Over 50's Clique - Nostalgia, Memorabilia, Reflection and Opinion for the Mature Lion.

So how is it used?

Do I click on it first and then post?
No mate. Just write your post and include the hashtag and your post will be included in the hashtag history.

Seniors moments. Person woken by frogs this morning. Complex IT questions answered. Stay tuned for complaints about the council not emptying my bins properly and the boys next door parking on the nature strip. I love this thread.

BREAKING NEWS IN SAGA OF ADELAIDE BEING “CHEATED” OF A WIN BY AN EGREGIOUS UMPIRING DECISION!

3KZ is Football releases statement on behalf of the Over 50’s Clique.

“Suffer in your jocks! Adelaide deserved this bad karma. The Over 50’s Clique extend their thanks to Goal Umpire Daniel Hoskin for helping to square the karmic ledger”

BREAKING NEWS IN SAGA OF ADELAIDE BEING “CHEATED” OF A WIN BY AN EGREGIOUS UMPIRING DECISION!

3KZ is Football releases statement on behalf of the Over 50’s Clique.

“Suffer in your jocks! Adelaide deserved this bad karma.”

200w.gif

Love the ump!

IMG_6618.jpeg
Just got back from hospital and looking forward to the game today. Weirdest thing - in hospital, when you ask for pain relief the nurses basically treat you like you are up to no good, they send two nurses in with the opioid meds and they have to watch you take them and they give off the general vibe that you are a junkie. Then, just before you are discharged, a person from the hospital pharmacy comes to see you with your take home meds and gives you 80 pills in a couple of boxes and your surgeon says, if you want more, just phone the office and we’ll send you over an e-script. Totally confusing and contradictory. Go figure.

View attachment 1785982
Just got back from hospital and looking forward to the game today. Weirdest thing - in hospital, when you ask for pain relief the nurses basically treat you like you are up to no good, they send two nurses in with the opioid meds and they have to watch you take them and they give off the general vibe that you are a junkie. Then, just before you are discharged, a person from the hospital pharmacy comes to see you with your take home meds and gives you 80 pills in a couple of boxes and your surgeon says, if you want more, just phone the office and we’ll send you over an e-script. Totally confusing and contradictory. Go figure.
2nd ACL 3KZ?

I wish you a speedy recovery and a calm afternoon watching us dismantle the Saints... and even I am hoping your boy Jarryd Lyons plays a ripper.

2nd ACL 3KZ?

I wish you a speedy recovery and a calm afternoon watching us dismantle the Saints... and even I am hoping your boy Jarryd Lyons plays a ripper.
Total right knee replacement, to go with the medial replacement in the left. They take your ACL out when they do a full replacement because apparently you don’t need it anymore. It’s just in the road.

I have probably been told before and this is the right place to ask but how old are you 3KZ?

Are the bad knees from years of playing footy/sport or something else?

I have sore knees if I run so have given that away but have virtually no pain going on long treks, doing yoga/pilates etc.

I have probably been told before and this is the right place to ask but how old are you 3KZ?

Are the bad knees from years of playing footy/sport or something else?

I have sore knees if I run so have given that away but have virtually no pain going on long treks, doing yoga/pilates etc.
I’m what could be described as a fit and active 60. Don’t drink, don’t smoke, don’t carry too much weight and was walking the dog every night before the knee packed it in. Played plenty of sport, Basketball and Football and never had any knee trauma. The surgeon said I just have a genetic predisposition to osteoarthritis in the knees. My dad has the same issue.

2nd ACL 3KZ?

If you can, isolate him tonight and watch the first hands and small gives he specialises in. If sides put the hard tag on Neale, we’ll still beat them because Jarryd Lyons is going to dominate. Tonight Lyons is gonna party like it’s 2021.

Last time we met, in a Qualifying Final. Brisbane Lions v Port Adelaide 2001.

You can't go posting this in here... I'm old enough to remember it 😂

I also remember us shooting (or should that be kicking 🤔) ourselves in the foot in front of goal for the first quarter and a half, before sorting ourselves out and having a good win against a team who were up and about at the time.

Last time we met, in a Qualifying Final. Brisbane Lions v Port Adelaide 2001.

Just watched the third quarter, which was very much the premiership quarter of that game, in which we kicked 5 goals to 1.

Interesting to see the real contrast of styles of play at work... we were very direct, in the traditional style of North under Denis Pagan. Whereas with Port you could really see the origins of modern ball movement, particularly behind half forward. With Alastair Clarkson joining Port as an assistant coach in 2003, he obviously took a great deal of Choco's ideas, and Fages (or perhaps more pertinently, Gunston) in turn from Clarko.

Couple of brilliant goals in that quarter. 2 to Aker, one a hurried snap round the body from 35, one on the run from 50, but my favourite would have to be Black's on the run, after a long goalless period. In finals especially, often who is next to score after those long goal droughts goes on to win the game.

The Brisbane side in the three-peat era was so physically hard at it and fearless. That is the x-factor we need to bring to this Finals Campaign. If we can, we win everything.