List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 8

Should we go after Max Holmes? 23 very young get the pick from Freo for Baker if he leaves & give it to Geelong.

They haven't re-signed him yet & he wants to stay at the Cats but, Cats aren't accepting his managers contract terms.

Should we go after Max Holmes? 23 very young get the pick from Freo for Baker if he leaves & give it to Geelong.

They haven't re-signed him yet & he wants to stay at the Cats but, Cats aren't accepting his managers contract terms.
We should have just drafted him in the first place rather than trading that pick away on draft night. Although I can't remember what we ended up doing with the pick that turned into.

Make him an offer at his correct value. Not sure what that is exactly. He is not a top tier AFL player at this stage or anywhere near it.

Dream on! No way he will leave the Cats, or even more, that they will let him go. He will stay there on decent coin.

We should have just drafted him in the first place rather than trading that pick away on draft night. Although I can't remember what we ended up doing with the pick that turned into.

Rookie Central had Holmes going as a late pick or a rookie pick. Looking at his profile, his "strengths" were all athleticism based, not footy based.

Cal Twomey described Max Holmes as a "genuine surprising inclusion" if picked in the top 30, and even thought of slipping down to a pick in the 40s.

Cats have always been a bit different to other clubs in the draft and trade period, so don't think it's realistic to say that we should've picked Holmes using hindsight.

Apart from Baker buying an investment property in Perth, is there actually any credible info that he wants to move to WA?
Or is this all based on the house purchase.

WA media believe one of the teams here has thrown a big contract his way. Not sure if its Freo or West Coast though.

Apart from Baker buying an investment property in Perth, is there actually any credible info that he wants to move to WA?
Or is this all based on the house purchase.
It's actually his second investment property in WA. But the timing (and the fact it's a big investment in a riverside location) of this one, with him being out of contract, is what's got the media's attention. That's then set off a bunch of rumours about the kind of coin being offered (by Freo mainly because they have the draft capital). I for one think we will give him a solid offer to convince him to stay. Especially when you consider that Yze said we would offer him the world to stay a Tiger.

Holmes is a very good footballer mate. He will be a star.

He's had a very strong looking 6 games this year, but he is being fed ball by an undefeated team who has played the 8th placed team and 5 of the bottom 7 so far. His standout game was v North. I am happy to acknowledge he is very good for a 21yo, but also happy to reserve final judgement on how he is travelling until he plays against some stronger teams.

He will have plenty of challenges to face yet before we can declare him a gun.

Getting LDU as a free agent in 2025 to replace Martin/Prestia would be a nice coup, Collingwood would probably be front runners though. Reckon he 100% leaves and follows Mckay and Zurhaar out the door as free agent departures

North Melbourne’s direction to dictate Luke Davies-Uniacke’s decision to re-sign beyond 2025​

North Melbourne superstar onballer Luke Davies-Uniacke is on track to become the most sought-after player in the game as he holds off on contract talks until next season.
The jet ballwinner will be a restricted free agent in 2025 and will consider his options including guaranteed blockbuster seven-figure offers from Victorian rivals next year.
The Kangaroos are keen to re-sign Davies-Uniacke early to thwart poaching raids from a long list of interested clubs including St Kilda, Essendon and Adelaide who want more top-line talent.
The Saints are desperate to add more A-Grade midfielders and are certain to come hard for the Rye product, who also has links with Bombers’ coach Brad Scott at Tullamarine.
The strong interest means Davies-Uniacke, 24, is certain to defer any talks on his contract until next year when clubs will zero in on him as the likely No. 1 free agency target from the 2025 crop.
North Melbourne’s direction will be a key factor in Davies-Uniacke’s contract decision following just 18 wins from the first 91 games of his career.
Davies-Uniacke is arguably the most important player at North Melbourne after finishing second in the best and fairest in 2022 before soft-tissue injuries hit him last year.

Getting LDU as a free agent in 2025 to replace Martin/Prestia would be a nice coup, Collingwood would be probably be front runners though. Reckon he 100% leaves and follows Mckay and Zurhaar as free agent departures

North Melbourne’s direction to dictate Luke Davies-Uniacke’s decision to re-sign beyond 2025​

North Melbourne superstar onballer Luke Davies-Uniacke is on track to become the most sought-after player in the game as he holds off on contract talks until next season.
The jet ballwinner will be a restricted free agent in 2025 and will consider his options including guaranteed blockbuster seven-figure offers from Victorian rivals next year.
The Kangaroos are keen to re-sign Davies-Uniacke early to thwart poaching raids from a long list of interested clubs including St Kilda, Essendon and Adelaide who want more top-line talent.
The Saints are desperate to add more A-Grade midfielders and are certain to come hard for the Rye product, who also has links with Bombers’ coach Brad Scott at Tullamarine.
The strong interest means Davies-Uniacke, 24, is certain to defer any talks on his contract until next year when clubs will zero in on him as the likely No. 1 free agency target from the 2025 crop.
North Melbourne’s direction will be a key factor in Davies-Uniacke’s contract decision following just 18 wins from the first 91 games of his career.
Davies-Uniacke is arguably the most important player at North Melbourne after finishing second in the best and fairest in 2022 before soft-tissue injuries hit him last year.

Would go a long way to fix our midfield issues. I can see North matching any multimillion dollar offer though.

Just signed for 4 more years

Getting LDU as a free agent in 2025 to replace Martin/Prestia would be a nice coup, Collingwood would probably be front runners though. Reckon he 100% leaves and follows Mckay and Zurhaar out the door as free agent departures

That makes it simple as North have only got 1 direction
And it ain’t up

It should out of the league but for some whack reason they holding onto them for dear life

Our aim for the draft should be quality over quantity. We need an injection of top end talent to boost our youth.

We currently have: 3, 23, 30 (FREO), 41, 43 (WC), 48 (FREO), 59, 63 (COLL), 70 (PORT)

The 3 bolded picks shouldn't be touched unless they move up the order to get us better quality picks. The rest should be used where possible to improve into the top 30 or to target some quality young players looking for opportunity.

With Baker if he chose WCE, I wouldn't be against a move where we traded for their 2025 R1 pick instead of taking unders to get him across this year. It would mean we take 2 R1 picks into 2025 while still having 4-5 picks inside the top 30 this year. It spreads our draft hand across 2 seasons rather than putting all our eggs into this year
I don't mind that way of thinking, of the 3 bolded, i'd be open to shift 30 as part of a deal but only to move up into 1st round (teens pick). I just can't see us moving those 6/7 picks in the 1 deal. we have 4 Clubs to do business with & may prefer to deal with 2-3 of them in order to get better deals as all those Clubs will need pts & be looking to trade back. Personally think we can get a better return that way. I wouldn't be against doing a deal for a F1/2 pick as well. With what we are looking to do it'll need more than 2/3 drafts all up (incl '21 crop). But that'd all depend on what next yrs Draft is projected to be offering.

The issue is not the money - the issue is we still need to make a deal at the trade table & thats where i think it starts costing too much.

If it was just "the money", i agree. People saying what has he done to deserve a pay day? The same as Tom Lynch did at the same age. Statistically ahead of him, although Lynch did have his breakout season in year 4, which is this year for JUH
For what it'd cost i want to see him have that breakout yr, otherwise it's a price based on potential & he may end up being what he is now. FWIW i'd rather raid the Draft.

What's in it for us to do a 1 yr deal with Baker? We can get better in a trade, we can't rely on FA compo. It'll either be a trade this yr or a "Tiger for life" deal.
No way on earth does bakes walk past a 5mn deal to roll the dice again in 12m ,,,anything could happen , would be a dopey move

We should tell Harley Reid's manager not to re-sign & give him a godfather 10-year contract & give him his idol Dusty Martin's #4 jumper.
It's happening. Reid touched Dustys jumper too feel what it's like.