News New Irish Recruit - Oisin Mullin...2022 edition

Remove this Banner Ad

Without looking at the stats, I would say he is tracking along very closely with Ugle-Hagen (pick 1 in same draft) as a third tall forward. Both in terms of output and the exciting things they can do.
Ugle-Hagen is a power forward, Ollie Henry is a medium forward. Both good but 1 UH is worth 2 OHs.
I'm not good at chemistry but it's something like this:
UH + 2H2O = 2OH + H2

https://chemequations.com/en/?s=C+++H2O+=+CO+++H2

Oisin was very impressive considering he arrived just months ago and has missed games due to soft tissue issues. It is interesting to see where people see him playing with some more exposure. With his size and speed and it seems lust for the contest, I'd have him following Danger around. Inside mid for me.

Everyone is talking about Oisin's spin and snap at goal but he did something more impressive. He received the ball just back of the centre, put on the afterburners, veered to his right avoiding the tackler from behind and the oncoming player and kicked a perfectly weighted low drop punt over a defender into Cameron's arms.

Not sure why height should be an issue. At 189cm he’s squarely in the medium forward bracket. There are plenty of others who have carved out successful careers in that role where they are more leading/marking types (but not key forwards) than crumbing/speedy types. Right now there is the likes of Toby Greene, Bayley Fritsch, Luke Breust (one of the best players of this type in the past 20 years) and Jake Stringer. Brad Johnson, Michael O’Loughlin and Paul Hudson are other similar types of similar heights that come to mind.

What is abundantly evident right now is he oozes talent. To be producing the output he is at this age is extremely encouraging.
And henry lacks the game speed and mobility of those players. Half of them play like small roving fowards/mids.