List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

When was the last time a player went into the PSD and was grabbed by a club they weren't aiming for?

Nick Stevens? Ironically from Port, who played hardball when he wanted to go to Collingwood and he was grabbed by Carlton in the PSD.

(And being a former Port player is not the only thing he has in common with Fabian ...)

So there is something that is REALLY bugging me.
This talk about Cadman being a top 2 pick. GWS want him first. Everyone saying he is the best key fwd etc etc. and North Melbourne should have taken him because he is a top pick that is the fwd they need.

Why? all year, including right now, the draft boards have him 5th, 6th etc. Not even the top 3. Why would we reach for a 5-10 player for a number 1 pick? obviously number 2 after Ashcroft. Is this spin from the media to make the trade look worse? Moreover, David King is on this boat. I am really confused, as I have zero intel or stats or knowledge on who should be picked up where besides in this board and the phantom drafts.

I for one am super excited and have always been on the boat of best available talent at number 1, 2, 3 etc., not drafting for needs.

I think Cadman's has performed as well if not better than any forward at junior level, including McDonald, King brothers, etc if I remember what Souup said. (correct me if I am wrong).

He has also a very good professional attitude, put on 10-15kg this year with his bulking up, good in the air, good at ground level. The only real negative is he is only 194cm.

I think our club said he is one of the top 3 we rate. I don't mind us not taking him, I do not like that we have made no attempt at all in putting on a quality forward or at least an experienced budget forward to give time for Comben and Edwards, because physically those two seem a mile off AFL level.

After a player cactus us over and made a mockery of the draft, feels like it might be time to use the draft as intended. I'm sure they'll cave but imagine if Dunkley had to navigate the PSD.

I'd be putting out a press release 3 seconds after the trade period end saying we're taking him.

I can't imagine Brisbane could afford more than we could, but we would likely pay a heft premium to take him.

So there is something that is REALLY bugging me.
This talk about Cadman being a top 2 pick. GWS want him first. Everyone saying he is the best key fwd etc etc. and North Melbourne should have taken him because he is a top pick that is the fwd they need.

Why? all year, including right now, the draft boards have him 5th, 6th etc. Not even the top 3. Why would we reach for a 5-10 player for a number 1 pick? obviously number 2 after Ashcroft. Is this spin from the media to make the trade look worse? Moreover, David King is on this boat. I am really confused, as I have zero intel or stats or knowledge on who should be picked up where besides in this board and the phantom drafts.

I for one am super excited and have always been on the boat of best available talent at number 1, 2, 3 etc., not drafting for needs.
David King was going off a comment by Jon Ralph. Neither would have a clue.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Nick Stevens? Ironically from Port, who played hardball when he wanted to go to Collingwood and he was grabbed by Carlton in the PSD.

(And being a former Port player is not the only thing he has in common with Fabian ...)
And Jade Rawlings the following year.

Yeah, David has never seen him play, I felt he was too vitriolic given he has never seen him play. His point of view was that if GWS was prepared to pay so much and they are decent judges of talent, why aren't we keeping the pick instead.

Judging talent is subjective, but you can get poorer judges of talent. It isn't a level playing field.

Yeah it seems bizarre. I get we need a fwd on our list, but we kind of need a READY made fwd.
I think Cadman's has performed as well if not better than any forward at junior level, including McDonald, King brothers, etc if I remember what Souup said. (correct me if I am wrong).

He has also a very good professional attitude, put on 10-15kg this year with his bulking up, good in the air, good at ground level. The only real negative is he is only 194cm.

I think our club said he is one of the top 3 we rate. I don't mind us not taking him, I do not like that we have made no attempt at all in putting on a quality forward or at least an experienced budget forward to give time for Comben and Edwards, because physically those two seem a mile off AFL level.
So almost a half forward size that also won't be ready for AFL and need development.

Yeah it seems bizarre. I get we need a fwd on our list, but we kind of need a READY made fwd.

So almost a half forward size that also won't be ready for AFL and need development.

Yeah, i think as a mobile CHF he will be good, they see him as the replacement for Cameron. Assuming he doesn't have a horrible run of bad luck like Patton. There are no guarantees but top end KPP tend to have a higher probability of being a bust than mids.

Don't dilute 2,3.

Don't load up in 2023 any further.

Another year of s**t would put 1st round PP's on the table.
Good point. When probed about our assistance package, Gill said that GC were given something similar the year before they were given 6000 points. So if we were to have another terrible year I would be expecting the same. However, Gill won't be there next year and I hope to god we don't suck

Don't dilute 2,3.

Don't load up in 2023 any further.

Another year of s**t would put 1st round PP's on the table.
That's what we said last year, and what did we get for it 12 months later?

wood-log-as-fire-front-white-background-35834516.jpg
1665493970079.png

Yeah, i think as a mobile CHF he will be good, they see him as the replacement for Cameron. Assuming he doesn't have a horrible run of bad luck like Patton. There are no guarantees but top end KPP tend to have a higher probability of being a bust than mids.
this. We CANNOT have another bust. And the media may have even reported wrong and GWS want Wardlaw or something.

Ya reckon he's slow?

Sheesh, he puts on the jets faster than 3/4 of our mob.

Not just that - he's versatile, he's got great composure, he's tough, and he's got great footy IQ.

You could rotate him through wings with Goater and Scott, or give him Hall's job at half back, but he'd also be fine pinch hitting as an inside mid too.
He's got good skills for sure but I have no idea what level his speed/endurance was. I also remember you all laughing at him getting caught holding the ball with his poor awareness late in a game we won against saints. I don't watch much of the saints so you guys know more than me.

Arguable Tas, if I may.

Max King's display against Oakleigh where he kicked 8.5 was a supreme display.
Masterful in the air and snapped some beautiful goals. He does his ACL, and it destroyed a huge top-age campaign that I predict would have seen him go 1/2 in the draft, on the back of a promising 2017 campaign. I can't name many that excited me more, as a KPF before that injury.

It was a domination of an Oakleigh side that were the eventual premiers, and a great one at that.

Re; Cadman - 16's vs Metro he struggled as a forward and swung into defence for parts of the second half. He also didn't hit the scoreboard in NAB 2021 for the Rebels because he played a roaming general defender role.

His development as a KPF has really only blossomed this year, and in scary fashion.

However, off the top of my head you could certainly argue that Cameron, Daniher and Josh Schache were more productive junior forwards.

Schache's 34 goals in 10 outings and his domination at the under 18's Champs was arguably the best display for a KPF. Unfortunately for him, he has never reached those heights at AFL level.

Cadman's non-selection on our end, will be an intriguing one, but that's another discussion.

So lets reassess the facts and not have any emotion related to this mega trade.

1. JHF requested a trade
2. At least some of playing group/staff weren't happy with him around
3. Port offered a deal that is very risky that we wouldnt/couldnt match

Based on the above, we HAD to trade him THIS year.

4. We DID NOT trade two number 1 picks, we traded JHF and a number 1 pick.
5. If we DIDNT pick JHF, we had callaghan. He is either the same as the kids this year or lesser.
6. Regardless of what we think, these trades never go well for the club with the player. we were never coming out with a WIN. check Jeremy cameron, he was worth a top 5 pick. GWS got 13, 15 and 20. We got 2 and a future 1st essentially. Luke jackson also worth a top 5 pick and melbourne got 13 and a first round pick.
7. going from pick 1 and JHF to pick 2 and 3, again we rate the top 3 after Ashcroft EVEN.

Based on the above, its a win.

Now if we are looking at speculations:

1. JHF was HATED, fracturing the club and had to be traded.
2. We dont rate cadman and GWS are taking him 1.
3. We have a clear vision of a 1-2 punch with our pick 2/3
4. Comben, Larkey, CCJ, Goldstein, Logue, McKay and Corr is a really good tall brigade

Looking at these facts, thinking about it for a day, I cant see how this isnt an absolute sensational outcome for us. Well done Brady. Footy is an emotional game, but I do think we've done really well.

Reasonable concern regarding Comben from many however,

Everyone needs to remember that Comben has had growth spurt issues that are now behind him. This year was unfortunate for Charlie who was planned to have off season surgery to remove screws that unfortunately needed to be brought forward and North ultra concervative approach meant he wasnt given games even when fit despite kicking 2/3 goals most games.

He has put on weight over the off season, training hard and is coming back at 93kg + and ready to roll.

Sure, we need to see games but hes not been out with repeat soft tissue or knee recos - its him growing late and now ready to play.

I wish him all the luck over the next 6 months!
I like him. I really like Charlie, He has a full pre season without a hiccup, people on here will cum 10 times in round 1 watching him

So lets reassess the facts and not have any emotion related to this mega trade.

1. JHF requested a trade
2. At least some of playing group/staff weren't happy with him around
3. Port offered a deal that is very risky that we wouldnt/couldnt match

Based on the above, we HAD to trade him THIS year.

4. We DID NOT trade two number 1 picks, we traded JHF and a number 1 pick.
5. If we DIDNT pick JHF, we had callaghan. He is either the same as the kids this year or lesser.
6. Regardless of what we think, these trades never go well for the club with the player. we were never coming out with a WIN. check Jeremy cameron, he was worth a top 5 pick. GWS got 13, 15 and 20. We got 2 and a future 1st essentially. Luke jackson also worth a top 5 pick and melbourne got 13 and a first round pick.
7. going from pick 1 and JHF to pick 2 and 3, again we rate the top 3 after Ashcroft EVEN.

Based on the above, its a win.

Now if we are looking at speculations:

1. JHF was HATED, fracturing the club and had to be traded.
2. We dont rate cadman and GWS are taking him 1.
3. We have a clear vision of a 1-2 punch with our pick 2/3
4. Comben, Larkey, CCJ, Goldstein, Logue, McKay and Corr is a really good tall brigade

Looking at these facts, thinking about it for a day, I cant see how this isnt an absolute sensational outcome for us. Well done Brady. Footy is an emotional game, but I do think we've done really well.

As an outsider I thought North played it smart. Bad situation but did as good as could be expected. North actually starting to show a silver lining I think in the list in terms of forward projections. These things can't happen overnight but I thought there where no stupid moves

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread III