Who do you want to get a contract?

• Coby Burgiel

• Sandy Brock

• Neither

Results are only viewable after voting.

Quick links

List Spots Available
  • One on either main OR rookie list to be filled as a SSP selection following train on assessments.
  • Current train on players -
    - Sandy Brock
    - James Van Es

SSP signing dates
  • Monday, November 25, 2024 – Thursday, December 19, 2024
  • Monday, January 13, 2025 – Friday, February 21, 2025

Players out of Contract (16) - 2025
  • Tim Kelly (26/7/94) - Signed a 6 year contract (2020-25) in October 2019
  • Dom Sheed (10/4/95) - Signed a 4 year extension (2022-25) in April 2021*
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jeremy McGovern (15/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Jack Hutchinson (10/11/01) - Automatic 18 month contract (2024-25) when drafted in May 2024
  • (R) Tyrell Dewar (27/3/04) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in June 2024
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Tim Kelly vibes.
It's actually the ghost of the Tim Kelly Trade. Trade multiple picks in a draft with lots of WA talent to get a guy we could have from the draft we traded out of to get Kelly.

Fast forward 7 years and we'll be trading for a Rodriguez or Curtin.

On Pixel 9 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I feel banfield is very similar to Hamish Davis who was a 4th rounder .

Teams just don't really bother with early bids on father son players unless they are elite .

Camperialli twins and welsh didn't go high.

Hell jake waterman didn't even get bid on
Neither did Welsh. And Adelaide actually trade up, trading out a future 4th round pick, just to draft their own FS.

Must have wanted to pack up 10 minutes early and head for the post draft dinner.

Duursma has a quality that Curtin and Lindsay will never have. He's potentially Harleys brother in law and could help keep
Harley at the Eagles, that alone adds to Willem's value at the club more so than the other players mentioned.
Build on the family connection. If we don't Carlton, Essendon and Norf definitely will.

Yeah and if they break up and it's Harley's fault you potentially lose one or both. The safer bet is getting Yasmin to play the Eagles AFLW team.

Anyone using the dangerfield trade in any scenario is a straight ****ing moron.

He was a free agent and Geelong's offer was less per year than the Crows, the crows were always going to match and the BODE could only trade what they had. All the cards were stacked against the Crows in regards to getting fair value. It was take what Geelong were willing to offer which was better than a compo pick or let him go to the draft.

Warner if he keeps it up is essentially a 25 disposal, 1.5 goal and 1 assist a game player.

People also need to understand trading a future first comes with significant discount in value of the future pick. A lowly rated side who finishes 16th, their future first is still lucky to be worth pick 10.

Cerra was a decent but not great player and never projected to have a huge ceiling even though he had good performances at the dockers.

Rankine is much more pure up forward than as a Forward Mid and was traded for pick 5.

If you get both Warners for the Hawks first and WCE future first it's a bargain. Or it's say pick 3 this year and potentially a couple of second rounders.

Corey is also a very committed, hard working decent young player. He's worth a late second on his own and maybe more depending on his performances this year. He's also had a couple of years of development and is right on the edge of the Swans hugely stacked midfield group for their best 22.

I'd pay the Hawks first if it's pick 8/9 and WCE future first without batting an eyelid. Take a real, genuine inside bull like Sharp with the clubs first, add the Warner brothers and all we are looking for are developing young key defenders, a ruck and a touch more class by foot from the back half.

With your valuing of future picks that’s 8/9 plus 10 for Warner Bros but mentioned earlier you felt Warner is top 5 plus top 10 pick. If he posts another 23 Brownlow vote season I’d lean to agreeing with that statement which is why I think R1 (3) + F1 (10) for R1 (17) + Warner Bros is most likely. Use Hawks 1R on Curtin, Swans 1R on Lindsay and that’s already addressed two of the three list holes you mentioned then add our NGA/ F/S kids. Although it would be very hard to give up a pick that would get Sharp or Rodriguez. I can see improvement in all the bottom teams bar Richmond so a 8 win season could still equate to pick 2 or 3.

He was a free agent and Geelong's offer was less per year than the Crows, the crows were always going to match and the BODE could only trade what they had. All the cards were stacked against the Crows in regards to getting fair value. It was take what Geelong were willing to offer which was better than a compo pick or let him go to the draft.

Warner if he keeps it up is essentially a 25 disposal, 1.5 goal and 1 assist a game player.

People also need to understand trading a future first comes with significant discount in value of the future pick. A lowly rated side who finishes 16th, their future first is still lucky to be worth pick 10.

Cerra was a decent but not great player and never projected to have a huge ceiling even though he had good performances at the dockers.

Rankine is much more pure up forward than as a Forward Mid and was traded for pick 5.

If you get both Warners for the Hawks first and WCE future first it's a bargain. Or it's say pick 3 this year and potentially a couple of second rounders.

Corey is also a very committed, hard working decent young player. He's worth a late second on his own and maybe more depending on his performances this year. He's also had a couple of years of development and is right on the edge of the Swans hugely stacked midfield group for their best 22.

Thanks again for your insight.
That's where I had the Warner deal at, 2 mid first round picks around 10, the discount is going to be the sticking point I guess.
First time someone has given some value to Cory in the trade and where they see him, 100% see him as a quality player with some decent upside.
So its Hawks 1st, WC F1st and a F3rd or Hawks 3rd, done deal x 2 Warners.
Be great to get Sharp but if he continues to play like he is it would be hard to see him getting past Richmond with their pick and NM's?
Would you trade back in to get Curtin this year?

With your valuing of future picks that’s 8/9 plus 10 for Warner Bros but mentioned earlier you felt Warner is top 5 plus top 10 pick. If he posts another 23 Brownlow vote season I’d lean to agreeing with that statement which is why I think R1 (3) + F1 (10) for R1 (17) + Warner Bros is most likely. Use Hawks 1R on Curtin, Swans 1R on Lindsay and that’s already addressed two of the three list holes you mentioned then add our NGA/ F/S kids. Although it would be very hard to give up a pick that would get Sharp or Rodriguez. I can see improvement in all the bottom teams bar Richmond so a 8 win season could still equate to pick 2 or 3.
Looks a decent way to get the deal and players done, I like it Curtin, Lindsay and the FS/NGA players(2-3) draft done.
The biggest thing against this is we are giving up 2025 1st and 2026 1st where the high quality mids will be this year and next, decisions will need to be made whether the high quality mid is more important than Lindsay off HB?

Looks a decent way to get the deal and players done, I like it Curtin, Lindsay and the FS/NGA players(2-3) draft done.
The biggest thing against this is we are giving up 2025 1st and 2026 1st where the high quality mids will be this year and next, decisions will need to be made whether the high quality mid is more important than Lindsay off HB?
Chad Warner is the high quality mid, that’s what I think the price we would be paying is. With a replicated season he’s in the top 15 players in the competition and is the perfect age for our list.

No worries if he wants to sign with the Swans to free agency, take Fred or Sharp and get him free of draft cost in two years with an unmatchable offer. It does come with risk though and we need to start winning.

Chad Warner is the high quality mid, that’s what I think the price we would be paying is. With a replicated season he’s in the top 15 players in the competition and is the perfect age for our list.

No worries if he wants to sign with the Swans to free agency, take Fred or Sharp and get him free of draft cost in two years with an unmatchable offer. It does come with risk though and we need to start winning.
I like the way you put that together and the targets.
The biggest thing I see is our drafting of the best mid available goes out the window for 2 years and Tassie will be compromising the draft in 2027 and beyond, the other part is at this stage Sydney have 3 academy players in and around the top 15-30, so whether they would be looking to keep that pick 17 or trade it down for later picks to match bids for their players.
By my calculation if 3 academy players go 15, 25, 30 the will end up about 900 points short so WC might be able to trade their 2nd and Hawks 3rd round picks for some futures back.
Sydney aren't dropping out of the top 5 in the next couple of years so their 2026 1st and maybe a 3rd might work.
Going to be a big year of trading with Sydney!

Eagles 1st and Hawk's 2025 2nd should be the offer if futures won't be accepted considering the below;

3 = 12 and 14 in 2024
2 = 8 and 12 in 2022

If Chad has a similar year to last year he is in the top 15 players of the competition without doubt and a significantly better player (being more midfield focussed) than Bolton.

Clubs can only trade what they can have but any club would give up pick 1 for the certainty of that level of player.

Corey Warner was drafted at 40 and is developing rather quickly. He has shown enough to suggest he is likely a long term AFL quality player. Not a star but a a guy who can be a role player in that 15-22 talent spread on a list. At pick 40 the chances of getting even that are 50/50 at best. Hence he is worth a mid to late second. People are forgetting we are not in a 16 team comp anymore when the second round starts at pick 17 and ends at 32. The second round is starting at pick 30 or close to it recently. The Hawks second rounder will likely fall at around pick 40.

I think people may have underestimated just how much footy I was watching last year whilst chasing players last year before my focus was moved to the draft pool. To put it into perspective particularly on exposed form I'd rather have Corey Warner on the list than Charlie Banfield.

This coming draft looks like having a more solid top end going into the year than last and has depth but not the same depth of quality talent as last year. Last year we were seeing players with multiple elite attributes being taken all the way into the 40's who didn't have any true massive red flags in their game. Boxshall, Ben Camporeale, Gross, Grego being the main ones.

The guys who get drafted at that point of the draft this year will be a lot more like the Junior players taken last year from pick 50 onwards where they have at least 2 potential major issues with their game and that likely starts open pool wise around 30 this year.

Also people have been overrating our NGA's this year, yes a couple made the academy but I think that is more due to being club tied than anything else (AFL diversity policy on NGA's). Walley looks to have the highest ceiling but I still think the most talented NGA we've drafted so far is Dewar and pretty easily. His skills and in particular his height coming with that made him even then a very promising prospect. Dewar's real weakness was just how slim he was coming into the system and the time it was going to take to potentially put on that size and be ready. He had already put in 2 outstanding colts finals before being drafted.

Guys drafted as mid sized forwards, midfielders and backs don't really start to hit their prime until 23 or so (unless they are absolute top shelf standout talents), KPP it's more around 25 and Rucks it's more like 27. As the saying goes if you pretty good the best attribute you can have for staying on an AFL list is being really tall. You'll be given years of development to prove you can't make as opposed to a small who likely only gets 3 years to prove that they likely can.

Just on Sharp I think he is an amazing talent but is a little bit more Physically developed than a lot of his draft cohort. I don't see him as being the outright number 1 prospect. Longer term though his aggression to get in, get in close clearances and get the ball out to others is what makes him a priority for me on the list. Particularly if we get the Warners over the line. Chad is more inside out, offensive and forward half and Corey looks more like a winger who can fill other roles as well.

Just on Curtin, I think he's going to have an exceptional year and would I pay a significant amount to buy back in for him if he has that or close to it? Yes I would, particularly if I could get some form of commitment from Dan that he would really like to play with his brother in the future. The reason for this is it likely finalises the totality of next gen KPP players required for the club and then leaves us only looking for an elite distributor by foot from the back half and a decent long term ruck (which can likely be picked up via trade / fa a year before the club looks at being able to contend)

People may look at my posts and go **** it's all mids, mids and more mids. The club still needs them. Yes we already have some but what we have is likely the minimum requirement with Yeo and Kelly around. We need to replace those 2 players within 3 years.

The club looks stacked for mid sized defenders and after this year small forwards and has some nice developing talls with a couple of genuinely elite level talent young mids. We then have quite a few quality young mids who are developing but I would say it's unlikely that they become stars, more the core of your second tier that fills a premiership group between 14-30 on a list. Gross may surprise me here. Johnston might not make it as a star but he is an amazing kid who I have a real watch on.

I'll say it again but just on some of last years draftees Smith is bust lookout for me and outside of Lalor none of the top 5 would have gone top 5 the year before. Whether he slid in above or below Duursma is the question but he wasn't within touching distance of the top 3.

Just on Sharp I think he is an amazing talent but is a little bit more Physically developed than a lot of his draft cohort. I don't see him as being the outright number 1 prospect. Longer term though his aggression to get in, get in close clearances and get the ball out to others is what makes him a priority for me on the list. Particularly if we get the Warners over the line. Chad is more inside out, offensive and forward half and Corey looks more like a winger who can fill other roles as well.

Just on Curtin, I think he's going to have an exceptional year and would I pay a significant amount to buy back in for him if he has that or close to it? Yes I would, particularly if I could get some form of commitment from Dan that he would really like to play with his brother in the future. The reason for this is it likely finalises the totality of next gen KPP players required for the club and then leaves us only looking for an elite distributor by foot from the back half and a decent long term ruck (which can likely be picked up via trade / fa a year before the club looks at being able to contend)

People may look at my posts and go **** it's all mids, mids and more mids. The club still needs them. Yes we already have some but what we have is likely the minimum requirement with Yeo and Kelly around. We need to replace those 2 players within 3 years.

The club looks stacked for mid sized defenders and after this year small forwards and has some nice developing talls with a couple of genuinely elite level talent young mids. We then have quite a few quality young mids who are developing but I would say it's unlikely that they become stars, more the core of your second tier that fills a premiership group between 14-30 on a list. Gross may surprise me here. Johnston might not make it as a star but he is an amazing kid who I have a real watch on.

I'll say it again but just on some of last years draftees Smith is bust lookout for me and outside of Lalor none of the top 5 would have gone top 5 the year before. Whether he slid in above or below Duursma is the question but he wasn't within touching distance of the top 3.
How would you feel about trading back with pick 3 + a second rounder (or whatever it might be), for GC pick 6 and 10?

Could then use a combo of two of pick 6, 10, hawks first for Warner, while using the third first rounder and maintaining our future first for 2026.

Would GC be open to something like that, and would Sydney be ok with that (though maybe not their preference feel they'd have to accept)

Can always split our 2025 1st and then have 4 1sts, two 1sts in 25 and two in 26 There will be clubs trading in and out due to bids.

With 4 1sts we can trade for Warner and still retain 2 1sts to hit the draft.

We have plenty of options to get our man and stay in the 1st round of both drafts.

Huge stat stuffing performance from one of the elite tall prospects in the 2025 pool. CDT displayed his typical Brodie Grundy impersonation in the ruck with his elite ground level impact and ability to find the ball on the spread, getting involved in attacking ball movement. He wasn't always a dominant aerialist in his bottom age season, but in this game he showed that he's capable of taking a strong contested grab.

How would you feel about trading back with pick 3 + a second rounder (or whatever it might be), for GC pick 6 and 10?

Could then use a combo of two of pick 6, 10, hawks first for Warner, while using the third first rounder and maintaining our future first for 2026.
I feel like we have in general been skipping over this option to split the pick again.
If we are going to trade it anyway, why not split it?

If Freo was trading for Warner they wouldnt be using any top 10 picks, theyd be offering their 1st which is probably in the teens plus some future picks.

Warner is worth 2 good first rounders for sure, but if we were to offer 6+10 for example would that not at least at first glance be enough? Thats still far more than Freo can offer unless they lose more best 22 players.

GC might not be an option to split with, but with teams like GC, Swans, Brisbane, etc trying to get points, other teams may be trading up into a position where we could split with them. There will be someone
Would GC be open to something like that, and would Sydney be ok with that (though maybe not their preference feel they'd have to accept)
Sydney would just have to suck it up lol, same as we did after the Hawks did it to us.

Thanks again for your in depth analysis.

Are you expecting Dan Curtin to have a breakout as a key position player?

“Smith is bust lookout for me” - is there a typo here? Are you suggesting Jagga Smith is a bust?

I believe GC will be focused on trading for points for their academy kids, and trading for best 22 players that fill a need on their list.

How likely do you think it is that the club holds out on trading our 2025 first given what we just saw in the recent trade period? Hawks first and our 2026 first would be a great result for us and no reason we couldn't make it happen if the club had the guts to see it through given Warner is out of contract and it's still a fair offer assuming the hawks don't finish top 4, but I just can't see it.

I believe GC will be focused on trading for points for their academy kids, and trading for best 22 players that fill a need on their list.
They will, but it will be harder. The new pick value's will limit this and change trading expectations.

Eg Picks 13 and 21 will now be equivalent to pick 4

May throw a spanner into the potential Sydney trade scenario's, and others. Round 1 picks are not the same any more.

List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition