Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!

We are in a good spot and share the optimism that has infected the forum.

But chances are good we will drop one game from that first group. We're still young and there will come a bout of inconsistency.

In 2023 we lost to Hawthorn and the Gold Coast. It's OK, it's what 5th-8th teams do in a competitive league.

But I also think there is a good chance we go 5-3 in the second group. Dogs gettable, all those games at Docklands. Might even 6-2.

The brand we play is very effective when done well. It's why we've kicked at least 6 goals in 4 of our last 12 quarters without a sight of Max King or Dan Butler.
Anyway you cut it.

The opportunity is there. It’s enormous. Just have to deliver. Week at a time etc.

Long time reader, occasional poster. What board where you reading when you thought "most of the board seemed to suggest that bottom 4 seemed about par"?
There were alot us shaken by that game, esp followed up by the Adelaide loss. Whatever camp you were in, it was hard to see the following 3 weeks unfolding how they have.

just touch on the kids

Hammer is so raw as a defender, not only does he have to learn a new craft, but he has to adopt an entirely new mindset, as was said multiple times by the track watchers. He spent the entire pre-season in the forward group. He's going to make mistakes, but as we saw a Sunday, that last 10min, he did some pretty awesome stuff with the game on the line

Bynes: has some shocking moments, but also saw huge effort to get back and help support the defense. It's up to others to go past Ronnie.

Collard: how exciting is this Kid, lots of work to do, but WOW, the magic we are going to get to witness, enjoy the show

Keeler: still skinny and Allir is a very good backman, play him until Max is fit

Ross keeps banging on about a growth mindset, I don't see him throwing the kids out of the side for underdone seniors

Dude, stop being so basic—seriously.
Putting two pictures side by side only weakens your argument—it shows a complete lack of understanding of all the factors involved.
The only factors to consider are one kid has a work ethic the other is still learning. That would be the exact reason Adelaide didn't take him at the draft, as the talent is obviously there.

I just saw something that I missed the first 3 times I watched the game. Clearly it wasn't pointed out by the commentators, either. But after watching that Higgins goal again I saw some brilliance from the man of the moment, Lance Collard.

It would need to be put on slow mo and almost impossible to point out, but look at this contest.

Ball gets sat on Collards head, Lance not only stands his ground over Sinn and protects the space (allowing Hall to crumb and give to Higgins), he doesn't try to mark it. He actually taps it into Halls path into the space he protected. This is elite...

20250407_150738.jpg
20250407_150948.jpg

It is subtle, and easy to miss - but for a skinny kid accused of only doing the easy stuff - I'm seriously impressed by this!

The only factors to consider are one kid has a work ethic the other is still learning. That would be the exact reason Adelaide didn't take him at the draft, as the talent is obviously there.

You're saying that like you've already established, as fact, that Keeler lacks work ethic.
You always do this—it's part of why people get frustrated with you.
For what it's worth, I generally like your posts, so this isn't about taking a shot at you. But seriously, you're completely overlooking the shades of grey here.

Adelaide is pretty stacked with tall fwds, maybe that was it

There was a lot of posters of which gringo was one who were upset post that port practice match - who thought the ass had fallen out before a proper game.

There was a few including BrutThough who pleaded for calm and to understand that we had a lot of injuries.

I was in camp 2, but post Adelaide with the injury list growing. I was very much getting annoyed.

Sometimes games are the making of lists and teams. I guess that Geelong game really changed things and it’s really started to roll.

I said 4-6 by round 10 would need to be the bare minimum for us to then go on a run for finals. Surely now we should be aiming for no worse then 6-4 and giving ourselves a big chance.

I was saying finals should be a minimum expectations. I was angry that they were putting up that shit performance after the practice match and it was as bad as it gets. To me training like you play is good management. You like being pegged by your footy club but that's not everyone's cup of tea.

You cucks let them off any time there is any expectation set for them. I said we had the best list we've had since Ross left and showed evidence for it. Said multiple times finals is possible and should be the minimum standard that we set. The positive posters want everyone to keep their voices down incase one of the players gets hurt feelings every time. You are enablers.

You're saying that like you've already established, as fact, that Keeler lacks work ethic.
You always do this—it's part of why people get frustrated with you.
For what it's worth, I generally like your posts, so this isn't about taking a shot at you. But seriously, you're completely overlooking the shades of grey here.
no shades on a spectrum...only black and white

Yeah I’d have included Carlton to the wins column. That would have been my 4.

Really we just need to split the next 4.

That demons game is in Alice springs which makes it tougher.

Ultimately once we get past the Brisbane game, I reckon we are 50-50 from there. Only games that scare me are Geelong at the Cattery and the Giants at their place.

Melbourne are barely able to beat themselves in an intraclub. Why are we scared of them?

Port Adelaide v St Kilda​

10 Jason Horne-Francis (PORT)
6 Mitchell Georgiades (PORT)
5 Jack Sinclair (STK)
4 Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (STK)
3 Jack Macrae (STK)
2 Jack Higgins (STK)

Cracking Up Lol GIF
Cooper Sharman, not one vote, how? Am I the only one who still has nightmares of Allir Allir, Sicily, May etc just marking everything in the past couple of years?

That's a dead set dropped ball by Ross at the very least.

I think he's just not going to be a guy who fills out quickly. Some don't ever do it no matter how hard they work it.

I was saying finals should be a minimum expectations. I was angry that they were putting up that shit performance after the practice match and it was as bad as it gets. To me training like you play is good management. You like being pegged by your footy club but that's not everyone's cup of tea.

You cucks let them off any time there is any expectation set for them. I said we had the best list we've had since Ross left and showed evidence for it. Said multiple times finals is possible and should be the minimum standard that we set. The positive posters want everyone to keep their voices down incase one of the players gets hurt feelings every time. You are enablers.
I said judge them when players come back (at this point I was believing the La La La around King & co returning by round 2).

That’s not enabling anything. It just means we were smart enough to know that practice games don’t mean anything.

The Adelaide loss had me more fired up and I posted in that vein on here. Even agreeing with your mate over how they handled the entire injury situation.

I never said don’t give a player both barrels either. Go for it.

Cooper Sharman, not one vote, how? Am I the only one who still has nightmares of Allir Allir, Sicily, May etc just marking everything in the past couple of years?

That's a dead set dropped ball by Ross at the very least.
Thought he was pretty average if I’m honest. Looked rusty. Flew for a number of balls and just didn’t get to some of them.

Talent shone out in the end though.

File it under a good one for the run.

Ross on Travaglia

“We have been working out where he plays. We had him wing and u18s he was half back. We find he is instinctive and aggressive and He hunts the ball. The wide stuff where he holds the line challenges him. We think he will play onball and half back”
Where are you seeing all these quotes?

I honestly think that the reason is Jack Macrae. We're now able to score out of center bounces, and I don't think we've really done that consistently since 2010. Maybe a few brief periods when Jack Steven was in form, but the difference a proper center clearance mid makes with regard to momentum is staggering.
Also lessens the run of goals against that used to happen quite frequently as well. These were devastating, and I reckon we lost a lot of games last year in like 5 minute patches of center clearance submission

I reckon that if Jack Macrae can stay with us for the 3 years or so, our midfield will be great. as the younger kids will have learnt alot from him

Autopsy Round 4, 2025 - Saints upset Port in Adelaide!

Write your reply...