QAFL 2020

thanks for the reminder. I’ve only thought “this could be the year” only for it not to be for the last 25 years. 2021?
If Broady couldn’t win it last season with all the NEAFL additions plus Steve Daniels and Melcheski in the Coaches box, losing most of the NEAFL players back to Southport or elsewhere, then what makes you think you’re a chance this season?

2020 was Broadbeach’s Premiership to lose and didn’t they do a fine job at that.

Are u seriously comparing pbc and Broadbeach records in qafl footy to west’s/Sherwood? And that’s no disrespect to either of those clubs
I said it was great history..... Palmy have certainly gone past them in the last 10 years and Broady will be doing the same.

WM have shot themselves in the foot after the decision to get Harwood and Beams. They were lucky that covid hit last year so the NEAFL blokes came back.

I said it was great history..... Palmy have certainly gone past them in the last 10 years and Broady will be doing the same.

WM have shot themselves in the foot after the decision to get Harwood and Beams. They were lucky that covid hit last year so the NEAFL blokes came back.

I don’t get why getting beams and Harwood was shooting themselves in the foot. Both very good players

Please tell

That whole area has become a lot more gentrified the last couple of decades. They used to get a pretty good stream of working-class kids from Corinda and Oxley High Schools. Those families were the sort of people that played footy and socialised at the club on a Friday and Saturday night but that has changed I'd say. Corinda High became more dominated by Vietnamese migrants in the 80's/90's (has changed again in the last 15 years I think) and Oxley just closed. I reckon that demographic that Sherwood used to have has probably shifted to Jindalee a bit. There would be other reasons for changes too.

Are u seriously comparing pbc and Broadbeach records in qafl footy to west’s/Sherwood? And that’s no disrespect to either of those clubs

just to be clear, we are not Wests. Western Districts and Sherwood co-existed as neighbours for many many years, but we're not the same club.

Eventually, Sherwood in 1983 were promoted to the QAFL after winning 8 SQAFA flags in a row and winning the QAFL pre-season cup several times. AFLQ felt it unsustainable to have neighbouring QAFL teams, so I believe Sherwood trained etc and retained our current ground as their base, but had to play home games at Yeronga for many years. Not sure how long that lasted, but people from that era are better placed to know.

Eventually in 1991, the two clubs merged to form West Brisbane and wore the stripes, but in the Wests colours. They won the flag in 1996 and 12 months later the merger failed and Western Districts folded. Then in 1999 Sherwood re-entered the QAFL as a standalone team, but whoever was in charge at the time put a condition of re-entry on them being known as Western Magpies, instead of Sherwood. I think this is why the confusion exists that we have some sort of connection to Wests, when we don't. Doesn't really matter though (except to a few Wests old boys!)

We finally changed back to Sherwood only this year after seeking permission from AFLQ after being knocked back previously by Mick Conlan.

Western Districts had a long and proud history, including QAFL flags in the 50's before Sherwood even existed and a few more in the 70's - plus the merger flag in 96 with Sherwood. Many of their great players of the 60's and 70's were Sherwood kids, but we are/were separate clubs other than the 1991-1997 period.

Western Districts no longer exists, much like the old Coorparoo QAFL club no longer exists. (The Kings aren't the same club, just share the original name)

It was hardly some big decision. They live about 2km from the club and decided to play with us, we were very lucky to have them and I doubt anyone else would have knocked them back in the same circumstances. Also ripping blokes who became part of the furniture almost overnight. We were at about 50% of the salary cap in 2019 and nobody was paid in 2020, so not like we sold the farm for them (or anyone else.)

We actively chased Staker in 2016, and he gave us 1 good year (15 points off a GF appearance) and to his credit, while he retired from playing after one season and ~10 games, he still comes down regularly to our games and helps coach in heaps of our junior programs.

Plenty of conspiracy theories, but sometimes you just get lucky and blokes walk in the door. Bit like Jason Cloke bobbing up at Broady, pretty sure he just walked in off the street looking for a game after relocating nearby.

That whole area has become a lot more gentrified the last couple of decades. They used to get a pretty good stream of working-class kids from Corinda and Oxley High Schools. Those families were the sort of people that played footy and socialised at the club on a Friday and Saturday night but that has changed I'd say. Corinda High became more dominated by Vietnamese migrants in the 80's/90's (has changed again in the last 15 years I think) and Oxley just closed. I reckon that demographic that Sherwood used to have has probably shifted to Jindalee a bit. There would be other reasons for changes too.

correct. The median house price around here is about $1.5m, its a completely different demographic than it would have been back then. Both Rugby codes have a club within 1.5km of us and there are also 2 huge soccer clubs. Not to mention, that in the era when we were a massive junior club, we weren't surrounded by 10-15 other junior clubs like we are now.

Interestingly though, I reckon only about 50-60% of our juniors live in the immediate area - we have stacks of kids that come from Ipswich and beyond.

Its all positive though, more clubs and more participants means the game is growing - we are pretty much at full capacity anyway, can't have much more than we have with only the 1.5 ovals.

just to be clear, we are not Wests. Western Districts and Sherwood co-existed as neighbours for many many years, but we're not the same club.

Eventually, Sherwood in 1983 were promoted to the QAFL after winning 8 SQAFA flags in a row and winning the QAFL pre-season cup several times. AFLQ felt it unsustainable to have neighbouring QAFL teams, so I believe Sherwood trained etc and retained our current ground as their base, but had to play home games at Yeronga for many years. Not sure how long that lasted, but people from that era are better placed to know.

Eventually in 1991, the two clubs merged to form West Brisbane and wore the stripes, but in the Wests colours. They won the flag in 1996 and 12 months later the merger failed and Western Districts folded. Then in 1999 Sherwood re-entered the QAFL as a standalone team, but whoever was in charge at the time put a condition of re-entry on them being known as Western Magpies, instead of Sherwood. I think this is why the confusion exists that we have some sort of connection to Wests, when we don't. Doesn't really matter though (except to a few Wests old boys!)

We finally changed back to Sherwood only this year after seeking permission from AFLQ after being knocked back previously by Mick Conlan.

Western Districts had a long and proud history, including QAFL flags in the 50's before Sherwood even existed and a few more in the 70's - plus the merger flag in 96 with Sherwood. Many of their great players of the 60's and 70's were Sherwood kids, but we are/were separate clubs other than the 1991-1997 period.

Western Districts no longer exists, much like the old Coorparoo QAFL club no longer exists. (The Kings aren't the same club, just share the original name)

It was hardly some big decision. They live about 2km from the club and decided to play with us, we were very lucky to have them and I doubt anyone else would have knocked them back in the same circumstances. Also ripping blokes who became part of the furniture almost overnight. We were at about 50% of the salary cap in 2019 and nobody was paid in 2020, so not like we sold the farm for them (or anyone else.)

We actively chased Staker in 2016, and he gave us 1 good year (15 points off a GF appearance) and to his credit, while he retired from playing after one season and ~10 games, he still comes down regularly to our games and helps coach in heaps of our junior programs.

Plenty of conspiracy theories, but sometimes you just get lucky and blokes walk in the door. Bit like Jason Cloke bobbing up at Broady, pretty sure he just walked in off the street looking for a game after relocating nearby.
Played against Western Magpies hence the abbreviation of Wests - pretty mixed bag history there Thommo - tbf not unlike the last 2 decades of Maroochydores history except you never folded.

So any predictions? I’ll have a go

Finalists ( no particular order)

Redland
Noosa
Broadbeach
PBC
Morningside
Labrador

wooden spoon: Grange

big improver: Labrador

sliders:
PBC ( still play finals but not top 3 IMO)
Maroochydore: great first year but harder now with Noosa in.

premiership favourites: Redland

Redland
Noosa
Broadbeach
PBC
Morningside
Labrador

sliders:

Probably best to post in the 2021 thread.

Redland
Noosa
Broadbeach
PBC
Morningside
Labrador

sliders:

I haven't got a clue who is on Redland's list this year, who are the notables?

Labrador look to have picked up a few quality mids over the off-season, but on the flip side they also have to replace guys like Thurlow, Retzlaff and Beech.

I haven't got a clue who is on Redland's list this year, who are the notables?

Labrador look to have picked up a few quality mids over the off-season, but on the flip side they also have to replace guys like Thurlow, Retzlaff and Beech.

Where’s Retzlaff off to?

He announced his retirement at the end of the 2020 season.
I I bet he plays though, just as I bet a bunch of other blokes from the competition who 'retired' end up playing.

Howard and Mollison at siders, Beams, Mitchell, Harwood at Sherwood. Thynne at Palmy, Retzy at Labrador. I reckon at least 50% of those names will play again.