• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Truth Hurts said:
Northen United were awesome back in the day... i remember going along and wating my dad play, coached by bluey southcombe they were a great team... and great club!

You can't compare eras, but you can compare dominance.... Gis probably have been as dominant as NU were.

I'm sure Gisborne will last longer after their reign than Northern United did...Spent big $$$ and were gone 4-5 years later. Not particularly the best sign of a great club, more of one than brought a successful era that they obviously couldn't afford.........

wobble said:
I'm sure Gisborne will last longer after their reign than Northern United did...Spent big $$$ and were gone 4-5 years later. Not particularly the best sign of a great club, more of one than brought a successful era that they obviously couldn't afford.........
good point wobble, where are northn united now? no longer around. i can guarantee, gisborne will still be surviving in five years time. wobble, what is your thoughts on the square-maryborough game today

wobble said:

What would you know wobble... You were running around in a padock in Karang while NU were winning flags! Obviously not your own thoughts..

And Goat... you said you wern't around either! A bit of cash is a small price to pay for the memories on senior premierships....

but you 2 wouldn't know anything about those...

The Talking Goat said:
good point wobble, where are northn united now? no longer around. i can guarantee, gisborne will still be surviving in five years time. wobble, what is your thoughts on the square-maryborough game today

My thoughts are this Goat:-

Square on ability alone should win easily, however having said that Maryborough are always hard to beat on their own turf over at Princess Park. Having a look at the two teams it's interesting to note Square again have some injury concerns. "Simpson" Anderson is in career best form and will unfortunately miss for the Bulldogs. Can only hope this does not impeed his interleague chances. Promising yougsters J Walsh & McErvale are also on the sidelines.

Maryborough on the other hand have a young group but combined with the experience of Crameri, Aston, Hurse, Wills & Chadwick will ensure the Golden Square Bulldogs don't have things their own way.

Square by 37 pts

I noticed your odds goat and I think $1.10 is far too short in this contest.

wobble said:
My thoughts are this Goat:-

Square on ability alone should win easily, however having said that Maryborough are always hard to beat on their own turf over at Princess Park. Having a look at the two teams it's interesting to note Square again have some injury concerns. "Simpson" Anderson is in career best form and will unfortunately miss for the Bulldogs. Can only hope this does not impeed his interleague chances. Promising yougsters J Walsh & McErvale are also on the sidelines.

Maryborough on the other hand have a young group but combined with the experience of Crameri, Aston, Hurse, Wills & Chadwick will ensure the Golden Square Bulldogs don't have things their own way.

Square by 37 pts

I noticed your odds goat and I think $1.10 is far too short in this contest.
square comfortably for me wobble, looks like we lost a mate in truth hurts

Truth Hurts said:
What would you know wobble... You were running around in a padock in Karang while NU were winning flags! Obviously not your own thoughts..

And Goat... you said you wern't around either! A bit of cash is a small price to pay for the memories on senior premierships....

That's all they are now mate - Memories, distant memories.

And as your user name suggests...The truth obviously does hurt!

Truth Hurts said:

Its that type of attitude from players and administrators that is killing clubs. Clubs die because over-zealous administrators with a lack of forethought pay out more than they make. No point winning flags if you dont have a club room to hang them in!

Wayne Weideman said:
how far off is woosha walsh from resuming play? he is missed for the dogs as he is a good avenue to goal

Hey Weed!

Any changes to the south side this week, the burra have a couple out don't they?

Weidman, Woosha Walsh will back next week against Kyneton my mail suggests. That will mean he would of missed 3 games. Certainly better this time of year instead of towards the end like last year.

He'd be one to ask about great clubs having played in 4 premierships in a row with Nth Shore in the GFL, who went on to win 6 in a row.
NOW that's DOMINANCE.

Truth Hurts said:
Hey Weed!

Any changes to the south side this week, the burra have a couple out don't they?

see in todays adi that beau sheils is unavailable and jarrod keely is injured. eaglehawk have lost matty gretrix who is in queensland. other than that don't know much else. but i did hear a rumour that trevor forbes was going to have a run in the twos this weekend. not sure how true this is but it could only be another positive for the bloods

FinalWord said:
Weidman, Woosha Walsh will back next week against Kyneton my mail suggests. That will mean he would of missed 3 games. Certainly better this time of year instead of towards the end like last year.

He'd be one to ask about great clubs having played in 4 premierships in a row with Nth Shore in the GFL, who went on to win 6 in a row.
NOW that's DOMINANCE.

sure is ;)

Good one Ablett!!

Usually misses his 3-4 games per year.
Maybe could be a scoop if he doesn't come back from injury to well also.He may retire from playing before the year is out. What are the odds on that Ablett???

I reckon he's gone, there you go, Iv'e stuck my neck out here!!!

Wayne Weideman said:
see in todays adi that beau sheils is unavailable and jarrod keely is injured. eaglehawk have lost matty gretrix who is in queensland. other than that don't know much else. but i did hear a rumour that trevor forbes was going to have a run in the twos this weekend. not sure how true this is but it could only be another positive for the bloods

Who has come in for the omissions of bloods and Gretrix?

Do you play for south?

ablett said:
i heard the square players now call woosha tampon, cos he's in for 1 week then out for 4!

I think you will find that in general tampons are in for 1 out for 3.... lucky guy if you get that extra week!

Truth Hurts said:
Who has come in for the omissions of bloods and Gretrix?

Do you play for south?

not sure who the ins are for south. don't play for south but have a few mates that play there. ill quickly have a browse at the adi and tell you the ins.

FinalWord said:
Good one Ablett!!

Usually misses his 3-4 games per year.
Maybe could be a scoop if he doesn't come back from injury to well also.He may retire from playing before the year is out. What are the odds on that Ablett???

I reckon he's gone, there you go, Iv'e stuck my neck out here!!!

we need the talking goat to give odds boys on this one.

woosha will deffinately play again this season i just hope for squares sake he's fit come finals time to ensure their best possible chance at the flag.

after playing all the top sides and coming out 3-1 squares hardest battle will be above the shoulders now , to not looking too far ahead taking any teams easy and slipping a couple of games to the bottom half sides.
they've set themselves up for top 3 finish if mentally they can switch on and approach each upcoming game like it is against gisbourne.

south just need another big win to regain some confidence and this week v e/hawke could be the big turning point to their march to september but e/hawke are in the same boat.

dont right off s/hurst yet, they've 5-6 of their better players out each week and once at near full strength they could make a late charge for 4th or 5th spot.

The Talking Goat said:
weed, here are some odds on th question you posed:
woosha to retire before the season is out - write your own ticket
woosha to play out the season - $1.01

i think he will play out the season. i hope he does to for squares sake.

and after weed's post for a couple of hours ago, here is some more odds.
Trevor Forbes for the seconds medal - $23

And, here are some odds on jock clark2 changing his name to Final Word
Yes - $1.30
No - $3.

By the way, weed, what is this horse gretgrix is going up to watch in qld. wouldn't mind having a nibble if he is prepared to miss a game of footy and head to qld to watch it.
been a busy day on big footy todat friends, as it should be on a friday