he was super professional this pre season.

He seems to share it around in games rather than eyes only on the posts.

He has seemed more focused and has lifted his game.

Might have been the right move last year with the wrong messaging around it.

The other thing is, even though he can cone across as a figjam flog, you need a touch of that confidence if you are going to take the game on and be successful.

I'm glad he seems to have left last year behind and really dug deep to lift.

Could be the field you work in?

I got a new job about 18 months back, and I've had a few interactions with footballers at my work.
And so have others at my office.

Both current and ex footballers.
I used to see Matthew Robran at Southern Cross Food Court when I was a uni student...

#BrushWithFame

Im sure you have a greater social life than I do.

I used to work at Coles - Cool, I saw Sloane, I saw Hatchard, I saw Wanganeen, I saw G.Cornes. I saw countless aflw players when they'd come to Adelaide. But I never had an opportunity to talk to them.

I changed fields, I've had direct contact with 1 player of the Crows. And another 2 in my office have had direct contact with at least another 8 Adelaide/Port players.

If you work in services like Real Estate/Accounting etc. and in the area of western Suburbs. I'm sure you'd quickly develop a relationship with these players ;)
Try the automotive industry!! Car yards in Adelaide were the fall-back for maaaaany years for footy players to earn a crust after playing is done.

I have two young kids mate, my idea of a great social life is if they can keep each other occupied for at least ten minutes at Lollipop Cafe so I can scroll on my phone uninterrupted for a bit :p
Phew...
I was worried where that was going!!

His come to Jesus's moment last year has actually served him well. There was no evidence of him sulking, wanting to leave, he took it on the chin and has put his football first.
Amazing to see the improvement in his game, and deep down, while it might have been uncomfortable when it happened, he will credit it with a positive thing.
Now pop that mouth guard in, so I never have to worry about you losing your two front teeth in a nasty collision.
It give me anxiety watching him.

I'm pretty sure they told him not to go and rile up an opposition supporter base, i don't think they had any issues with his celebration after his match winner against today's opponent.
I'm sure the organisation is ok with his celebrating in general. Which can be true at the same time that they say "don't go over the top".

Our MO in Showdown weeks recently has been to let Port wage a one sided war of words which makes them look like idiots. Next thing we know, Rash has gone on radio and made a jab at their supporters. While it was funny to us, it's not really what you want the players getting into. That's supporter shit-posting, and clearly goes against our internal directives.

Club: "Hmmm Rash, we try not to do that. We don't need to give them any more ammo to use. Put a pin in that one I think."

Then he goes ahead with the celebration to the crowd during the game. Again, funny to us, but has likely gone directly against what he's been told by specifically referencing the jibe which he was probably already hauled over the coals for. If he does a big Rocky Balboa celebration he probably doesn't get in trouble. But he doubles down on the teeth thing.

Club drops him for a dead rubber. He accepts it probably realising "Yeah that was kind of dumb". Everyone moves on.

They've always had an "us against them" mentality and it's served them well for a lot of their history, particularly pre AFL.

But this version is very primary school "he's picking on me" type.
I loved his comments pre-season, having a sulk that everyone always writes them off as a Premiership threat.

Mate. Tried winning a prelim lately? Average losing margin of 50+ from their last 4 finals or whatever. You get what you deserve.

I really believe they told Rachele to tone it down, because they did. As we had multiple players from the club explain in detail. And I REALLY believe they dropped him though that may just be my cynicism.

I wonder what they made of Thilthorpe shushing the crowd at Geelong after his Q4 goal? Another act they would take issue with? I notice that he hasn't done it since. Maybe he will get some chances tomorrow
I don't think it was tone down his excitement and celebrations, but rather he was actively antagonising the Port supporters, and we all know how thin skinned and sensitive they are.
There was the comments on the radio before the antics on the ground.

Yeah, that sucks. Right as we approach one of the more difficult parts of our fixture, too.

Big test for the club to see what they do here. Murphy in is an easy choice to make, but the wrong one. Taylor has been playing up forward to offer backup in precisely this position, or else Pedlar is there as well.

Alternatively, do they bring in Nankervis/Dowling/Bond and shuffle the deck chairs?

Either way, he's a big loss.

Back for the showdown you’d think. Realistically I think we will be doing well to breakeven over the next month. Suns and freo away, Cats and Giants at home. 2-2 seems like a good result.

Yeah, that sucks. Right as we approach one of the more difficult parts of our fixture, too.

Big test for the club to see what they do here. Murphy in is an easy choice to make, but the wrong one. Taylor has been playing up forward to offer backup in precisely this position, or else Pedlar is there as well.

Alternatively, do they bring in Nankervis/Dowling/Bond and shuffle the deck chairs?

Either way, he's a big loss.
Nank and Bond in, Rachele and Junior out

Absolutely shit timing given how good he was looking. I'll never quite understand the demand people had that Rachele back into packs....

To be fair, this wasn't him backing into a pack, even. He was just there at the contest, staying on the ground ready to crumb, when he got kneed in the ribs from behind by someone 20kg heavier than him.

It's kind of wild to me that we've cracked down so far on things which could potentially cause injury, and yet we still allow people to fly through the air, full tilt, at someone's prone body with their knees out. Will it break a rib? Collide with their skull? Who knows, all good as long as they get hands on the ball I guess?? I get that it's a contact sport, but geez. Seems every bit as dangerous to me as tunnelling, sliding into the legs, etc.

Player Watch Josh Rachele - Freed From The Gulag

Write your reply...