2025 Pre-Season chat

At a wedding today that had non playing GFC employees in attendance.
Teammates reportedly not yet impressed with Smith.

There was discussion about this last year as well.

Lets see how the higher standards at the Cattery perhaps mesh with the IG and brand guru.

Standby the Mental Health issues in 5, 4, 3, 2......

Cue him....

I really, really, really want to be wrong here.

GO Catters

I don’t think he’s gonna be the perfect teammate.

Just hoping he can have no issues and play good footy.
Pretty hard to play good footy if everyone thinks you're a shit bloke though, at least in our game.

If time goes on and it's only a couple who don't get along then it's probably fine. Nature of footy clubs and all that.

If it escalates and it's reminiscent of Warwick at the bears then we're probably screwed lmao.

Pretty hard to play good footy if everyone thinks you're a shit bloke though, at least in our game.

If time goes on and it's only a couple who don't get along then it's probably fine. Nature of footy clubs and all that.

If it escalates and it's reminiscent of Warwick at the bears then we're probably screwed lmao.
My doggies loving mate as adamant Geelong won’t be his last club (out of pure respect for our club)

Modern day Jacko?
Performance yes, personality no. Pretty sure we expect a few bumps along the way, let’s hope he kills it and it overshadows the other stuff that inevitably accompanies him.

Safest option is to panic for the next couple of months and then overanalyse for signs of friction once the season starts.

More posting with tongue firmly in cheek, it's a bit of an in-joke in our family at the moment.

My father (great Cats man that he is) has long held the belief that Bailey would be a distraction. Never wanted him, didn't see him as somebody who played the 'Geelong way' etc, more akin to what Daz touched on.

I've been far more accommodating, but I also don't care as deeply as he does. If it goes wrong, whatever. It's just footy.

I must admit though, I do find the prospect of him being proven right in record time pretty amusing.

We'll wait and see.

I don’t think he’s gonna be the perfect teammate.

Just hoping he can have no issues and play good footy.

He doesn't need to be the perfect team-mate but he needs to find his pre 2022 form.

I have heard similar but not yet ready to give into it not working…. No doubt he is “different” and players have been a bit taken aback by that difference. But even in a couple of months I think a lot have already moved on to the fact that he is who he is and as long as he plays the team game they will all be fine.

They understand he has issues but I don’t think have got to point where they think “bad bloke”. At the same time there is an amazement at his skills and desire to be better. If he can channel that into a desire for team to win then the players will absolutely back him despite being “different” (mostly just intensity being OTT…)

It is not without risk for sure - but I think the players are strong enough to allow him to be who he is and not get distracted. I am hopeful - lets see

I have heard similar but not yet ready to give into it not working…. No doubt he is “different” and players have been a bit taken aback by that difference. But even in a couple of months I think a lot have already moved on to the fact that he is who he is and as long as he plays the team game they will all be fine.

They understand he has issues but I don’t think have got to point where they think “bad bloke”. At the same time there is an amazement at his skills and desire to be better. If he can channel that into a desire for team to win then the players will absolutely back him despite being “different” (mostly just intensity being OTT…)

It is not without risk for sure - but I think the players are strong enough to allow him to be who he is and not get distracted. I am hopeful - lets see
If there was somebody/a situation who you could compare it too, who would you reckon?

Sounds a little like early career Buckley?

He doesn't need to be the perfect team-mate but he needs to find his pre 2022 form.
I'll take that.

My niece just got a pic with him... Smith is out and about with Josh Daicos + Charlie Curnow.

Word on the street from some Doggies players is that he is a bit of a w***er (no shock there).

Oh well... fit in as best you can, try not to do stupid things, play good footy and we'll take it.

I would take the risk on Smith over Oliver 7 days a week, and twice on Sundays.

He could still be a star for 6+ years, which alongside Holmes, could keep us contending (as I believe that keeps us as an attractive FA destination for landing future B/A graders).

I would take the risk on Smith over Oliver 7 days a week, and twice on Sundays.

He could still be a star for 6+ years, which alongside Holmes, could keep us contending (as I believe that keeps us as an attractive FA destination for landing future B/A graders).

One of pleasing aspects of our younger group down at the Cattery is they all seem to get on so well together which can only be of benefit to the team as a whole going forward but with Smith he appears to be a 'different cat', odd cat out so to speak but that doesn't mean that he cannot play excellent footy 'within the team' it just means he's not one of the boys and besides.... this great group of young players we have, they themselves are only very young and do not know a lot about life and it's many complexities and perhaps, how to deal with a 'odd man out' situation. And in regards to the older players, Smith could very well come a cross as a guy from another planet, such the disconnection could possibly be from some of them.

In my life-time, I've come across many odd characters but that does not make them any a lesser person by any means, in fact if you remain 'open minded' you can be quite surprised as to what friendship can forged with such people, it's all a matter of 'trust, respect and understanding in the other'. I've never been concerned by odd characters but what does concern me is people that are 'shit stirrers' and deliberately try to upset the apple cart, talk behind peoples backs, TROLLS, etc and sometimes that can be very much a person within a so called close-group, these people can become cancerous but until Smith starts showing those signs and he keeps training hard and wants to be apart of a successful team then all is fine by me.

lol, Smith has been killing it on the training track all summer long.
If he wants to attend a friend's wedding, I'm sure he will be given a little leeway.
exactly- mid January after all- a paucity of things to discuss.

One of pleasing aspects of our younger group down at the Cattery is they all seem to get on so well together which can only be of benefit to the team as a whole going forward but with Smith he appears to be a 'different cat', odd cat out so to speak but that doesn't mean that he cannot play excellent footy 'within the team' it just means he's not one of the boys and besides.... this great group of young players we have, they themselves are only very young and do not know a lot about life and it's many complexities and perhaps, how to deal with a 'odd man out' situation. And in regards to the older players, well Smith could very well be a person that comes across as an almost alien top of guy, a guy from another planet such would there disconnection possibly be.

In my life-time, I've come across many odd characters but that does not make them any a lesser person by any means, in fact if you remain 'open minded' you can be quite surprised as to what friendship can forged with such people, it's all a matter of 'trust and understanding in the other'. I've never been concerned by odd characters but what does concern me is people that are 'shit stirrers' and deliberately try to upset the apple cart, talk behind peoples backs, etc and sometimes that can be very much a person within so called close-group, these people can become cancerous but until Smith starts showing those signs and he keeps training hard and wants to be apart of a successful team then all is fine by me.
Good post.

I can recall many Strange Cats. With deference to our poster friend ..,,.

Newman
Bos
Lindner
GAS
Rooke
sure there are many others..

They all had their idiosyncrasies but were all valuable teammates and successful

Bos, for example, was dressed and out of the rooms and on his way home before most of the players had even got their tape and gear off

2025 Pre-Season chat