Strapping Young Lad
- Apr 19, 2006
- AFL Club
- Hawthorn
- Other Teams
- Storm, Spurs, Socceroos
- #1,037
I like that he looks to move the ball on aggressively but seemed to just be bombing it long every time as game went in (which was getting cut off). Metres gained is such a useless stat.Ripper first quarter. Newk and Mitchell ran the show.
Ran out of puff but still had 23 touches and 539 metres gained. Second only to Mills who was BOG by a country mile.
Send Worpel to himOne of the commentators mentioned that Swans were tagging him a bit after 1st quarter. Probably first time it’s happened to Jai at AFL …….. good learning experience for the kid. Sam probably wanted it to happen for his development!
Nuke is playing right now how I think many of us expect Worpel should be playing after winning winning that PCM a few years back.Interesting commentary from Sam in his presser today about the strength of Sydney's list as they have youth around the 30 mark game, and that's generally where you've got to get players to before they start to get a feel for it and begin playing good AFL footy, but he then mentions Newk and says that he's playing like a 30 gamer, with only 12 games under his belt.
He is probably our most damaging midfielder so far this year.
When watching Duke over the last two weeks, it is pretty clear he is actually an outside mid with class that is also a tackling machine. His game is not built around winning the first possession at stoppages (not yet anyway). In the first quarter, he had about 10 odd touches and only two were contested. The rest were either fed to him by handball or uncontested possies. He also had I reckon over 200m gained in Q1.
I think we typecast him as an inside mid because of his physicality but he is our most damaging meters gained player and is the one getting on the outside at stoppages for the release handball. He actually got taught a bit of a lesson by Parker after Q1 and couldn't get near it in tight and once the supply from Titch slowed, he phased out of the game.
I reckon this is encouraging because we don't necessarily have to hit the draft looking for a pure outside mid because with him and Ward they are both very good in that hybrid inside/outside role.
In his development, I would love to see them focus on mixing up his foot disposal when he gets on the move. Work on that hit up kick so he becomes less predictable. If he adds the clearances and contested possessions to his arsenal then he is going to be the full package.
View attachment 1384956
View attachment 1384957
The stats support the above. Contested possession rate below average, stoppage clearances below average but bounces elite and Metres gained above average. Outside indicators
Correct weight. I wouldn't draft an outside mid over a balanced mid that wins lots of contested possies and clearances. We need to fix that in the middleDuring his R/S performance he only had 2 clearances. He played essentially the same again against Sydney, as you've pointed out.
I think Newcombe and Ward will both develop into complete midfielders for us. MacDonald probably has that ability too. We obviously need midfielders that can win a clearance and also hurt teams on the outside.
Amon is the guy that would compliment what we have provided Port don’t match under FACorrect weight. I wouldn't draft an outside mid over a balanced mid that wins lots of contested possies and clearances. We need to fix that in the middle
Missing the most important stat: Father-son media darling.For players eligible for the rising star he's current ranked number one in the following - Goal Assists, Bounces, Score Involvements, Meters Gained, Inside 50's, Tackles, kicks
There are a thousand reasons why I want you to be wrongWon't win the Rising Star.
Some other young kid will have a media campaign for him and win ala Burton and McGrath. Probably Daicos tbh.
Tad overreaction, should stamp out the supplementary period as well
Exactly no other club were going to get him. It only shows that all the clubs are having a little tizzy fit because we have acquired a good one …… for not much!Lol we took him pick 2! North were never going to take him. I feel that is a mistake. You will have players decline to join a list or decline to nominate at all if they have to move interstate for basically 3 months with no guarantee beyond that.