News Insightful and Inciteful - 2022 Media Thread

Some gold from Titus this week.

West Coast mid-season draftee Jai Culley has famously gone from working in a chicken shop to playing for West Coast, surely one of the most tragic tales in sport.

At least at a chicken shop, you’re making people happy.

The good news for Jai is at the Eagles, he has a chance to not only get a game, but he may also already be their best player.

After going winless since April 23, the Crows will finally pick up four points, and in further good news, they get Tex Walker back.

Of course, it is technically possible to lose to the Eagles, if that does happen, do whatever you can to listen to Adelaide talkback radio after the game, it will be a work of art.

Crows to win.

Other states/teams had their COVID outbreak during the pre-season so it was less noticeable for them
Living in Sydney I can tell you thats garbage - management is the key. Although the WA Govt certainly dug a hole - but thats environmental but outside footy. Freo obviously moved interstate I gather. Perhaos they dont cry as much?

But the bigger problem, in a long list of excuses, is injuries and poor fitness. Medical, S&C is rubbish and that is derived form poor management - employment of the right people, control, systems and monitoring etc. An evnvironmental factor is the relatively low level of medical expertise in WA but the club has the globe to chose from.

Living in Sydney I can tell you thats garbage - management is the key. Although the WA Govt certainly dug a hole - but thats environmental but outside footy. Freo obviously moved interstate I gather. Perhaos they dont cry as much?

But the bigger problem, in a long list of excuses, is injuries and poor fitness. Medical, S&C is rubbish and that is derived form poor management - employment of the right people, control, systems and monitoring etc. An evnvironmental factor is the relatively low level of medical expertise in WA but the club has the globe to chose from.
A lot of my friends (and my family tbh) have all caught covid via kids... Makes sense to me on that front why we've been hit a lot harder than Freo this year.

Couldn't agree more re: Medical/S&C teams, they don't just need more staff, they need a complete refresh after our last 3 years.

A lot of my friends (and my family tbh) have all caught covid via kids... Makes sense to me on that front why we've been hit a lot harder than Freo this year.

Couldn't agree more re: Medical/S&C teams, they don't just need more staff, they need a complete refresh after our last 3 years.
A hint on COVID - its the same everywhere. Then there are families (yes even in Auskick this season) where one family member is spared? Thats life. People with young kids know ther always get colds etc for kids via preschool/day care and school

But you can manage your environment of you s chose to.

A hint on COVID - its the same everywhere. Then there are families (yes even in Auskick this season) where one family member is spared? Thats life. People with young kids know ther always get colds etc for kids via preschool/day care and school

But you can manage your environment of you s chose to.
Yes, but with the H&S protocols if a household contact (ie. your child) gets it you're out for the week... That's why we've had more issues than Freo and the vast majority of their players haven't got kids. My son, then subsequently daughter and wife all had it 3 weeks ago, I managed to avoid it (not sure how) but pretty sure under the AFL rules I still would have had to miss a week.

And that injury list is our own doing- its not just bad luck, it is seriously bad management.

All the excuses in the world do not make what Gary Lyon said any less accurate so why bellyache about a football commentator making a valid point on a footy show?

We are absolute shit, mostly down to our own mismanagement in a number of areas with Covid just adding a little icing on the poo cake.
Half the angst is because its gary “funkhead” lying.

Im not in the groove for having our club shredded by a toad Who bangs his mates mrs no matter how good his point may be.

His club shouldnt funking exist in the afl - it should be in the vfl where suburban league minnows belong.

Next thing he will accuse us of tanking (which despite it hitting pretty close to the bone) he and his disgraceful vfl club are masters at.

GAGF

Some gold from Titus this week.

West Coast mid-season draftee Jai Culley has famously gone from working in a chicken shop to playing for West Coast, surely one of the most tragic tales in sport.

At least at a chicken shop, you’re making people happy.

The good news for Jai is at the Eagles, he has a chance to not only get a game, but he may also already be their best player.

After going winless since April 23, the Crows will finally pick up four points, and in further good news, they get Tex Walker back.

Of course, it is technically possible to lose to the Eagles, if that does happen, do whatever you can to listen to Adelaide talkback radio after the game, it will be a work of art.

Crows to win.

If the Eagles hadn’t picked Culley North might have. If you were Culley which would you prefer?

Half the angst is because its gary “funkhead” lying.

Im not in the groove for having our club shredded by a toad Who bangs his mates mrs no matter how good his point may be.

His club shouldnt funking exist in the afl - it should be in the vfl where suburban league minnows belong.

Next thing he will accuse us of tanking (which despite it hitting pretty close to the bone) he and his disgraceful vfl club are masters at.

GAGF
Hmm, Id say 100% of the angst.

Strap yourself in Kranky cos I reckon Gazza will be spitting more truths over the rest of the season that you may not want to hear.
Probably best not to watch or listen to him or get worked up over an opinion of someone you don't respect anyway, but that's your call.

Yes, but with the H&S protocols if a household contact (ie. your child) gets it you're out for the week... That's why we've had more issues than Freo and the vast majority of their players haven't got kids. My son, then subsequently daughter and wife all had it 3 weeks ago, I managed to avoid it (not sure how) but pretty sure under the AFL rules I still would have had to miss a week.
More excuses that any team in the AFL- it just gets more pathetic. Harder Ground. Worst coach. Travel? Keep going. Least money. Low member numbers? No home ground advantage? Darling is a moron.

Now its Free players are infertile - lucky we have no kids on our list.
There are no nightclubs in Freo.
Discipline and leadership is an interesting issue? Looks like our players did bugger all training during the off period and ate like pigs, but Freo buckled down. Wonder why?

Covid hads an influence this season no doubt, but you cant argue that this wasnt absolutely coming. 2nd half of last season was pretty much just as bad, and the warning signs were there far earlier.

In absolute denial if trying to blame Covid or think we are tanking.

The list is old but the teams we're putting on the park arent this bad ( as in worst team ever in the AFL bad). Something is rotten and it needs a circuit breaker to shake the place up. It's as clear as day.

Might aswell ride out this year to number 1 however

More excuses that any team in the AFL- it just gets more pathetic. Harder Ground. Worst coach. Travel? Keep going. Least money. Low member numbers? No home ground advantage? Darling is a moron.

Now its Free players are infertile - lucky we have no kids on our list.
There are no nightclubs in Freo.
Discipline and leadership is an interesting issue? Looks like our players did bugger all training during the off period and ate like pigs, but Freo buckled down. Wonder why?
Wow, not sure I said/implied any of the above, I was talking about a single issue you raised and noted I just understand how a club with a high number of fathers would have a bigger issue with actual covid than a club that didn't... It's more age profile than infertility I would have thought.

The context - your point is applicable to 10's of millions of people. BUT Eagles/supporters put it up as an excuse for playing uncommitted footy. On of many excuses

Max Plank has an intersteing take on it. He proposed that the boys harden up.
That guy's a quack. Planck Length?! Everybody knows the smallest conceivable distance is a Zac Langdon set shot.

Duffers has had a rare accurate one here. WAFC and AFL don't give a shit about us as long as we hand over the cash.

He's just concerned that we're going to load up on elite talent and contend again in the next 3 years, unlike Freo who have taken 7.

Must have hurt him to say that Freo are half the club financially. Even then he had a cry about us being the first club in the State and we had half the State rusted on. Yeah mate winning a couple of flags will do that Freo should try it sometime.