News Clubs operating league-sanctioned drug testing program - Harley Balic’s Dad Speaks

AFL Statement

As well as being a signatory to World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) code via the Australian Football Anti-Doping Code, the AFL has an Illicit Drug Policy which has been in place since 2005, and at the core of the policy is a commitment to player wellbeing and welfare.

The AFL Illicit Drug Policy (IDP) is a policy that specifically deals with the use of illicit substances out of competition and is focussed on player health and well-being. The policy seeks to reduce substance use and drug-related harms for AFL players and aims to inform and rehabilitate players through education and intervention.

It exists alongside and in addition to the Australian Football Anti-Doping Code which covers prohibited substances including some illicit substances in competition as prescribed by the WADA prohibited list.

Urine tests conducted by doctors to determine if a player has used illicit substances are part of the AFL’s Illicit Drug Policy medical model and have been for some time.

Doctors may use those urine tests to obtain an immediate result to determine whether any illicit substance remains in a player’s system. This is normally conducted at the club or in the doctors consulting rooms.

If the test shows a substance is still in the players system, a doctor will take steps to prevent a player from taking part in either training and/or an AFL match both for their own health and welfare and because having illicit substances in your system on match day may be deemed performance enhancing and a breach of the Australian Football Anti-Doping Code (depending on the substance involved).

It is absolutely imperative that no doctor or club official should ever allow or encourage a player to take the field knowing they have recently taken an illicit substance that may be harmful to their health and/or may be deemed performance-enhancing (as many illicit substances are on match day).

We support the WADA code (as it applies to our sport through the Australian Football Anti-Doping Code) and support the fundamental premise on which it is founded that any player who takes the field with a performance-enhancing prohibited substance in their system should be treated in accordance with the Anti-Doping Code and face heavy sanctions.

The AFL observes that AFL players are not immune to the societal issues faced by young people with respect to illicit substances and also acknowledges that illicit drug use problems commonly co-occur with other mental health conditions.

While the AFL’s medical model involves a multidisciplinary healthcare management plan, the monitoring of players is highly confidential. A doctor or healthcare professional generally cannot disclose the nature of the clinical intervention or condition to others unless the player willingly consents.

We understand that the Illicit Drugs Policy can be improved and we are working with the AFLPA and players to improve the policy and the system to ensure we are better able to change the behaviours of players. But we are unapologetic about club and AFL doctors taking the correct steps to ensure that any player who they believe has an illicit substance in their system does not take part in any AFL match and that doctor patient confidentially is upheld and respected.

The AFL will always be required to make decisions which seek to balance competing rights and interests. The medical interests and welfare of players is a priority for the AFL given everything we know about the risks facing young people generally and those who play our game in particular.

Likely sequence of events:
1. Wilkie, who appears to have zero knowledge about the WADA code and how SIA operates, is against building a new oval in Hobart.
2. Dr Arain leaves the dees "in acrimonious circumstances" wants to get something off his chest.
3. Wilkie leads Dr Arain into making something which is not the least bit scandalous sound absolutely scandalous.
4. After seemingly trashing the illicit drug testing regime, Dr Arain then says that the bit Wilkie made sound absolutely scandalous (under parliamentary privilege) is actually the best bit of the policy!
5. After trashing what is essentially a welfare-based policy, Dr Arain now hopes it "won’t have a detrimental effect on player welfare."

Huh??

Attachments

• IMG_6245.jpeg
    IMG_6245.jpeg
    233.1 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_6246.jpeg
    IMG_6246.jpeg
    177.3 KB · Views: 18
1. Wilkie, who appears to have zero knowledge about the WADA code and how SIA operates, is against building a new oval in Hobart.
2. Dr Arain leaves the dees "in acrimonious circumstances" wants to get something off his chest.
3. Wilkie leads Dr Arain into making something which is not the least bit scandalous sound absolutely scandalous.
4. After seemingly trashing the illicit drug testing regime, Dr Arain then says that the bit Wilkie made sound absolutely scandalous (under parliamentary privilege) is actually the best bit of the policy!
5. After trashing what is essentially a welfare-based policy, Dr Arain now hopes it "won’t have a detrimental effect on player welfare."

Huh??
Welfare based policy?

Got a bridge for sale, interested?

This is nothing more than the AFL endorsing a policy that keeps the scandles to a minimum of public exposure.

The players are a commodity they will exploit until the player is of no further use to them.

Andrew Wilkie kicked over the rock and exposed the AFL for what it is, and some people don’t like it.

Ings doing PR work for the AFL? He is deliberately omitting the bit about ilicit drug testing.

And we still havent had the AFL confirm whether these players failing their tests are getting strikes?

The media seem to have no interest as well.
The journos have no spine when it comes to exposing the games drug problems, and they fear losing their accreditation if they did.

Quite the opposite, it turns out governments all over the globe are being manipulated by their sponsors to support the concept. Expect to see it be a thing in the real near future in fact.
Don't give government at any level an excuse to cut your funding, which they would if the AFL didn't sign up to the drugs policy.
Government at all levels is looking at making savings and this would be manna from heaven for them.

Don't give government at any level an excuse to cut your funding, which they would if the AFL didn't sign up to the drugs policy.
Government at all levels is looking at making savings and this would be manna from heaven for them.
Now that the government has jumped on the gravy train of medical marijuana and has rivers of gold flowing in effectively as the biggest drug dealer in the country I can see how the Enhanced Olympics could be a very complimentary product for Government.

And now that medical MDMA has been given the green light by the government I can see drug dealing being one of governments biggest tax earners.

Huh??
What you are saying whether the drug policy is right or wrong?l am not sure.
I know is that Wilkie brought it up, and he had the documentation, the AFL is a law unto themselves to a point of ruining this sport, in many different ways.
Changing it so umpires can have a huge affect on outcomes, adding two new teams now a third and soon there will be no.20.
So for me this AFL dictatorship has no excuse , their basis is money for that they have to make sure they can raise millions to in the beginning support the likes of GWS and GC17 now they will support Tassie which should have been introduced years ago before money was wasted on two plastic clubs that have diluted the playing standard and the opportunity in the player pool. Have a look at the Crows pathetic output. A traditional SA state team, If you can't see it , maybe you don't want to.

The AFL has bent rules backwards, and the worst rule bending is the over kill of types of free kicks that should not be frees/penalties at all, they are part of the momentum of flowing games and part of contact sport. But the strict ruling parking inspector umpires will go so technical that they bring players back to behind a mark for some stupid reason , when did the mark become a fifty metre penalty WHY??????? What half brain invented that why can't players move within a certain distance to the mark, When did the mark of an umpires shoe become a frere kick to an opponent, and like a few on the weekend score goals.
So I'll get off the complaints of nearly 20 years of messing with rules, and cameras and the other crud that is killing off Aussie rules.

And go to the so called policy for players welfare, and the fact that 100 approx ,who we'll never know, ,because the AFL come out with what all dodgy cheating operators do, they make excuses and some smart alec tells people that the drug cheating and the don't play, or pretend your injured is the good part of the policy. Maybe party drugs are sending these blokes down the drain. What do parents think.

YOU SEE WHERETHERE IS SMAKE THERE IS FIRE, somewhere??? And the AFL has been smouldering for years,, since Demetriou and McLachlan and since the West Syders and the Gold coast ideas were given the thumbs DOWN from certain two clubs in Melbourne.
Now we're told that drugs party or supplement or enhancing or anything , COCAINE???? someone mentioned that on the radio, WHAT!
Easily pleased or those who don't give a real damn about the footy, put up with and like goody two shoes underbelly of changing our game, so don't defend what you know nothing about, the fact it came out and no one knew, until last week or so, then it is revealed that up to a hundred players may have taken a dive, or been partying with the wrong stuff, and if the AFL don't let them let their hair down they are in danger of having mental breakdowns.

Really the world gone mad. You simply cannot trust a soul and the unseen pocketers of money are also well hidden behind the facade of sporting operations, where free kicks for petty nothings can change or win a game. That is what is happening .

We need teams to stand on their own, open trading and recruiting let the manure separate from the chaff, end up with twelve really national competition teams, for Victorians there is still the VFL, there is still the WAFL there is still the Sanful moneywise Sydney and Brisbane would survive.
Imagine the games a national 12 teams, imagine the standard and IT BEING NATIONAL. No dilution by invented things, diluted so called money bin known as Australian Rules at the top level, you leave out 7clubs , who could fade into local comps, lift the locals a bit too. now that would be a real national LEAGUE.

And we may avoid a 30, 40, 60, 90 year wait, for some of the lesser clubs to get near a GF?

LET ALONE WIN ONE!
Everything this AFL has done is to aim at money marketing under cover setting up for a lesser standard BUT NOT FOR EXCELLENCE
Its about corporate money.

The way is knock the AFL off , and have the beginning of Stand on your own financially the ones who do up to twelve clubs, will be the national competition.

Right now we have two divisions, and shonk and free kicks rule the game.

Any one like to say whats wrong with all of that , if you have do it, but don't insult if you think its too long or over the top that is your problem not mine. I know the game is being murdered, by business greed and money.

Huh??

I know is that Wilkie brought it up, and he had the documentation, the AFL is a law unto themselves to a point of ruining this sport, in many different ways.
Changing it so umpires can have a huge affect on outcomes, adding two new teams now a third and soon there will be no.20.
So for me this AFL dictatorship has no excuse , their basis is money for that they have to make sure they can raise millions to in the beginning support the likes of GWS and GC17 now they will support Tassie which should have been introduced years ago before money was wasted on two plastic clubs that have diluted the playing standard and the opportunity in the player pool. Have a look at the Crows pathetic output. A traditional SA state team, If you can't see it , maybe you don't want to.

The AFL has bent rules backwards, and the worst rule bending is the over kill of types of free kicks that should not be frees/penalties at all, they are part of the momentum of flowing games and part of contact sport. But the strict ruling parking inspector umpires will go so technical that they bring players back to behind a mark for some stupid reason , when did the mark become a fifty metre penalty WHY??????? What half brain invented that why can't players move within a certain distance to the mark, When did the mark of an umpires shoe become a frere kick to an opponent, and like a few on the weekend score goals.
So I'll get off the complaints of nearly 20 years of messing with rules, and cameras and the other crud that is killing off Aussie rules.

And go to the so called policy for players welfare, and the fact that 100 approx ,who we'll never know, ,because the AFL come out with what all dodgy cheating operators do, they make excuses and some smart alec tells people that the drug cheating and the don't play, or pretend your injured is the good part of the policy. Maybe party drugs are sending these blokes down the drain. What do parents think.

YOU SEE WHERETHERE IS SMAKE THERE IS FIRE, somewhere??? And the AFL has been smouldering for years,, since Demetriou and McLachlan and since the West Syders and the Gold coast ideas were given the thumbs DOWN from certain two clubs in Melbourne.
Now we're told that drugs party or supplement or enhancing or anything , COCAINE???? someone mentioned that on the radio, WHAT!
Easily pleased or those who don't give a real damn about the footy, put up with and like goody two shoes underbelly of changing our game, so don't defend what you know nothing about, the fact it came out and no one knew, until last week or so, then it is revealed that up to a hundred players may have taken a dive, or been partying with the wrong stuff, and if the AFL don't let them let their hair down they are in danger of having mental breakdowns.

Really the world gone mad. You simply cannot trust a soul and the unseen pocketers of money are also well hidden behind the facade of sporting operations, where free kicks for petty nothings can change or win a game. That is what is happening .

We need teams to stand on their own, open trading and recruiting let the manure separate from the chaff, end up with twelve really national competition teams, for Victorians there is still the VFL, there is still the WAFL there is still the Sanful moneywise Sydney and Brisbane would survive.
Imagine the games a national 12 teams, imagine the standard and IT BEING NATIONAL. No dilution by invented things, diluted so called money bin known as Australian Rules at the top level, you leave out 7clubs , who could fade into local comps, lift the locals a bit too. now that would be a real national LEAGUE.

And we may avoid a 30, 40, 60, 90 year wait, for some of the lesser clubs to get near a GF?

LET ALONE WIN ONE!
Everything this AFL has done is to aim at money marketing under cover setting up for a lesser standard BUT NOT FOR EXCELLENCE

The way is knock the AFL off , and have the beginning of Stand on your own financially the ones who do up to twelve clubs, will be the national competition.

Any one like to say whats wrong with all of that , if you have do it, but don't insult if you think its too long or over the top that is your problem not mine. I know the game is being murdered, by business greed and money.
I say again the AFL hasn't moved on from the Essendon saga and doesn't want too.
It turned a blind eye to the games drug problems then and does now.

LET ALONE WIN ONE!

"This country's stuffed!"

I would be inserting into every contract a clause stating the following:

If found to have an illegal substance and is deemed not fit to play, shall forfeit 1/24 of their yearly contracted salary.

It beggars belief that clubs are actually playing players who breach their contractual requirements and appear to impose no sanctions whatsoever. No wonder they are on the gear. They get paid regardless. If I was the coach I would be furious if this was to occur.
I totally get your point, but that is the dilemma and necessity of medical confidentiality.

I would be inserting into every contract a clause stating the following:

If found to have an illegal substance and is deemed not fit to play, shall forfeit 1/24 of their yearly contracted salary.

It beggars belief that clubs are actually playing players who breach their contractual requirements and appear to impose no sanctions whatsoever. No wonder they are on the gear. They get paid regardless. If I was the coach I would be furious if this was to occur.
Well how do we know that coaches aren’t on it with them?

I don’t buy for a second coaches are unaware. They’re not stupid and have many eyes and spies. You’d know the kids to watch - it’s like teachers and similar sorts of behaviours. As fans, we can all guess the drug users at our club either known or rumoured. A coach is around them far more and knows more of the story. But those nasty headlines aren’t worth it. Four weeks of hamstring awareness benefits it all. No need for a humiliating, degrading sanction or a cruel club statement.

I totally get your point, but that is the dilemma and necessity of medical confidentiality.
But coaches are given medical information with everything else?
Well how do we know that coaches aren’t on it with them?

I don’t buy for a second coaches are unaware. They’re not stupid and have many eyes and spies. You’d know the kids to watch - it’s like teachers and similar sorts of behaviours. As fans, we can all guess the drug users at our club either known or rumoured. A coach is around them far more and knows more of the story. But those nasty headlines aren’t worth it. Four weeks of hamstring awareness benefits it all. No need for a humiliating, degrading sanction or a cruel club statement.
No one will buy 4 week awareness. Tell them it's a ruptured testicle.

Andrew Bogut claims he has been offered drugs by AFL players during nights out.
The former NBA star on Wednesday dropped a bomb on the AFL by accusing the league of covering up a “blatant” substance abuse problem through its controversial, secret testing program.

grain of salt from me on this, not that it’s a lie, i just reckon that he wants any sort of slightly relevant attention.

definitely wouldn’t be shocked that some players are trying to pass off some gear

They can only know if the player authorizes release of the medical information to a 3rd party .....otherwise the doctor could lose their medical registration and/or be sued by the player.
They allow this information all the time and for everything else. Mental health, ruptured testes, cancer, sprained ankle. Hiding behind "but it's confidential medical information" when it only seems to be a problem with drugs is a bit of a joke.

Worth listening to Chris Scott's explanation of the AFL drug policy.