Multiplat AFL 26 - Releasing May 8th

Which of the promised features will not be in the game at launch?

I knew it! References to the promised minigames appear to have been purged from Big Ant's website, online stores etc

And you're right, it is a lacklustre list of improvements, but I have zero expectations so if they can get over the low bar I set (better/pack marking, actual bumping/jostling off the ball, gang tackles etc), and pair that with decent AI (remember when Ross said an AFL assistant coach advised on the AI? My god...) I'll be happy from a gameplay perspective.

So long as my player reliably runs in the direction I push the stick of course.

I don't think they will hit those dizzying highs though.

Come on mate. With expectations like that, you’re setting the bar as high as……AFL Live 2 😅 which we know current BA could never match!

Let's say BA never brought out 23 and we were still all living off the hype of Live again.
Using that as the base, what would we want to see improve from Live 1 gameplay?

Personally I use to love playing it, but looking back, it was a complete tackle fest. It was stoppage, quick bomb kick, tackle, stoppage and repeat. There was no actual flow to the game. I think the best part was it work as it was intended to.

Still playing '23 on pc about 10 hours a fortnight. Realistically 2ish hours of my own time the rest is letting AI v AI simulations run.

Other than having full control of players, I'd like the AI to be somewhat smarter - decent accuracy kicking for goal with the occasional mistake. Currently it's tuned at either 100% accuracy or 90% failure (out on the full etc).

Good call.

What shits me to tears is the AI can take possession and instantly roost the ball through for a goal from 50m+ under pressure while you have time to grab a beer waiting for the accuracy bar to hit the sweet spot by which time you're tackled holding the ball.

As with many things with 23 I'm convinced it's a way to artificially make the game harder by disguising the shithouse AI.

Let's say BA never brought out 23 and we were still all living off the hype of Live again.
Using that as the base, what would we want to see improve from Live 1 gameplay?

Personally I use to love playing it, but looking back, it was a complete tackle fest. It was stoppage, quick bomb kick, tackle, stoppage and repeat. There was no actual flow to the game. I think the best part was it work as it was intended to.
Custom formations, playbook, player instructions, advanced marking (fumbling attempts at marking), advanced contested play (gang tackles, better evasion mechanic), sliders. Also, remove the worst part of Live 1, which was making the ball carrier slow, which they included in 23, because it's unrealistic. Evo 2 had it right where the ball carrier could outrun an opponent, but it had a fatigue meter.

Sickening to see the same old YouTubers hyping up a game they haven’t seen, played, or touched, all in the hope that they appease the BA boss and gain early access/curry favour with the control freak.

Zero real criticism on the shitshow of 23 due to not wanting to cross the Ross.
They're not even really talking about the gameplay, which needs a complete overhaul. This is like if people said Superman 64 needed extra modes instead of what it really needed was fixing the entire game or starting from scratch again.

Custom formations, playbook, player instructions, advanced marking (fumbling attempts at marking), advanced contested play (gang tackles, better evasion mechanic), sliders. Also, remove the worst part of Live 1, which was making the ball carrier slow, which they included in 23, because it's unrealistic. Evo 2 had it right where the ball carrier could outrun an opponent, but it had a fatigue meter.
Spot on i reckon.
Evo 1 really started to bring in the chain handballs which could be used to punish and get out of contested situations.
For all the flack Wicked Witch get. Evo was the first afl game to truly introduce handballs.

im a bit confused on those trophies since there is no particular ones seeming for player career mode and on the description of the game it says coach mode but on the trophies it says manager mode

Spot on i reckon.
Evo 1 really started to bring in the chain handballs which could be used to punish and get out of contested situations.
For all the flack Wicked Witch get. Evo was the first afl game to truly introduce handballs.
WW needed to make their games more dynamic, it was stuck with the same formations. Evo 2 it was the same out the back door counter attack plays. This is actually a problem with all AFL games, there's no way to change your team's formation or to contest against different formations.

For example, in 23, my backline was left wide open where I had the lead at the end of the match, and I wanted to flood the backline, but there was no option to flood. I kept subconsciously thinking there was an option only because I flood a lot in eFootball and I used the D-pad to instruct the players to do so. That's on top of the broken controls where the kicking meter is completely broken, along with the non-functioning user commands, it's unplayable and really barebones lacking in basic gameplay features you need.

Add it to the long list of things to fix but kicking for goal on the run was thoroughly unenjoyable in 23.

Firstly, unless you played on the end to end camera, you had no idea if your kick was going to be a goal or a behind because there was no way to judge the line and track the ball. They need to add a clearer shadow on the ground so you can actually see if your kick is going to be a goal.

The second issue was zero score banner/notification. Sometimes I had a quick flying shot at goal only for it to miss and have no idea who actually scored. Not ideal having to go to the interactive reply just to see who had the shot. It’s slightly better for goals as they have a celebration cut scene but even then the casual fan wouldn’t have a clue who on the opposition team has kicked a goal.

Also find it strange that there is no player stats for the goal kicker while the goal replays are shown.

What should be some pretty simple fixes, and they only need to look at how they did it in AFL Live, but I’m not holding my breath.

They need to add a clearer shadow on the ground so you can actually see if your kick is going to be a goal.
Or maybeeee they could actually attempt to improve the game and have the goal umpire move to track the incoming kick as an indicator of where the kicks gone

Also why do I need to wind up kick meter for running shots whilst the AI can just slam it on the boot mid tackle from 50 no worries? Ended up just turning the kick charge slider down but geez shouldn’t need to

23's sliders are so broken, I couldn't get a feel for how long I should hold down the button, it either goes too short or too long when pressing it down for a similar time. With Evo 2, the quick kick meter with the sliders functions how it should.

Bringing back memories of EB, JB and Steam all listing different commentator lineups for 23 🤣
And the official AFL page listing features, modes and legends that never even made it into the game.

Yet if anything was ever asked the answer, dripping with contempt, was "The back of the box is the definitive list of features."

Full Wizard of Oz style, "Pay no attention to the other features we announced and promised!"

And the official AFL page listing features, modes and legends that never even made it into the game.

Yet if anything was ever asked the answer, dripping with contempt, was "The back of the box is the definitive list of features."

Full Wizard of Oz style, "Pay no attention to the other features we announced and promised!"

That classic Ross response always made me laugh because his pet gambling mode was never on the back of the box 🙃

Multiplat AFL 26 - Releasing May 8th

Write your reply...