Banter Who will be better in 2025? Carlton or Collingwood Part 5

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025?

Same access to list numbers and measures as say the Lions

But back to the question that fadge is avoiding, which given he puts such a high priority on list changes to dictate output

Only 3 options really

GWS off season list changes heading into 2025

Has there list

Improved, declined or remained neutral

Go
I've already answered that, they've gone backwards imo

But they were pretty good last year, unfortunately left a flag on the table with terrible finals fadeouts Screenshot_20250306_191432_Chrome.jpg

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app

But they were pretty good last year, unfortunately left a flag on the table with terrible finals fadeouts View attachment 2241906

Well done you Corn, it's an easy answer, even if it's still an opinion, but I agree

Hopefully your mate will do the same, but unlikely as he knows it will contradict his stance on the effect of list changes

But they were pretty good last year, unfortunately left a flag on the table with terrible finals fadeouts View attachment 2241906

Thanks for an articulated response and answered directly .
To me, looks like they have not improved their list. Some would say, gone backwards.

You respond to the nuff nuff who tries to suggest a post was off topic, by inadvertently saying 'actually, it was on topic because I asked a question about GWS'.

And nuff nuff then nods his head in agreement, saying 'Gee, they're nuff nuffs, aren't they!'

lol.

Well done you Corn, it's an easy answer, even if it's still an opinion, but I agree

Hopefully your mate will do the same, but unlikely as he knows it will contradict his stance on the effect of list changes
I've still tipped them to top the ladder, they've gone backwards but not devastatingly, still got all their major pieces and adequate depth

So GWS list has gone backwards, yet will improve to play in a grand final , or at least top of the ladder after home and away season.
Clearly this means internal improvement of the current playing list. Not really a hard concept to grasp me thinks

So GWS list has gone backwards, yet will improve to play in a grand final , or at least top of the ladder after home and away season.
Clearly this means internal improvement of the current playing list. Not really a hard concept to grasp me thinks
I thought they were the best side last year Wormy so they don't really need to improve imo to finish top

They'll probably choke the finals again, it's in their heads now

I thought they were the best side last year Wormy so they don't really need to improve imo to finish top

They'll probably choke the finals again, it's in their heads now

I thought the swans were clearly the best side . Anyways, here is the latest from fox footy.. neck and neck for our 2 sides. Im not rating GWS as a clear standout. Reckon the swans have something to prove Screenshot_20250306_203332_Facebook~2.jpg

Serious question - has GWS Improved their list going into 2025 ?
Why do so many have them top 4 ?
Probably not the right place to post this, but it's relatable ( considering certain few think our list has gone backwards). Where exactly have they improved list wise ?
I can see them sliding back a bit this year. Nothing major, but fringe of the finals contenders around 7th-10th.

Yes they were in two great positions against the grand finalists in finals, but I don't see it as a net benefit that they crumbled in both games.

Green and others out to start the year could see them as slow starters. Will Hogan back up his monster year? Coniglio, Kelly, Greene etc are getting on in years - they'll still be very good, but it's unrealistic to expect all to have career best seasons.

As always they have excellent youth from a revolving door of excellent picks and solid development, plus enough top liners and mid rangers to be thereabouts. But that doesn't automatically translate into locked in top 2 and grand final destined status like a fair few seem to have them.

So I somewhat agree with you.

I can see them sliding back a bit this year. Nothing major, but fringe of the finals contenders around 7th-10th.

Yes they were in two great positions against the grand finalists in finals, but I don't see it as a net benefit that they crumbled in both games.

Green and others out to start the year could see them as slow starters. Will Hogan back up his monster year? Coniglio, Kelly, Greene etc are getting on in years - they'll still be very good, but it's unrealistic to expect all to have career best seasons.

As always they have excellent youth from a revolving door of excellent picks and solid development, plus enough top liners and mid rangers to be thereabouts. But that doesn't automatically translate into locked in top 2 and grand final destined status like a fair few seem to have them.

So I somewhat agree with you.
I think thats a fair and reasonable assessment .

I reckon the GWS hype is because nobody hates them.

Super likeable club, culture, players.. good brand of footy, win more than they lose, compete every year - don't have any unbearable supporters, haven't broken any teams hearts over and over in an unjust fashion - what's there to hate?

Coupled with the fact nobody really pays attention to them - media included - they just do their own thing up there and we assume they'll dominate, nobody will give us shit if we're wrong, it's GWS!

17th in 2022
13 wins, 7th in 2023 - made a prelim.
15 wins, 4th in 2024 & straight sets (arguably went backward).

Lost more than they gained, whilst others at the top end have gained more than they lost - can't really see how all this translates to them shooting to flag favoritism.

They're a lottery this year imo.

Collingwood’s Best 22 for 2025​

• Backs: Isaac Quaynor, Reef McInnes, Brayden Maynard
  • Half-Backs: Josh Daicos, Darcy Moore, Dan Houston
  • Centres: Steele Sidebottom, Jordan De Goey, Pat Lipinski
  • Half-Forwards: Bobby Hill, Dan McStay, Beau McCreery
  • Forwards: Jamie Elliott, Brody Mihocek, Lachie Schultz
  • Followers: Darcy Cameron (ruck), Nick Daicos, Scott Pendlebury
  • Interchange: Jeremy Howe, Jack Crisp, Harry Perryman, Tim Membrey

Not bad! Let's look at the rest of the sqad.

• Tom Mitchell
  • Harry Demattia
  • Ed Allan
  • Billy Frampton
  • Finlay Macrae
  • Tew Jiath
  • Iliro Smit
  • Oscar Steene
  • Jakob Ryan
  • Joel Cochran
  • Charlie West
  • Will Hoskin-Elliott
  • Lachie Sullivan
  • Mason Cox
  • Harvey Harrison
  • Oleg Markov
  • Ash Johnson
  • Charlie Dean
  • Ned Long
  • Wil Parker
  • Jakob Bytel
  • Lachlan Smith
  • Sam Sofronidis
  • Josh Eyre

That's just terrible. There's legit about 3 players that could contribute at AFL level in there.

Reef McInnes, Lachie Schultz
  • Tom Mitchell
  • Harry Demattia
  • Ed Allan
  • Billy Frampton
  • Finlay Macrae
  • Tew Jiath
  • Iliro Smit
  • Oscar Steene
  • Jakob Ryan
  • Joel Cochran
  • Charlie West
  • Will Hoskin-Elliott
  • Lachie Sullivan
  • Mason Cox
  • Harvey Harrison
  • Oleg Markov
  • Ash Johnson
  • Charlie Dean
  • Ned Long
  • Wil Parker
  • Jakob Bytel
  • Lachlan Smith
  • Sam Sofronidis
  • Josh Eyre

That's just terrible. There's legit about 3 players that could contribute at AFL level in there.
Holy...

jurassic park deal with it GIF

Not much. GWS is missing half their team.

But you never know... We've seen what happens when Nicky gets tagged out of games and Bedford will be no doubt stuck to him like stink on a monkey all night.

Bedford is a good matchup for the rabbit in the middle, mcfly probably pushes him forward if he is struggling

Likely Ash goes to him at that point

Considering 5 of them are premiership players, another dozen haven't yet been seen at the level to enable anyone to determine whether or not they will make it, and another handful are no longer on the list...

Safe to say that something about your post was terrible, and it's not Collingwood's squad...