2025 Ladder Predictions

How does a team go from 12-6-1 to missing finals in the space of 4 weeks?
One of the all time great collapses.
I dont get why so many have Freo in the top 4. They have a good list but coach is bland and uninspiring.

I reckon at best they scrape into finals but wouldn't be surprised if they miss again.

1. Collingwood
2. Brisbane
3. GWS
4. Geelong
5. Adelaide
6. Sydney
7.Hawthorn
8. Gold Coast

9. Fremantle
10. Carlton
11. W Bulldogs
12. Port Adelaide
13. Melbourne
14. St Kilda
15. Essendon
16. North Melb
17. West Coast
18. Richmond

Note that there has never been a year in the 18 comp system where both the 2 elimination final losers make the finals the next year.

1. Geelong
2. Hawthorn
3. Brisbane
4. Fremantle
5. Adelaide
6. Collingwood
7. Port Adelaide
8. Gold Coast
———————————————
9. St Kilda
10. Carlton
11. Greater Western Sydney
12. Western Bulldogs
13. Melbourne
14. Sydney
15. North Melbourne
16. Essendon
17. West Coast
18. Richmond

EDIT: left Melbourne out
"Limp Cox; Swans tumble from 1st to 14th"

1. Collingwood
2. Brisbane
3. GWS
4. Geelong
5. Adelaide
6. Sydney
7.Hawthorn
8. Gold Coast

9. Fremantle
10. Carlton
11. W Bulldogs
12. Port Adelaide
13. Melbourne
14. St Kilda
15. Essendon
16. North Melb
17. West Coast
18. Richmond

Note that there has never been a year in the 18 comp system where both the 2 elimination final losers make the finals the next year.
You'd reckon with the list they've got Carlton should make finals next year. If they don't, it would just reinforce that Vossy was never the guy.

I know everyone says the comp is weaker depth wise then it used to be, but jeez I think 14/18 sides have the quality to make the 8. It's going to be another extremely even and competitive year I think.

1. Brisbane
2. GWS
3. Freo
4. Collingwood
5. Hawks
6. Bulldogs
7. Port
8. Carlton
9. Geelong
10. Gold Coast
11. Adelaide
12. Saints
13. Sydney
14. Melbourne
15. Essendon
16. North
17. Eagles
18. Richmond

I know everyone says the comp is weaker depth wise then it used to be, but jeez I think 14/18 sides have the quality to make the 8. It's going to be another extremely even and competitive year I think.

1. Brisbane
2. GWS
3. Freo
4. Collingwood
5. Hawks
6. Bulldogs
7. Port
8. Carlton
9. Geelong
10. Gold Coast
11. Adelaide
12. Saints
13. Sydney
14. Melbourne
15. Essendon
16. North
17. Eagles
18. Richmond
This is more or less what I'm expecting, except without Geelong dropping, just cos they basically never do.

1. GWS
2. Brisbane
3. Carlton
4. Freo
5. Bulldogs
6. Hawks
7. Geelong
8. Sydney
9. Suns
10. Adelaide
11. Collingwood
12. Port
13. Saints
14. Essendon
15. Melbourne
16. Eagles
17. North
18. Richmond

How does a team go from 12-6-1 to missing finals in the space of 4 weeks?
One of the all time great collapses.
Injuries to key players - Treacy, Darcy, Pearce all at once, plus Cox severely underdone derailed everything and we didn't have any experienced depth to cover for them. Despite that we were still competitive in the last month (Essendon 1pt, Geelong 11 pts, GWS 9 pts) If you add those guys to the team I think we would have won two of the last four.

My post-draft predictions for 2025 ladder after finals:

1 Bulldogs
2 Cats
3 Lions
4 Dockers
5 Saints
6 Giants
7 Magpies
8 Hawks
-----------------
9 Swans
10 Blues
11 Power
12 Suns
13 Kangaroos
14 Crows
15 Eagles
16 Demons
17 Bombers
18 Tigers

1. Geelong - range 1-8 (no clear no1, go with old faithful)
2. Freo - range 1-10
3. Dogs - range 1-10
4. Hawks - range 3-12
5. Port - range 3-10 (four more years!)
6. Blues - range 4-14
7. GWS - range 1-10
8. Sydney - range 5-10
9. Saints - range 6-16
10. North - range 9-17 (surely talent starts to tell at some point)
11. Suns - range 8-15
12. Brisbane - range 3-13 (thinking hunger wanes)
13. Pies - range 5-14 (may be in the need to rebuild but don’t yet know it dead zone)
14. Essendon - range 6-16
15. Adelaide - range 8-17
16. Dees - range 5-16 (implosion)
17. Eagles - range 17-18
18. Richmond - range 17-18

Tough year to pick, so most ranges are broad, close games will really matter.

Only teams I’d be confident in their positions are West Coast and Richmond.

1. Geelong - range 1-8 (no clear no1, go with old faithful)
2. Freo - range 1-10
3. Dogs - range 1-10
4. Hawks - range 3-12
5. Port - range 3-10 (four more years!)
6. Blues - range 4-14
7. GWS - range 1-10
8. Sydney - range 5-10
9. Saints - range 6-16
10. North - range 9-17 (surely talent starts to tell at some point)
11. Suns - range 8-15
12. Brisbane - range 3-13 (thinking hunger wanes)
13. Pies - range 5-14 (may be in the need to rebuild but don’t yet know it dead zone)
14. Essendon - range 6-16
15. Adelaide - range 8-17
16. Dees - range 5-16 (implosion)
17. Eagles - range 17-18
18. Richmond - range 17-18

Tough year to pick, so most ranges are broad, close games will really matter.

Only teams I’d be confident in their positions are West Coast and Richmond.
This looks like the range I give the missus when she asks what time I’ll be home from the pub

PositionTeamLikely RangeComment
1Carlton1 - 4Top 2 last year before cruelled by injury. Easy draw. I think it's a massive failure if they don't finish top 4.
2GWS1 - 4Strong list with few weaknesses. Lost a few handy players but they are probably easily replaced. Perhaps depth could be an issue.
3Fremantle1 - 5Building a strong list with plenty of upside for improvement across all areas of the ground.
4Brisbane1 - 5Going to be very competitive again. Forward line structure a question mark without Daniher and so many quality small forwards.
5Western Bulldogs4 - 8Always thereabouts. Bevo contract year could go either way for them. Lots of talent but some of their stars are aging.
6Geelong4 - 8Ever reliable and professional. Just keep finding a way to get it done more often than not. Home ground advantage helps.
7Sydney4 - 8Might slide a little after the heavy Grand Final loss and coaching change.
8Adelaide6 - 10Should move up the ladder again this year with the easy draw. Better team than where they finished last year.
9Hawthorn6 - 10Great young team with some excellent additions in the trade period. A much tougher draw will be the test.
10Melbourne8 - 12Mostly competitive. Season depends on how Petracca and Oliver bounce back. Some promising young kids.
11Collingwood8 - 12Aging list but some very solid pick-ups in the trade period. Is it enough to propel them back into finals?
12Gold Coast9 - 14Difficult team to trust. No shortage of talent but their away record needs to improve significantly.
13Essendon9 - 14Haven't really improved their list all that much on last year. Not sure where the improvement comes from to push into the 8.
14Port Adelaide8 - 14Hinkley contract year. Tough draw. Some great talent on their list but also some holes still remain. Hard to predict.
15North Melbourne15 - 18Brought in some much needed experience mixed with heaps of young talent. Should start to take some steps forward.
16St. Kilda15 - 18List hasn't really improved on last year. Ross will keep them competitive but do they get enough improvement out of their talented kids?
17Richmond15 - 18Tough year with injuries last year had them well below where they should have finished. List overhaul will take a bit of time.
18West Coast15 - 18Just don't see enough improvement in their list or talented youngsters outside of Reid and maybe Ginbey. Home ground advantage helps.

Based on what exactly?
Just from watching footy over the past 35 years... seeing young teams overachieve in a year, come out the next thinking its just going to happen for them.. especially this Hawthorn group.. full of cocky arrogance and i just think (my opinion) that 2025 wont be as good as 2024 for Hawthorn. THATS ALL....

2025 Ladder Predictions