Opinion Commentary & Media VII

Games worth of experience are a really stupid way of evaluating list changes imo. 120 of those games we lost are Kayne Turner. Let me ask you this, would Kayne Turner be worth as much to us next year as Will Phillips, Harry Sheezel, George Wardlaw, Eddie Ford and Paul Curtis combined? I don't personally think he would, but maybe others will disagree.

I think the main thing this drastic dropoff shows is that we held on to certain players for longer than we should have, which was necessitated by the dogshit awful player development of the Scott era leaving a massive hole in the 26-30 demographic on the list.
I think its a good indicator of success to come, being the youngest and least experienced, and really only Shiel coming up for retirement in the next year or so. Challenge now is to keep the talent together and if any want to leave, recycle into A graders and or 1st rounders.

Team first mindset, courageous to a fault. I think Kayne had some leadership assets to offer.
Funny you say that, I watched the suns game again last night, and thought him flying the flag after Rowell sunk the elbow into Simpkin was the turning point of the game. Rowell should have been rubbed out for that too I reckon, dog act.

On that basis, Geelong and Richmond would seem to be in a bit of strife list profile wise. Cats have been uncanny avoiding the cliff for so long but the cracks are showing. And the tiges going so hard for Taranto & Hopper when they were already declining is going to bite.
us old people will remember early 90s when cats had the lost but couldnt bring home the bacon, could have just as easily been us in the late 90s, building the list is only half the job, you still gotta win the big dance, or course their strike rate recently is better and richmond you could say absolutely capitalised on their lists purple period.

No surprise, although if Tarryn got his act together, he might also be a candidate.

Predicting your club’s next first-time All-Australian

NORTH MELBOURNE club banner

Luke Davies-Uniacke

After truly emerging as a star midfielder in 2022, Luke Davies-Uniacke improved again in 2023, but injuries and the overall performance of the team ultimately held him back.

Breaking into the All-Australian midfield is tough – you’ve essentially got to be one of the four or five best mids of the season, competing against some of the greats of the game.

But Davies-Uniacke is ready to break into that mix in 2024, particularly as the Roos’ on-ball talents improve around him.

Expect LDU to be among those vying for a spot in 2024, assuming he gets a clean run at the season.

Nic Negrepontis

I could see the Cats having one last hurrah. Their "core four" was top 8 level last season in the Fox Footy Review and their age and games experience I think gives them a chance to be a finals team bu the cliff is definitely coming for them. You'd have to think WCE/North/Hawks/Freo are bottom four based on age and games experience. Bit surprised Freo are that young and inexperienced.
North will finish above the cats in 24 bookmark it, pm me if you want to lose a bottle of red on it 😉

us old people will remember early 90s when cats had the lost but couldnt bring home the bacon, could have just as easily been us in the late 90s, building the list is only half the job, you still gotta win the big dance, or course their strike rate recently is better and richmond you could say absolutely capitalised on their lists purple period.
Mods, can we please get something in the forum posting rules so people know they are getting banned for using that phrase?

The cliff will never fall for these campaigners as they have frank costa subdivisions and cauliflower sponsors
Nah it will. They have no young talent from what I can see apart from De Koning, Clark and O'Sullivan. They can't replace a whole list. I reckon they're in for some real pain very soon. Looking forward to them "working themselves out of it" with no "blatant manipulation" to help them. I'd love nothing more than us rolling them at Cat Park and Chris Scott crying post game.

Not to deny how successful they’ve been, but both of them finished mid-table with old lists last season and don’t look to have improved. It will get worse before it gets better for both of them I’d reckon.

Was also there, didn't they shut the gates and then people were smashing there way in.
I seem to recall that some of the gates weren't opened and a lot of people (Collingwood supporters???) couldn't get in. The story did go on to say that they ended up forcing their way in.

None of my family had any problems though.

We may have lost that battle but we did eventually win the war.

From dreams of ending 29-year drought... to hoping season ends quickly: 2024 AFL hype ladder - David Zita from Fox Sports

My first impression is that the writer of this piece knows less than your average BF contributor. What do you think?

18) NORTH MELBOURNE
The Eagles finished last in 2023, but the acquisition of Harley Reid means they can at least get somewhat excited about the rebuild to come. North Melbourne has many talented youngsters, but the picture remains quite bleak for them after another dour season and one that felt like somewhat of a false start under Alastair Clarkson given the four-time premiership coach’s extended leave. There’s a bit of development still ahead for the Kangaroos and there won’t be much hope of a surge up the ladder.

From dreams of ending 29-year drought... to hoping season ends quickly: 2024 AFL hype ladder - David Zita from Fox Sports

My first impression is that the writer of this piece knows less than your average BF contributor. What do you think?

18) NORTH MELBOURNE
The Eagles finished last in 2023, but the acquisition of Harley Reid means they can at least get somewhat excited about the rebuild to come. North Melbourne has many talented youngsters, but the picture remains quite bleak for them after another dour season and one that felt like somewhat of a false start under Alastair Clarkson given the four-time premiership coach’s extended leave. There’s a bit of development still ahead for the Kangaroos and there won’t be much hope of a surge up the ladder.
So f*cking lazy, he literally wrote about the Eagles in the previous para yet uses the first sentence of his para on North TO TALK ABOUT THE EAGLES.

To say things are "bleak" is just plain ignorant, we won our last game, we have the reigning Rising Star winner along with the 3rd placed Coleman Medallist, and have just drafted 2 of the top 4 draftees. I would say things are "encouraging".

Like his name David "The Zit" Zita is an annoying blemish.

18) NORTH MELBOURNE

Meh. It's lazy but we've been bottom 2 for 4 years straight.

Don't care about sticking it to these writers, just hope we improve for ourselves.

I could listen to blokes like Ansett for hours telling stories about the North glory days. You could see the players were hanging on his every word.
His story about knocking back $1m for the Krakouers from Geoffrey Edelsten at the end of ‘85 is a ripper.

A lot of money in those days and would have solved many of our financial problems.

Kudos to him for saying no.

Meh. It's lazy but we've been bottom 2 for 4 years straight.

Don't care about sticking it to these writers, just hope we improve for ourselves.
I agree on both points, it is most definitely up to us to improve, but it is incredibly lazy journalism.

The article is supposedly about off season hype, off season happenings to give fans hope for the future etc.

We were told by the media and opposition clubs on repeat in the lead in to the draft, we had been handed a totally unfair King's ransom in draft assistance, FA comp (and apparently also our own picks!).

It is amazing (and hypocritical!), that what was a month ago being screeched from all corners as being a totally unfair leg up, now that the "unfair leg up" has been converted into 5 draftees inside the top 30, including picks 2 & 4, when it comes to hype about hope for the future, suddenly there's nothing but doom and gloom for us and WC have much more to be excited about, based on one player!

I suppose the only draftee most casual footy fans could name is Harley Reid and following that logic, the team that has drafted him has more hype around them than a team that didn't draft him, but it is a very lazy take for even a remotely interested footy fan.

18) NORTH MELBOURNE
Pffff I saw huge improvement 2023 season compared to the last few seasons. The growth and improvement will be exponential even with a speculative backline.